• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

My XFX 4870 and Overclocking...

Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.12/day)
Location
Wakefield, UK
Hey,

So, today i decided to try overclocking my 4870 as i finally found software that'll allow me to (Rivatuner. CCC stops at 790MHz and every other i've tried fails to load).

I started at 800MHz and 1000MHz and bumped it up by 10MHz a time. I stressed with Furmark on 'Xtreme' mode for 5 mins, then moved to the next clock. Plan was to find the limit and drop it by 10MHz then stress for 30mins.

I got to 862MHz and 1150MHz without a single artifact or crash. However, i looked on HWBot and decided to drop the clocks to 952MHz and 1125MHz and try some games. I played Fallout 3 (1920x1080, Ultra and x4 + x15) for about 30mins and had no issues (Game looks damn good with them settings).

I then decided to up the stress and try the Clear Sky benchmark. It ran the first section fine, then part way into the second one it came up with a Bug Report.

Now, i've just finished running Furmark on 'Xtreme' mode for 30mins:



And here is the GPU-z:



Now, does the Furmark run mean this clock is stable? Or is there a way to get a definite?

Also, i love watercooling for these temps :p
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 18, 2007
Messages
898 (0.16/day)
Location
The Lone Star State
I almost fell out of my chair when I read you were runninig 952MHz and 1125MHz but GPU-Z is showing 852MHz and 1125MHz which is about the max for mine.

I have found that 100% stability for me in all my games and benchmarks is 830MHz and 1000MHz.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (0.75/day)
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
first of all, congrats, you bumped your 4870 into 4890 territory.

second, run 3dmark, then a DX10 game like crysis that pushes your system. If it passes 3dmark and crysis, then its fine.

also keep in mind that clear sky is just like the original stalker when it comes tu bugs. ITS FILLED WITH THEM ;)
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (1.48/day)
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
Last edited:

Clouds4brains

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Nice clocks there dude.
i can do 840/1130 uber stable, i can play games at 850/1150 but there will be crashes ect here and there, anything above 880 is instant crash.
This is on a generic xfx 4870 at 750/900,
Best way to tell if your stable is to set it till you get vpu error, that will give you what you could get maximum and then back off by about 40-50mhz and test
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.14/day)
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
You written 952/1125 yet gpu-z & furmark say 852/1125 typing error yeah ? Still nice to get the most out ya gpu.

Check out the speeds i run your old gainward hd4850 at:



Proved totally stable so i've edited them speeds into the bios.

.
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (1.48/day)
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
You written 952/1125 yet gpu-z & furmark say 852/1125 typing error yeah ? Still nice to get the most out ya gpu.

Check out the speeds i run your old gainward hd4850 at:

http://i37.tinypic.com/33063wj.jpg

Proved totally stable so i've edited them speeds into the bios.

.

What'd you use to OC the card?
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.14/day)
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
Well first i edited the bios core voltages (3D speeds only) to the max 1.158v. Also increased the fan speed. Then flashed that in & used rivatuner to overclock. I found i could wined the speeds right up with still keeping it stable.

750/1120 has run stable for weeks now. It might even go higher as yet thats the highest i've taken it.

I've now edited this HD4850 bios to them core/mem speeds. Dont need to av rivatuner installed now.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.12/day)
Location
Wakefield, UK
Right, sorry i was away.

I've corrected the typo.

I'll download a Crysis Benchmark now. Whats the best settings to run it on for stress? DX10 and absolute max? or setting i'd use ingame?

Edit, do i need Crysis to run this benchmark?

Edit 2, Just run the ClearSky benchmark on DX10.1 mode and 1920x1080 (high):

 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.12/day)
Location
Wakefield, UK
I carried on with this clocking today. Managed to get:

Core: 890MHz
Memory: 1125MHz

It runs 30mins in Furmark fine and everything on and DX10.1 on the ClearSky demo it completes. But, i was playing Killing Floor and it closed the game and said it had to reload the VGA Driver...?

What other tests can i use to stress? I dont own Crysis or and Codes for 3DMark.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.14/day)
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
Try backing off the core a bit. Also i reckon you'll get more out the mem so try 870/1160

i now run your old gainward HD4850 @ 743/1165 24/7 stable.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.12/day)
Location
Wakefield, UK
Got 879/1125 atm, been playing KF for like an hour and no one hickup.

If this holds, then i'll push the mem to 1150.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.12/day)
Location
Wakefield, UK
Right, I need some help... again...

Didn't notice this before, but i don't seem to have any 2D clocks... Here's a GPUz shot. This was monitoring whilst i was typing this post.

 

Wrigleyvillain

PTFO or GTFO
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (1.42/day)
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
Thats wierd. Have a Sapphire 4870 and CCC goes past 800 (not sure of my limit I'll have to look)
 

rewindlabs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Location
Kingsport, TN
System Name Ren
Processor AMD 945 ES |Unlocked Multi| @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-1283+Ultra Kaze 3000
Memory Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR3 6-6-6-16 R/G/B LED's
Video Card(s) XFX 4870 1GB *Dual Slot*
Storage 640GB WD Black
Display(s) LG 22"/LG 50"/Lenovo 20"
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair 550VX *550W*
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit & Windows XP 32-Bit
In case the OP comes back to this thread...unless you are renaming Furmark and bypassing CCC's "furmark security" you are not even stressing the card with Furmark

Just in case you didn't know why it was crashing...
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,735 (0.82/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Im in the same boat, what program did you use to OC?

CCC stops me at 790(core) and 1100(mem).:(

Also did you have to up the voltage to get those clocks?

