• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

I need a few new hardware updates help me out

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#1
I need a decent 750 or higher psu (thats priced right) and a 32mb 7200 rpm 250gb or bigger hardrive. Please post any and all deals you find. My current psu is decent but getting near it's max. I would like to stay under 100.00 on each.
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.49/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#2
I have a Thermaltake 750 modular. Solid as a rock.
May not be a good deal, but I don't want cheap, I want reliability.

Just my 2 cents :)
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#4
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#5
I would agree with fat foresters stuff. 320gb from samsung or WD if your not looking for that much space. Why do you want 32mb of cache? It makes virtually no difference at these capacities, I'm not even sure if they make one w/ that much cache under 500gb. It won't make a difference until your around the 1tb range.

About the one rail, here's our very own pancho's take on it from our psu guide:

Rails: While many psu's are multi rail, it is better to get a single rail system because with a single rail, the psu can transfer 100% of the 12v output of the psu to the computer, whereas in a multi rail system, you can face up to 30% distribution loss due to underutilized rails. lets say for example lets say rail 12vr2 is assigned to work for the cpu, and lets say the rail carries 17Amps of power, but the cpu only uses 7A of power, that 10amps in lost, whereas in a single rail system, the system draws from only one rail so the power loss is not there. also, lets say you have a grafix card that required 20A, but the rail its using is 17A, you have instability and problems like that, thats why for a sli/crossfire system, you definently want a single rail psu, because everything draws from the single rail, which has all the power of the psu. whereas if you're trying to sli/crossfire on a quad rail system, which has like power of the psu split up, that 1/4 of the power of the psu might not be able to power the sli/crossfire grafix cards.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
3,170 (0.84/day)
Likes
527
Location
Florida, US
System Name bits and pieces
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
Motherboard Gigabyte H97
Cooling stock
Memory 16GB for now
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage 256GB SSD + 3x 2TB WDs (storage)
Display(s) 2x BENQ GW2250 + ViewSonic 24"
Case Cooler Master Centurion 5 :P
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD --- JBL 4412 Studio Monitors / Polk PSW505
Power Supply Antec 550W
Mouse Corsair M65 pro
Keyboard MS Sidewinder
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#6
+1 for foresters stuff.
I was gonna suggest the Samsung as well
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,102 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#7
Yup +1 on foresters recomendations as well, good solid psu and nice drives. personally I'd go for the 750GB due to the better price per GB but thats me.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.11/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#8
+1 on fatforester too, but I would choose the WD, as it has 2x320gb platters. Higher density, better performance. I was debating between the two suggested, and I'm getting the WD.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#9
+1 on fatforester too, but I would choose the WD, as it has 2x320gb platters. Higher density, better performance. I was debating between the two suggested, and I'm getting the WD.
I was in the same boat a month ago. The WD 640 was $100 at newegg and the Samsung 750 $110 at ZZF. Since newegg likes to charge me tax, it was a no-brainer for the Samsung. Now that the 640 is only $90 bucks at both sites, it definitely makes it a tougher decision.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#10
does 32mb makes a giant performance difference over 16mb?. The reason I ask is my current 80gb 8mb cache 7200 rpm drive seems fairly fast. I'm just wonder how much difference the on board memory makes.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#11
does 32mb makes a giant performance difference over 16mb?. The reason I ask is my current 80gb 8mb cache 7200 rpm drive seems fairly fast. I'm just wonder how much difference the on board memory makes.
Previous posts have already explained that the larger cache is only required with larger HDDs.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#12
Previous posts have already explained that the larger cache is only required with larger HDDs.
they did and where was that? Zithe I'm not sure how your post helped or explained anything? Thx for posting I think?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#13
Why do you want 32mb of cache? It makes virtually no difference at these capacities, I'm not even sure if they make one w/ that much cache under 500gb. It won't make a difference until your around the 1tb range.
There you go. :)
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.93/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#14
Go for the 750GB F1, or the 640WD. The WD will be faster because it only hass 2 platters while the F1 has 3 (250x3). Depends what you need, space or speed?

As for the PSU, I'm with forrester, you cant go wrong with a Corsair!
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.25/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#15
does 32mb makes a giant performance difference over 16mb?. The reason I ask is my current 80gb 8mb cache 7200 rpm drive seems fairly fast. I'm just wonder how much difference the on board memory makes.
Past 16mb it's negligible. Under 500GB and the heads can't transfer enough data fast enough for the extra cache to be utilized. 1TB hard drives mainly and somewhat in 750GB's it is good to have since the platter densities (333GB per platter) allow for faster data transfers. A lot of 750GB's use 3x250GB platters, so 32mb is still pretty overkill.

