• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I'm scared to use memtest64

Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
I tried it on my system a few weeks ago and after it was done I had to hard restart because my start button would not work and I could not open anything or close what i had open plus my screen went black and came back. it did find errors in the second pass I only ran it for two passes. is my memory bad?
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
28,884 (5.21/day)
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H115i RGB Platinum
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia RTX 2080ti
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
I could not open anything or close what i had open plus my screen went black and came back. it did find errors in the second pass I only ran it for two passes. is my memory bad?

That is the important bit. It would appear that faulty memory was stressed too far, and freaked out causing the PC to "freeze". Secondly, if Memtest is showing errors, in itself means the memory is either bad or improperly configured. Could be the density causing the issue if we are addressing the system in your specs, maybe just need some northbridge volts.

If it is int he AMD rig, sadly I am out as my last AMD rig was socket 939, and I am sure things have changed since then;)
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
thanks for the reply one thing is this board is fineky about memory I did have the timings at factory settings and at 2800mhz now I got them at 2400mhz it would not boot at any higher. I'm going to test with memtest86 v7 I will let you know how that gos
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2016
Messages
1,197 (0.67/day)
Processor Ryzen 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Taichi
Cooling Le Grand Macho
Memory 32GB DDR4 3600 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080 Ti
Storage Too much
Display(s) XB273U Gxbmiipruzx
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) JDS labs The Element II, Dan Clark Audio Aeon II
Power Supply EVGA 850w P2
Mouse G305
Keyboard iGK64 w/ 30n optical switches
Due to the nature of MemTest, it also has to test the CPU and motherboard somewhat so it is possible that they are causing the issue as well. Major companies like Corsair test Memory one stick at a time, because it is nearly statstically impossible for both sticks of RAM to be bad. I would highly recommend that you do this first.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,004 (8.20/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
update your BIOS to whatever the latest is, and run the RAM at lower speeds - 32GB of double sided ram is not going to get high speeds without overvolting the ram and SoC on ryzen
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,262 (3.57/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
I tried it on my system a few weeks ago and after it was done I had to hard restart because my start button would not work and I could not open anything or close what i had open plus my screen went black and came back. it did find errors in the second pass I only ran it for two passes. is my memory bad?
Some system lag is normal and expected because memory used by other programs has to be freed up so it can be tested.

If you get errors reported though then either your memory is bad, or your memory settings in BIOS are too aggressive. There's also a low probability that too high CPU OC or damaged CPU can cause memory errors.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
I tested the memory with memtest86 v7.4 for 4 hours two passes I know that is not a lot of passes but 4 hours is a long time. probably because I was testing 32gb but there were no errors with that software and no errors because I lowered the speed from 2800mhz to 2400mhz hey Wizzard what is the best way too use memtest64? I mean last time I used it it was set to use max memory I think that is why it caused my screen to go black then nothing worked tell I rebooted plus my memory speed was too high
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
22,262 (3.57/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
You can test with a smaller test size which will leave some free memory for other apps to stay more responsive.

If your system is stable then it will just take long to react while testing all memory, it should never crash.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
lol, I just got back from a test it looped 2 times like I told it to. I set the memory test size to 23552mb did this before you responded but it finished with no errors afterwards the system locked up had to hit the reset button
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,635 (0.37/day)
Location
Heart of Eutopia!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
newest bios for your motherboard is loaded?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
I'm using the newest beta bios 3101 for me that is the best one most stable I've tried all of them
 

Kursah

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
13,885 (2.59/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
How about the latest stable BIOS/EFI then?
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
if I try 1701 or 3008 it won't boot at any speed other then 2133mhz probably because my ram is not on the Dram QVL list
 

crazyeyesreaper

Not a Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
9,559 (2.14/day)
Location
04578
System Name Old reliable
Processor Intel 8700K @ 4.8 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Custom Water
Memory 32 GB Crucial Ballistix 3666 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 3x SSDs 2x HDDs
Display(s) Dell U2412M + Samsung TA350
Case Thermaltake Core P3 TG
Audio Device(s) Samson Meteor Mic / Generic 2.1 / KRK KNS 6400 headset
Power Supply Zalman EBT-1000
Mouse Mionix NAOS 7000
Keyboard Mionix
If your running four sticks of memory and they are dual sided thats likely your problem. Ryzen memory controller is not found of four sticks let alone dual sided memory especially at higher speeds.

