• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help overclocking 6770

Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#51
Ok. As for the problem, I doubt its the temp. I think the chip needs more voltage for higher clocks. Because mine doesn't even touch 80 degree C. Also I have seen another weird thing, when I push my clock past 975, the frame rate decreases(LOL event). It is only till 970 that I have the best performance. :)
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
75 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
System Name Sn@k3
Processor AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz@4.5GHz
Motherboard GA-78LMT-S2P REV. 5.0
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory AMD 4GB DDR3 1333MHz@1566MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 Oc'd 960MHz/1295MHz
Storage Samsung HD502HJ 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W1943S 18.5"
Case Standard Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC 887@888B-Modded with X-FI, Dolby and DTS
Power Supply Corsair CX 430V2 430 Watts
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
#52
Ok. As for the problem, I doubt its the temp. I think the chip needs more voltage for higher clocks. Because mine doesn't even touch 80 degree C. Also I have seen another weird thing, when I push my clock past 975, the frame rate decreases(LOL event). It is only till 970 that I have the best performance. :)
Woow, That's incredible, so, there's nothing that we can do about it , huh ? Just a physic mod, but this is pretty dangereous.
Thanks for replying.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#53
Nope I will not do any physical mod. :p
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
75 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
System Name Sn@k3
Processor AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz@4.5GHz
Motherboard GA-78LMT-S2P REV. 5.0
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory AMD 4GB DDR3 1333MHz@1566MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 Oc'd 960MHz/1295MHz
Storage Samsung HD502HJ 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W1943S 18.5"
Case Standard Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC 887@888B-Modded with X-FI, Dolby and DTS
Power Supply Corsair CX 430V2 430 Watts
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
#54
@itsakjt

Have you ever tested the New Tomb Raider with your overlock settings ? I've tested and the results weren't good, I got often black screen and then it comes back, sometimes it even reboots, and say that the driver has been disabled, something like that, So, Is there anyone stumbling with this problem as well ?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#55
Oh yes I am playing it and its running good enough. I have turned off tessalation, high precision and post processing and only the shadow detail is set to normal. Everything else at the highest possible. And I get around 35 FPS average. What driver are you using?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
75 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
System Name Sn@k3
Processor AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz@4.5GHz
Motherboard GA-78LMT-S2P REV. 5.0
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory AMD 4GB DDR3 1333MHz@1566MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 Oc'd 960MHz/1295MHz
Storage Samsung HD502HJ 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W1943S 18.5"
Case Standard Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC 887@888B-Modded with X-FI, Dolby and DTS
Power Supply Corsair CX 430V2 430 Watts
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
#56
I'm using 13.2 Beta 7, I'm waiting for AMD's new release, will they release another version to optimize Tomb Raider ? Btw, Which version are you using ?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#57
I'm using 13.2 Beta 7, I'm waiting for AMD's new release, will they release another version to optimize Tomb Raider ? Btw, Which version are you using ?
I am not onto the Beta because I've heard many users have problems. I am using the 13.1 WHQL and it plays Tomb Raider without issues. You may want to try it as well. AMD should release a new driver for the latest titles of Crysis 3 and Tomb Raider. BTW, my GPU clock is 970 MHz and mem clock is 1295 MHz. As for the CPU, I am running the Phenom II X4 at 3.8 GHz now because if I go up, it will overheat. And no way the CPU is bottle necking because I have checked benchmarks and with a particular GPU, Core i7 2600 is giving 107 FPS and Phenom II X4 at stock is giving 101 FPS. :)

Most probably, my sister will be getting a job next year and then I may be able to get a new 200$ GPU. After a few more years, I will be getting the third GPU and probably a whole new rig on my own earning. :)
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
75 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
System Name Sn@k3
Processor AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz@4.5GHz
Motherboard GA-78LMT-S2P REV. 5.0
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory AMD 4GB DDR3 1333MHz@1566MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 Oc'd 960MHz/1295MHz
Storage Samsung HD502HJ 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W1943S 18.5"
Case Standard Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC 887@888B-Modded with X-FI, Dolby and DTS
Power Supply Corsair CX 430V2 430 Watts
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
#58
hm, Nice to hear that, I'll try the 13.1 version out, thanks for letting me know . Have a nice day.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#59
I am not onto the Beta because I've heard many users have problems. I am using the 13.1 WHQL and it plays Tomb Raider without issues. You may want to try it as well. AMD should release a new driver for the latest titles of Crysis 3 and Tomb Raider. BTW, my GPU clock is 970 MHz and mem clock is 1295 MHz. As for the CPU, I am running the Phenom II X4 at 3.8 GHz now because if I go up, it will overheat. And no way the CPU is bottle necking because I have checked benchmarks and with a particular GPU, Core i7 2600 is giving 107 FPS and Phenom II X4 at stock is giving 101 FPS. :)

Most probably, my sister will be getting a job next year and then I may be able to get a new 200$ GPU. After a few more years, I will be getting the third GPU and probably a whole new rig on my own earning. :)
You're right, your CPU won't bottle neck a 6770.

