• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Monitors won't go to sleep... Why?

Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,784 (1.70/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
I'm currently running Windows 10 version 17134.48 with nVidia driver version 391.35 with a GTX1060. My monitors won't go to sleep, I've come down to where my computer is and all night long the monitors have been on displaying the same thing which I can't help but to think is not good for the LCD screen itself. So here I am wondering just why the monitors won't go to sleep and just what I can do to troubleshoot this issue.
 
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Location
Philadelphia
System Name The Tower \\ The eGPU
Processor 8700K@5.0 \\ 7700HQ
Motherboard Z370-G \\ XPS 15
Cooling NOCTUA D14 \\ XPS 15
Memory 32GB DDR4 \\ 16GB DDR4
Video Card(s) 1080Ti FTW3 \\ 1070 Ti FTW
Storage 500GB 970 EVO + 2TB 850 EVO \\ 1TB 960 EVO
Display(s) 2xP2715Q \\ UHD
Case Titanium FT03 \\ XPS 15
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply 1000W Platinum
Mouse G403 Wireless \\ G403 Wireless
Keyboard K70 RGB LUX \\ Drevo Calibur
Software Windows 10 Pro
i am assuming that you have configured the power settings to enable the monitor/pc to sleep. If that's the case, there is likely something keeping it from going to sleep. you can find out what it is by doing the following:

Open CMD
Type "powercfg -requests", and see what comes up.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,347 (1.29/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Is your computer still awake?
Also, if you go through the Windows power button and select Sleep (instead of just walking away) do the computer and monitors go to sleep then?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,784 (1.70/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
Is your computer still awake?
Yes, I tend to not turn off my computer at night. I've always subscribed to the concept that turning your system off and on again can shorten the age of the system due to thermal expansion and retraction.
Type "powercfg -requests", and see what comes up.
C:\WINDOWS\system32>powercfg -requests
DISPLAY:
None.

SYSTEM:
None.

AWAYMODE:
None.

EXECUTION:
None.

PERFBOOST:
None.

ACTIVELOCKSCREEN:
None.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,759 (5.18/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I know it might sound strange, but have you tried turning your mouse off when you walk away from the computer?

I only say this because I've seen this happen a few times with the Logitech Laser mice, for whatever reason the sensors are always reporting a slight mouse movement to the computer. Flipping them over and turning them off when you aren't using them has fixed the issue in the past for me.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,784 (1.70/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
I know it might sound strange, but have you tried turning your mouse off when you walk away from the computer?
Never thought about that.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
366 (0.08/day)
Location
Where the beer is good
System Name Karl Arsch v. u. z. Abgewischt
Processor i5 3770K @5GHz delided
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Professional
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer 240
Memory 4x 4GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Samsung 830 - 512GB; 2x 2TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung T240 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Shinobie XL
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Cougar G600
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard CMStorm Ultimate QuickFire (CherryMX Brown)
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
I know it might sound strange, but have you tried turning your mouse off when you walk away from the computer?

I only say this because I've seen this happen a few times with the Logitech Laser mice, for whatever reason the sensors are always reporting a slight mouse movement to the computer. Flipping them over and turning them off when you aren't using them has fixed the issue in the past for me.

Can confirm that - my Logitech G500 sometimes does that too.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
573 (0.75/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Desktop5
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-P
Cooling AMD Wraith Stealth
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 3200 MHz (BLS8G4D32AESCK.M8FE) (CL16-18-18-36)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB // Toshiba 2 TB HDD // WD 2 TB HDD // Mushkin Triactor 3DL 256 GB
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Logitech Wireless Mouse M280 // Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard HP Vectra VE keyboard (Part # D4950-63004)
Software Windows 10
Maybe some application has asked Windows to not put monitors on stand by... For example, Foobar2000 (music player) has an option for that (literally "Prevent screensaver & monitor standby when playing"). Because of how it works, such requests only show up with "powercfg -requests" when Foobar2000 is actually playing something.

Check that there is nothing else running in background, turn off the mouse if possible (or disconnect it), and then leave the computer alone until the time for monitor standby is up (I'd set it up to wait one minute before the screen goes to sleep just to make it quick). If the monitor goes to sleep, you have an app that doesn't allow the screen to turn off or the mouse is the culprit. If the display is still on, then it might be some bug in Windows or Nvidia drivers.

