1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is my 400w psu enough???

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nolifer112, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. nolifer112

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hy, I have a computer that has C2D E6300(old 1,8Ghz version), 2Gb 667Mhz RAM, ATI HD4650 videocard, 250Gb Samsung HDD 7200rpm. Now I'm planning to install WD3200AAKS 320Gb HDD and I want to be shure that 400w is enough. Shure there is somebody smarter than me :laugh:
     
  2. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Well if its been running the above specs for any amount of time with no issues a hdd will add very little extra wattage to that overall system, tho what make is it?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. jjFarking

    jjFarking New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    456 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Agreed with Intel_Inside :toast:
    As long as the PSU isn't a yum cha variety, you should be fine :)
     
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    look at his specs
    Ezcool is an awful make, should be fine with those specs though
     
  5. nolifer112

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hy, I was just looking for some PSU calculators...how reliable are they?
     
  6. nolifer112

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Yeah, this computer that I'm running right now is some 4 years old, that I upgraded a year ago and I kept this 500w EZcool because it worked fine and was powerful enough.
     
  7. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    London, UK
    4 years might be pushing it, if you notice wierd instablility or stuff like that, immediatly change the PSU Ezcool are Notoriously Unreliable
     
  8. nolifer112

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I just found Thermaltake Dr. POWER thingi that I havent seen before, Is it even mine..anyway I'll see what It shows me.
     
  9. nolifer112

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    everithin else was fine, only -5V shows instablility!
     
  10. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    It will be ok for it, but I'd invest in a better psu, you never know. I was a victim on a shiite psu once, I dont' want it to happen to you! ;)
     
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,517 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    is this system a different one from the one in your specs? a few things are different in your specs then what is listed is why i ask...

    i found this on WD's site...

    Code:
    Electrical Specifications	
    Current Requirements
    	12 VDC
    	Read/Write	395 mA
    	Idle	380 mA
    	Standby	6 mA
    	Sleep	6 mA
    
    	5 VDC
    	Read/Write	660 mA
    	Idle	532 mA
    	Standby	180 mA
    	Sleep	180 mA
    
    	Power Dissipation
    	Read/Write	7.80 Watts
    	Idle	7.20 Watts
    	Standby	0.97 Watts
    	Sleep	0.97 Watts
    from what i see, at the most is uses about 8watts and .4A on the 12v and .7A on the 5v

    if you really want to you can look up the power usage specs of the hardware, total it up and compare it with the max output rating sticker on the power supply... to compensate for "wear and tear" and efficiency of the power supply, i'd subtract 20-25% of those values from the sticker label...

    tbh though... you should be fine.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2010
    nolifer112 says thanks.
  12. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,536 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    If you are looking into buying new PSU i would suggest getting either the corsair CX400W or the corsair VX450W,it be perfect for your rig,if you want change video card you can get any card that only requires a 1 6-pin power connector.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)