• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core Skylake Processors Freeze Under Certain Workloads, Company Issues Fix

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,069 (8.62/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame GTX 1070 Ti Vulcan X
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
Intel's 6th generation Core "Skylake" architecture is faced with a major bug. Responding to a support question on its Communities page, on how certain multi-threaded stress tests like Prime95 can cause the system to freeze; Intel confirmed that an issue affects all 6th generation Core products. In certain highly-specific workloads, such as Prime95, "Skylake" chips hang or cause "unpredictable behavior."

Intel stated that it identified the issue and has released a fix. The company is working with its motherboard partners to get the fix across to users through a system BIOS update:
Intel has identified an issue that potentially affects the 6th Gen Intel Core family of products. This issue only occurs under certain complex workload conditions, like those that may be encountered when running applications like Prime95. In those cases, the processor may hang or cause unpredictable system behavior. Intel has identified and released a fix and is working with external business partners to get the fix deployed through BIOS.
View at TechPowerUp Main Site
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
1,612 (0.69/day)
Location
KL, Malaysia
System Name Rainbow RTX 240
Processor Intel Core i5-7600K (stock)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME H270M-PLUS mATX
Cooling Corsair Hydro H55 AIO + 3 x HD120 RGB w/ Commander PRO
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 2400MHz (2 x 8GB kits, Black)
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX2060 6GB Twin Fan (stock)
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD | Patriot Burst 960GB 2.5in SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2417H 24-inch 1080p IPS
Case Corsair Carbide Air 240 SFF mATX (Black) + Lighting Node PRO RGB LED Strips (2)
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DX PCIe Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM750x 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB (White) + MM800 Polaris RGB Mouse Mat
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB Mechanical (Gen 1 Cherry MX RGB Red switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 May Update. (v1903)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy: 7294 (Graphics Score) 3DMark Fire Strike: 18104 (Graphics Score)
only affects those who stress-testing it to ensure OCed speeds are stable. Other than that, regular, day-to-day use shouldn't have such problems.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,318 (2.60/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
How much you want to bet this microcode "fix" breaks BCLK OCing?

Just a thought... I for one have never had Prime95 freeze, and I always stress test with it.

EDIT: Though it does appear to be reproducible doing a highly specific test, interesting. Still, I am leaving the above as food for thought...
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
1,612 (0.69/day)
Location
KL, Malaysia
System Name Rainbow RTX 240
Processor Intel Core i5-7600K (stock)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME H270M-PLUS mATX
Cooling Corsair Hydro H55 AIO + 3 x HD120 RGB w/ Commander PRO
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4 2400MHz (2 x 8GB kits, Black)
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX2060 6GB Twin Fan (stock)
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 250GB M.2 PCIe SSD | Patriot Burst 960GB 2.5in SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2417H 24-inch 1080p IPS
Case Corsair Carbide Air 240 SFF mATX (Black) + Lighting Node PRO RGB LED Strips (2)
Audio Device(s) ASUS XONAR DX PCIe Sound Card
Power Supply Corsair RM750x 80 Plus Gold Fully Modular
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB (White) + MM800 Polaris RGB Mouse Mat
Keyboard Corsair STRAFE RGB Mechanical (Gen 1 Cherry MX RGB Red switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional x64 May Update. (v1903)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Time Spy: 7294 (Graphics Score) 3DMark Fire Strike: 18104 (Graphics Score)
as per the thread quoted by btarunr, it only affects after running a certain type of benchmarking test. Not sure which one though...
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,318 (2.60/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
as per the thread quoted by btarunr, it only affects after running a certain type of benchmarking test. Not sure which one though...
Yeah, I was able to freeze my system fairly quickly using the Prime95 instructions, so it's real.

Here's the other thing though: It STILL would not surprise me if they break BCLK ocing that's become popular while they fix this...
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,014 (6.37/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
That's a really, really specific number to cause a freeze (like winning the lottery to find that). I'll grab the BIOS update ASAP just to be safe.

Edit: No BIOS updates since December. I'm sure that doesn't contain a fix...
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,587 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
only affects those who stress-testing it to ensure OCed speeds are stable. Other than that, regular, day-to-day use shouldn't have such problems.
That didn't stop people from crucifying AMD and that bug was so rare it was insane.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,680 (1.96/day)
Location
Vinewood
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.180 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Hmm.. Just bought an i5-6500, I only do 3D Mark benching, I don't think my processor will run into these freezing problems with that.
If it would, I just update the BIOS then.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
7,146 (1.82/day)
Quote from PCWorld article "How to test your PC for the Skylake bug" by Gordon Mah Ung

If you use the current 28.7 version, you will need to create a text file in the folder using Notepad. You can do this by right-mouse-clicking in the Prime95 folder and selecting New > Text Document. Give the text document the title “local.txt.” Once the file is created, double-click it to open with Notepad and type the line CpuSupportsFMA3=0. Save the file in the same folder.