The 6770 is essentially the same as the 5770. I know my 5770 needed a voltage mod to get to 1 ghz. It's only a decent chip when it comes to power consumption.

BTW, why did you update drivers? the 6770 uses the same vliw5 instead of vliw4 or gcn.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#60
You're right, your CPU won't bottle neck a 6770.

The 6770 is essentially the same as the 5770. I know my 5770 needed a voltage mod to get to 1 ghz. It's only a decent chip when it comes to power consumption.

BTW, why did you update drivers? the 6770 uses the same vliw5 instead of vliw4 or gcn.
Hmm I know. And I didn't find any difference from 12.10 to 13.1 or even the previous. But it does not hurt to have the latest driver for perhaps anything for the computer.. I mean peace of mind you know. :)

And yes, you are right about 6770 but the thing is that I don't earn on my own now so I had that option only and it was perfect even a few months ago for the rest of the system I mean the monitor especially. It is also perfect now I mean I can play even the latest titles like Crysis 3 and Tomb Raider with reducing little bit of advanced settings and manage to get around 40 FPS average and it does not look bad at all. For example, I had to turn off tessellation, high precision and post processing in Tomb Raider to get 40 FPS average.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#61
Hmm I know. And I didn't find any difference from 12.10 to 13.1 or even the previous. But it does not hurt to have the latest driver for perhaps anything for the computer.. I mean peace of mind you know. :)

And yes, you are right about 6770 but the thing is that I don't earn on my own now so I had that option only and it was perfect even a few months ago for the rest of the system I mean the monitor especially. It is also perfect now I mean I can play even the latest titles like Crysis 3 and Tomb Raider with reducing little bit of advanced settings and manage to get around 40 FPS average and it does not look bad at all. For example, I had to turn off tessellation, high precision and post processing in Tomb Raider to get 40 FPS average.
That is a valid reason for supported hardware but I strongly advise against updating to a newer driver that is unsupported to your older hardware. Read the notes first before you update. It will tell you all the changes.

1. It's a unified driver- pretty much a multi-driver package in one so people don't have to get lost searching for specific drivers. The problem is when the older drivers does not get attached, corrupted or just plain old whatever mistake happened when it is packaged together and compressed.
2. You could have some data loss or corruption when transferring, downloading or unpacking.
3. The new driver install went wrong somehow.
4. The new driver install acts funny after it overwrites the old driver(if you don't do clean install)
5. The new drivers have conflict with your hardware as it is probably not tested with older hardware.
......i think you get the point by now.

You are taking a small % of risk each update for a known 0% gain of anything.

For old unsupported hardware, I highly suggest the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" philosophy.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,468 (0.85/day)
Likes
782
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#62
I used Cat 13.2beta6 without any problems on my two HD5770's and it ran fine so latest drivers shouldn't be a problem for ya heck I even think skyrim runs a little better now
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,468 (0.85/day)
Likes
782
System Name Xtreme PC's AMDx8
Processor AMD FX8320 @ 4.0GHz NB/HT @ 2.6GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling ThermoLab Baram 2x 120mm Gentle Typhoons 1850rpm
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2400MHz 11/13/13/34/1T 1.65V
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX580 8GB OC 1342/2000 (Core/Mem) BIOS Modded
Storage 2x Kingston V300 120GB SSD's Raid0: 1x Sandisk 128GB SSD 1xWD 2TB red, 1xWD 1TB black 1xWD 2TB nas
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457 75Hz FreeSync 1920x1080p
Case SilverStone Raven RV02B-W + 3x SS AP181 + USB3.0 upgrade
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme PCIe + Pioneer VSX-D457 amp Technics Speaker set
Power Supply SilverStone ST75F-P Modular 750W
Mouse Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10 X64 PRO (build 1607)
Benchmark Scores it sucks even less much now ;)
#63
4. The new driver install acts funny after it overwrites the old driver(if you don't do clean install)
5. The new drivers have conflict with your hardware as it is probably not tested with older hardware.
Bollocks to both of those wheres your proof for number 5 and as for 4 I always install over the top and have never had a problem
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
478 (0.26/day)
Likes
119
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Asrock Z77
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory G Skill 8gb 1600 mhz X 2
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 7850 X 2
Storage 1 TB Velociraptor, 240GB 840 Samsung
Display(s) 27" Samsung LED X 2
Case Thermaltake V9
Power Supply Seasonic 620 W, CX600M on stand by
Software Win 8.1 64
Benchmark Scores Benches are silly
#64
Bollocks to both of those wheres your proof for number 5 and as for 4 I always install over the top and have never had a problem
You should do some googling or just search these forums and you'll find your answer.
If it didn't happen to you, it doesn't mean it didn't happen to other people.