Memory is very much at this point tuned for specific platforms. While I do not remember all the details there are a few ways to fix issues. In your case I would test 1 stick at a time if all pass then try 2 sticks if two sticks pass try them in other DIMM slots if they pass again swap out. Troubleshooting problems is never quick and easy and if you skip doing things properly because your in a rush dont be surprised if the quick fixes you try end up failing.

Test it the proper way and go through the process to make sure everything is running properly.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2008
Messages
1,857 (0.40/day)
Processor 5930K
Motherboard MSI X99 SLI
Cooling WATER
Memory 16GB DDR4 2132
Video Card(s) EVGAY 2070 SUPER
Storage SEVERAL SSD"S
Display(s) Catleap/Yamakasi 2560X1440
Case D Frame MINI drilled out
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse DEATH ADDER
Keyboard Razer Black Widow Tournament
Software W10HB
Benchmark Scores PhIlLyChEeSeStEaK
They fixed the 2 slot issue with Ryzen? Back on topic, sorry..........:rockout:
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (5.97/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
If you are not locking up or BSODing in games, daily use you should be ok.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
3,595 (1.98/day)
If your running four sticks of memory and they are dual sided thats likely your problem.
This.
my ram is not on the Dram QVL list
And this!

Seriously, with all the fuss about Ryzen memory issues, which you must have missed somehow (welcome to the Zen land, BTW), you've even ignored the QVL.

It's very likely this setup will not work. Either don't OC or look for new RAM.
If you can take paid overtime at work or make something extra on the side, these would be best ways of spending time on fixing this problem.

If you are not locking up or BSODing in games, daily use you should be ok.
Man... it's that New Age testing methodology again. Why do you guys even run stress tests? :)
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
maybe I'll sell my corsair ram and then buy the right ram for the platform
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (5.97/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
@notb it is known as not jacking with it, sometimes testing can be obsessive and wasteful, just like frame counters playing games...
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
951 (0.20/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 9 3950x
Motherboard Crosshair viii Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory g-skill rgb 64gb 4x16gb ddr4 3200mgz
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd , 10tb seagate
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case thermal take view 71 rgb
Audio Device(s) creative ae-5 sound card
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse corsair 65
Keyboard corsair k95
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
maybe with the next bios I'll have better luck after all right now I'm using a beta bios
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (5.97/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
maybe with the next bios I'll have better luck after all right now I'm using a beta bios

Check your private messages, or the envelope icon
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
50,004 (8.20/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK Quantum ARGB block w/ active backplate
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
They fixed the 2 slot issue with Ryzen? Back on topic, sorry..........:rockout:

no, they didnt - they made more memory compatible, but running 8 banks of ram (4x double sided sticks) is likely to lock people at 2133mhz
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
3,595 (1.98/day)
@notb it is known as not jacking with it, sometimes testing can be obsessive and wasteful, just like frame counters playing games...
Testing is always obsessive. That's the whole point of testing! But it's only wasteful if you play it safe. :)
I'm starting to think some people do benchmarks / stability tests for fun. So when the test is passed, great. And when it's not, people instantly fall into this "oh whatever, I'll be just gaming anyway" and "even if it crashes from time to time - so what?".

I test PCs to know how stable they are, because:
1) I don't want to replace broken things all the time,
2) I run a lot of heavy computations when I'm out and I would be pretty pissed if the PC crashed.
And I really hate running tests. It is hard work. And boring. And the PC is unusable for hours (should be, if you're doing this properly).
Oh man... I even test my home appliances. Actually, it's way more important than testing PCs. I've just bought a washing machine. I tried all programs at full temp (some twice) before I decided it can be left working at night or when I'm outside.
 

Attachments

  • 1514898245371.png
    1514898245371.png
    44.8 KB · Views: 1,117
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,930 (1.29/day)
Location
Long Island
1. I run memtest for minimum of 12 hours .... usually 24.

