• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Is your Windows crashing like crazy?

Joined
May 16, 2008
Messages
1,258 (0.36/day)
Likes
221
Location
North Carolina
#1
Long story short, just make sure you RAM is ok first.


So lately when I alt-tabbed out of games, I'd get a BSOD. (really enjoyable in the middle of a game btw) I figured it had something to do with the fact that I didn't have a pagefile set and I ran out of memory or something. I figured I just wouldn't alt-tab out of games anymore.

Then today, I come home and Firefox had crashed. I'm like okkkayyyy, lemme just restart it and go on with my life. I did, but eventually after about 5 min, I got a BSOD. By then I'm like WTF? This system has been running WCG for weeks straight now, no issue. I restart the system and start using it again and 5 minutes later another BSOD. So I drop back to stock settings and uninstall FF 3.5.1 and install 3.5.

By then, I'm like, FF is the only thing that I've changed on my computer recently, so that's gotta be it. Nope. It wasn't. By this point, I started getting crashes during XP's startup. I'm well, that can't be good. So I decide to throw my rig into Safe Mode and see what's goin on. Guess what. I GET A BSOD IN SAFE MODE. Yeah, no kidding. Then I knew that something was f'ked. But I couldn't even get into Windows at all though. So I whip out my XP Pro CD and and I load up the installer so I can repair my installation. And you prolly know what happens next. Yep, you guessed it, the WINDOWS INSTALLER BSODs. Awesome.

I was like ok whatever by then. Just for fun, I toss in my MemTest CD. And guess what I get?


After ~2min:



So apparently, my RAM decided to crap out today. Out of the blue. They were only doing 400MHz Cas5. They're rated at 533MHz. Great. Now I gotta RMA them. Luckily, I had my old 2GB kit lying around. But GEEEEEEEZZZZZ. Why today?
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2007
Messages
7,180 (1.88/day)
Likes
720
#2
dunno why mate one of those sad things, re install windows while your at it, like if you have to copy your entire drive to another one so you can keep shit
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.32/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#3
ram is strange i had the same problem just the other day. My patriot ram took a shit on me. I got over 4k errors in memtest at the same settings i was running for months and even underclocked and overvolted i did. :ohwell: good luck with the RMA
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#4
Damn, thats alot of errors.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2005
Messages
630 (0.14/day)
Likes
156
Location
A suburb of Chicago, IL
System Name The W.O.P.R.
Processor Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.0GHz 1.24 vcore
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Xigmatek S1283 with push\pull fan configuration.
Memory 6GB Mushkin DDR3 1600MHz 7-8-7-20
Video Card(s) 2 - ASUS EAH5850 CrossfireX
Storage 1TB WD Black
Display(s) I-INC 28" 1920x1200 HDMI
Case Ultra M998
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
#6
I had a set of Crucial through over 200,000 errors in 30 seconds once.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2009
Messages
299 (0.09/day)
Likes
12
System Name Build 1
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows 7 Professional
#7
ouch lol
 

HolyCow02

New Member
Joined
Jun 8, 2008
Messages
1,638 (0.47/day)
Likes
109
Location
New York
System Name Shredder
Processor Phenom II 955 @stock (for the time being)
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Noctua U12P
Memory 8 GB muskin DDR3 1600 @ 7-7-6-18
Video Card(s) 2x Sapphire 4870 1GB
Storage 64 GB Super Talent UltraDrive SSD | 2 x WD Caviar Black 500GB in RAID1
Display(s) Samsung 22" 2ms GTG
Case Thermaltake Spedo Advanced Package
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Vista Business 64-bit
#8
I had a set of Crucial through over 200,000 errors in 30 seconds once.
aaaaannnnd I am never buying crucial memory! Thanks :D