• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mobo CPU red light turns on for 1 second and then nothing happens

rexkudo

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
Hi! I've been struggling a lot with this. I recently updated my pc (changed mobo,cpu and rams), and since then I cant get my system stable. These are the specs:
CPU: Ryzen 9 3900x
MOBO: Asus TUF x57
RAMS: 2x8gb HyperX Predator @4000MHz
PSU: 650w 80+ Bronze

So here's the full story: I updated my pc and from the first day I cant get it to be stable. I had some 2x8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB @3600MHz that werent in QVL list so I returned them and bought the HyperX kit I mentioned. With the Corsair sticks I could get it work if I only use one stick, but as soon as I put two at the same time, the system got unstable and it even wont post ( mobo stucked in DRAM light).
Well, today I got my new RAMs and when I first connected it all worked fine (I gave it very low use bc I needed to finish some work asap and I didnt want to risk my pc to freeze again). When I finish my work I set the rams to 3600mhz (one of the two docp profiles available for my rams) and it booted but when I did a test (5min running aida64) it freezed again. So I updated my BIOS to the last version (I cant remember if I can get it to post after BIOS update) but the thing is that now my mobo doesnt do anything, when I power on the pc it turns on DRAM light, then the CPU light for one second and after that nothing happens.

I already tried removing the mobo batery, and clearing cmos but I can get my system to boot. I also tried with only one ram stick.

What is failing? Cpu, mobo or ram? Is there a solution for this? IMO, the rams have nothing to do with it, but Im kind of noob in this stuff. Im a bit sad bc I spent a lot of money and since I updated the pc I couldnt enjoy it yet :(

Ps: both cpu and mobo are suposed to have warranty.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.64/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
Does the board has the BIOS flashback button?

If you tried already to clear CMOS, remove the battery for a few minutes, use the jumper for reset...

consult manual for how you should do these.

...and nothing of these worked then I can say with some confidence that BIOS is bricked.
Happened to me a lot, with same led light pattern as I remember now that you mentioned it.
Fear not though, if your board has that Flashback button.

You can reflash BIOS with a usb drive on FAT32, plugged into the specified USB port with a bios file on it with a specific name that manual says.
 

rexkudo

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
Does the board has the BIOS flashback button?

If you tried already to clear CMOS, remove the battery for a few minutes, use the jumper for reset...

consult manual for how you should do these.

...and nothing of these worked then I can say with some confidence that BIOS is bricked.
Happened to me a lot, with same led light pattern as I remember now that you mentioned it.
Fear not though, if your board has that Flashback button.

You can reflash BIOS with a usb drive on FAT32, plugged into the specified USB port with a bios file on it with a specific name that manual says.
Hi! Thanks for your reply. My mother doesnt have a BIOS Flashback button but Im going to search how to do this in my MOBO. If I have any news I will tell you!

Hi! Thanks for your reply. My mother doesnt have a BIOS Flashback button but Im going to search how to do this in my MOBO. If I have any news I will tell you!
I couldnt do it. It lights up the CPU led indicator for one second and then this led turns off and nothing else happens. No post or anything.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.64/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
I’m really sorry! It’s a shame that ASUS did not include this function on a 200+$ board.

I had this a lot with my X570 Aorus Pro last year, when I was messing around with DRAM settings. Boot got stuck on DRAM led with 1 flash of CPU led. The only way to work around this is by using this flash button.
After several BIOS updates it never happen again, no matter how crazy settings I dial.
 

rexkudo

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
Yes, it reall
I’m really sorry! It’s a shame that ASUS did not include this function on a 200+$ board.

I had this a lot with my X570 Aorus Pro last year, when I was messing around with DRAM settings. Boot got stuck on DRAM led with 1 flash of CPU led. The only way to work around this is by using this flash button.
After several BIOS updates it never happen again, no matter how crazy settings I dial.
Yes it really dissapointed me. I had another Tuf mobo and it worked fine for me and thats why I bought this one, but I have to admit that I regret this choice. Now I have contacted asus support and I hope they allow me to return it. Thanks for your replies!!
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
589 (0.25/day)
Processor 3900X 4.4
Motherboard X570 Tomahawk
Cooling 2x EK Phoenix 240 tubed together with Vardar push-pull
Memory 2x8gb Trident-Z 3600
Video Card(s) Duke 2080
Storage Optane 280gb PCI-E + 980 Pro 500gb
Display(s) PG348Q
Case Core P3
Audio Device(s) ATOLL DAC 100SE, Magnat RV-1 to Dali Ikon 1 MK2, QED banana cabling
Power Supply AX1500i
Mouse Projects Gaming S001
Keyboard Topre Realforce 87U with all 30g keys
Software Win 10 Pro
This is likely a Zen cold boot issue and might be fixed by a BIOS update as Zach put it, however, you could still swap the RAM back and forth and see what comes. It's generally tied to RAM and happens like the most on Gigabyte boards actually, but in reality it's a thing with Matisse from what I've gathered. Meaning it can happen to any such part combination of this platform. If you want to get rid of the board, buy a good MSI. They seem to have nailed it with these.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
394 (0.63/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5603 - AGESA comboPI 1.0.0.6)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Try clearing the CMOS like this:
Unplug the PC (PSU).
Then press the Power Button for at least 30 seconds.
Use a flat headed screwdriver to short the CLR CMOS (CLRTC) Jumper (Touch both jumper pins with the screwdriver) for at least 15 seconds.
Plug the PC back in.
Press the Power Button to turn the PC on.
Repeatedly tap the DEL key
A screen should come up telling you to press the F1 key, do that.
Set the Optimized Default settings and Press OK (this is on the EXIT tab)
Save and exit the BIOS.
Tap the DEL key again to enter the BIOS and change any settings you want changed then save and exit again.

