• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My cpu overclock is no longer stable

Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
505 (0.20/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
Hey guys,

So I am having an issue with my cpu overclock, for some reason it is no longer stable. I built my pc about a year ago and set my system to auto overclock my cpu and it set my 2600k to 4.3 ghz. I ran several test and everything was good.

However my pc started acting up a couple of weeks ago. I would get blue screens and random game crashes. I disabled the overclock and set everything to default and my system has been fine, but I would like to get my overclock back. So what would cause my overclock to become unstable all of a sudden? Is this a sign of failing hardware or something else?

My main specs are an I7 2600k, asus p8p67 deluxe, gtx 1070 and an 800 watt psu.

Thanks.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,605 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Could be memory, board, psu, cpu...

What are your temperatures, what bsods were you getting?
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
866 (1.62/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor i9 9900k @5ghz/ R9 3900X Stock
Motherboard Asus Maximus XI Code/ X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair h150i Pro Push/Pull. 5x Corsair ML120 + 4x Corsair LL120/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 3600mhz Corsair RGB Pro/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix 2080 ti/ Titan XP
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR / MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case Corsair 500D SE RGB/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G903 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
By using auto OC setting you likely degraded your chip due to too high a voltage.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
505 (0.20/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
Could be memory, board, psu, cpu...

What are your temperatures, what bsods were you getting?
0x0000004e, 0x0000001a and 0x0000000a are the 3 error codes i retrieved from blue screen viewer. It also has a couple of memory erros. I have ran memtest several times and it has passed everytime, but I may get a replacement kit in the near future.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,605 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
0x0000004e, 0x0000001a and 0x0000000a are the 3 error codes i retrieved from blue screen viewer. It also has a couple of memory erros. I have ran memtest several times and it has passed everytime, but I may get a replacement kit in the near future.



0x0000004e, 0x0000001a and 0x0000000a are the 3 error codes i retrieved from blue screen viewer. It also has a couple of memory erros. I have ran memtest several times and it has passed everytime, but I may get a replacement kit in the near future.
The first 2 certainly point at memory.

Check the built in event viewer and see if you can see anything right before it crashed

 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
272 (2.45/day)
Location
Nuremberg
Processor Core i7 8700K@5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling 2xEKWB Rads, EKWB Reservoir 250, Aqua Computer Kryos Next CPU Cooler, Phanteks Glacier GPU Cooler
Memory 16 GB DDR4 GSkill Trident Z 3200
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RTX 2080 O8G (GPU@2115 MHz/VRAM@7800MHz)
Storage 1x Samsung Evo 840 SSD 256, 1x WD Blue 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG248 1080p Display/144Hz/G-Sync
Case Fractal Design R6 with Window
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply be quiet 650W Straight Power
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry KB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FireStrike: 25953/Extreme: 13141/Ultra: 7099/TimeSpy: 11426/Superposition: 7667/CinebenchR20: 3916
Could be degredation like oxrufiioxo said. If so you need higher VCore voltage to get stable again.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,832 (4.30/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply FSP Hydro GE 550w :: something
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Joined
Aug 6, 2017
Messages
5,970 (6.40/day)
Location
Poland
System Name skurwiel szatan
Processor i7 5775c @4.3GHz/1.385v/EDRAM @2GHz
Motherboard Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua D15S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP 1600 CL8 @2133 9-9-9-27 1T
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio (waiting for RX 5950XT)
Storage SU900 128 (OS)/850 PRO 256+256+ 512,860 EVO 500,XPG SX950U 480,M9Pe(Y) 512 (games)/4TB HDDs (3+1)
Display(s) Acer XB241YU+Dell S2716DG dual monitor setup
Case Full tower
Audio Device(s) W830BT headphones
Power Supply Superflower Leadex Gold 850W
Mouse G903 lightspeed+powerplay,G403 wireless + Steelseries DeX + Roccat rest
Keyboard HyperX Alloy SilverSpeed (w.HyperX wrist rest),Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores A LOT
could be anything,but I have experienced some degradation on my 2500k
it was running 5050MHz though,on air.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,090 (1.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig C7
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 2.2TB of SSDs & 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 w/ Arctic Z2 gen3 + Oculus Rift
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
My guess would be also degradation because of the auto volts. NEVER EVER use those damn auto-OC features just because of that.. :|

Also, Sandy Bridge overclocking just starts at 4.5GHz. ;)
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
505 (0.20/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
My guess would be also degradation because of the auto volts. NEVER EVER use those damn auto-OC features just because of that.. :|

Also, Sandy Bridge overclocking just starts at 4.5GHz. ;)
Ok can you guide me with overclocking manually? I have attempted it myself but Im not very good at it and I seem to make things worse. I would check the event viewer but I havent had a bsod in sometime now since I have been running everything at stock for the past few weeks.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,090 (1.56/day)
Location
Finland
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard Asus TUF B450 Plus Gaming
Cooling Cryorig C7
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage 2.2TB of SSDs & 2TB HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 w/ Arctic Z2 gen3 + Oculus Rift
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Logitech G410
Software Windows 10 Pro
Ok can you guide me with overclocking manually? I have attempted it myself but Im not very good at it and I seem to make things worse. I would check the event viewer but I havent had a bsod in sometime now since I have been running everything at stock for the past few weeks.
I have to admit that it's been a long time since I've played around with Sandy Bridge, I don't remember almost anything how to OC this platform so I need to learn it again.

