• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Microsoft claims Aero doesn't slow computers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home

Track

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
312
Likes
0
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Pentium 4 (prescott) 3.0Ghz 1M L2 cache 800Mhz FSB w/HT
Motherboard Asus P4GD1
Cooling Zalman VF900, Zalman 7700, 1x AC 80nm
Memory 1024 MB DDR400 PC3200
Video Card(s) X1900XT (512Mb) @ 745/1660
Storage 1x WD 80GB 8M cache 7200 RPM, 1x WD 250GB 8M cache 7200RPM
Display(s) Viewsonic VA712 LCD 17"
Power Supply 500W
Software Windows XP SP2 Gold Edition
#2
Hmm, then why do i still think that anyone with a 7300 GT or lower will stick with XP?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#3
anyone with less than 2gig of ram will stick with xp also, i am begining to think micro$ofts study groups are sponsored by the tobacco industry.
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#4
Many people have criticised the resource-hungry Windows Vista which has put some gamers off using it, and this report may make people sceptical as to why Microsoft recommends a noticeably more powerful system when running the Aero interface.

Source: Neowin.net
@ a graphics card level, I can see that IF you choose to opt to use (or the installation detects you have enough of a graphics-board) the AERO interface, they would demand you have a DirectX 10 capable videocard & drivers ready for VISTA using AERO-GLASS.

I don't think the CPU really matters as much here, nor the amount of system memory (RAM) onboard the motherboard, but since it is a newer OS, w/ many new features you DON'T see (for security, for instance... e.g.-> Address Space Memory Randomization) might mean it needs more RAM if anything to help processing for said "new features" that you do NOT see...

Vidcards though, especially for AEROGLASS, would probably demand some level of power minimum (as would CPU, but I would put that into the 700mhz-1ghz range personally for this OS, anything Win2k ran on SHOULD run this OS, especially if one chooses NOT to use AEROGlass)... RAM, again, I can see being 'upgraded' as to its requirements minimum too.

APK

P.S.=> I'm probably not stating this as well as I should... but, I guess what I was trying to say, was, that the demand for power would probably be in THIS order imo @ least:

  • VideoCard (DirectX 10 capable w/ matching drivers)
  • RAM (whatever MS lists as minimum & THEN some)
  • CPU (Whatever MS lists, but imo, 700mhz-1ghz SHOULD do... if a CPU can run Windows 2000/XP acceptably, it should push VISTA w/ out AERO fine)
apk
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
498
Likes
41
#5
So are they dropping the win98 interface option?
I hope you can still use the " set for optimal performance" tab. I like a simple flat look but want DX10.
 
Last edited:

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#6
So are they dropping the win98 interface option?
I hope you can still use the " set for optimal performance" tab. I like a simple flat look but want DX10.
No, you'll still be able to use the old fashioned windows look if you want, they just claim it doesn't affect performance. Admittedly you won't be able to make it look like XP unless you install third party software. This is based on my use of the beta anyway - I don't think they would remove the old appearance, safe mode likes it incase other things go wrong...
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#7
They conducted the research. Of course they wont say anything negative about their own software. Im not sure I will even mess with Vista, at least not right now.

1GB of Ram should be plenty for this OS. So should a DX10 capable Video Card and so should a 1.6ghz proc
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274
Likes
10,357
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#8
It probably doesn't have as much of an affect since a lot of the work seems to be off-loaded onto the GPU, hence the requirement of a halfway decent GPU to pull it off properly. The people that don't have GPUs capable of running it and force it on will certainly tell you it affects performance. You don't need a DX10 graphics card to run it, I don't know where you guys are getting that. Any decent DX9 card can pull it off just fine. Hell even something as weak as an integrated 6100 is good enough.
 

Canuto

New Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2006
Messages
2,153
Likes
4
Location
Portugal
Processor Pentium D 930 @3.6Ghz
Motherboard Biostar 945P-A7A(8.0)
Cooling Stock cooling, 1x92mm outtake fan
Memory Infineon 2x512Mb DDR2-533 @641Mhz 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) Powercolor X550 512Mb Hipermemory @510/261Mhz
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 200Gb
Display(s) iMax 17" LCD
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC'97 ALC655
Power Supply LC Power 550w Silent Giant GREEN POWER
Software Windows Vista Ultimate x86
#9
Hmm, then why do i still think that anyone with a 7300 GT or lower will stick with XP?
7300Gt are actually really good cards an OC'ed 7300GT > 660GT
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#10
From the horses mouth newtekkie :)
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#11
Aero will not be used on my computer. Even a little performance drop can be bad... also, from Microsoft, this is biased.
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#12
Aero will not be used on my computer. Even a little performance drop can be bad... also, from Microsoft, this is biased.
Well, I found that having aero enabled alone didn't pose too much of a problem as far as resources are concerned, but enabling the transparency really ate at my RAM and it was a bit slower. Having said that, this was when it was beta so it could've changed. Either way, I won't have Vista until there is something that I want from it (most likely some software stops working on XP). If it aint broke, don't fix it. Admittedly XP is broken but releasing a whole new OS isn't the fix! :laugh:
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#13
To me, Windows XP is about the best they have come up with to a good OS. Id use linux if everything I use supported it, which it doesnt.
 

