• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel DX12 TechDemo - Asteroids

Joined
Apr 18, 2012
Messages
361 (0.17/day)
Likes
83
Processor Intel Core i7 6700k
Motherboard AsRock Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Seidon 120V Plus
Memory 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair Vengeance
Storage Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply Silverstone SX-500 L
#1
I sold my Nano, and Im back on my Intel 530 graphics. Just learned today that Intel released a driver that supported Vulkan for 5xx and 6xx series.

While searching for more news, I came across this page:

https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/asteroids-and-directx-12-performance-and-power-savings

Its Intels DX12 Techdemo

it links to a "code sample", but I have no idea how to go about creating a windows runnable version...

Anyone interested in compiling it and sharing it with others?

Code here: https://github.com/GameTechDev/asteroids_d3d12/
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#2
I claim no ownership nor liability. Extract before running.

Requires Windows 10 64-bit. May require Visual C++ 2015 x64 redistributables (don't download/install unless it refuses to run...not that doing so will hurt anything).


Edit: Looking through the source, there are 50,000 asteroids, the window is hard coded to 1080x720, and the default scale is 96 dpi.

Command line arguments:
-close_after [seconds]
-nod3d11
-warp
-nod3d12
-indirect
-fullscreen
-window [width] [height]
-render_scale [value other than 1.0]
-locked _fps [framerate]

Keyboard Inputs:
Space: toggles animation (like pause in a game)
V: toggles vsync
M: toggles multithreaded rendering
I: toggles indirect rendering
S: toggles submit rendering
1: Direct3D 11
2: Direct3D 12
Escape: exit
Enter: toggle fullscreen (broken?)

Mouse Inputs:
Wheel: zoom
Left: grab and rotate
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.32/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#3
I claim no ownership...

Requires Windows 10 64-bit. May require Visual C++ 2015 x64 redistributables (don't download/install unless it refuses to run)'] (don't download/install unless it refuses to run).
Downloaded, but it doesnt work. It just closes with the "has stopped working" window. Any ideas? Also the size is just 1mb, is that right?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#4
Program needed the DDS texture files which are now provided in the ZIP. Extract before running.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
230 (0.30/day)
Likes
134
Location
Here
System Name Gemini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx 300
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX 6GB
Video Card(s) HIS R7-250X iCooler 1GB
Storage Corsair Force LS 120GB
Display(s) LG 22EA63V
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Targus AMU097AP
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 Pro
#5
Is it capped to 60fps?
wasd.png
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
3,834 (1.46/day)
Likes
2,220
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5820K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz 15-17-17-35
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung 950Pro 256GB NVMe + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
#6

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#7
It is about 145~ on my R9 390 with a few 130-160 being the range. I'm surprised it doesn't capture the min, max, and average.

Edit: Can't make it run on my R7 360 (always uses R9 390).


I just realized you can click and drag around inside the window. The framerate like...doesn't change. Impressive. You can also click on Direct3D 12 in the corner to see how pathetic Direct3D 11 is in real time.


Mind blown.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 9, 2009
Messages
969 (0.32/day)
Likes
173
Location
Austria, Europe
System Name Bang4Buck
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5Ghz @ 1.254v
Motherboard ASROCK X99M-EXTREME4
Cooling EKWB Predator 240 1.1
Memory 16gb 2666mhz 14-14-14-34-1T @ 1.28v
Video Card(s) Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 Golden Sample with GLH bios flased
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250Gb / 6Tb Raid -HGST Enterprise/ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb / BW-16D1H-U PRO blu-ray
Display(s) Samsung UE49KS8002 4K HDR TV (US - 9 series)
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) HDMI out to Denon X4400H reciever, Dali Zensor 7´s, Dali Zensor Vokal, Dali Zensor 1´s, Yamaha Sub
Power Supply Seasonic X-750W (KM3)
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores RealBench 2.43: 164477 http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14858144? http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/14857974?
#8
I get 430fps @4K Fullscreen
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#9
I'm not sure how it handles resolution but performance seems to be unaffected by window size. The closer the asteroids are to the viewpoint, the lower the framerate.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,685 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,361
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#11
On my Laptop Screenshot (4).png

:eek: I had VSYNC ON :wtf:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,685 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,361
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#12
Is DX12 unaffected by V sync setting? Well to be fair there was minimal affect because with V Sync turned off FPS went up by 10 frames but I'm confused. Oh yeah my LCD is 60 hertz.

EDIT Oh well no body has an answer so I'm downloading another DX12 demo to test. Its 1GB so it will be a minute. I hope this is not the issue cuz my laptop will cry about it!
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#13
Is DX12 unaffected by V sync setting? Well to be fair there was minimal affect because with V Sync turned off FPS went up by 10 frames but I'm confused. Oh yeah my LCD is 60 hertz.

EDIT Oh well no body has an answer so I'm downloading another DX12 demo to test. Its 1GB so it will be a minute. I hope this is not the issue cuz my laptop will cry about it!
It doesn't have options like that so the only way you're going to see vsync is if you have it set in your drivers to force vsync on it.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,685 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,361
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#14
Is DX12 unaffected by V sync setting? Well to be fair there was minimal affect because with V Sync turned off FPS went up by 10 frames but I'm confused. Oh yeah my LCD is 60 hertz.

