• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Installing NVIDIA drivers

Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Ok. I installed Mandravia 2006 but the GUI won't work. Whenever I try to boot the GUI i get a garbled incomprehensible image. I think I need to install the drivers for my video card. I tried installing them from a cd, but they won't work, it says I'm missing some sort of kernal or something. I need help installing the drivers, and without using the GUI interface, can anyone help?
 
D

Dynamic

Guest
#2
You never should run the drivers for your GFX CARD off the cd-rom that it came with. Not only the drivers are outdated or as you have stated will give you issues as well. Go to their website "nVIDIA.com" and look for their latest driver version for your GFX CARD which should be 81.98 i believe. Here is a quick link....

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_81.98.html
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
Sorry. Thats not what I meant. I downloaded the LINUX Drivers from the NVIDIA website, and placed them on a CD. Then tried to install the LINUX drivers from the CD. Besides, your link is to Windows drivers, that definetly would not do me any good on LINUX. I apparently need to install the source kernal from the LINUX CD, but since I just now am leanring how to use LINUX I have no idea how I would go about doing this. Lol. I can't remember the last time I touched the driver CD that came with any of my last several video cards. I don't even have an original driver CD for this video card :) .

Oh, by the way. The card is a 6800 GS, I think that may why LINUX is having trouble, I don't think the built in drivers support this card since it is somewhat more exotic than usuall.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.61/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
Look at www.guru3d.com, they have moded .inf files that make nVidia drivers work with all cards.
Don't you think it sucks when nVidia's latest WHQL drivers don't support the 6800GS AGP? (btw, I'm using the 83.90 betas, they work reall well for our card in windows, but dunno about linux though...)
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
Well. I'm not having any trouble with it in windows thankfully. I just can't get the GUI interface to work with both distributions of LINUX that I've tried. It could be the same problem though. If they are giving the 6800GS AGP the backburner in the windows drivers god only knows what they have done with the LINUX drivers.

Oh. I was looking at your system specs. How did you get your 6800GS to have 16ppl and 6vp? Mine only has 12 and 4?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
2,998 (0.61/day)
Likes
1,578
Location
Visalia, CA
System Name Crimson Titan 2.5
Processor Intel Core i7 5930K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage V Extreme
Cooling CPU: Swiftech H220-X, RAM: Geil Cyclone 2, VGA: Custom EK water loop
Memory 8x4GBs G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 XMP2 3000MHz @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA GTX Titan X SCs in SLI under full cover EK water blocks
Storage OS: 256GBs Samsung 850 Pro SSD/Games: 3TBs WD Black
Display(s) Acer XB280HK 28" 4K G-Sync - 2x27" Acer HN274s 1920x1080 120Hz
Case Corsair Graphite Black 760T - EK Pump/Reservoir, 360mm EK Radiator
Audio Device(s) SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro on Logitech THX Z-5500 5.1/Razer Tiamat 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Silvestone ST1500 1.5 kW
Mouse Cyborg R.A.T. 9
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#6
Thermopylae_480 said:
Well. I'm not having any trouble with it in windows thankfully. I just can't get the GUI interface to work with both distributions of LINUX that I've tried. It could be the same problem though. If they are giving the 6800GS AGP the backburner in the windows drivers god only knows what they have done with the LINUX drivers.

Oh. I was looking at your system specs. How did you get your 6800GS to have 16ppl and 6vp? Mine only has 12 and 4?
Use RivaTuner to try to unlock the extra pipelines, read more here:

http://firingsquad.com/hardware/geforce_6800_unlocking/

If you're lucky you will be able to unlock the extra pipelines with no artifacts, and if the pipelines are broken, you just have to lock them again using RivaTuner, so no harm done :)
Good luck :cool:

EDIT: I'm sorry, you have the PCIe version of the 6800GS, there are no extra pipelines to be unlocked, you can unlock extra pipelines in the AGP version only, I'm sorry about it :(, but at least you can OC your card to much higher clocks than the AGP version :)
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
Yeah. I forgot. Different chips for the PCI-E and AGP, oh well. Your right though I can get my speeds pretty high, which helps make up for it got the card at 509 and 622. I could get it higher if I had a better PSU.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,374 (4.27/day)
Likes
6,277
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x SG 3TB HDDs (RAID 0) | 1x ADATA 128 SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256 SSD | 1x 1TB Samsung 850 EVO (OS)
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#8
ewww:ohwell: i feel like a dick cause i really cant answer your ?'s thermo i here everyware that nvidia's drivers are way eisier than ati's did u try just installing the drivers after u installed the os EX: install os boot into gui then try to install drivers as for the moduale its the agp gart moduale i think is what your talking about or just the graphics module in general it has to be loaded/integrated with the main one or loaded b4 the main kernal to work i also think u have to install the drivers in run level 3 (text mode) i mean iv read instruction manuals on how to install mine and it wont install right if ur in the gui i dont know or understand y but.................ill try to help out thermo but i dont own nvidia :( nor do i have pci-e wich would make the agp gart mod. totally useless in ur case unless they (as in the modual) had something to do with both slot types.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196 (1.13/day)
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#9
You may be able to install using the VESA 3.0, use that to run X, then visit Nvidias webpage to download the drivers..
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
I'm already in text mode. I can't get anything inteligible to load when I try to start GUI mode. So I can't use GUI even if I wanted too.

I'll see what the Vesa 3.0 does.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#11
Ok. I got the GUI working after I re-installed LINUX. I'm Using some sort of generic drivers that don't work to well, but at least I've made progress. Maybe now I will be able to install the Nvidia LINUX drivers.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#12
Ok. I need to upate the source kernal before I can update the drivers. Any ideas? Been looking on google. Maybe I'll find something soon.