I'm sure that someone else knows better. :)
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
272 (2.45/day)
Location
Nuremberg
Processor Core i7 8700K@5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling 2xEKWB Rads, EKWB Reservoir 250, Aqua Computer Kryos Next CPU Cooler, Phanteks Glacier GPU Cooler
Memory 16 GB DDR4 GSkill Trident Z 3200
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RTX 2080 O8G (GPU@2115 MHz/VRAM@7800MHz)
Storage 1x Samsung Evo 840 SSD 256, 1x WD Blue 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG248 1080p Display/144Hz/G-Sync
Case Fractal Design R6 with Window
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply be quiet 650W Straight Power
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry KB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FireStrike: 25953/Extreme: 13141/Ultra: 7099/TimeSpy: 11426/Superposition: 7667/CinebenchR20: 3916
According to your system specs you have the ASUS P8P67 Deluxe. First I would check the VCore with CPU-Z in idle and under load. VCore in idle should be higher than under load. After that set your VCore in BIOS to manual mode and set the VCore to the value you get from CPU-Z in idle. Check again with CPU-Z the voltages idle and load and if there is a huge drop from idle to load you can adjust it in BIOS with the option Loadline Calibration. Choose a value starting from value „regular“ that you get nearly the same VCore in idle as under load. Then it‘s time to test oc. Raise frequency and check if it is stable, if not then raise VCore a little till you get stable and so on. Raise also CPU Current Capability to 140% that CPU can draw more power.

Edit:
Also set long duration Power Limit and short duration power limit to max, max value should be 255 or 256.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
10,980 (5.53/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
7 years is kinda the golden number for electronics in my book. Pump more voltage through and you can extend the life a bit. Then start saving.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
272 (2.45/day)
Location
Nuremberg
Processor Core i7 8700K@5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling 2xEKWB Rads, EKWB Reservoir 250, Aqua Computer Kryos Next CPU Cooler, Phanteks Glacier GPU Cooler
Memory 16 GB DDR4 GSkill Trident Z 3200
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RTX 2080 O8G (GPU@2115 MHz/VRAM@7800MHz)
Storage 1x Samsung Evo 840 SSD 256, 1x WD Blue 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG248 1080p Display/144Hz/G-Sync
Case Fractal Design R6 with Window
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply be quiet 650W Straight Power
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry KB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FireStrike: 25953/Extreme: 13141/Ultra: 7099/TimeSpy: 11426/Superposition: 7667/CinebenchR20: 3916
To test how far you can oc I would definitely use manual VCore first. After you know what your needed VCore is, for example to get 4.300 MHz stable, you can switch to offset mode afterwards.
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,252 (4.31/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Heres a good basic sort of guide but it explains a lot of the changes you'll need to make within the bios.

Vcore varies from chip to chip so 1.38v for my 2500k@4.9Ghz might take you 1.40v

if youre using the stock intel cooler, you'll want to throw that away and get yourself like a coolermaster Hyper 212 or a Snowman T4 or T6 from aliexpress if youre willing to deal with the shipping from China. (search on youtube for Snowman CPU coolers) Reviews have been extremely positive as far as i have seen and they are damn cheap compared to the bigger more well known brands that charge almost 2-3x more for their products.

This post here can kind of be an outline for a lot of the tweaking, especially when it comes to limits on voltages and temperatures. You can use it to cross reference my first link against this one but for Sandy Bridge. Keep it under 1.40v as much as possible on the vcore.

SB was super easy to OC - I had my 2500k at 4.9Ghz within hours of building it.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
8,537 (3.52/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
The first 2 certainly point at memory.
Or the memory controller.
My main specs are an I7 2600k, asus p8p67 deluxe, gtx 1070 and an 800 watt psu.
Help us out with the specs of your OC. What are your voltage settings for your CPU, RAM and whathaveyou. These would be helpful.
 

khinh

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
10 (0.18/day)
no one said anything about overheating? the component he have is decent just wonder the cooler he have
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
505 (0.20/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
I have a thermalright 5 heatpipe tower style heatsink with an 140 mm fan.

I will have to check my voltages and get back to you guys.

