• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is anyone have problems with invalid/inconclusive/error work units?

T

twilyth

Guest
#1
I was getting a lot of these on one machine and I assumed it was due to an unstable oc. But after running IBT on max for 2 hours I'm pretty sure that the rig is stable. However the last 6 wu's I returned were all marked pending and then a little later that was changed to inconclusive. Ultimately I think they will be designated 'error'.

It seems that some other people on WCG have had similar problems but there doesn't appear to be a massive outcry. I don't feel like dealing with the CA's over there just yet and wanted to first see if anyone here was seeing this issue with their wu's. If so, please give a little background.

thank you.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,724 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,798
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#3
Sure it happens. HFCC from time to time give me an inconclusive error but it always turn out OK. Human Proteome Folding give me an error once a week on my 4 GHz i7. That project is know to hate OC'ed CPUs.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,080 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,208
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#4
I had 1 error (Human Proteome Folding - Phase 2, two others erred on the same one) on the 11th, zero invalid, zero inconclusive.

I don't have statistics for my server because they aren't being reported to my account.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#5
OK, I need some help with this. I'm still getting a lot of errors. I put the clocks down to 3900mhz and bumped the nb volts 5 ticks. I can run IBT again, but it seems pointless since it already tested out on that (see OP).

I don't get it. IBT is much more intense than any WCG app that I've seen so how can it pass that and give errors?

Any ideas?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#6
You just have to get it stable with the voltages within everything. Ocing if flipping hard when it comes to crunching!
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#7
It seems that increasing the NB voltage solved the problem. Again, I think it is completely bizarre that IBT runs perfectly well but at least a third of the WU's were choking. It shouldn't be a memory issue since everything was at stock except for CPU multi at 20, cpu voltage at 1.44 and ram voltage at 1.65 (instead of 1.6). For some reason, increasing NB volts to 1.66 solved the problem. Anyone have any theories on that?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#8
Your just doing intense math problems that the CPU/Memory will never see on any other apps. So it has to be perfect other wise it's going to fail on some of them.
 
Joined
May 15, 2008
Messages
1,738 (0.49/day)
Likes
4,318
Location
Oklahoma City
System Name My Classified System
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V
Cooling Koolance CPU-380I, XSPC RX360, XSPC Dual 5.25" Bay Reservoir with Single Laing DDC
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA 04G-P4-3988-KR GeForce GTX 980 Classified with EK-FC980 GTX Classy Waterblock
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB
Display(s) Acer S220HQLAbd Black 21.5" 5ms LED Backlight Widescreen LCD Monitor
Case NZXT SWITCH 810 Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake - 850-Watt TR2 RX Power Supply
Mouse Black Microsoft Wheel Optical USB Mouse
Keyboard Black Microsoft USB Keyboard 2000
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Home 64 Bit
#9
I'm not getting any Error or Invalid results but I've got 4 Inconclusive results. Two for HFCC, one each for the new Computing for Clean Water and FightAIDS@Home. They are scattered across three different rigs and just a couple of days old. At this point I'm not worried but I'll keep an eye on my results.
 
T

twilyth

Guest
#10
I've also had a few since i "fixed" the problem. Although I should probably give most of the credit to the charm I bought from the old voodoo lady.

I've looked at the other identical work units given to other people and most of the time they are posting error/inconclusive as well.

I'm not sure about this, but I think initially results are inconclusive but get changed later once there are other WU's to compare them too. If no one else had a problem then I think they get changed to "error" status. I should probably research this . . . some day.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2009
Messages
2,724 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,798
Location
Denmark
System Name The work PC / Folder 1 & 2 (+3 on/off)
Processor W3670 4.00 GHz/ W3670 3.8 / 4790K 4.4/ i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5/UD7/Maximum Hero/ UD5
Cooling Custom WC/Noctua NH-D14/Noctua NH-D15/D14
Memory 6 GB A-Data/6 GB Mushkin /8 GB Corsair Vengance/ Mus
Video Card(s) 1070 X MSI/ 970 ASUS / 2x970 MSI/970 MSI
Storage 480 GB SSD / 480 GB SSD /480 GB SSD, all EVO 840
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D / Fractel R4 /none
Power Supply Enermax 87+ 600 W/ 500 W / AX 860/700 W Enermax
Software WIN7 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Cherry pie at one point ;)
#11
Of all the inconclusive WU's I have produced and thats more then 50 I never had one that turned to be an error. As I wrote in post #3 stay away from Human Proteome Folding if they give you problems. I got tired of seeing these errors so I deselected that project and OC'ed harder. When winter comes I will fire up my 4 CPU server and that handles them fine.