• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MSI GTX 1650 VENTUS XS OCV1 GDDR6 missing components

Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
Hey, I have a MSI GTX 1650 VENTUS XS OCV1 GDDR6.
My problem are the missing components near the PCIE connector
 

Attachments

  • MSI GTX 1650 Corrosion - Imgur.jpg
    MSI GTX 1650 Corrosion - Imgur.jpg
    219.4 KB · Views: 148
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
140 (0.27/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name C₂H₅OH
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Monoblock tuned to fuck and back
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Rev 1.0
Cooling Custom loop - MO-RA3 420 & 360 Pro - Heatkiller 200 & 150 D5 pump/res combo
Memory G.Skill Trident-Z 4x8GB B-die 3800-14-15-15-15-34-1T 260 TRFC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3080 Ti Aorus Master EK block
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB - Intel 660 Pro 2TB
Display(s) Gigabyte Aorus FV43U
Case Streacom BC1 Silver
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7Pro - Topping A90 - Hifiman Ananda - Focal Elear - Focal Radiance - Adam A5X & Adam Sub 7
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Ducky One 2 SF White MX Speed Silver / Logitech MX Keys
Software Windows 11 Pro
Hey, I got the same card. My problem are the missing components near the PCIE connector
Damn, that card looks like it's been in a flooding o_0 You've got bigger problems, there's a lot of corrosion and I can't even see the pads on some of the SMD parts near the PCIe connector. If you've got the hardware to fix this stuff (soldering station with the right tips, hot air station, microscope etc.) it might be worth a shot. If not, then you're out of luck, that stuff isn't cheap.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Damn, that card looks like it's been in a flooding o_0 You've got bigger problems, there's a lot of corrosion and I can't even see the pads on some of the SMD parts near the PCIe connector. If you've got the hardware to fix this stuff (soldering station with the right tips, hot air station, microscope etc.) it might be worth a shot. If not, then you're out of luck, that stuff isn't cheap.

That card is burnt to hell
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
Damn, that card looks like it's been in a flooding o_0 You've got bigger problems, there's a lot of corrosion and I can't even see the pads on some of the SMD parts near the PCIe connector. If you've got the hardware to fix this stuff (soldering station with the right tips, hot air station, microscope etc.) it might be worth a shot. If not, then you're out of luck, that stuff isn't cheap.
I'm having it in cleaning session at the moment. A colleague here at my work is doing it. And since I am working in a manufacturing of electronic devices, we have the proper equipment to do the soldering.

It was given to me as defective, no display but fan is spinning.
Guy that gave it said corrosion is due to moisture. But guy cleaning it says it's like rodent's pee.
Checking the other physical condition side seems ok.

Update :
Done with the cleaning and will test later once I got home
 

Attachments

  • MSI GTX 1650 Ventus after Corrosion Clean - Imgur.jpg
    MSI GTX 1650 Ventus after Corrosion Clean - Imgur.jpg
    950.9 KB · Views: 71
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
140 (0.27/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name C₂H₅OH
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Monoblock tuned to fuck and back
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Rev 1.0
Cooling Custom loop - MO-RA3 420 & 360 Pro - Heatkiller 200 & 150 D5 pump/res combo
Memory G.Skill Trident-Z 4x8GB B-die 3800-14-15-15-15-34-1T 260 TRFC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3080 Ti Aorus Master EK block
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB - Intel 660 Pro 2TB
Display(s) Gigabyte Aorus FV43U
Case Streacom BC1 Silver
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7Pro - Topping A90 - Hifiman Ananda - Focal Elear - Focal Radiance - Adam A5X & Adam Sub 7
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Ducky One 2 SF White MX Speed Silver / Logitech MX Keys
Software Windows 11 Pro
You are one lucky guy for having THAT equipment :D You're in luck, looks like the pads are still there though picking the right replacement components is going to be a bitch. BTW I feel really sorry for you, rodent piss is really, really damaging to electronics, shits corrosive :( I'd dunk it a few more times in an ultrasonic cleaner TBH. Anyway, keep us updated!