Other than that, I can't really think of anything else.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
832 (0.23/day)
Location
Edmonton, AB, Canada
System Name Project Neverending
Processor i9 9900K @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula XI
Cooling Corsair HX 150i Pro, Corsair ML 120/ML140 fans
Memory 32 GB Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3200
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080Ti
Storage Samsung 970 Evo NVMe, 2 Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 (3440X1440), Samsung U28D590 (3840X2160)
Case Corsair 500D SE RGB
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi, Logitech 5.1 speaker system
Power Supply Corsair HX 1000i
Mouse Logitech G703
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Updates coming soon ®
Some monitors need specific drivers to actually go to sleep. I had a couple Viewsonic monitors that had the same issue when using the generic Windows drivers.
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
12,672 (3.02/day)
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Phantom
Processor Core i7-8700k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F Black CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-4 3200
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 1x 2TB WD Black; 2x 4TB WD Black; 1x400GB VelRptr; 1x 3TB WD Blue storage (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III (large palm grip!)
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
Yes, I tend to not turn off my computer at night. I've always subscribed to the concept that turning your system off and on again can shorten the age of the system due to thermal expansion and retraction.
Honestly, this shouldn’t be a real problem. I had the major parts of my previous system for 6 years, started and shut down every day.

Unless you are keeping your parts 10 years or more, it’s a non-issue.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,347 (1.29/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Yes, I tend to not turn off my computer at night. I've always subscribed to the concept that turning your system off and on again can shorten the age of the system due to thermal expansion and retraction.
That's a very old-time belief I used to subscribe to too for the very same reasons. In fact, I was taught that in tech school way back in the day. But that no longer applies to most electronics anymore because very little heat is generated when they go into standby mode. Thermal characteristic when in standby is essentially the same as when off.

That said, I never turn my computers off either and just let them go to sleep as well.

As for the mouse trick, I think flipping them over "or" turning them off does the same thing. But note this is likely only a problem if subject to vibrations. If you have a heavy desk sitting on a concrete floor, I doubt that is the problem - assuming this is not a brand new mouse.

But to that, if it is the mouse, that would be keeping the computer awake, not just the monitors. So I ask again, "is your computer still awake?"

Also, did it used to sleep properly?

If you computer is also away, and I suspect it is, that would have nothing to do with monitor drivers. Even with generic drivers, all PnP monitors will go to sleep when the signal is lost.

If using Samsung Magician, don't and see what happens. When I got my first Samsung SSD a few years ago, I used Magician and it prevented my systems from going to sleep. Windows does not need 3rd party tools to properly manage SSDs anyways. I understand Samsung fixed that sleep issue, but Windows still does not need it.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
5,449 (6.09/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
Weird, I've got a nvidia card, two monitors and also a logitech mouse and zero issues with monitor sleep (nor downclocking). Check your osd, they might have some sort of a setting for sleep.

What software is running ?

I've got afterburner,xtu,utorrent,samsung magician,uplay,steam,rtss,logitech software,irst,geforce experience and killer network app running 24/7, and usually youtube is running on autoplay when I go to sleep.

Mine is running 24/7 cause why not. I download a crapload of videos (tv shows mostly) and it does not shorten the lifespan of anything as long as the pc is idling fine (the cpu,gpu,ssds and monitors). My hdds are pretty much doing something 24/7 but the pc still turns off the monitor when I'm not touching the peripherials. Even when my phone and watch start recharging automatically it does not wake up the monitors.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,901 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'm currently running Windows 10 version 17134.48 with nVidia driver version 391.35 with a GTX1060. My monitors won't go to sleep, I've come down to where my computer is and all night long the monitors have been on displaying the same thing which I can't help but to think is not good for the LCD screen itself. So here I am wondering just why the monitors won't go to sleep and just what I can do to troubleshoot this issue.
Set a screen saver to start after a minute for testing, then set your monitors to turn off after 3 minutes, don't let a mouse cord be moving. Another thing could be that a program is set to prevent windows from sleeping even.

