1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel DX12 TechDemo - Asteroids

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Absolution, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. Absolution

    Absolution

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    360 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    I sold my Nano, and Im back on my Intel 530 graphics. Just learned today that Intel released a driver that supported Vulkan for 5xx and 6xx series.

    While searching for more news, I came across this page:

    https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/asteroids-and-directx-12-performance-and-power-savings

    Its Intels DX12 Techdemo

    it links to a "code sample", but I have no idea how to go about creating a windows runnable version...

    Anyone interested in compiling it and sharing it with others?

    Code here: https://github.com/GameTechDev/asteroids_d3d12/
     
    rtwjunkie says thanks.
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I claim no ownership nor liability. Extract before running.

    Requires Windows 10 64-bit. May require Visual C++ 2015 x64 redistributables (don't download/install unless it refuses to run...not that doing so will hurt anything).


    Edit: Looking through the source, there are 50,000 asteroids, the window is hard coded to 1080x720, and the default scale is 96 dpi.

    Command line arguments:
    -close_after [seconds]
    -nod3d11
    -warp
    -nod3d12
    -indirect
    -fullscreen
    -window [width] [height]
    -render_scale [value other than 1.0]
    -locked _fps [framerate]

    Keyboard Inputs:
    Space: toggles animation (like pause in a game)
    V: toggles vsync
    M: toggles multithreaded rendering
    I: toggles indirect rendering
    S: toggles submit rendering
    1: Direct3D 11
    2: Direct3D 12
    Escape: exit
    Enter: toggle fullscreen (broken?)

    Mouse Inputs:
    Wheel: zoom
    Left: grab and rotate
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
    Absolution, chr0nos, JalleR and 8 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    968 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Downloaded, but it doesnt work. It just closes with the "has stopped working" window. Any ideas? Also the size is just 1mb, is that right?
     
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Program needed the DDS texture files which are now provided in the ZIP. Extract before running.
     
    heky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. XiGMAKiD

    XiGMAKiD

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    150 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Here
    Is it capped to 60fps?
    wasd.png
     
  6. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,663 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,141
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It is about 145~ on my R9 390 with a few 130-160 being the range. I'm surprised it doesn't capture the min, max, and average.

    Edit: Can't make it run on my R7 360 (always uses R9 390).
    [​IMG]

    I just realized you can click and drag around inside the window. The framerate like...doesn't change. Impressive. You can also click on Direct3D 12 in the corner to see how pathetic Direct3D 11 is in real time.
    [​IMG]

    Mind blown.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    968 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    I get 430fps @4K Fullscreen
     
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'm not sure how it handles resolution but performance seems to be unaffected by window size. The closer the asteroids are to the viewpoint, the lower the framerate.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,741 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,501
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    TechDemo - Asteroids
    :) where are the left /right/fire buttons :)
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK and rtwjunkie say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    New York
    On my Laptop Screenshot (4).png

    :eek: I had VSYNC ON :wtf:
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    New York
    Is DX12 unaffected by V sync setting? Well to be fair there was minimal affect because with V Sync turned off FPS went up by 10 frames but I'm confused. Oh yeah my LCD is 60 hertz.

    EDIT Oh well no body has an answer so I'm downloading another DX12 demo to test. Its 1GB so it will be a minute. I hope this is not the issue cuz my laptop will cry about it!
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It doesn't have options like that so the only way you're going to see vsync is if you have it set in your drivers to force vsync on it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    New York
    Well I ran that demo but FPS were right around 60 on or off so Im still in the need to know.

    I did have Vsync on in the Nvidia CP ....And I have never seen this issue on this laptop B4. All my other stuff responds to Vsync in the CP.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Try moving the perspective up to the top (click and drag) and zooming out (mouse wheel). You should see the frame rate at least double. If it still stays at 60 then something is still limiting it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    New York
    What saying is in the screan shot I posted above with the purple over lay had Vsync on and was running at 179FPS. Should have been 60FPS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. XiGMAKiD

    XiGMAKiD

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2015
    Messages:
    150 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Here
    In DX11: lower framerate (about half of DX12 framerate), higher CPU utilization (and mostly single threaded), and less GPU utilization (because of higher CPU and/or API bottleneck?)
    wasd.png
     
  18. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK Spaced Out Lunar Tick

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,588 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,481
    Location:
    llaregguB...WALES
    Please use my cores and threads. (like what dx12 is supposed to)

    dx12.PNG
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
  19. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Oh, so it is ignoring/overriding the vsync setting? My guess is you'd have to make a custom ATI profile for the app because it's not something the drivers have ever seen before. That said, I'm no expert in such matter because I never use any of the options in Radeon Settings because, if there's a problem, I just change it in the application itself.
     
    DRDNA says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    New York
    This on my laptop it is a GTX960m.....I did have vsync on in the Nvidia CP...Tested a buch of time on and off and no difference stays up and around 180FPS on or off.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Can you create a custom profile for the executable? Or are those settings broken in D3D12 applications? I don't know. I guess I'd consider that a bug Intel would have to fix if this were professional software they were looking to sell.

    Edit: This is not a CPU-bottlenecked test. CPU usage is more or less the same in both modes. D3D11 is maybe a few percent higher but that would have zero impact on framerate.
     
    dorsetknob, DRDNA and CAPSLOCKSTUCK say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. CAPSLOCKSTUCK

    CAPSLOCKSTUCK Spaced Out Lunar Tick

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7,588 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,481
    Location:
    llaregguB...WALES
    gotcha.........i was hoping for 100% on CPU as well.....:mad:
     
  23. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,340 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    950
    Location:
    New York
    Well I hope that's not the way DX12 is suppose to work. Because then people who want to cap at 60FPS to keep their GPU heat in check will be very disappointed.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob "YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,741 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,501
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
    Any one tried it with distinctly different GPU's ie a Fury and a 280x just to see if "That Multi GPU DX12 promise works"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    20,041 (6.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,283
    Location:
    IA, USA
    This is a benchmark/tech demo. Vsync shouldn't be on.


    Here's a screenshot of D3D12 vs D3D11.
    [​IMG]

    D3D12 loads all the cores pretty evenly. D3D11 has clear core preferences. You can see on the graph to the left that D3D12 GPU load overall is slightly lower than D3D11 as well.
     
    CAPSLOCKSTUCK says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)