Sorry for the off-topic, here's some help for whoever reads this in the future: OpenBoardView, https://www.badcaps.net/, EEVBlog, search for BOARDname + schematic in any search engine (E.G. 77m225-b1 schematic). Remember, a lot of stuff these guys obtain is obtained illegally.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I'm having it in cleaning session at the moment. A colleague here at my work is doing it. And since I am working in a manufacturing of electronic devices, we have the proper equipment to do the soldering.

It was given to me as defective, no display but fan is spinning.
Guy that gave it said corrosion is due to moisture. But guy cleaning it says it's like rodent's pee.
Checking the other physical condition side seems ok.

Update :
Done with the cleaning and will test later once I got home
Q799 and q802 are corroded as hell, that card got flooded with impure water.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
13,721 (2.24/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) ALC1220-VB + ESS ES9118 DAC / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
It's working after the cleaning and resoldering some components but it only works in the 2nd PCIE slot of my mobo, x8. So I need to find the replacement for the missing capacitors

Q799 and q802 are corroded as hell, that card got flooded with impure water.
Yes, actually there are still corrosion after cleaning. They can't really take out all the corrosions as they are afraid they might damage it. They got those parts tested.
 

Attachments

  • BR1VhXM.jpeg
    BR1VhXM.jpeg
    903.1 KB · Views: 39

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
It's working after the cleaning and resoldering some components but it only works in the 2nd PCIE slot of my mobo, x8. So I need to find the replacement for the missing capacitors


Yes, actually there are still corrosion after cleaning. They can't really take out all the corrosions as they are afraid they might damage it. They got those parts tested.
Baking soda might help
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
Which is best thing to do? Shall I leave the remaining corrosions as is since the card is working or I need to remove the corrosions totally?
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
7,381 (3.73/day)
Location
Back in Norway
System Name Hotbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X, 142/95/120, PBO +150Mhz, CO -7,-7,-20(x6),
Motherboard ASRock Phantom Gaming B550 ITX/ax
Cooling LOBO + Laing DDC 1T Plus PWM + Corsair XR5 280mm + 2x Arctic P14
Memory 32GB G.Skill FlareX 3200c14 @3800c15
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon 6900XT Liquid Devil Ultimate, UC@2250MHz max @~200W
Storage 2TB Adata SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Dell U2711 main, AOC 24P2C secondary
Case SSUPD Meshlicious
Audio Device(s) Optoma Nuforce μDAC 3
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro M w/DSA profile caps
Software Windows 10 Pro
Corrosion tends to spread over time, so I would always clean it properly. If that ends up breaking a trace, most likely you can reconnect that with a jumper wire to somewhere further down the trace. Of course, if the broken trace goes through a via you'll have to try to identify where it ends up, and if it passes through a middle layer of the board you might be SOL. It's kind of a wash IMO - leave it and risk that it breaks on its own at some random point, or clean it properly and risk that cleaning breaks it. I would at the very least figure out what those components do (they might not be strictly necessary), and whether you'd be able to reconnect them if the traces break.

As for the PCIe filter caps, just desolder one of the ones that are still there and measure it. They should all be identical AFAIK.