2. I don't see the logic in starting the tests 1 stick at a time ... been building PCs since early 90s and have had less than a handful of bad sticks. So let's be generous and say 10% chance of failure per build (5% on each stick).

a) Testing 2/2 sticks at a time w/ 12 hour tests means 120 hours on 10 builds.
b) With that assumed 10, one build will be an issue... so will spend an extra 12-24 hours testing those 2 sticks one at a time ... Thats 132 to 144 hours

Doing 1 stick at a time, that's 240 hours

3. I recommend adding all the RAM ya want from the getgo .... 2 x 8 GB is much better then 2 x 4GB now and 2 x 4GB later. First, having 4 sticks to manage over 2 oft means lower CPU OCs ...2nd, even is same brand same model is "iffy".

a) RAM from separate packages is not guaranteed to manufacturer to work together, s if it doesn't no recourse.
b) Sometimes your may find yaself where same make and model aren't available. Once was asked to add 2 more sticks to a Corsair RAM equipped box and the only RAM with matchin specs was GSkills. My son's box (Mushkin) also was felling its age and same specs so I bought two packages. The Gskills would not play well together in ether box. I tried th 4 Gskills in the users box and they worked fine. I added the users original Corrsairs to my sons Mushkin equipped bix and also worked fine.
c) Saw this again with DDR3 on Z87 .... user had Corsair Vegeance Pro DDR3-2400 2 x 8Gb and wanted to go to 4 x 8GB. Purchased another pair but of course was later version. The initial version had 10-12-12-28 timings ... the 2nd pair was after version 4.51 and it has 10-12-12-31. Even dropping the timings to the 10-12-12-31 didn't work. After some research found out that Corsair stopped using the premium Hynix modules after 4.51 and switched to another source. Send the new Corsair's back, purchased a set of Mushkin 2400 (10-12-12-28) with Hynix modules and they worked just fine.

In short, nothing to be worried about running memtest, just gotta be careful on how you interpret results and do intensive research when ya find an incompatibility.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,442 (5.97/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
1. I run memtest for minimum of 12 hours .... usually 24.

2. I don't see the logic in starting the tests 1 stick at a time ... been building PCs since early 90s and have had less than a handful of bad sticks. So let's be generous and say 10% chance of failure per build (5% on each stick).

a) Testing 2/2 sticks at a time w/ 12 hour tests means 120 hours on 10 builds.
b) With that assumed 10, one build will be an issue... so will spend an extra 12-24 hours testing those 2 sticks one at a time ... Thats 132 to 144 hours

Doing 1 stick at a time, that's 240 hours

3. I recommend adding all the RAM ya want from the getgo .... 2 x 8 GB is much better then 2 x 4GB now and 2 x 4GB later. First, having 4 sticks to manage over 2 oft means lower CPU OCs ...2nd, even is same brand same model is "iffy".

a) RAM from separate packages is not guaranteed to manufacturer to work together, s if it doesn't no recourse.
b) Sometimes your may find yaself where same make and model aren't available. Once was asked to add 2 more sticks to a Corsair RAM equipped box and the only RAM with matchin specs was GSkills. My son's box (Mushkin) also was felling its age and same specs so I bought two packages. The Gskills would not play well together in ether box. I tried th 4 Gskills in the users box and they worked fine. I added the users original Corrsairs to my sons Mushkin equipped bix and also worked fine.
c) Saw this again with DDR3 on Z87 .... user had Corsair Vegeance Pro DDR3-2400 2 x 8Gb and wanted to go to 4 x 8GB. Purchased another pair but of course was later version. The initial version had 10-12-12-28 timings ... the 2nd pair was after version 4.51 and it has 10-12-12-31. Even dropping the timings to the 10-12-12-31 didn't work. After some research found out that Corsair stopped using the premium Hynix modules after 4.51 and switched to another source. Send the new Corsair's back, purchased a set of Mushkin 2400 (10-12-12-28) with Hynix modules and they worked just fine.

In short, nothing to be worried about running memtest, just gotta be careful on how you interpret results and do intensive research when ya find an incompatibility.


I have seen this happen with kingston too during the sdram days (been doing this nearly 20 years now )
 
Top