You’ll need to create a text file to tell Prime95 to use AVX to hit the bug

You have to do this because, according to the bug finders, by default the newer version of Prime95 will use AVX2 and the error appears to only occur with AVX.

Start Prime95 by double-clicking Prime95.exe. Dismiss the dialog by clicking Just Stress Testing.


Just skip and select: “Just Stress Testing.”

A dialog box will appear to Run a Torture Test. Select Custom and change the Min FFT size (in K) to 768, and change Max FFT size (in K) to 768. Select Run FFs in-place and also set the run time to 120 minutes or longer. Clicking OK will start the Torture Test.


Using these settings in Prime95, people have reported being able to hang up their new Skylake CPUs.

Now just wait and see if it locks up. Most of the problems seem to occur with the top-end desktop Core i7-6700K, but Intel seems to be implying it could occur on other CPUs.

Before you run this test, you should be aware that Prime95 puts a heavy load on CPUs. Systems that are marginal on cooling or overclocked may crash on their own, so it’s probably best to run this test on a PC with stock settings to make sure it isn’t just an unstable overclock.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
118 (0.07/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Scrap
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K - 4,5 GHz@ 1,325V
Motherboard MSI Z77 G45
Cooling Be Quiet! Black Rock 3
Memory Kingston Blu DDR3-1600C9@1866C10
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage 1 TB Crucial MX300
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Lian Li PC-T70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire XT
Software W10
Inb4 microcode removes non-K OC.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,185 (3.04/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Joined
Jul 28, 2014
Messages
118 (0.07/day)
Location
Denmark
System Name Scrap
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K - 4,5 GHz@ 1,325V
Motherboard MSI Z77 G45
Cooling Be Quiet! Black Rock 3
Memory Kingston Blu DDR3-1600C9@1866C10
Video Card(s) Palit GeForce GTX 1070 GameRock Edition
Storage 1 TB Crucial MX300
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Lian Li PC-T70 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Zowie EC1-A
Keyboard Cooler Master Quickfire XT
Software W10
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
203 (0.14/day)
so they are sure that this major hardware cockup can be fixed in microcode? for all cases and not just this fft avx subroutine implementation? or can we expect multiple "fixes" from here on out for other "might freeze" scenarios?

if this can really be fixed with microcode only, microsoft probably already has a new version of mcupdate_genuineintel.dll available in windows update, *nix users might have to wait for a bios updates (if they ever come)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,791 (2.55/day)
Now I feel much better for going with the older Haswell-E instead. I don't want "unpredictable behavior" under stress. Mostly because encoding H.264 video on all cores gives me pretty similar stress conditions as torture stability testing tools. So, the situation is pretty real.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,093 (3.53/day)
Now I feel much better for going with the older Haswell-E instead. I don't want "unpredictable behavior" under stress. Mostly because encoding H.264 video on all cores gives me pretty similar stress conditions as torture stability testing tools. So, the situation is pretty real.
I've been using Skylake for longer than you have been using Haswell-E, and I have yet to see an FMA3 freeze. I also don't tend to mod software just to be able to break stuff. Do keep in mind that's what you are doing. AMD supports FMA4, Intel FMA3, but either way, since both do not support the same stuffs, the chances of a programmer actually using this stuff is actually kind of rare, especially given that you need to mod P95 to get the freeze to happen.

As to this affecting BCLK OC on non-K CPUs, we'll need to see these BIOSes roll out first, and then the "fixed" BIOS will get the same mod that the current ones do. If it breaks BCLK OC, then you should be able to simply flash back to the appropriate BIOS, and then to avoid the problem, don't mod software, m'kay? :p
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2015
Messages
203 (0.14/day)
AMD supports FMA4, Intel FMA3
...
the chances of a programmer actually using this stuff is actually kind of rare
im not so sure about the changes of a programmer using avx instructions common to both camps being so rare

mod software just to be able to break stuff
don't mod software
changing config settings is now considered modding? the guys changed a text file flag...

besides this looks to me a lot like a marriage of the fdiv and f00f bugs (one only triggered on some situations, the other promptly halted execution until reset), and while people dont run prime95 fft mode with avx acceleration all the time, i still wouldnt want to use a cpu that might trip on some avx usage scenario
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
17,093 (3.53/day)
im not so sure about the changes of a programmer using avx instructions common to both camps being so rare



changing config settings is now considered modding? the guys changed a text file flag...

