• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Making Audio Enhancers Work on Windows

Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
185 (0.04/day)
Thank you but still the Advanced Options are still greyed out. Do I need a modded driver or something to get it to work?
Dolby DIgital Plus Home Theater SPDIF FX Configurator.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Thank you but still the Advanced Options are still greyed out. Do I need a modded driver or something to get it to work?
View attachment 197092
When you installed APO Driver, did you select Dolby Digital Plus?
If not, use maintenance driver to select Dolby Digital Plus (it is the selected one in the picture).
1618679037764.png
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
185 (0.04/day)
Cool! Thank you so much. It's working now. So should I go play a game to test it?

PS - Even know it shows up as normal in the Advanced Tab. My receiver reports PCM 2 Channel mode still.

If I go to Speakers Properties, and try to apply Dolby Digital I get an error message "Format not support by the device".

I don't get it?

Speakers Properties Advanced Dolby Digital Error Format not supported by the device.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Cool! Thank you so much. It's working now. So should I go play a game to test it?

PS - Even know it shows up as normal in the Advanced Tab. My receiver reports PCM 2 Channel mode still.

If I go to Speakers Properties, and try to apply Dolby Digital I get an error message "Format not support by the device".

I don't get it?

View attachment 197100
You should only apply on digital endpoint.
You applied on speaker endpoint.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
185 (0.04/day)
Thank you for you help buddy. I did only the digital endpoint & it showed up in both.

It's not working on the Cmedia CM6206-LX USB.
 

Attachments

  • Digital Output Properties Dolby Digital.jpg
    Digital Output Properties Dolby Digital.jpg
    64.6 KB · Views: 70
  • LG BH6720S - OPTICAL INPUT.jpg
    LG BH6720S - OPTICAL INPUT.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 70
  • LG BH6720S - PCM2-0.0.jpg
    LG BH6720S - PCM2-0.0.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 66
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Thank you for you help buddy. I did only the digital endpoint & it showed up in both.

It's not working on the Cmedia CM6206-LX USB.
Dolby Digital test sound does come out on supported formats tab?
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Yes, that's correct. Still getting pcm 2 channel stereo from my lg bh6720s.
OK, that appears something beyond the USB device is wrong. This supported formats page test button does a bitstreaming of a preencoded Dolby Digital signal; something is decoding the signal to PCM beyond the USB device, or something might be misconfigured on the receiver.
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
And to connect, is it a direct connection from the usb device optical out to the htib receiver optical in?
Do recheck the speaker setup settings, if it is properly 5.1.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
185 (0.04/day)
Yes, it's all setup correctly. If I watch a Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS 5.1, the bitstream is activated. However the Dolby Digital Plus is not activating the DD3/2.1 symbol on my receiver.
DTS 5.1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Cmedia CM6206-LX.jpg
    Cmedia CM6206-LX.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 30
  • Dolby Digital 5.1.jpg
    Dolby Digital 5.1.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 26
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
@CityCultivator Only stereo though, Left Channel & Right Channel on the test.
View attachment 197324

@CityCultivator When I do a Test I get a pop & then only the left & right channel chime from the test.
On that page you were supposed to get the Dolby Digital in the advanced tab; I don't see it.
Also There is usually a Dolby tab present.

See as you did on your speaker endpoint.

FX Configurator has applied on the wrong endpoint. Guess it is a bug in FX Configurator.
Can you provide a list of all endpoints you can see?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
1,122 (3.90/day)
Not all drivers allow multichannel out from SPDIF. If the device has restricted input (2 channels), even with an encoder, you still get 2 channels.
I tried to write a driver for USB, and I found that its OEM locked to 2 channels, and its not easy- not possible to work around it.

You will probably need to modify the driver to allow 6 pcm channels in, to be processed by Dolby.
Edit: Pretty sure that says DTS 3/2.1 (5.1), still displays with empty channels.

----

Edit 2, I might have an idea with VAC passthrough to SPDIF, if you transcode before SPDIF, then SPDIF will play all channels.
Not all SPDIF's can support multichannel transcoding (6 pcm in > 6 digital out).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
185 (0.04/day)
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
1,122 (3.90/day)
So you are receiving 5.1 (DTS and Dolby is coming in as 6 channels, but only 2 have audio). I just tried VAC and it does output 6 channels to my SPDIF, however it already accepts 6 channels of PCM.
I was intending to modify it to add the encoder to it, and then send that stream to SPDIF already encoded, but it will require me to rewrite the app :(

You have (probably): 6 Channel PCM > SPDIF, restricted to 2 channels > Encoder (only 2 channels) > 6 channels out, only 2 populated.
What you want: 6 Channel PCM > SPDIF, no restrictions > Encoder > 6 channels out.

Alternative: 6 Channel PCM > Virtual device > Encoder > Passthrough to SPDIF. < Clever and some money to made there (app).

Some media players such as PotPlayer can transcode audio to DTS (multi-channel), but its within the player.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
185 (0.04/day)
@Ferather
When I watch Dolby Digital 5.1 & DTS 5.1 movies, I get true surround sound out of all 5.1 channels.

When I activate Dolby Digital in the Advanced Digital Output properties, I get some scratching & popping & a chime from left channel & right channel. So only Stereo Dolby Digital (Live) from SPDIF.

If there is anything you can do, that would be awesome? Unless its unsupported in hardware?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
1,122 (3.90/day)
"When I watch Dolby Digital 5.1 & DTS 5.1 movies, I get true surround sound out of all 5.1 channels." < Correct, its already encoded with all channels present.
Have you tried an upmixer? Try this app and guide, if you are getting noise on the extra channels that's interesting, still might not work.

The problem is the hardware SPDIF setup is restricting the input for the encoder to 2 channels.
If you took a 5.1 PCM track, and encoded it DTS, then sent that, you get 5.1.

This is why I was going to try VAC, it would have took the 6 PCM and encoded it to DTS-DD, then send that, like your first response.

----

The best you can do at the moment would be transcode (to re-encode, from PCM to DTS) via PotPlayer (media only).

https://www.mediafire.com/file/pltiph62i5q3ua6/Potplayer_Preset.reg

1.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
185 (0.04/day)
@Ferather Thank you. So its a hardware limitation? Thats too bad. I don't really want to upmix, thats like virtual surround sound.

I know we've been over this already but I tested again the "test button" in Supported Formats tab & I hear everything out of all 5.1 channels on Dolby Digital & DTS. On the Advanced tab "Default Format" of Dolby Digital, I only get left channel right channel on the test. So I guess this is a hardware limitation?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
769 (0.68/day)
System Name Dell Inspiron 7375
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 7 2700U Mobile Processor with Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Memory 16GB (total) 2400MHz DDR4 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Radeon™ RX Vega 10 Graphics
Storage SanDisk X600 SATA SSD 512GB
Display(s) BOE NV13FHM
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC3253 (Dell Labelling) ALC255 (Real name)
@Ferather Thank you. So its a hardware limitation? Thats too bad. I don't really want to upmix, thats like virtual surround sound.

I know we've been over this already but I tested again the "test button" in Supported Formats tab & I hear everything out of all 5.1 channels on Dolby Digital & DTS. On the Advanced tab "Default Format" of Dolby Digital, I only get left channel right channel on the test. So I guess this is a hardware limitation?
When you tested on advanced tab,
  1. Were you able to select Dolby Digital?
  2. If yes, were you able to hear anything (in front left, front right)?
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2020
Messages
1,122 (3.90/day)
He only gets stereo, left right with it selected, the driver or hardware is either downmixing multichannel to stereo, or dropping the other channels, pre-encoder, the encoder only receives 2 channels.
 
Top