• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm scared to use memtest64

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,664 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,512
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#26
Just run two passes. If it has errors you will know by then
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,106 (0.78/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
#27
Up ram V, up SoC V, check timings and adjust manually (so try increasing them just a tad if V doesn't do it and they're not totally wrong). Zen is very touchy to subtimings. They make or break stability.

There's even a good chance it's not reading the profile correctly, so timings are whack.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
719 (0.20/day)
Likes
106
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#28
how much GB's or MB's should I set memtest64 to to work without locking up
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
719 (0.20/day)
Likes
106
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#30
I've tried 25gb and my system will run for about 40 seconds then lock up

I've had problems with my page file causing crashes tell I increased the size from 4gb to 16gb maybe there is something wrong with my page file. plus I moved the page file off the m.2 to one of my three HDD
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,664 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,512
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#31
Put your page file back and run it as the default setting. No reason to move it. Run one stick and see which one is bad and replace it
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
719 (0.20/day)
Likes
106
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#32
Put your page file back and run it as the default setting. No reason to move it. Run one stick and see which one is bad and replace it
when it was on the m.2 at default settings the system would crash and there would be a bugcheck error event id 1001 had something to do with page file running out of space and my m.2 is a 1tb
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,667 (4.14/day)
Likes
6,644
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#33
when it was on the m.2 at default settings the system would crash and there would be a bugcheck error
Yo, listen. You have problems with your machine. I do not think this is a memtest issue. but TBH, it seems like you are trying to get it to run stable to prove something to yourself. No machine that runs correctly locks up during a memtest, and no machine that runs correctly throws a BSOD because you moved the page file to another disk.

I have 32GB of RAM and I can test 29/30GB without issue on my machine. You have hardware problems.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
719 (0.20/day)
Likes
106
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#34
ok, I tried setting the page file back to normal on the c drive and let the system manage it. then I ran the program after restart did memory size minis 2gb and two passes it finished there were no errors but the system was unusable. I had to restart three times before my system would work like normal. I Just Don't Think this program is compatible with my system
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,667 (4.14/day)
Likes
6,644
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#35
ok, I tried setting the page file back to normal on the c drive and let the system manage it. then I ran the program after restart did memory size minis 2gb and two passes it finished there were no errors but the system was unusable. I had to restart three times before my system would work like normal. I Just Don't Think this program is compatible with my system
you rebooted 3 times to get your machine back to a working state and its a programs problem. That makes 0 sense.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,664 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,512
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#36
Test your drives
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
719 (0.20/day)
Likes
106
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#37
my drives are fine I think what I'll do is reinstall windows it could be a bad install because the system didn't crash before the fall creators update and when I updated to that I didn't do a clean install I just installed over the old one.

you rebooted 3 times to get your machine back to a working state and its a programs problem. That makes 0 sense.
I'm not saying the program has a problem I'm just saying it does not work with my system

I really need help here I reinstalled windows clean install now if I run memtest it stops with fail to lock memory first I had it set to 27500mb then tried again with it set to 25000mb and same thing .is my hardware taking a crap on me? I hope not I don't like RMA just tried it at 15000mb it maid it threw the two passes 0 errors no more lockups i just have some software installed that conflicts with it
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
719 (0.20/day)
Likes
106
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
#38
hi all I got some good news after doing some reading I set my ram at 2666mhz went into safe mode ran memtest64 only 4 passes thou on default settings and my system is stable no errors
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,664 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,512
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#40
Thanks for letting us know
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2013
Messages
361 (0.20/day)
Likes
174
Processor delidded i7-8700K @ 5Ghz + NB @ 4.8Ghz 1.328V / 1.224V IO 1.272V SA + Koolance CPU-380i
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi L1.71E with 60mm fan on VRM
Cooling HWlabs Nemesis GTS 360 and GTX 240 / 3x Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850 RPM / 3x EK Vardar / SC600 pump
Memory 2x8GB Panram Ninja-V 3000Mhz CL15 @ 4133Mhz 17-17-17-37-350-2T 1.48V with 60mm fan
Video Card(s) universal waterblock on GTX 980 Ti ref @ 1463Mhz/1750Mhz 1.23V
Storage Hynix SC308 256GB / WD Blue 1TB / WD Black 2TB
Display(s) 27" Dell S2716DG 2560 x 1440 144Hz G-Sync + ULMB
Case NZXT H440 White modded front and top panel for better airflow.
Power Supply Corsair HX 750W 80+ Silver
Software Windows 10 April Update 64 bit
#41
Memtest 64 is also good for overclocking stability check.

Previously I ran 4133 @ 17-17-17-37 then found error on loops 21.

Now 17-18-18-38 still no error @ 172 loops.

PS. I run the program without pagefile to ensure that it will test memory only not HDD/SSD.

13XXX MB got black screen due to insufficient RAM so I try 12288MB.

 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,471 (0.93/day)
Likes
2,196
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X 4.15GHz @ 1.44V (or 4.0 @ 1.33V for WCG)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero <3
Cooling 2x 240mm rads, Corsair ML fans, EKWB pump/res and GPU block. XSPC Raystorm pro CPU block
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466-3600MHz CL14 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE. WC'd & TDP limit increased to 360W. 2088mhz
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux) + WD Black 2TB storage drive.
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) Phillips Fidelio X2 headphones
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.3
Benchmark Scores https://hwbot.org/user/infrared
#42
PS. I run the program without pagefile to ensure that it will test memory only not HDD/SSD.

13XXX MB got black screen due to insufficient RAM so I try 12288MB.
IIRC w1zzard coded it so that it dumps all the contents of your RAM into the pagefile before it begins testing so that it actually tests all the ram. If you disable the pagefile then there's a small portion of ram that can't be tested because it's occupied. Nice clocks and timings though, looks like an awesome system ;)
 
Top