Alec§taar

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
4,677
Likes
86
Location
Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
Processor DualCore AMD Athlon 64x2 4800+ (o/c 2801mhz STABLE (Ketxxx, POGE, Tatty One, ME))
Motherboard ASUS A8N-SLI Premium (PCIe x16, x4, x1)
Cooling PhaseChange Coolermaster CM754/939 (fan/heatsink), Thermalright heatspreaders + fan built on (RAM)
Memory 512mb PC-3200 DDR400 (set DDR-33 for o/c) by Corsair (matched pair, 2x256mb) 200.1/200mhz
Video Card(s) BFG GeForce 7900 GTX OC 512mb GDDR3 ram (o/c manually to 686 core/865 memory) - PhaseChange cooled
Storage Dual "Raptor X" 16mb 10krpm/RAID 0 Promise EX8350 x4 PCIe 128mb & Intel IO chip/CENATEK RocketDrive
Display(s) SONY 19" Trinitron MultiScan 400ps 1600x1200 75hz refresh 32-bit color
Case Antec Super-LanBoy (aluminum baby-tower w/ lower front & upper rear cooling exhaust fans)
Audio Device(s) RealTek AC97 onboard mobo stereo sound (Altec Lansing ACS-45 speakers - 10 yrs. still running!)
Power Supply Antec 500w ATX 2.0 "SmartPower" powersupply
Software Windows Server 2003 SP #1 fully patched, & massively tuned/tweaked to-the-max (plus latest drivers)
#14
It probably doesn't have as much of an affect since a lot of the work seems to be off-loaded onto the GPU, hence the requirement of a halfway decent GPU to pull it off properly.
Made sense to me also... hence, why a good vidcard MIGHT be an actual requirement.

The people that don't have GPUs capable of running it and force it on will certainly tell you it affects performance.
Agreed, again, 110% - hence, why I felt the graphics card IS the key thing here, for AeroGlass effects.

You don't need a DX10 graphics card to run it, I don't know where you guys are getting that.
I meant it more on THAT level, more than the user shell, mainly for gaming... I should have stated that above more clearly.

I meant DirectX 10 level of that API, as to WHY I said DirectX 10 above, just for taking full advantage of it for gaming w/ the ONLY Ms OS that has DirectX 10 out for it currently @ least... It really didn't come out like that though, & I just re-read it. My bad.

Any decent DX9 card can pull it off just fine. Hell even something as weak as an integrated 6100 is good enough.
As long as it could run DirectX 9 or less games well? Agreed, for AEROGLASS...

Again, however, for its level of gaming possible on it??

DirectX 10 & games for that API, is where VISTA will have some advantage in the future over XP/2003 Server/2000 certainly... & eventually, when the games come out on that API, it definitely will create a demand for DirectX 10 API capable vidcards + drivers for them too.

APK

P.S.=> I still haven't tried VISTA yet, not even the last release candidate that was a freebie D/L from MS... no time to install it lately the past few months, & to be blunt about it? I really DO like Windows Server 2003 because it does all I need (+ more I don't even begin to tap into which it can provide in abilities fully)...

Windows Server 2003 (fully current hotfix patched), in its default workstation mode, is truly imo @ least, the best of all worlds XP/2000/NT/9x & below/etc. et al... apk
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2006
Messages
498
Likes
41
#15
On tom's MS gave a guy Vista Ultimate to review http://www.tomshardware.com/2007/01/02/windows_vista_ultimate_hands_on/index.html . Instead of a install disk they sent it on a Acer Ferrari 1000 :wtf: Thats what I call setting the deck. Thats a lot like saying BP gas is great because the Ferrari you put it in went real fast,put that same gas in my GMC 1500 an it's not so great.
He does set it to classic mode so it must be there, thank god.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405
Likes
4,256
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#16
wow, microsoft claims microsoft isnt a piece of crap! what news!
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#17
what i thought was that vista themes were made different they were written as a part of the operating system and they did not use a windows themes manager to run them to where they dont use as much system resources as did the xp themes
 

Jimmy 2004

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#18
By the way, I just read the report, it has no reference to gaming or 3D applications from what I can see. All it is based on is application launch and exit times with some office functions given a benchmark too. According to their results, Windows Vista is generally as quick as XP, so the final release must be much faster than the BETA if this is true.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
5,196
Likes
296
Location
Kansas City, KS
System Name Dell XPS 15 9560
Processor I7-7700HQ
Memory 32GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1050/1080 Ti
Storage 1TB SSD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2715Q/4k Internal
Case Razer Core
Audio Device(s) Creative E5/Objective 2 Amp/Senn HD650
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G910
#19
ZOMG!

My 4 cylinder pulling a 2 ton trailer doesnt get slower when you add a passenger, either.