EDIT Oh well no body has an answer so I'm downloading another DX12 demo to test. Its 1GB so it will be a minute. I hope this is not the issue cuz my laptop will cry about it!
Well I ran that demo but FPS were right around 60 on or off so Im still in the need to know.

It doesn't have options like that so the only way you're going to see vsync and the like is if you have it set in your drivers to force vsync on it.
I did have Vsync on in the Nvidia CP ....And I have never seen this issue on this laptop B4. All my other stuff responds to Vsync in the CP.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#15
Try moving the perspective up to the top (click and drag) and zooming out (mouse wheel). You should see the frame rate at least double. If it still stays at 60 then something is still limiting it.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,685 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,361
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#16
It doesn't have options like that so the only way you're going to see vsync and the like is if you have it set in your drivers to force vsync on it.
Try moving the perspective up to the top (click and drag) and zooming out (mouse wheel). You should see the frame rate at least double. If it still stays at 60 then something is still limiting it.
What saying is in the screan shot I posted above with the purple over lay had Vsync on and was running at 179FPS. Should have been 60FPS.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
230 (0.30/day)
Likes
134
Location
Here
System Name Gemini
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3R
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx 300
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX 6GB
Video Card(s) HIS R7-250X iCooler 1GB
Storage Corsair Force LS 120GB
Display(s) LG 22EA63V
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Targus AMU097AP
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 Pro
#17
In DX11: lower framerate (about half of DX12 framerate), higher CPU utilization (and mostly single threaded), and less GPU utilization (because of higher CPU and/or API bottleneck?)
wasd.png
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,367 (4.68/day)
Likes
17,742
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
#18
Please use my cores and threads. (like what dx12 is supposed to)

dx12.PNG
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#19
What saying is in the screan shot I posted above with the purple over lay had Vsync on and was running at 179FPS. Should have been 60FPS.
Oh, so it is ignoring/overriding the vsync setting? My guess is you'd have to make a custom ATI profile for the app because it's not something the drivers have ever seen before. That said, I'm no expert in such matter because I never use any of the options in Radeon Settings because, if there's a problem, I just change it in the application itself.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,685 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,361
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#20
Oh, so it is ignoring/overriding the vsync setting? My guess is you'd have to make a custom ATI profile for the app because it's not something the drivers have ever seen before. That said, I'm no expert in such matter because I never use any of the options in Radeon Settings because, if there's a problem, I just change it in the application itself.
This on my laptop it is a GTX960m.....I did have vsync on in the Nvidia CP...Tested a buch of time on and off and no difference stays up and around 180FPS on or off.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#21
This on my laptop it is a GTX960m.....I did have vsync on in the Nvidia CP
Can you create a custom profile for the executable? Or are those settings broken in D3D12 applications? I don't know. I guess I'd consider that a bug Intel would have to fix if this were professional software they were looking to sell.

Please use my cores and threads. (like what dx12 is supposed to
Edit: This is not a CPU-bottlenecked test. CPU usage is more or less the same in both modes. D3D11 is maybe a few percent higher but that would have zero impact on framerate.
 

CAPSLOCKSTUCK

Spaced Out Lunar Tick
Joined
Feb 26, 2013
Messages
8,367 (4.68/day)
Likes
17,742
Location
llaregguB...WALES
System Name Wendys Nightmare / Winebox/ Matchbox
Processor Xeon X5670 @4.4ghz / G540 stock/ Q 8300
Motherboard Rampage ii Extreme / Giga GA H61m/ Intel P35
Cooling modded H100 pump and 12omm rad / stock/ stock
Memory 16gb Hyper FurryX triple / 4gb ddr3 / 4gb ddr2
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce Gtx 970 1485/1800
Storage Kingston V300 120gb /YES/YES/YES
Display(s) 24 HannsG / tv/ 19 "/ 24"
Case Custom treadplate /yes/ wooden winebox/ matchsticks
Audio Device(s) ASUS Supreme xfi 7.1 / ob 7.1 / o/b/ob
Power Supply Corsair 550w / XFX 550// shuttle/ shuttle
Mouse Dead.....all dead.
Keyboard IBM kb7993
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/capslockstuck/
#22
It is? It spread the load out over multiple cores. In D3D11, you're more likely to run in a situation where one core hits 100% and frame rate hits a cap. The cap in your case is clearly the GPU and that was the intent of D3D12/Vulkan.
gotcha.........i was hoping for 100% on CPU as well.....:mad:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,685 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,361
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#23
Well I hope that's not the way DX12 is suppose to work. Because then people who want to cap at 60FPS to keep their GPU heat in check will be very disappointed.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,056 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,181
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#25
Well I hope that's not the way DX12 is suppose to work. Because then people who want to cap at 60FPS to keep their GPU heat in check will be very disappointed.
This is a benchmark/tech demo. Vsync shouldn't be on.


Here's a screenshot of D3D12 vs D3D11.


D3D12 loads all the cores pretty evenly. D3D11 has clear core preferences. You can see on the graph to the left that D3D12 GPU load overall is slightly lower than D3D11 as well.