If you ever start a thread saying "installed new drivers and game crashes, need help", the first thing most people will recommend is do a "clean install". In fact, this has solved many drivers problems I had. This is not like the cellphones starts gas station fires myth. This is a real problem.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#65
You should do some googling or just search these forums and you'll find your answer.
If it didn't happen to you, it doesn't mean it didn't happen to other people.

If you ever start a thread saying "installed new drivers and game crashes, need help", the first thing most people will recommend is do a "clean install". In fact, this has solved many drivers problems I had. This is not like the cellphones starts gas station fires myth. This is a real problem.
Yeah this is correct. I once updated the driver overwriting the old driver. Some days later, I opened up GPU-Z and saw that Open CL was disabled. Then I uninstalled all AMD drivers and did a clean install of the new driver and everything was fine again. From that time, I never installed a driver over writing another.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2012
Messages
75 (0.04/day)
Likes
4
System Name Sn@k3
Processor AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz@4.5GHz
Motherboard GA-78LMT-S2P REV. 5.0
Cooling AMD Stock Cooler
Memory AMD 4GB DDR3 1333MHz@1566MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 Oc'd 960MHz/1295MHz
Storage Samsung HD502HJ 500GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W1943S 18.5"
Case Standard Case
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC 887@888B-Modded with X-FI, Dolby and DTS
Power Supply Corsair CX 430V2 430 Watts
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
#66
Yeah this is correct. I once updated the driver overwriting the old driver. Some days later, I opened up GPU-Z and saw that Open CL was disabled. Then I uninstalled all AMD drivers and did a clean install of the new driver and everything was fine again. From that time, I never installed a driver over writing another.
Yes , and AMD has released his driver uninstallation utility thinking about that, I guess.
 

Pigbait

New Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#67
Hey guys, sorry for bringing up an old post, but i have a sapphire HD 6770 and i would like to OC it, i have downloaded RBE, and have my stock Bios, how do i edit the voltage on this card?
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
1,281 (0.48/day)
Likes
466
Location
Kolkata, India
System Name Kaby | HP ab221TX laptop
Processor Intel Core i5 7600K @stock | Intel Core i5 5200U
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger | HP
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120V hydro cooler | Laptop standard copper cooler
Memory 4*8 GB Kingston HyperX Fury @2900 MHz 15-15-15-35 2T | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X VaporX: Core: 1150 MHz, memory 1485 MHz | Intel HD Graphics + NVIDIA GT940M
Storage HyperX 3K 240 GB+Fury 240 GB SSDs, WD10EARS, ST500DM002, ST2000DM006 | Toshiba MQ01ABD100
Display(s) Dell S2240M 22" Full HD IPS widescreen| 15.6" full HD IPS LED LCD (LG Display)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R | HP ab221TX chassis
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 (Supreme FX) | Realtek ALC 290 with Bang & Olufsen (B&O Play)
Power Supply Corsair CS750M | 65W power brick
Mouse Logitech G300S | Synaptics SMBus touchpad
Keyboard Cooler Master Storm Devastator | Island style backlit keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Home x64
#68
Hey guys, sorry for bringing up an old post, but i have a sapphire HD 6770 and i would like to OC it, i have downloaded RBE, and have my stock Bios, how do i edit the voltage on this card?
There is no way you can do that except for physical voltmods which is risky. I tried various BIOS mods but none worked. Which version of the card do you have? Can you give a link to it? Search in Sapphire website.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,825 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,105
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#70
Well if it's not a reference design, and it looks like it's not, chances are that you won't have a programmable voltage controller, therefore if that is the case, no amount of "software" methods will work as I am guessing you have already deducted.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,825 (4.52/day)
Likes
6,105
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#72
that sucks. so how can i hardware mod? any tutorial
I have assumed you have tried things such as afterburner and not been able to get the voltage option, that's usually a good indicator that it's not programmable. No have not come across a voltmod tutorial for that card, you probably have already searched just about everywhere but if not already scour XtremeSystems as they have a hard mod section that may have something.