• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

i9 9900 All core boost

Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
34 (0.25/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i9 9900 3.10-5.00 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390-P
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x8 16GB Team T-Force 3600Mhz CL19
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2060 6GB Advanced Edition
Storage Corsair MP510 480GB SSD, Kingston A2000 500GB SSD, WD Blue 1TB SSD
Display(s) ASUS TUF VG24VQ 144Hz 1ms Curved VA 23.8"
Case MSI MAG Force 100M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 1
Power Supply XPG Pylon 650W 80+
Mouse Steelseries Rival 3
Keyboard Philips RGB Gaming
Software Windows 10
I got i9 9900 non K. When I use it all cores with MadMax for plotting in Chia, it runs at 3.7Ghz all cores.
1623757124824.png

As you can see above, it should be running at 4.6Ghz. Do I need to make any changes in BIOS or smthing ?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
1,677 (0.98/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 9900K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 + Bitspower WB
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG OLED CX48"
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Mouse Razor Viper Ultimate
Keyboard Corsair K75
Software Win10
Yeah Asus Z390 boards usually conform to Intel TDP spec, that is 95W for 9900K.
To bypass that you need to change a couple of settings in BIOS
Have a look at this video for more information

The settings to bypass the TDP limit is in the Internal CPU power management menu
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
34 (0.25/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i9 9900 3.10-5.00 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390-P
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x8 16GB Team T-Force 3600Mhz CL19
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2060 6GB Advanced Edition
Storage Corsair MP510 480GB SSD, Kingston A2000 500GB SSD, WD Blue 1TB SSD
Display(s) ASUS TUF VG24VQ 144Hz 1ms Curved VA 23.8"
Case MSI MAG Force 100M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 1
Power Supply XPG Pylon 650W 80+
Mouse Steelseries Rival 3
Keyboard Philips RGB Gaming
Software Windows 10
Yeah Asus Z390 boards usually conform to Intel TDP spec, that is 95W for 9900K.
To bypass that you need to change a couple of settings in BIOS
Have a look at this video for more information

The settings to bypass the TDP limit is in the Internal CPU power management menu
Thanks but is this for unlocked?
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,720 (0.77/day)
The 9900 non K has a 65W TDP limit. At default BIOS settings, this will cause severe power limit throttling and your CPU will be prevented from running at its full rated speed.

Go into the BIOS and set both the long and short duration, PL1 and PL2 package power limits much higher to avoid this power limit throttling. The CPU multiplier is locked on the 9900 non K but the power limits are usually left unlocked so you can adjust them higher. Asus motherboards usually set both of these limits sky high to 4095W so they do not interfere with performance.



You can also use ThrottleStop to set these power limits higher.

 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,082 (4.90/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Asus motherboards usually set both of these limits sky high to 4095W so they do not interfere with performance.
I assume they didn't do this by default on the Z390-P because of the really weak VRM.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,720 (0.77/day)
really weak VRM
All Z390 boards have to be able to handle a 9900K. The VRM may be weak compared to some higher end Asus Z390 boards but I do not think that it is so weak that it cannot handle a 9900 running at its full rated speed. This board can probably handle running a 9900K at an all core overclock of 5000 MHz.

At default settings, Asus boards typically set the long term turbo power limit equal to the rated TDP. The 9900 has a 65W TDP rating so this turbo power limit is likely set to 65W in the BIOS. It should be easy to change this either in the BIOS or by using software.

The 65W limit is why his CPU is running at only 3.7 GHz when fully loaded compared to the 4.6 GHz that it is quite capable of running at.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,082 (4.90/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
All Z390 boards have to be able to handle a 9900K. The VRM may be weak compared to some higher end Asus Z390 boards but I do not think that it is so weak that it cannot handle a 9900 running at its full rated speed. This board can probably handle running a 9900K at an all core overclock of 5000 MHz.


At default settings, Asus boards typically set the long term turbo power limit equal to the rated TDP. The 9900 has a 65W TDP rating so this turbo power limit is likely set to 65W in the BIOS. It should be easy to change this either in the BIOS or by using software.

The 65W limit is why his CPU is running at only 3.7 GHz when fully loaded compared to the 4.6 GHz that it is quite capable of running at.
I'm not arguing that point, I'm just saying I wouldn't go hog wild with the power limits on that board if you're looking to get a decent lifespan out of it. Personally, I'd set short term/PL2 to 300w and long term/PL1 to 150w if you're looking to put the CPU under load for long periods of time. I'd go higher if I was using a downdraft cooler that was actively cooling the VRM.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,720 (0.77/day)
I'd set short term/PL2 to 300w
I think it would be difficult for a 9900 non K to ever reach 300W so whether you set PL2 to 300W or 4095W will not make any difference.

PL1 to 150w
That is reasonable. For the app that @gkhnsnbl07 is trying to run, setting PL2 to 150W should be more than enough to allow the CPU to run at its full rated speed.

For a quick comparison test I ran Cinebench R23 on my 10850K at 4.6 GHz. Cinebench is a more demanding load than what he is running. I limited my 10 core CPU to 8 cores - 16 threads to try to simulate a 9900. Power consumption at that speed was only 125W so 150W should be enough for most real world apps that load all 8 cores. The VRMs should be OK.