Go for the 750 if you're wanting more space, but if you're looking primarily for speed then the WD 640 is your answer.

EDIT: In case if you don't see it... http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=901192#post901192

$85 for WD 640 and free shipping!
 
Last edited:

Damian^

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
552 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Texas
System Name Quad Damage
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965
Motherboard MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29
Memory DDR3 6gb 1533Mhz
Video Card(s) 9800gt (HD4200 for now)
Storage Seagate 250GB 7200RPM/Hitatchi 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit
#16
I would agree with fat foresters stuff. 320gb from samsung or WD if your not looking for that much space. Why do you want 32mb of cache? It makes virtually no difference at these capacities, I'm not even sure if they make one w/ that much cache under 500gb. It won't make a difference until your around the 1tb range.

About the one rail, here's our very own pancho's take on it from our psu guide:

Rails: While many psu's are multi rail, it is better to get a single rail system because with a single rail, the psu can transfer 100% of the 12v output of the psu to the computer, whereas in a multi rail system, you can face up to 30% distribution loss due to underutilized rails. lets say for example lets say rail 12vr2 is assigned to work for the cpu, and lets say the rail carries 17Amps of power, but the cpu only uses 7A of power, that 10amps in lost, whereas in a single rail system, the system draws from only one rail so the power loss is not there. also, lets say you have a grafix card that required 20A, but the rail its using is 17A, you have instability and problems like that, thats why for a sli/crossfire system, you definently want a single rail psu, because everything draws from the single rail, which has all the power of the psu. whereas if you're trying to sli/crossfire on a quad rail system, which has like power of the psu split up, that 1/4 of the power of the psu might not be able to power the sli/crossfire grafix cards.
While that is true in some cases it just depends on the power supply you buy. Any one buying a power supply for a dual card setup should know to buy a quality PSU in which it delivers 20A or more per rail. Also take note of the PCI-E connectors and how some power supplies have a 12V just for them to deliver enough output for the video card only.

"Multiple +12V rail "enthusiast" PSU's today have a +12V rail just for PCIe connectors or may even split four or six PCIe connectors up across two different +12V rails. The rails themselves are capable of far more power output than any PCIe graphics card would ever need. In fact, Nvidia SLI certification these days REQUIRE that the PCIe connectors be on their own +12V rail to avoid any problems from running high end graphics cards on split +12V rail PSU's.:

-JonnyGuru
http://www.jonnyguru.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3990

But i do agree with you and pancho on the distribution lost.


EDIT: like others said the Corsair TX750W is a great choice especially for its price.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
11,069 (2.61/day)
Likes
1,142
System Name Ball Smacker
Processor Intel I7 3770K 4.3ghz 1.15v 24/7 (9) fans and totally silent ahhh!!!
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth P67 1155 TUF Motherboard with Armor Assist Fan
Cooling Pro Meg 79CF 120mm x2 fans, 200mm front intake fan, 200 mm top fan, 120mm rear fan, 140 mm PSU fan
Memory Adata DDR3 1600 case 9 1.5v Overclocked to DDR3 2400+ Case 11 1.65v
Video Card(s) PowerColors Radeon RX 470 Red Devil Core 1390 Memory 7000 (Overclocked Additon) 4gb
Storage Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB /2 x 64Gb Western Digital Black Drives 1TB each 10,000 rpm
Display(s) LG Ultra Wide 21.9 2560 x 1080 2k 29 inch Monitor similar to retina display
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 650D Black Brushed Aluminum and steel case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 24 bit 7.1
Power Supply Corsair 600 watt
Mouse Logitech M315
Keyboard Microsoft Contour
Software Windows 10 Ultimate 64
#17
I haven't filled up the 100GB of hardrive I have now but thought I would see an improvement , now I see I won't get very much improverment at all. So basically any hardrive with 8 mb cache or higher under under 500mb is plenty fast. Is there any improvement from 8 mb to 16 mb? on the smaller drives? I'm gonna get rid of the smaller 20gb hardrive, I just use it for windows xp. It seems pretty quick , but that must be because it is so small.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.23/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#18
The 320gb WD SE16 and Seagate 7200.11 both have 16mb of cache and 1 333gb platter, so either of those (whichever is cheaper) will be your best bet for speed, coolness, and quiteness under 500gb.