And the auto oc would set my ram to 1680 mghZ. I tried to push it higher but when I did my system wouldn't even boot.

I also had my ram at 1600 mghZ which was more stable but for aome reason I can't set it back to that speed.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
29,605 (6.41/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I have a thermalright 5 heatpipe tower style heatsink with an 140 mm fan.

I will have to check my voltages and get back to you guys.

And the auto oc would set my ram to 1680 mghZ. I tried to push it higher but when I did my system wouldn't even boot.

I also had my ram at 1600 mghZ which was more stable but for aome reason I can't set it back to that speed.
Thats fine for you considering I use a Scythe Ashura with the fx 8350 at 5.0G.

Have you pulled the cpu to verify any damaged/burnt pins, have you replaced the cmos battery?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
272 (2.45/day)
Location
Nuremberg
Processor Core i7 8700K@5 GHz
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon
Cooling 2xEKWB Rads, EKWB Reservoir 250, Aqua Computer Kryos Next CPU Cooler, Phanteks Glacier GPU Cooler
Memory 16 GB DDR4 GSkill Trident Z 3200
Video Card(s) Asus ROG STRIX RTX 2080 O8G (GPU@2115 MHz/VRAM@7800MHz)
Storage 1x Samsung Evo 840 SSD 256, 1x WD Blue 1 TB HDD
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG248 1080p Display/144Hz/G-Sync
Case Fractal Design R6 with Window
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply be quiet 650W Straight Power
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cherry KB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores FireStrike: 25953/Extreme: 13141/Ultra: 7099/TimeSpy: 11426/Superposition: 7667/CinebenchR20: 3916
Disable your auto oc and do it manually. Do it first only with cpu to see how far you can push it and leave RAM with default settings. If you have your cpu stable then you can push your RAM higher. Watch always temperatures and VCore when you do stress tests with Prime95 or similar.
 

khinh

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
10 (0.18/day)
you need apply manual overlock forget auto oc and leave your ram to stock speed, sometimes your xmp profile is enables if can disable it, the overclock cpu carry overlock ram frequency as well. hope this help.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
505 (0.20/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
Disable your auto oc and do it manually. Do it first only with cpu to see how far you can push it and leave RAM with default settings. If you have your cpu stable then you can push your RAM higher. Watch always temperatures and VCore when you do stress tests with Prime95 or similar.
I have tried to in the past and wasn't successful, can you help or point me to a guide?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,252 (4.31/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
can you help or point me to a guide?
Hello???

Heres a good basic sort of guide but it explains a lot of the changes you'll need to make within the bios.

Vcore varies from chip to chip so 1.38v for my 2500k@4.9Ghz might take you 1.40v

if youre using the stock intel cooler, you'll want to throw that away and get yourself like a coolermaster Hyper 212 or a Snowman T4 or T6 from aliexpress if youre willing to deal with the shipping from China. (search on youtube for Snowman CPU coolers) Reviews have been extremely positive as far as i have seen and they are damn cheap compared to the bigger more well known brands that charge almost 2-3x more for their products.

This post here can kind of be an outline for a lot of the tweaking, especially when it comes to limits on voltages and temperatures. You can use it to cross reference my first link against this one but for Sandy Bridge. Keep it under 1.40v as much as possible on the vcore.

SB was super easy to OC - I had my 2500k at 4.9Ghz within hours of building it.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2013
Messages
505 (0.20/day)
Location
st. louis missouri
Processor I7 2600k at 4.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67 deluxe
Cooling 5 case fans
Memory Gskill ripjaws 16 gb ddr3 1600 mghz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 1070
Storage Adata 480 gb solid state drive, Seagate 2 tb solid state/mechanical hybrid shhd/1 tb hitachi hdd
Display(s) 55 inch 4k TV
Case Diypc vt 380
Power Supply 800 watt delta electronics 80 plus server grade psu
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software windows 10 64 bit
I apologise, I didn't see your full reply since I'm on mobile.

I will try what you suggested when I have some free time. For now I am going to leave everything at stock but I plan to overclock sometime in the future.
 

khinh

New Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
10 (0.18/day)
Run everything at stock until your computer boot up stable everytime consistently for about a month or longer. best to leave the overclocking, this is my best advice to you so you can maintain the system with longer running lifespan.

Apply this when overclocking
Disable your auto oc and do it manually. Do it first only with cpu to see how far you can push it and leave RAM with default settings. If you have your cpu stable then you can push your RAM higher. Watch always temperatures there should a limit best to not go over 70- 80c if it run consistent over 50 or just 60 above then leave it, and of course lower the temp the better it is and VCore when you do stress tests with Prime95 or Aida64. so temp if the system run on full load and struggle with it, best to get it lower temp even the overclock is not 4.3.
And remember stress test everytime you apply a new overclock.
 
Top