Sometimes I had to do that 3 or more times in a row before it worked when I was OCing my RAM and CPU.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
589 (0.25/day)
Processor 3900X 4.4
Motherboard X570 Tomahawk
Cooling 2x EK Phoenix 240 tubed together with Vardar push-pull
Memory 2x8gb Trident-Z 3600
Video Card(s) Duke 2080
Storage Optane 280gb PCI-E + 980 Pro 500gb
Display(s) PG348Q
Case Core P3
Audio Device(s) ATOLL DAC 100SE, Magnat RV-1 to Dali Ikon 1 MK2, QED banana cabling
Power Supply AX1500i
Mouse Projects Gaming S001
Keyboard Topre Realforce 87U with all 30g keys
Software Win 10 Pro
You have the RAM on the last slot in the video, you're supposed to start plugging from the second slot. Try keeping it there.
 

rexkudo

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
You have the RAM on the last slot in the video, you're supposed to start plugging from the second slot. Try keeping it there.
Thanks, Im going to try it! Altough, from the lights it seems that ram is ok, isnt it?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
1,669 (3.64/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC alive since Aug 18th 2019
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 (PBO Enabled)
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro, BIOS F22
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (Liquid metal for TIM)
Memory CorsairVengeanceLPX DDR4 2x8GB 3466MHz CL16-18-18-36 1T, B-die A0 PCB, @3800 CL16-18-18-36 1T(1.46V)
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X
Storage Samsung NVMe: 970Pro 512GB (2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB SSD (2017), 860Evo 1TB SSD (2020)
Display(s) 24" EIZO FlexScan S2411W 1920x1200, 16:10 60Hz samsung S-PVA 14-bit (16.7M/1.06B colors), 6ms G2G
Case None
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G15 v2
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (v2004)
I would try 1 stick to every Ram slot 1 by 1, and try to reset/clear CMOS in every possible way. After that if nothing happens, I would declare the board’s BIOS bricked.

I know I’ve said it again to OP, but just a general reminder to all people, this could’ve been worked around with the flash button. Try not to buy boards without one.
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2014
Messages
589 (0.25/day)
Processor 3900X 4.4
Motherboard X570 Tomahawk
Cooling 2x EK Phoenix 240 tubed together with Vardar push-pull
Memory 2x8gb Trident-Z 3600
Video Card(s) Duke 2080
Storage Optane 280gb PCI-E + 980 Pro 500gb
Display(s) PG348Q
Case Core P3
Audio Device(s) ATOLL DAC 100SE, Magnat RV-1 to Dali Ikon 1 MK2, QED banana cabling
Power Supply AX1500i
Mouse Projects Gaming S001
Keyboard Topre Realforce 87U with all 30g keys
Software Win 10 Pro
You might be shorting, there looks to be a missing motherboard screw in the middle of the board, on the back of the first M.2 slot. I'd suggest checking that.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
543 (0.48/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 3700x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling Eisbaer 280 with 2 Arctic F14 (top/exhaust), two F14/two F12 for intake, F14 (rear/exaust)
Memory 16 GB 3600/16/19/19/36-1T@1.35v Corsair Veng Pro (Micron die)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 evo pro/Inland pro/Adata NVME's
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Thermaltake S300 TG
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply EVGA G+ 650w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 P 33373 TimeSpy P 12164 Fire Strike ult 7415 SuperPosition FHD xtr 7695, UHD opt 10006
Not sure why you guys complain about the flashback button missing,
when asus doesnt use one.
load the motherboard dvd, system will auto recover bios, but i doubt thats the issue.