https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2843-change-power-plan-settings-windows-10-a.html
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
6,677 (2.38/day)
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name Monster Panzer Max [MPM]/Nostalg33k/Fiio X5 3rd gen/Xiaomi Mi Box S/Honor View 20
Processor i5-6600K 3.9/E8500/RK3188/S905X 4X1.5 A53/Kirin 980 2xA76 (2.6 GHz)+2xA76 (1.92)+4xA53 (1.8GHz)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7/XFX 650i Ultra/Fiio/uh?/uh?
Cooling Corsair H115i /Alphacool Eisberg /uh?/Aluminum heatsink/Heatpipe
Memory 4x4gb HyperX Predator 2800 CL14/2gb DDR2 800/1gb/2gb LPDDR3/6gb LPDDR4X dual channel
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR 8gb OC/Asus 8800 Ultra/Mali 400MP4/Mali 450MP5/Mali G76MP10
Storage 120gb OCZ VertexIII,1tb/8gb SSHD,2xToshiba 1tb/none/32gb+64gb/8gb/128gb UFS 2.1
Display(s) Medion X58222 32"5ms OC 75hz 2880x1620/Philips 273E3LHSB 27"1ms 1920x1080/~4" 480x800/6.4 inch FHD+
Case Cougar Panzer Max/none/Aluminum and tempered glass/None/alu frame +back/front glass
Audio Device(s) Fiio Q1 Mark II+Logitec Z333/SB Audigy2 Platinum/dual AK4490EN /HDMI audio output/Trn V60/Fiio Fa1
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 750 /Enermax Coolergiant 480/12v 1.5A/Aukey QC3.0 9-12V 1.96A
Mouse Asus ROG Spatha/touch/Xiaomi XMRM-006/touch
Keyboard GMMK TKL+Gateron Red+white keys/touch/none/touch
Software Win10 64/none/Android 5.1.1 custom/Android TV 8.1/Android 9.1.0
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
mmhhh maybe the same behavior as my screen...

"non native resolution" whenever i put it at 1440p60 it goes to sleep with the computer, if set on 1620p75 doesn't enter sleep, since i prefer 1620 over 1440 for some reason, i tend to shut down the monitor alone.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
21,138 (4.01/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Do you have remote software like teamviewer?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,784 (1.70/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
All I'm asking is for my monitors to go to sleep, not the whole computer. I do have late night tasks that happen but they're background tasks; namely data backups via Macrium Reflect. But during the day I want to have the monitors go to sleep.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
6,347 (1.29/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
All I'm asking is for my monitors to go to sleep, not the whole computer.
I don't see how that is possible. If the computer is awake, a video signal will be sent to the monitors keeping them awake. Monitors go to sleep X minutes after no longer receiving a signal.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,784 (1.70/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
I guess that's what I'm trying to do, get the video card to stop sending a video signal to the monitor after a period of no user input.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,901 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I guess that's what I'm trying to do, get the video card to stop sending a video signal to the monitor after a period of no user input.
I sent you a link to W10 forum on how to do this. If it fails after implementing that, you have a program preventing the monitor from turning off/going to screen saver, it could even prevent the rig from sleeping if you implement that at some point too.

Post your tasks/services/programs running, get a screenshot of msconfig and even services.msc and post them here, also whats running in the task bar.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,385 (1.75/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
I don't see how that is possible. If the computer is awake, a video signal will be sent to the monitors
:confused: I've never allowed my systems to sleep, but I've always had them turn the monitor off.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
2,707 (1.49/day)
Location
On The Highway To Hell \m/
...all night long the monitors have been on displaying the same thing which I can't help but to think is not good for the LCD screen itself.
You can think that. But you'd be wrong. Because, unless you're using a CRT, it doesn't matter. Other than the wasted electricity.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,682 (6.24/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
My monitor properly went to sleep when plugged in via DVI but ever since I changed it to HDMI, it doesn't. Instead, it gives a check video signal display that never goes away. I think only DVI and DisplayPort properly support monitor sleep states. HDMI is designed for TVs and TVs generally don't sleep (at best, they dim).
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
28,901 (6.31/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
My monitor properly went to sleep when plugged in via DVI but ever since I changed it to HDMI, it doesn't. Instead, it gives a check video signal display that never goes away. I think only DVI and DisplayPort properly support monitor sleep states. HDMI is designed for TVs and TVs generally don't sleep (at best, they dim).
Works on a hdmi to dvi adapter where the monitor is dvi but the card is hdmi.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
1,784 (1.70/day)
Location
North East Ohio, USA
System Name My Super Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
Cooling Corsair H55 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Crucial/Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 500 GB NVMe SSD (System Drive), Samsung 860 EVO 500 GB SATA SSD (Game Drive)
Display(s) HP 2311x and Acer G206HQL
Case CoolerMaster MasterBox Lite 5 RGB
Audio Device(s) On-Board Sound
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G3 Gold
Mouse Logitech M705
Keyboard Logitech Wave K350
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/liwjs3
I have two monitors; one connected via DVI and the other via HDMI. Both monitors don't go to sleep though, both continue receiving a video signal and continue to stay awake.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,759 (5.18/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You can think that. But you'd be wrong. Because, unless you're using a CRT, it doesn't matter. Other than the wasted electricity.
That isn't true. LCDs can definitely suffer from burn-in.
 
Top