• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is there a 'Good' RGB control software?

Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,233 (1.34/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 aorusM
Cooling All stock coolers
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
I have a Gigabyte 550M aorus Pro w/3700 and Ballitix ram. Gigi does like the RGB's on the ram, does not keep the setting ordefaults to Flash mode. Ballistix is not much better, in fact, my computer now randomly shuts down.

Is there a software out there that will run my AMD cooler, it's got the fan and ring RGB, and my ram, without shutting down my computer every day?
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,233 (1.34/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 aorusM
Cooling All stock coolers
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
Well, I think I figured it out. I reset my computer, saving my files. Still lost a bunch of things but, nothing important. Anyway, I ran the Crucial program, MOD, for the RAM. OK, everything is fine. I then open Gigiabyte's 'RGB Fusion', and the computer immediately shuts off. No BSOD, just hard shut down.

So, I can control my Ram but, not my AMD cooler. Or, maybe...Fusion doesn't like MOD.

Next up, no MOD, just Fusion, which can control the ram, sort of...TBC.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
4,284 (2.51/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB kit & PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-2666 16GB kit
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Maybe you could try OpenRGB? The motherboard might not be supported yet? Yeah there’s no support for B550 motherboards.

 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,233 (1.34/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 aorusM
Cooling All stock coolers
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
Maybe you could try OpenRGB? The motherboard might not be supported yet? Yeah there’s no support for B550 motherboards.

Thanks. So far, the RGB Fusion, on it's own, is not causing problems. But I cannot get the Ram to go white so, for now, they are all blue with the outer rim of the cooler cycling through colors. I don't seem to have control of it.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2019
Messages
319 (0.65/day)
Processor R7 1700 non-X @ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte AORUS Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua
Memory 32 GB 3200 MT/s CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage 2x 500 GB SSD, 2x 3 TB HDD
Case Silverstone FT02
Software Manjaro Linux, W10 if I have to
Aurora
OpenRGB

If they support your hw
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,233 (1.34/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 aorusM
Cooling All stock coolers
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
Nope. Neither do.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,233 (1.34/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 aorusM
Cooling All stock coolers
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
OK quick update. It appears my ram does not comply with the Gigibyte list of compatible Ballitix memory. So, I just ordered some, non RGB, Ballistix that are on the list, From B&H.

This should, remove the problem, completely.
P.S. It has been shutting down, infrequently, randomly, after a day, or two. Not a huge deal but, it is impacting my Crunching, one of the MAIN reasons for building it!

Thanks to everyone commenting, turns out I made the mistake and the RGB software debacle just made me aware of it. Although, it took me this long to actually investigate it further. Combination of work and no sleep, my schedule varies from day shift to 2nd shift. That makes it hard for me to get a decent sleep schedule going. But I get most weekends off and can find my senses by Sunday!!

Anywho, I believe that after Wednesday, my computer issues will have changed for the better!

:lovetpu:
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
4,233 (1.34/day)
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name Bay2- Lowerbay/ HP 3770/T3500-2+T3500-3+T3500-4/ Opti-Con/Orange/White
Processor i3 2120's/ i7 3770/ x5670's/ i5 2400/Ryzen 2700/Ryzen 2700
Motherboard HP UltraSlim's/ HP mid size/ Dell T3500 workstation's/ Dell 390/B450 AorusM/B450 aorusM
Cooling All stock coolers
Memory 2GB/ 4GB/ 12 GB crucial in each 4GB sticks in 3 chan/ 4GB sammy/T-Force 16GB 3200/XPG 16GB 3000
Video Card(s) HD2000's/ HD 2000/ 1 MSI GT710, rest are MSI R7 240's/ HD4000/ Red Dragon 580/Sapphire 580
Storage ?HDD's/ 500 GB 7200rpm-er's/ 500 GB/2.5 Samsung 500GB HDD+WD Black 1TB/ WD Black 500GB M.2
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest/1080p TV
Case HP 8200 UltraSlim's/ HP 8200 mid tower/ Dell T3500's/ Dell 390/SilverStone Kublai KL06/NZXT H510 W
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ Beeper's!
Power Supply 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell PSU/ 525W sumptin/ same/Seasonic 750 80+Gold/EVGA 500 80+
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless/iGear usb x2
Keyboard Dynex, 2 no name, SYX and a Logitech. All full sized and USB.
Software Mint 18 Sylvia/ Opti-Con Mint KDE/ T3500's on Kubuntu/HP 3770 is Win 10/Win 10 Pro/Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores World Community Grid is my benchmark!!
Well, I have new Ram, from the QVL list for the MB. I bought an H60 cooler and installed it, brings temps down about 5C, full load with WCG. It also lowered the GPU temps some, folding @ 100 percent.

However, it still shuts off.

I think my PSU is to blame. I have an Antec 650W "High Current Gamer" with an 80+ Gold rating.

I thought a 3700x and a 580 GPU would be fine at 650. In fact, I have yet to hear or feel the PSU fan turning on. I wonder if that is the problem, instead of the wattage.

IDK. I will try to contact Antec on Friday, or tomorrow, depending on my day. If that doesn't work, looks like I could be shopping for another PSU...

If a new PSU doesn't cure it, the Motherboard is the culprit. I have 2 b450m Aorus boards I am very happy with, running 2700's perfectly. The problem computer is an Aorus B550m Pro, running the 3700x.

Not sure how this is going to pan out. First step is Antec, Thu, or Fri.

:confused:
:lovetpu:
 
Top