check for ground/short.
do your fans spin for a second? psu bad.
last option, try different psu, try mb outside the case.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,855 (0.97/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 2004)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
2x8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB @3600MHz
This could also be your problem for some reason Ryzen doesn't like alot of corsair ram it seems to be the most reported problem in the forums when it's a ram issue you are usually best to stick with ram that is in the QVL to be fairly confident of no issues like this I'd first try each slot with a single dimm and make sure they all work properly by using memtest x64 and then try the other dimm

also as above check you're not shorting your mobo by not having a screw in where there's supposed to be one also check power cables are seated properly (ie: 8 pin CPU) if not clicked in properly thermal creep can happen and they'll slowly but surely unplug themselves

failing all of that getting your PC running I'd try another PSU first if that works it's a PSU problem and if it still does start up try your CPU in another PC if it works then there's most likely a mobo problem
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
394 (0.63/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5603 - AGESA comboPI 1.0.0.6)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,855 (0.97/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 2004)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
Your video shows the white (VGA) LED stays lit.
no it doesn't it does actually go off after a couple seconds which means it's fine now the yellow ram led on the other hand doesn't even turn on before shut down so it's not even getting that far into boot tests before quitting
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2009
Messages
1,467 (0.35/day)
Location
Heart of Europia what!
System Name ibuytheusedstuff
Processor 5960x
Motherboard x99 sabertooth
Cooling old socket775 cooler
Memory 32 Viper
Video Card(s) 1080ti on morpheus 1
Storage raptors+ssd
Display(s) acer 120hz
Case open bench
Audio Device(s) onb
Power Supply antec 1200 moar power
Mouse mx 518
Keyboard roccat arvo
the motherboard manual states that the ram (i was surprised too) with 1x stick in A2 so the outer grey like rexcudo did correctly.
2x ram in A2+B2
Benchpic030-20201102.png
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
394 (0.63/day)
Location
Western NY, USA
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X470-F Gaming (BIOS 5603 - AGESA comboPI 1.0.0.6)
Cooling Scythe Ninja 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB (2 x 8GB) (F4-3600C16D-16GVKC) @ 3733 MHz 16-19-19-19-36-56
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC 8GB
Storage 1x Samsung 970 EVO 500GB / 3x Crucial MX500 / 4 HDDs
Display(s) Dell 23" LCD S2316M
Case Rosewill Rise Glow
Power Supply CORSAIR RM650
Mouse Cooler Master MS120
Keyboard Cooler Master MS120
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
no it doesn't it does actually go off after a couple seconds which means it's fine now the yellow ram led on the other hand doesn't even turn on before shut down so it's not even getting that far into boot tests before quitting
From what I see in that video, the Yellow RAM LED goes on then off then the CPU LED goes on then off then the VGA light goes on and stays on and he doesn't get any video signal.
Or is the white VGA LED just not lighting up ?
Either way that would point to an issue with the GPU.

On both my Asus boards the LEDs cycle just like his do BUT my VGA and BOOT LEDs cycle on then off also.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,855 (0.97/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 2004)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
I didn't see a yellow led just the red and white both of which went off after a couple of seconds

so no 1st led yellow (memory) 2nd led red (CPU) lights up then 3rd led white (GPU) after which they both go out and system fails to boot shoot it doesn't even stay on long enough for a post screen
 

rexkudo

New Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
7 (0.19/day)
First of all, I really appreciate your replies. I couldnt connect yesterday, so Im replying all now. I have some news, I got in contact with the seller and they said that they are going to receive my mobo and try to fix it and if it doesnt work, they are going to send it to ASUS . So now I have my pc all disassembled.

You might be shorting, there looks to be a missing motherboard screw in the middle of the board, on the back of the first M.2 slot. I'd suggest checking that.
My Case doesnt support a screw there, it is a NZXT S340, but I dont think thats the problem bc I was designed that way on porpuse to easily align the motherboard.

Not sure why you guys complain about the flashback button missing,
when asus doesnt use one.
load the motherboard dvd, system will auto recover bios, but i doubt thats the issue.

check for ground/short.
do your fans spin for a second? psu bad.
last option, try different psu, try mb outside the case.
All fans keep spining all the time the pc is on, and the psu Im using is the same I used with my last rig and it worked fine then.