Edit: Found this here on TPU.http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1128/AMD_GPU_Clock_Tool_v0.9.8.html
The best way to do it is edit the bios signature of your card and use MSI Afterburner for OC.
This way it allows your card to downclock properly, because AMD GPU Clock Tool will just force the clocks in and your card will be stuck in 3D mode.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.14/day)
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
Right, I need some help... again...

Didn't notice this before, but i don't seem to have any 2D clocks... Here's a GPUz shot. This was monitoring whilst i was typing this post.

http://img.techpowerup.org/091105/clocks.png

Your using Rivatuna to oc i take it ? If so the GPU is locked at what ever you set it all the time.

I wouldnt wurrie bout it ! So what if it uses a few more pence in leccy a week :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.12/day)
Location
Wakefield, UK
Ok, can someone help on the 2D clocks thing?

And, Furmark does stress... temps rise and GPU Usage goes to 100%. I've downloaded MSI AfterBurner and OCCT, stressing now.
 

Wrigleyvillain

PTFO or GTFO
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (1.42/day)
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
What is this CCC "furmark security" exactly?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,735 (0.82/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
In case the OP comes back to this thread...unless you are renaming Furmark and bypassing CCC's "furmark security" you are not even stressing the card with Furmark

Just in case you didn't know why it was crashing...
Nope, the newer versions of Furmark is already "renamed" by default.
Which fixes the problem of CCC trying to stop Furmark from stressing the card.

Edit: Cat 9.8 and 9.9 seems to be anti-Furmark again, but not sure if the newer Furmark 1.7 fixes that yet.
Edit2: I just did a test with my 4850 and shutting down Catalyst AI causes it to heat uo to 90C and it simply freezes in furmark.:nutkick:

Ok, can someone help on the 2D clocks thing?

And, Furmark does stress... temps rise and GPU Usage goes to 100%. I've downloaded MSI AfterBurner and OCCT, stressing now.
The thing is, you need to use driver level instead of low level OCing to get your 3D clocks back.
As I mentioned before, edit your Bios with RBE and change the Bios signature to allow higher OC in CCC/MSI AfterBurner.
This way your card will down clock properly.:toast:
 
Last edited:

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.14/day)
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
Nope, the newer versions of Furmark is already "renamed" by default.
Which fixes the problem of CCC trying to stop Furmark from stressing the card.


The thing is, you need to use driver level instead of low level OCing to get your 3D clocks back.
As I mentioned before, edit your Bios with RBE and change the Bios signature to allow higher OC in CCC/MSI AfterBurner.
This way your card will down clock properly.:toast:

Or edit the 3D core/mem speeds in the bios & uninstall CCC / overclocking software. There not really needed unless your running crossfire.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,735 (0.82/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Or edit the 3D core/mem speeds in the bios & uninstall CCC / overclocking software. There not really needed unless your running crossfire.
Either way, you are stuck with editing the Bios. :p
Might as well just keep CCC and go driver level OC.
 

rewindlabs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Location
Kingsport, TN
System Name Ren
Processor AMD 945 ES |Unlocked Multi| @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-1283+Ultra Kaze 3000
Memory Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR3 6-6-6-16 R/G/B LED's
Video Card(s) XFX 4870 1GB *Dual Slot*
Storage 640GB WD Black
Display(s) LG 22"/LG 50"/Lenovo 20"
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair 550VX *550W*
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit & Windows XP 32-Bit
Ok, can someone help on the 2D clocks thing?

And, Furmark does stress... temps rise and GPU Usage goes to 100%. I've downloaded MSI AfterBurner and OCCT, stressing now.

Uhhh that means nothing....CCC still limits it unless you have used a bypass or your using an older release of CCC

Trust me i did the same thing and of course the temps rise and it reads as 100% gpu usage but CCC is still limiting the app

My card would crash under BF2 or similar games whilst being able to last more than an hour in Furmark :twitch:
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
4,735 (0.82/day)
Location
Hong Kong
Processor Core i7-12700k
Motherboard Z690 Aero G D4
Cooling Custom loop water, 3x 420 Rad
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 2080 Ti
Storage Plextor M10P 2TB
Display(s) Samsung C27HG70
Case Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster AE-5 Plus
Power Supply FSP Aurum PT 1200W
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Uhhh that means nothing....CCC still limits it unless you have used a bypass or your using an older release of CCC

Trust me i did the same thing and of course the temps rise and it reads as 100% gpu usage but CCC is still limiting the app

My card would crash under BF2 or similar games whilst being able to last more than an hour in Furmark :twitch:
My 4850 crashes in BF2 and BF2142 @stock for that matter, there seems to be some wierd bugs with that engine. :shadedshu
On the other hand, I can run my 5870 and 4850 @max OC in games while they crashes in Furmark.
You should always try OCCT stress test along with furmark anyways.
 

rewindlabs

New Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
60 (0.01/day)
Location
Kingsport, TN
System Name Ren
Processor AMD 945 ES |Unlocked Multi| @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-1283+Ultra Kaze 3000
Memory Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR3 6-6-6-16 R/G/B LED's
Video Card(s) XFX 4870 1GB *Dual Slot*
Storage 640GB WD Black
Display(s) LG 22"/LG 50"/Lenovo 20"
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair 550VX *550W*
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-Bit & Windows XP 32-Bit
My 4850 crashes in BF2 and BF2142 @stock for that matter, there seems to be some wierd bugs with that engine. :shadedshu
On the other hand, I can run my 5870 and 4850 @max OC in games while they crashes in Furmark.
You should always try OCCT stress test along with furmark anyways.

Ahh i just found your reply quite a bit up thje page so thanks for clearing that up

Blah its so much back and fourth with the Furmark/ccc crap...
 
Last edited:
Top