1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows 8.1 Is Now Available

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,276 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,933
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    So, correct me if I am wrong. 8.1 boots faster than 8. 8.1 uses a smaller footprint on my HDD, than 8. There is now a Start button but, it just brings up Metro?

    Any thoughts on side by side apps? Is it really all that AND a bag of chips? Oh, and the whole Windows Experience Index, do I have to have a Microsoft account to become Admin of my computer, now? Also, is it true, as I have read, the Apps are now Over-Dynamic? Meaning, they have connections to Facebook and such?

    I have 8, hated it, now I am used to it and have adapted to it's quirky search and little used Metro. I have rarely used any apps, only a couple times when it was new.

    In fact, I still kinda hate the whole high-jacking of my pictures, to Metro, when I click on them. I know I can click and open elsewhere but, I shouldn't have to make the extra step.

    Anyways, still, on the fence wit 8.1.
     
  2. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    700
    right click on a picture and Open with... select you app-lication of choice and mark "always use this to open"... Metro annoyances solved!
     
    Arjai says thanks.
  3. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,276 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,933
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Right but, I have my hard drive nearly full of 'em...I know I can select all or select and right click but, I shouldn't HAVE to!! Which I feel IS a valid point regarding W8 efficiency. Another added step, among many. Don't get me wrong, W8 is not all bad and I am not a hater, just a little annoyed by it sometimes, vs. w7.

    Any other pointer's regarding 8.1, as previously posted? :lovetpu:
     
  4. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,299 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,989
    Location:
    Mexico
    When the 8.1 upgrade asks for an MS account go to "Create a new account" (counter-intuitive, I know), in the screen that appears afterwards select "Keep using my current account" (or something like that). Presto! 8.1 with a local account.

    I don't know if you can do that from a 8.1 install disc, though.
     
    Raovac says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Arjai

    Arjai

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3,276 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,933
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    Nuttin'?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)