This could also be your problem for some reason Ryzen doesn't like alot of corsair ram it seems to be the most reported problem in the forums when it's a ram issue you are usually best to stick with ram that is in the QVL to be fairly confident of no issues like this I'd first try each slot with a single dimm and make sure they all work properly by using memtest x64 and then try the other dimm

also as above check you're not shorting your mobo by not having a screw in where there's supposed to be one also check power cables are seated properly (ie: 8 pin CPU) if not clicked in properly thermal creep can happen and they'll slowly but surely unplug themselves

failing all of that getting your PC running I'd try another PSU first if that works it's a PSU problem and if it still does start up try your CPU in another PC if it works then there's most likely a mobo problem
Yes, I had suffer with Corsair rams before, but I returned them and I bought HyperX Predator @4000Mhz ( which are in the mobo QVL list). Sadly, I dont have other cpu or rig to try changing it :(


Your video shows the white (VGA) LED stays lit.
That indicates an issue with your Graphics card.
Look at page 1-8 (section 1.1.6) here:

What GPU do you have ?
I would remove the GPU then re-install it to make sure it is properly seated.
Also make sure you are using the proper PCI-E cable/cables to power it and that they are completely seated as well.
The DRAM and CPU lights are the only ones that are being turned on. The VGA and BOOT light doesnt do anything. My GPU is a ASUS ROG STRIX 1060 6GB OC edition (without being OC atm). I tried removing the GPU and putting it back and I did the same with the CPU. The PCI cables are the same I used with my last [mobo/cpu/rams combo. My GPU and PSU where fine in my last rig.

the motherboard manual states that the ram (i was surprised too) with 1x stick in A2 so the outer grey like rexcudo did correctly.
2x ram in A2+B2
View attachment 174144
Yes, thats why I had it there, but I also try switching it to all the others slots just in case. Either way, the DRAM light indicates that ram is ok. I tried turning on the pc without any ram and the light gets stuck at DRAM, so I think it is ok.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
543 (0.48/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 3700x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling Eisbaer 280 with 2 Arctic F14 (top/exhaust), two F14/two F12 for intake, F14 (rear/exaust)
Memory 16 GB 3600/16/19/19/36-1T@1.35v Corsair Veng Pro (Micron die)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 evo pro/Inland pro/Adata NVME's
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Thermaltake S300 TG
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply EVGA G+ 650w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 P 33373 TimeSpy P 12164 Fire Strike ult 7415 SuperPosition FHD xtr 7695, UHD opt 10006
@Athlonite
one thing i learned with ryzen 3xxx cpus is that QVL doesnt mean jack, partially since mem controller is on the cpu.

i had multiple boards from different brands having issues running the (listed) Gskill @1800mhz without even using XMP,
but worked fine with 2 different Corsair Veng Pro kits not listed.
one kit (XMP profile of 3600-18/22/22/42/64@1.35) even running 16/19/19/36/58/1T@1.34 on two different cpus (3600/3700)
and two different boards that wouldnt even post with the Gskill.

@rexkudo
since everything else is excluded, i assume its the board or board/ram combo, maybe even caused by bios.
on my board (Aorus 570 Ultra) out of 12 bios versions only 2 run the ram without causing memtest errors.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
3,855 (0.97/day)
Location
Gougeland (NZ)
System Name Cumquat 2000
Processor AMD RyZen R7 3700X
Motherboard Asus Strix x570-F Gaming
Cooling Cryorig R1 Universal
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ DR4-3200 16-18-18-38 1.35V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse RX5700 8GB DDR6 1750/1700
Storage 1x Adata SX8200PRO NVMe gen3 x4 1X Samsung 860 EVO 500GB 1x Sandisk 128GB PCIe, 12TB of HDD Storage
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 MHD 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Realtek S1220a + Pioneer VSX-531 amp Technics 100W Speaker set
Power Supply Enermax RevolutionXT II 750W 80+ Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 2004)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even more less now ;)
@Fry178 and yet here I am with G.Skill ram and had no problems at all through 3 different Asus mobo's a TUF x470 a strix x470 and lastly an strix x570 all had their BIOS's updated to latest available and not one of them missed a beat when it came to the ram whilst running Asus's version of XMP (DOCP)

alot comes down to the kit you buy I stuck with a G.Skill Ryzen ready kit and had no problems but probably a good 80% of ram problems in these forums seem to be with Corsair ram specially their cheaper Vengeance LPX kits
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
543 (0.48/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 3700x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling Eisbaer 280 with 2 Arctic F14 (top/exhaust), two F14/two F12 for intake, F14 (rear/exaust)
Memory 16 GB 3600/16/19/19/36-1T@1.35v Corsair Veng Pro (Micron die)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 evo pro/Inland pro/Adata NVME's
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Thermaltake S300 TG
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply EVGA G+ 650w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 P 33373 TimeSpy P 12164 Fire Strike ult 7415 SuperPosition FHD xtr 7695, UHD opt 10006
@Athlonite
never stated anything saying they dont work.
but ppl need to stop saying the qvl means "it will work".
its proof that the manufacturer tested the kit, nothing else.
 
Top