I don't know of anywhere reliable to get ahold of GPU schematics sadly. AliSaler.com has a good selection of laptop schematics and BIOSes, and this thread over on the BadCaps forums has a somewhat random selection of GPU schematics, but that's it of what I know of.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
140 (0.27/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name C₂H₅OH
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X Monoblock tuned to fuck and back
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Rev 1.0
Cooling Custom loop - MO-RA3 420 & 360 Pro - Heatkiller 200 & 150 D5 pump/res combo
Memory G.Skill Trident-Z 4x8GB B-die 3800-14-15-15-15-34-1T 260 TRFC
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3080 Ti Aorus Master EK block
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB - Intel 660 Pro 2TB
Display(s) Gigabyte Aorus FV43U
Case Streacom BC1 Silver
Audio Device(s) Topping DX7Pro - Topping A90 - Hifiman Ananda - Focal Elear - Focal Radiance - Adam A5X & Adam Sub 7
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
Keyboard Ducky One 2 SF White MX Speed Silver / Logitech MX Keys
Software Windows 11 Pro
What Valantar said, leaving it there poses a risk in the future. You could try to identify the corroded parts and remove as much as possible. Digikey, Mouser and several other companies sell these components by the truckload for next to nothing. Might want to hold your card next to a picture of a new or working one. That way you can identify any missing components visually.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 2, 2022
Messages
761 (5.04/day)
Location
G-City, UK
System Name My first new build
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450M mortar max
Cooling Vetroo V5 Arctic MX4
Memory 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200@3600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1660 Super OC Ventus
Storage Samsung 870 QVO 1tb x 2, Lexar 256 GB, Western Digital 500 GB nvme
Display(s) 22'' Some p tv
Case Aerocool Eclipse
Audio Device(s) Razer Kraken 2019/Edifier M201BT
Power Supply MSI MPG AGF 850 watt gold
Mouse Glorious Model D
Keyboard Dell KB212-B
Software Windows 10 pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 multicore 9995 single 1274 7.84 3d mark : Timespy 6180
It bloody works! I'm flabbergasted...:eek:
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
Thanks for the advice. I already told my colleague at work who is helping me to remove all the corrosions.
Said he will desolder at see if all pins are still there.
I also found replacement for the caps near PCIE connectors at work.
Last time I check the status he is cleaning the pads for those caps. He will mount it probably tomorrow.
I'm crossing my finger
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2021
Messages
114 (0.24/day)
System Name HAL
Processor AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard ASRock B450 Pro4
Cooling AORUS Liquid 240
Memory 32GB Teamgroup 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 2060 GTX
I'm shocked that it works with those surface mount caps gone. They should be the same value all the way across, at least they are on a 1650 Super.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
Yes, it works on a 8lane x16 PCIE only without those caps
I will test and update after mounting the new caps. They are 0.22uf 16v.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Which is best thing to do? Shall I leave the remaining corrosions as is since the card is working or I need to remove the corrosions totally?
Corrosion causes high resistance and intermittent functionality
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2021
Messages
364 (0.91/day)
Yes, it works on a 8lane x16 PCIE only without those caps
U probably know what ur doing , since it’s working u know the die itself (specifically mem controller is fine) my guess is the remaining pcie lanes aren’t detected by the mobo , fix up those corroded connections and check’m in continuity mode , better yet is post Homs reading after U replace the caps and I’ll do my best to guide u , GL.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
U probably know what ur doing , since it’s working u know the die itself (specifically mem controller is fine) my guess is the remaining pcie lanes aren’t detected by the mobo , fix up those corroded connections and check’m in continuity mode , better yet is post Homs reading after U replace the caps and I’ll do my best to guide u , GL.
I'd do resistance checks
 
Joined
Aug 28, 2021
Messages
364 (0.91/day)
Only useful if he’s 100% sure the traces are connected to the die , either way that’s probably his best bet unless he somehow gets Lucky.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Only useful if he’s 100% sure the traces are connected to the die , either way that’s probably his best bet unless he somehow gets Lucky.
Well an open is infinite resistance so
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
Caps already replaced but when checking Q799 specially the Q802, the pins aren't good already. Does anyone knows the replacement parts?
IMG_20220629_201812.jpg
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.72/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Caps already replaced but when checking Q799 specially the Q802, the pins aren't good already. Does anyone knows the replacement parts?View attachment 252908
No we don't look them up on lycos/duckduckgo. The Q represents what kind of component they are, check the resistance values if you can even if it means removing the device.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2022
Messages
42 (0.43/day)
My colleague removed Q802 already, pins are not in good shape he said. I will ask him to measure the resistance values tomorrow
 
Top