• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Mozilla Firefox 3.5 Released

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,547
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#26
no need for the language, or you directing your rage at members of the forum.

if you have such serious problems, stop using firefox and go play with chrome. Or do something constructive, such as send reports to the firefox team.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.40/day)
Likes
163
#27
I'm fine with 3.0.11 thankyouverymuch.
I will never use Chrome.
All of the problems I mentioned are already filed on Bugzilla. the only problem is they probably aren't willing to change it back.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#28
it loads faster than 3.0

i updated my mbp, from 3.0 to 3.5 and i noticed a speed difference.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#29
1. standard behavior? BS. ONLY Chrome does that and that's because every tab in chrome is a separate process. it's not in Firefox.
2. The close button on the last tab was there in 3.0.x. there's nothing wrong with it.
1 and 2 happened because some moron submitted a bug and it got "FIXED" even though many people were/are opposing it.

3. Firefox started giving a f about Windows security zones in 3.0. now 3.5 stopped giving a f about group policy - SO WHAT IS THE POINT OF IT?
Okay -- you obviously have some rage issues that perhaps have nothing to do with Firefox... :wtf:

No one's making you use it!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,547
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#30
personally i hated that damn close button. kept accidentally clicking it, when trying to hit the tab. Think i'm just retarded with poor aim? you try it from a touchpad.

you can click on a tab with your mouse wheel (button 3) and it closes it. so very hard to do.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#31
I always just use Ctrl + T for a new tab, and Ctrl + W to close one. Then again, I like my keyboard shortcuts a tad more than the average joe.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#32
personally i hated that damn close button. kept accidentally clicking it, when trying to hit the tab. Think i'm just retarded with poor aim? you try it from a touchpad.

you can click on a tab with your mouse wheel (button 3) and it closes it. so very hard to do.
TBH, I guess I've just never even had this problem! A long time ago, I started using the TabMixPlus extension to remove the close button from tabs, so they couldn't be closed that way.

Now, I just exclusively use a middle-click to close tabs if/when I need to. (Also, middle-click has the additional use of opening up a new tab if clicked on the empty tab bar -- this is also default behaviour in Chrome.)

Seriously -- that's the wonderful thing about Firefox -- if there's a behaviour that's annoying you, or something that you think could be done better, there's an extension out there that'll fix it for you. :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#33
good news
i've installed it
takes 2 mins.
HOWEVER
for some reason
i cannot right click any webpages
as in a menu that pops out and says things like "copy image location" etc. etc.
how do i fix this?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,547
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#34
good news
i've installed it
takes 2 mins.
HOWEVER
for some reason
i cannot right click any webpages
as in a menu that pops out and says things like "copy image location" etc. etc.
how do i fix this?
uninstall and reinstall, no plugins.
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
2,895 (0.91/day)
Likes
258
System Name N/A
Processor i7-4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97-A
Cooling Thermalright True Power 140
Memory 2 x 8GB GeIL Potenza 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 970 Gaming
Storage 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) 24" Samsung 1080p LED Monitor
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Corsair TX650W
Mouse Logitech MX518
Keyboard Corsair K70 (Brown MX)
Software Windows 8.1
#35

smuggler

New Member
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#36
I cannot give emprical proof but I've seen improvement. With 3.0 I could never open www.forbes.com so hat i switched to IE 8. But with 3.5 this site opens smoothly.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
318 (0.10/day)
Likes
28
Location
New York, NY
System Name The Baconator
Processor Phenom II X4 965 @ 4.00GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790FX
Cooling Zalman 9900 CPU Cooler
Memory 16Gb DDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 5870
Storage OS: WD 300Gb @ 10,000rpm. Storage: 2 x 1Tb @ 7,200rpm
Display(s) ASUS 27" LED 1080p Monitor
Case Cooler Master Sniper Medium Tower
Audio Device(s) MoBo Integrated
Power Supply Corsair PSU 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#37
I cannot give emprical proof but I've seen improvement. With 3.0 I could never open www.forbes.com so hat i switched to IE 8. But with 3.5 this site opens smoothly.
Strange, I'm tired of going there with 3.0, one of the sites I visit often :p.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2008
Messages
1,334 (0.40/day)
Likes
163
#38
Funny because there's an about:config entry to completely disable close buttons. There isn't one to get back the close button on the last tab. to get it back you have to install Stylish and a style, or modified userchrome.css. all this for ONE button that was there in the last version. What's so "wonderful" about that?

When you right click on the last tab, Close Tab is grayed, there is also no close button, and yet at the same time you can close it with ctrl+w, file->close tab, or middle click(only possible when browser.tabs.closeWindowWithLastTab=false). Inconsistency much? Why is the last tab treated so differently? There's nothing wrong about treating it like every other tab.
Or is there?
Now, read this bug(this is the one that started all this):
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=392870
In short, they make it so "closing the last tab will always close the window". However there is a problem with that: it's easy to accidentally close the entire window. To reduce the the likelihood of that happening, they disabled some of the ways to close the last tab. They added a dumb behavior to Firefox, then added more dumb behaviors to reduce the dumbness of the first one. Hmm, how smart is that? :rolleyes:

Now, can you see why I'm so annoyed?
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,088 (0.35/day)
Likes
232
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G1
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-4600U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Intel stock for now
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X DirectCU II OC \\ Intel 4400 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB \\ Micron 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP ZR2440w external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
#39
At last!