1623789743601.png


When the power limit was set to 65W, the same Cinebench test resulted in lots of throttling just like he is seeing.

The CPU was struggling to run at 3300 MHz which is even less than the 3700 MHz that his 9900 is throttling down to.
The bottom line is that if you want maximum performance out of an Intel 8 or 10 core CPU, you need to significantly increase the turbo power limits. The 65W limit for a 9900 is not enough for maximum performance when fully loaded.

1623789881211.png
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
34 (0.25/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i9 9900 3.10-5.00 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390-P
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x8 16GB Team T-Force 3600Mhz CL19
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2060 6GB Advanced Edition
Storage Corsair MP510 480GB SSD, Kingston A2000 500GB SSD, WD Blue 1TB SSD
Display(s) ASUS TUF VG24VQ 144Hz 1ms Curved VA 23.8"
Case MSI MAG Force 100M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 1
Power Supply XPG Pylon 650W 80+
Mouse Steelseries Rival 3
Keyboard Philips RGB Gaming
Software Windows 10
The 9900 non K has a 65W TDP limit. At default BIOS settings, this will cause severe power limit throttling and your CPU will be prevented from running at its full rated speed.

Go into the BIOS and set both the long and short duration, PL1 and PL2 package power limits much higher to avoid this power limit throttling. The CPU multiplier is locked on the 9900 non K but the power limits are usually left unlocked so you can adjust them higher. Asus motherboards usually set both of these limits sky high to 4095W so they do not interfere with performance.



You can also use ThrottleStop to set these power limits higher.

Thanks for your help. Could you describe me detailly how to remove TDP limits on ThrottleStop?
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,720 (0.77/day)
In ThrottleStop, push the TPL button and increase PL1 and PL2 as high as you like.

PL1 = 150
PL2 = 300

That is a good place to start testing. You can also set the power limit values in the BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
34 (0.25/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i9 9900 3.10-5.00 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390-P
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x8 16GB Team T-Force 3600Mhz CL19
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2060 6GB Advanced Edition
Storage Corsair MP510 480GB SSD, Kingston A2000 500GB SSD, WD Blue 1TB SSD
Display(s) ASUS TUF VG24VQ 144Hz 1ms Curved VA 23.8"
Case MSI MAG Force 100M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 1
Power Supply XPG Pylon 650W 80+
Mouse Steelseries Rival 3
Keyboard Philips RGB Gaming
Software Windows 10
In ThrottleStop, push the TPL button and increase PL1 and PL2 as high as you like.

PL1 = 150
PL2 = 300

That is a good place to start testing. You can also set the power limit values in the BIOS.
1624838652175.png

There are other stuffs. Do I need to change just Long and Short powers?
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,720 (0.77/day)
Changing the turbo power limits is the most important thing you can do.

Make sure the C states are enabled in the BIOS. Post a screenshot of the C States window when idle. With non K CPUs, the C states have to be enabled so the CPU can use maximum turbo boost.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2021
Messages
34 (0.25/day)
System Name Desktop
Processor Intel i9 9900 3.10-5.00 Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Prime Z390-P
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports DUO
Memory 2x8 16GB Team T-Force 3600Mhz CL19
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG STRIX RTX 2060 6GB Advanced Edition
Storage Corsair MP510 480GB SSD, Kingston A2000 500GB SSD, WD Blue 1TB SSD
Display(s) ASUS TUF VG24VQ 144Hz 1ms Curved VA 23.8"
Case MSI MAG Force 100M
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 1
Power Supply XPG Pylon 650W 80+
Mouse Steelseries Rival 3
Keyboard Philips RGB Gaming
Software Windows 10
Changing the turbo power limits is the most important thing you can do.

Make sure the C states are enabled in the BIOS. Post a screenshot of the C States window when idle. With non K CPUs, the C states have to be enabled so the CPU can use maximum turbo boost.
How am I gonna check if it's enabled in BIOS ?
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,720 (0.77/day)
Open the ThrottleStop C States window when idle. It will show you what C states are being used.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2014
Messages
175 (0.07/day)
Location
Midwest
System Name CSX gaming rig, COOLER MASTER workstation
Processor 9700f 8700k
Motherboard ASRock z370 Fatal1ty, ASRock b365 Gaming
Cooling Nocuta Chromax 12 push pull, Cooler Master 212 EVO push pull
Memory GSkill 32gb 3000mhz Cas 15, GSkill 32gb 2666mhz Cas15
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX3060, EVGA RTX 3060 TI FTW
Storage NVME SN750 OS disks in both, Optane Drives in both, Samsung and Intel NVME storage/Samsung Sata SSDs
Display(s) Viotek 34" 144hz , Lenovo 32" 1440p 75hz
Case Cooler Master s600 Silencio, Cooler Master Stacker CSX
Audio Device(s) KEF Q150s, Shiit Modi 3, Adcom gtp550 and gfa600, Presonus studio monitors
Power Supply Seasonic 650w, Seasonic 750w, Custom sleeved cables in both
Mouse Logitech g502 Hero and Corsair mouse
Keyboard Corsair K65 LUX RGB, Corsair K55
Benchmark Scores PCMark 10 score 6301 Puget Bench PS scores 731 and 775
Some boards, like my ASRocks let you change the tdp to 125w from 65w with a switch in the bios.
 
Top