• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI 790FX-GD70 problems

joekiefer

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
My little brother just bought a MSI 790FX-GD70 board, and amd phenom 2 x4 processor from new egg and I was going to use an machine i had sitting around to toss them in. The first thing I notice was the old ram was ddr 2 so I pulled two one sticks from my machine and they are consair xms 3 ddr3. The first time i tried to boot it up I got an error that read cmos settings wrong / cmos date/time not set. So I read up on the error and thought I may have found a solution and I was going to work on it today and when I went to boot it up it read the unbunto disk but wouldn't install. So I reset it and now it will boot to the mobo main screen and then says please insert a boot able disk and restart system. I have tried my windows xp and windows 7 disk with no luck. And now it wont let me even get into bios. I don't know that much about hardware, I guess I got lucky when i built mine and everything just seemed to work. Thank you all much for helping out. any info will be useful.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.20/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#2
Keep on pressing delete when you turn the PC on to enter BIOS and we'll work from there.
At the moment, you're PC is trying to boot from the hard drive. You've got to get into BIOS and tell it to boot from the DVD drive.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,816 (2.23/day)
Likes
6,199
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#3
Just checking - you can get dual channel and triple channel Corsair XMS3 DDR3 memory. It is dual channel DDR3 you've popped in from your rig isnt it?

If you run a core i7 rig then you're on triple channel so it wont work in dual config.... I think.

Just a thought.
 

joekiefer

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
ok so I can get into bios but before it goes into it I get this message

DRAM frequencey for ddr 1066( unchanged mode 64 bit)
1amd nothbridge, rev c3
intializing usb controllers...done

2048 mb ok
usb device :1 keyboard
auto detecting pri master...Atapi cdrom
auto detecting pri slave... Not Deteced
auto detecting sata 2... Hard disk
pri master: Asus crw-4832ax $ 0.50
Sata 2 :Wdc WD20ears-gomvwbo 54.0ai351
ultra dma mode 6 S.M.A.R.T. capable and status ok
Auto detecing usb mass storage devieces..
00 usb mass storage found and configured.

Cmos checksum bad
press f1 to run set up
press f2 to load defaults values and continue.


I dont know if that helps but thanks
 

joekiefer

New Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2011
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
ok so I just set the bios to boot from a cdr drive and now im getting a reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key. I have tried windows xp and windows same message over and over.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
552 (0.17/day)
Likes
64
System Name Intel
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz
Motherboard ASROCK extreem.4
Cooling Antec KÜHLER H₂O 620
Memory Gskill DDR3 2x4gb
Video Card(s) Saphire 7970 EX
Storage Samsung 840 256gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" wide screen 1080P
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DS1
Power Supply Thermaltake 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Over Rated
#6
Check your connections because it is not reading the disk . Make sure the SATA cable is properly connected to the board. Your pc is not recognizing the disk as bootable. Are the disk original or did you burn them?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.20/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#7
Make sure you using a DVD drive and not a CD drive.
Does the DVD drive have IDE or SATA connections?

Keep pressing F8 while turning the PC on and select the DVD drive from the menu. If it still doesn't work, then we'll go back to BIOS.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
552 (0.17/day)
Likes
64
System Name Intel
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz
Motherboard ASROCK extreem.4
Cooling Antec KÜHLER H₂O 620
Memory Gskill DDR3 2x4gb
Video Card(s) Saphire 7970 EX
Storage Samsung 840 256gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" wide screen 1080P
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DS1
Power Supply Thermaltake 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Over Rated
#8
ok so I can get into bios but before it goes into it I get this message

DRAM frequencey for ddr 1066( unchanged mode 64 bit)
1amd nothbridge, rev c3
intializing usb controllers...done

2048 mb ok
usb device :1 keyboard
auto detecting pri master...Atapi cdrom
auto detecting pri slave... Not Deteced
auto detecting sata 2... Hard disk
pri master: Asus crw-4832ax $ 0.50
Sata 2 :Wdc WD20ears-gomvwbo 54.0ai351
ultra dma mode 6 S.M.A.R.T. capable and status ok
Auto detecing usb mass storage devieces..
00 usb mass storage found and configured.

Cmos checksum bad
press f1 to run set up
press f2 to load defaults values and continue.


I dont know if that helps but thanks
according to this they are CD drives. I may be wrong crw and Atapi cdrom does not indicate dvd roms.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.20/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#9
according to this they are CD drives. I may be wrong crw and Atapi cdrom does not indicate dvd roms.
In my rig I've got a SATA DVD drive , and I'm sure it comes up with ATAPI CD-ROM on the boot menu, aswell as the Optiarc I use. Checking now. in 5 minutes.

Ignore that. Seems "ATAPI CD-ROM" is the controller, not the actual drive. I think the DVD drive isn't being recognised by BIOS.
And you're right, OP's using a CD drive and not a DVD drive. There lies the problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2009
Messages
132 (0.04/day)
Likes
42
Location
Alabama
System Name demon tower
Processor I7 920 oced to 4.0 gig
Motherboard evga X58 classified
Cooling corsair H100 water cooler
Memory Kinston extream 2000 MHz 6GB
Video Card(s) nvidia gtx 680
Storage 250 gig ssd
Display(s) ASUS 24 in 144 htz
Case Antec full tower
Audio Device(s) creative sound blaster Z
Power Supply 1000 watt evga
Mouse Torq carbon
Keyboard Logitec G710 and a G13 game board
Software win 7 ultimate
#10
had similar problems with same board not last week. Check all your connections as stated before. I had to reset the date in the bios before it would read anything. then it would hang up during windows install. The fix is only use one verified good stick of Ram. not sure why but it would hang up with dual channel ram till windows and all drivers are installed then you can load up the slots and go to it.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
552 (0.17/day)
Likes
64
System Name Intel
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz
Motherboard ASROCK extreem.4
Cooling Antec KÜHLER H₂O 620
Memory Gskill DDR3 2x4gb
Video Card(s) Saphire 7970 EX
Storage Samsung 840 256gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 28" wide screen 1080P
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DS1
Power Supply Thermaltake 850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Over Rated
#11
See this did not happen to me but I also flashed the bios the day I got it.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,576 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,184
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#12
You need to set the ram timings manually for this board, auto ram timings sometimes causes headache. I learned the hard way.
 

tehpwnzah

New Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
the bios error is normal for this board on first boot or when u clear the bios via battery or button.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,738 (2.82/day)
Likes
8,753
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
the bios error is normal for this board on first boot or when u clear the bios via battery or button.
Interesting that you would be posting here, Hardforums, and OCN and only joined all three in March of 2011.

Have you changed your name recently?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.20/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#15
lol Rapidfire48 solved this weeks ago!

according to this they are CD drives. I may be wrong crw and Atapi cdrom does not indicate dvd roms.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,738 (2.82/day)
Likes
8,753
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
the bios error is normal for this board on first boot or when u clear the bios via battery or button.
lol Rapidfire48 solved this weeks ago!
Yea I imagine Rapidfire figured that outs:rockout:

Tehpwnzah is just trying to get some post counts up to post a bogus for sale thread on our awesome forums like he or she has on some other forums!!!!!!! Watch for this member:banghead::banghead::banghead:

I have already been screwed by this scammer!!!!!:mad::mad::mad: