• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

my computer wont beep and won't show anything on screen

CodyTremblay

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
11 (0.31/day)
maximus xii formula mother board
intel core i7 cpu
phantom gaming graphic card
corsair ddr4 32 gb memory
2tb barracuba hard drive
smart bx1 750w power supply

I connected everything together but it refuses to beep like I was taught it suppose to. All the lights come on the fans spin when i install them.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
216 (0.69/day)
Location
Loose in space
System Name "The black one in the dining room"
Processor Intel i7 5960X @4.6GHz
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H105 w/4 Silverstone FM121 fans @110cfm ea on the radiator
Memory 64GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2600 (8x8)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Fury X
Storage 960GB MyDigital NVMe. 480GB MyDigital NVMe, 1TB Samsung 860, 4 Western Digital 2TB Black
Display(s) 40" Samsung 8000 series 4K
Case Modded Corsair Carbide 500R
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Keyboard Logitech K750 Solar, DiNovo Edge
Software Win 10 Enterprise LTSC
Does it even have a speaker other device to beep installed? If so, is it wired correctly?
 

CodyTremblay

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
11 (0.31/day)
As far as I know it has a built in speaker & I placed everything in the way it suppose to be. I followed the instructions in the manuel then checked a few youtube guides
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2019
Messages
216 (0.69/day)
Location
Loose in space
System Name "The black one in the dining room"
Processor Intel i7 5960X @4.6GHz
Motherboard Asus X99 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H105 w/4 Silverstone FM121 fans @110cfm ea on the radiator
Memory 64GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4 2600 (8x8)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 Fury X
Storage 960GB MyDigital NVMe. 480GB MyDigital NVMe, 1TB Samsung 860, 4 Western Digital 2TB Black
Display(s) 40" Samsung 8000 series 4K
Case Modded Corsair Carbide 500R
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Keyboard Logitech K750 Solar, DiNovo Edge
Software Win 10 Enterprise LTSC
Is the CPU compatible with the motherboard? Are you saying the PC won't boot? More information is needed.
 

CodyTremblay

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
11 (0.31/day)
i checked the cpu and it said it was compatable and yes it wont boot, at least i see nothing on the screen
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,816 (4.47/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
As frustrating as this is, we will need specifics for the components to be able to assist you.
What i7 CPU, 8 series, 9 series, 10 series i7 10750?
GPU model number, rx 580 8GB or other?
Ram LPX, Veangeance or other, ddr4 2133, 3200, 3600?
 

CodyTremblay

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
11 (0.31/day)
ask the questions and i'll answer them sry not good at first post but i can answer questions. 10 gen for i7
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,128 (0.24/day)
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Biostar Hi-Fi Z77
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 16GB DDR3-2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Alienware GTX 1070
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 32" LG 1440p
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard G. Skill Mechanical
Software Windows 10 (X64)
Why don't you fill In your system details for your profile and use actual specifics?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,932 (4.24/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Strip everything out and do a 'dry build'. hook everything up outside of the case and trip the pins to start it up and see if it works. This is what you normally get if your motherboard becomes earthed with the case.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,932 (4.24/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
And it still doesnt work? Check your cabling. Make sure that you've got the right plugs in the right sockets. i.e CPU power and PCI-Ex power look the same but are different.

If thats all correct. Check that your CPU is seated correctly and try playing around with your ram by putting in one module at a time and switching memory slots.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,726 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
maybe just remove everything from the case, recheck your processor placement, any bent pins and test run just using motherboard, processor and psu

just to check if in minimal setup it at least run
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,726 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
so the err from psu or motherboard
processor usually hard to get killed
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2014
Messages
43 (0.02/day)
Try taking the motherboard battery out. Let it sit overnight, then put the battery back in and re-try.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,726 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
since your board has no onboard VGA so you rely on add on card, if your board is err you have nothing to show
so better check the baord first or if you have any spare vga card you can try it, just to check

Do you mean the power supply or does the motherboard got its own battery?
the board, just take off the battery and it will reset the bios into default
 

CodyTremblay

New Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2020
Messages
11 (0.31/day)
ok, ty will do that. I've tried 3 different wires in the video card but no display

Mimual build aint working nor did letting the battery sit
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
8,726 (2.26/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
Top