besides this looks to me a lot like a marriage of the fdiv and f00f bugs (one only triggered on some situations, the other promptly halted execution until reset), and while people dont run prime95 fft mode with avx acceleration all the time, i still wouldnt want to use a cpu that might trip on some avx usage scenario
I mean, I've got like 10+ months of running Skylake (before retail launch), and have yet to see any problem, so yeah, it's rare now, and only really triggered by changing the default configuration of the software, which, yeah, I call modding. Most users will download and run the software without any such changes... until now. Most users won't even have any idea that changing options this way is possible. You do have to create a file that didn't exist prior and add it to the program, so yeah, modding.

However, you are right, it is possible that in the future there will be some software that causes this bug to trigger. Yet by then, these BIOS updates will probably be out.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,297 (5.28/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
No BIOS updates since December. I'm sure that doesn't contain a fix...
I'm guessing we won't see updated BIOSes for a few weeks at least. Unless you have an eVGA board, then you won't see an updated BIOS at all...
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,318 (2.60/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
I'm guessing we won't see updated BIOSes for a few weeks at least. Unless you have an eVGA board, then you won't see an updated BIOS at all...
is eVGA really that bad with bios updates?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
471 (0.26/day)
Location
Fort Sill, OK
Processor Intel 7700K 5.1Ghz (Intel advised me not to OC this CPU)
Motherboard Asus Maximus IX Code
Cooling Corsair Hydro H115i Platinum
Memory 48GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200 Dual Channel (2x16 & 2x8)
Video Card(s) nVIDIA Titan XP (Overclocks like a champ but stock performance is enough)
Storage Intel 760p 2280 2TB
Display(s) MSI Optix MPG27CQ Black 27" 1ms 144hz
Case Thermaltake View 71
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 1000 Platinum2
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro (not recommded, I am on my second mouse with same defect)
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 1803
Benchmark Scores Yes I am Intel fanboy that is my benchmark score.
This is exactly the reason enthusiasts ( Extreme edition ) CPU should not be released first. Let the mainstream users Beta test the new CPU and re release once they are perfected ( aka Devils Canyon, Kaby lake etc)
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,297 (5.28/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
is eVGA really that bad with bios updates?
Still waiting on a promised BIOS update for my P55 FTW 200 motherboard to fix the broken front side USB ports...

So, I'd say yes.

However, you are right, it is possible that in the future there will be some software that causes this bug to trigger. Yet by then, these BIOS updates will probably be out.
From what I understand, they are actually disabling FMA3, forcing Prime95 to use the older AVX. That is what is causing the bug, and AFAIK, AMD supports AVX in their processors too(from the FX line on). So it could be something that crops up if you have a program that uses the older AVX. Unless disabling FM3A causes Prime95 to switch to AVX2.0, which AMD doesn't support. In which case you're right, none but a very select few Intel only programs will show an issue.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,981 (0.73/day)
System Name msdos
Processor 8086
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
so they are sure that this major hardware cockup can be fixed in microcode? for all cases and not just this fft avx subroutine implementation? or can we expect multiple "fixes" from here on out for other "might freeze" scenarios?
It only seems to happen with hyper-threading enabled if I understood correctly -- so that points to the instruction being right, but some sort of resource sharing being wrong, perhaps dispatch rules.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
228 (0.11/day)
This would be a great time to also "fix" that whole motherboards that allow non-K CPU's to overclock "problem."

Y'know? Because stability. Or something.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
11,318 (2.60/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k @ Stock
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ DDR4-3400 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 x64
I did a bit of homework on this issue.

I'm a bit of a bios modder in my free time.

It appears this issue got fixed with Skylake Microcode update 56 (that's hexidecimal 56), possibly even earlier, I didn't test every version, but patching my bios with that microcode fixed this issue.

Here's the kicker: Microcode update 56 came out 10-24-2015. That's right, almost 3 months ago.

Yep, Intel has had this fixed for a while... Not sure if @btarunr wants to note that or not. ;)

Meanwhile, nearly all skylake boards I played with have old revisions down in the 30-4A range. My gigabyte board I use was particularly low. No idea why the board vendors do this, but they really dropped the ball here.

So blame the board vendors... for not actually using the code intel releases.

I'm skilled enough to patch the microcode on most bioses to the right version if anyone wants to contact me and accept the "if it's bricked it's not my fault" policy etc etc.

Here's a relevant screenshot. Before applying intels proper microcode, this would've crashed long ago:

ss.png
 
Last edited:
Top