*bash head here*

Bloated os, bloated UI, if its already crawling, its not gonna be too noticable now is it..
 

mout12

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2006
Messages
114
Likes
0
Location
Reno
#20
I don't care if it uses more resources.... Things that look cooler with 3D effects will 99% of the time use more resources. A year or two from now, when everyone has minimum 4 gigs of ram in their PC, this will not even be an issue. This IS the OS of tomorrow.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274
Likes
10,357
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#21
I guess the Windows UI could be a lot worse, it could be as bloated as OSX or many of the "user friendly" linux distos. At least I can run Windows Vista comfortably on 256MB of RAM with everything but Aero glass turned on, I can't say that about OSX, 512MB is barely enough for OSX to run.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#22
What Microsoft should do, is work on one OS that works and works damn well. I do not see a need for a new OS right now. XP is kicking ass very well. Hell, Server 2003 makes APK happy with delight (I use it at work on our Dell laptops, it is very nice). This is their attempt to revamp things and get with their hardware buddies to ass rape us consumers. They should work on one OS and make it perfect.
 

Namslas90

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2006
Messages
4,846
Likes
535
Location
Earth
Processor AMD PII 940
Motherboard Biostar TA790GXB3
Cooling Custom Air
Memory 4GB G.SKILL (2x2)
Video Card(s) ASUS Radeon HD 5970
Storage 2X32GB ST SSd R0 + WD500GB storage
Display(s) Asus 22" Widescreen
Case Thermaltake V9 BE
Power Supply PCP&C 750 Silencer
#23
anyone with less than 2gig of ram will stick with xp also, i am begining to think micro$ofts study groups are sponsored by the tobacco industry.
LOL:laugh: Sponsored by or trained by, what's the difference.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,094
Likes
13,520
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#24
@ a graphics card level, I can see that IF you choose to opt to use (or the installation detects you have enough of a graphics-board) the AERO interface, they would demand you have a DirectX 10 capable videocard & drivers ready for VISTA using AERO-GLASS.

I don't think the CPU really matters as much here, nor the amount of system memory (RAM) onboard the motherboard, but since it is a newer OS, w/ many new features you DON'T see (for security, for instance... e.g.-> Address Space Memory Randomization) might mean it needs more RAM if anything to help processing for said "new features" that you do NOT see...

Vidcards though, especially for AEROGLASS, would probably demand some level of power minimum (as would CPU, but I would put that into the 700mhz-1ghz range personally for this OS, anything Win2k ran on SHOULD run this OS, especially if one chooses NOT to use AEROGlass)... RAM, again, I can see being 'upgraded' as to its requirements minimum too.

APK

P.S.=> I'm probably not stating this as well as I should... but, I guess what I was trying to say, was, that the demand for power would probably be in THIS order imo @ least:

  • VideoCard (DirectX 10 capable w/ matching drivers)
  • RAM (whatever MS lists as minimum & THEN some)
  • CPU (Whatever MS lists, but imo, 700mhz-1ghz SHOULD do... if a CPU can run Windows 2000/XP acceptably, it should push VISTA w/ out AERO fine)
apk

i've ran vista on a P4 2.6C, 6800GT 256MB and 1GB DDR400 (single channel) and it ran perfectly without a hitch. This was at 1024x768 res at 85Hz on a CRT.

Aero doesnt slow a PC, its just using 3D hardware thats not in use... alt-tabbing works fine with 3D games too (i'm on a vista rig now, testing it for work) Using transparency i reccomend 6800GT/7600/X1600 or higher video card however, as that did slow things down a bit more.

in my experience, 1GB ram, a 2500+/2.4GHz intel (or higher) with a 6600GT or above will happily run vista, and anything above that will run aero without a hitch unless you have a HDTV for a screen.

You CAN run a 98 look, but it doesnt really go any easier on the hardware. except for +10C GPU temps (at idle, load was the same) i see no difference between vista and XP. Gaming is a tad slower however, mostly due to audio.

As for ram, i'm running aero glass w/ transparency, 8 tabs in firefox, MSN messenger, yahoo messenger, nod32 antivirus and winamp, and its only using 598MB ram. so the 2GB thing is BS.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#25
i've ran vista on a P4 2.6C, 6800GT 256MB and 1GB DDR400 (single channel) and it ran perfectly without a hitch. This was at 1024x768 res at 85Hz on a CRT.

Aero doesnt slow a PC, its just using 3D hardware thats not in use... alt-tabbing works fine with 3D games too (i'm on a vista rig now, testing it for work) Using transparency i reccomend 6800GT/7600/X1600 or higher video card however, as that did slow things down a bit more.

in my experience, 1GB ram, a 2500+/2.4GHz intel (or higher) with a 6600GT or above will happily run vista, and anything above that will run aero without a hitch unless you have a HDTV for a screen.

You CAN run a 98 look, but it doesnt really go any easier on the hardware. except for +10C GPU temps (at idle, load was the same) i see no difference between vista and XP. Gaming is a tad slower however, mostly due to audio.

As for ram, i'm running aero glass w/ transparency, 8 tabs in firefox, MSN messenger, yahoo messenger, nod32 antivirus and winamp, and its only using 598MB ram. so the 2GB thing is BS.
What Vista build is that? RTM?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.