• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core "Haswell" Processors Begin Shipping to OEMs

Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,198 (0.32/day)
Likes
586
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) EVGA Titan SC }@Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#26
Exactly my thoughts, system poweruse will probably be lower, but the package poweruse wil be up, just not up as much as the system power will be down because of no VRM's on the mobo.
I suppose this will also allow mobo makers to lower the cost of the motherboard, and furthermore, it will probably mean that the problem of blown up VRM's on cheap motherboards will be history because there will be nothing left to blow up!
Well alrighty then, that answer's my next thought where is the VRM gonna be.
So you mean that my sweet 8-phase active-swiching/load-balancing digital PWM power circuitry is on chip,

then will that lend to "limited" overclocking ?

I mean, Intel did a great job on my M/B, especially on the killer 1866 Ram divider, but I'd hate to move on only to find that there's no more hope of hitting high 4.8-5.x+ CPU speed's.
FWIW, it was by no mean's easy for me to get there, sure I didn't have to soldier, but it took a LOT of trial and error with this "engineering" BIOS to get a good O/C.

Hell when I left[THAT's Why} the Gigabyte GA-UD3R, I couldn't get sht for O/Cing, and it was with my same Q6600 that did really well on the conroe865PE, so yea it's always a crap shoot, but that's what the $30 Warranty was for on this Z68/i7, Fry it/ they Buy it Lol.
Hope it stay's that way, Fast AND Stable
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#27
well, assuming they spec it like the slides, you'll have 20*25A of power available through those iVRM's. I suppose that'll be more than enough for normal overclocking lols
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,511 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,596
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#28
well, assuming they spec it like the slides, you'll have 20*25A of power available through those iVRM's. I suppose that'll be more than enough for normal overclocking lols
Yeah, considering that per iVRM. I read nothing there saying CPUs won't have more than just one cell. ;)
It reads as if there are 20 cells in its entirety. So wouldn't that be a max output of something along the lines of factors larger than that?
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-9590 || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull + H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LPDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1175MHz / 1625MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#29
Yeah, considering that per iVRM. I read nothing there saying CPUs won't have more than one. ;)
Yeah, if you look closely at the pic with the VRM, you see 3 empty pads of the same size, and seemingly the same positioning. Was already wondering wether those would be for higher end models or something. However, it would be weird if they make the VRM's able to supply 2000Amps lol.

Edit: Unless they intend to bring out the core i1337 furnace edition ofc!

Edit 2: Found some new evidence suggesting the iVRM's are a real feature. They're talking about overclocking with haswell, stating: "programmable voltage via iVR". Interesting!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,198 (0.32/day)
Likes
586
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) EVGA Titan SC }@Norton F@H Kreij GigaByte 7950 ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme III / XFX HD5870-XXX Edition
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
#30
That's kinda cool, the 300A Celeron day's!! What's interisting is mine was on the Abit BX7 Rev2 and O/C'd at 928 Mhz
Using the Flip Chip 1 Ghz, netted a far more gain in performance.
Teaser :
Can you guess WHY ?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.65/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#31
My 2600k still has loads of life in it... dont see the need for any upgrades fror a while!
Dont even overclock this anymore, its fast enough stock!