• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Need Feedback for GPU-Z Installer

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,042 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,900
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#1
For next release I'm working on an integrated installer for GPU-Z, so that people can find it easily in their start menu. This will also add an uninstaller to the system.

When no existing installation is found, the following dialog will be displayed:


If an old version is found installed:


The installer adds only about 60 KB to the download size.

Thoughts?

This is targeted at less experienced users, so suggestions on the display texts are welcome if they help clarify things.

---

I attached two builds of GPU-Z with the installer functionality to this post, so you can test the install and update features. (both versions are the same build, with just different version number for update)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
Looks good to me! Very slick!
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2007
Messages
7,693 (2.07/day)
Likes
1,772
Location
Chicago
System Name DarkStar
Processor i5 3570K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Apogee HD White/XSPC Razer blocks
Memory 8GB Samsung Green 1600
Video Card(s) 2 x GTX 670 4GB
Storage 2 x 120GB Samsung 830
Display(s) 27" QNIX
Case Enthoo Pro
Power Supply Seasonic Platinum 760
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard Ducky Pro MX Black
Software Windows 8.1 x64
#3
Yeah I like this idea; will save me some bs.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
1,894 (0.45/day)
Likes
432
System Name It's just a computer
Processor i7 6700K
Cooling D5, PA140.3, HK Rev. 3.0
Memory G.Skill F4-3600C16D-8GTZ
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX970SSC
Storage 2X Samsung 960 EVO RAID0
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2770
Case Thermaltake Xaser VI
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek/Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#4
Looks good.

While you are at it, how about adding an update settings dialog that allows us to configure the updater on the initial run, rather than needing to go into the options menu?

Thanks
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#5
The installer looks very simple and easy to understand(as long as the user actually reads stuff on his screen).

However, in the last windows you are referring to the system menu in GPU-Z itself.
It occured to me that if you want to make GPU-Z as a whole more inexperienced-user friendly, you might want to make that system menu a bit more visible, perhaps even with a clickable button somewhere.
Now you are referring to a menu that most of the users probably wont be able to find.

I'm not sure if thats a good idea to implement in that way, but I'd just mention it anyway :D

Edit: but indeed! great idea!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#7
instead of a DESKTOP short how about a TASKBAR pin?? other wise looks great
 

Feänor

New Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
512 (0.11/day)
Likes
238
#8
Great addition. +1 for the taskbar pin instead of the desktop shortcut.

and thanks many times for this awesome piece of software!
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,042 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,900
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#9
It occured to me that if you want to make GPU-Z as a whole more inexperienced-user friendly, you might want to make that system menu a bit more visible, perhaps even with a clickable button somewhere
yeah, i noticed that, too, when the asic quality feature was released and forums were full of people who couldnt find the option.

not sure where to put a button for it though, some people don't see the "?" icon for the pcie test
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#10
yeah, i noticed that, too, when the asic quality feature was released and forums were full of people who couldnt find the option.

not sure where to put a button for it though, some people don't see the "?" icon for the pcie test
Perhaps the most simple and easy to find solution would be to just add another tab next to the validation tab?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
393 (0.14/day)
Likes
311
System Name PHaS3XIV
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H105 (AM4 Retention yay!)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C14 @ 2667 C15
Video Card(s) MSI NVIDIA GTX 970 4GB Gaming OC
Storage Many = 12TB + Crucial MX200 SSD
Display(s) Dell P2414H + Samsung 5 Series 32" LED FHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500S
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores @_@
#11
I like it, good idea :)
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,042 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,900
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#12

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,745 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,011
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#13
Nice idea..... and I go with the additional tab idea too :toast:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,042 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,900
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
updated first post with test executables
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#15
In de 0.5.9 version

There is a problem with the "start installer" option you can pick from the system menu. One time after I hit the installer, it gave me a "windows error" sound, and the whole thing just vanished, including GPU-Z itself. Sadly, I havent been able to reproduce it, so i dont know what could be causing it.

Secondly, if you choose "start installer" and then press cancel in the installer, it closes GPU-Z itself aswell.


Apart from that, the installer is working fine so far, with both a desktop shortcut, and a start menu entry being made^^

Edit:
The uninstaller also works perfectly.
Also, the updater works, as long as the older version of GPU-Z is closed. The error message you get when GPU-Z is still open might not be very clear as to whats wrong to inexperienced users however.
 
Last edited:

user21

New Member
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
282 (0.12/day)
Likes
22
Location
Peshawar
#16
sorry to bring this up are but is there any gpuz gadget for windows 7 sidebar? official one not the others.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,042 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,900
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#17
sorry to bring this up are but is there any gpuz gadget for windows 7 sidebar? official one not the others.
sorry, no
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
The installer should say that the currently installed GPU-Z is open and/or should be closed before installation instead of "Copy failed" and "Could not write file". And there's no icon in Programs and Features.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,042 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,900
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#20
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Messages
527 (0.23/day)
Likes
472
Location
somewhere in Eastern Europe
System Name Cruncher
Processor AMD FX-8370
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Thermalright Silver Arrow SB-E
Memory 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 2000
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7870+Powercolor HD7850 CrossFire
Storage Corsair ForceGT 90 SSD,WD Black 500
Display(s) Acer 24'' 2ms
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Grand 1050w 80+Gold
Software Win 7 SP1 Ult x64
#22
Maybe it does not matter when I installed the program, Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010 has issued the following message:
19.02.2012 15:37:35 Found: PDM.Invader (loader) GPUZ_INSTALLER.EXE C:\USERS\ ...

It is known that he was often mistaken. This may scare the less experienced users, but only with the specified anti-virus. Most likely other anti-virus software will not issue a warning. Installed on systems with Norton Internet Security 2011 and 2012, all right.

The actual installation is very simple and accessible. Thank you for excellent work!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,100 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,528
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#23
Maybe it does not matter when I installed the program, Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2010 has issued the following message:
19.02.2012 15:37:35 Found: PDM.Invader (loader) GPUZ_INSTALLER.EXE C:\USERS\ ...

It is known that he was often mistaken. This may scare the less experienced users, but only with the specified anti-virus. Most likely other anti-virus software will not issue a warning. Installed on systems with Norton Internet Security 2011 and 2012, all right.

The actual installation is very simple and accessible. Thank you for excellent work!
i'm on kaspersky 2012 with no issues. you should probably update.


installer worked fine here.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,042 (3.44/day)
Likes
17,900
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#24
i contacted kaspersky regarding the false positive.

edit:

their reply, on a sunday! after like 1 hour

Hello,

Sorry, it was a false detection. It will be fixed in the next update.
Thank you for your help.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 12, 2006
Messages
2,289 (0.53/day)
Likes
410
System Name MONEY PIT
Processor i7-3770K @ 4800 1.20v batch #3231B415 Delided
Motherboard ASrock Z77 OC Formula w onboard waterblocks
Cooling Apogee HD, MCP655,rad MCR320-XP,Micro Rev2 res
Memory G,skill Trident X F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti Classified with EK nickel/acetal waterblock installed
Storage 2x120gig Wildfire raid0 2x120gig VERTEX3 raid0
Display(s) 3/ Samsung2343bwx + 65in LG 4K
Case NZXT Phantom White w/red
Audio Device(s) ReCon3d fatal1ty pro, Logitech z906 THX
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse Rat7
Software 64bit ++++ win 10
#25
Installed fine on win7-64 & vista-32 will try later on win8 rig