• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

need help overclocking GTX 670

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#1
I am not sure how to overclock the Core clocks.

I have increased the memory clocks from 1500mhz to 1700mhz. its stable while playing Sleeping Dogs maxed out.

But as soon as I overclock the Core clock to 1100mhz, the video card resets itself and i get black screen and the game crashes.

I also tried to increase the powerlimit and voltage to +25 offset but still the video card does the same thing.

Right now its pretty stable at default Voltage and Powerlimit when the Core clock is at 1067mhz and memory at 1700mhz.

What would be the right powerlimit and Voltage to make it stable at or above 1100mhz Core???

my card is MSI GTX 670 2GB.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
50
Processor i7-6800K @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99 Strix
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Scythe AP-15
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (8GB x 4)@ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB + Corsair Force 3 120GB + WD Black 1TB + SG 7200.14 3TB
Display(s) DELL U3415W
Case Cosmos SE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS
Mouse Corsair K70 MX Brown
Keyboard Razer Mamba
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#2
Follow this comprehensive guide:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1265110/the-gtx-670-overclocking-master-guide

It really does take 3 hours of adjustments to get it right. The main goal is to find the right balance between TDP, voltage, temperature, and core clock (or boost clock) to allow for the best results.

A little friendly reminder that setting your core clock to its maximum stable clock isn't going to cut it anymore, because it'll likely TDP throttle and give you worse results than setting the core right where it won't throttle at all.

As a guideline, I've gotten my reference EVGA GTX 670 up to a core clock of 1085MHz, with a maximum boost of 1320MHz. No throttling occurred, fan speed at 60%, and ambient at ~21C.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#3
well, i dont think my card throttled at 70c. because it still reaches and stays at 75c with full fan speed.

so it doesnt throttle right?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
50
Processor i7-6800K @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99 Strix
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Scythe AP-15
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (8GB x 4)@ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB + Corsair Force 3 120GB + WD Black 1TB + SG 7200.14 3TB
Display(s) DELL U3415W
Case Cosmos SE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS
Mouse Corsair K70 MX Brown
Keyboard Razer Mamba
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#4
well, i dont think my card throttled at 70c. because it still reaches and stays at 75c with full fan speed.

so it doesnt throttle right?
It SHOULD throttle at or above 70C.

With that said, temperature throttling isn't the only thing to worry about. Look if your core clock moves around while you're benchmarking or playing a game - if it does, look at your power %. If your core clock moves around while at or above your set power target, you'll know that you're TDP throttling.

In the event that you're not, crank up those clocks a bit more, then stability test. Repeat as neccessary until you find where it throttles. Set up your 24/7 clocks just before that point.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#5
what does it happen if it throttles?

if thats the case then i easily reach above 70c with stock speeds while playing sleeping dogs maxed out then.

Are you sure that ALL 670 cards should throttle at 70c and not just SOME??
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
50
Processor i7-6800K @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99 Strix
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Scythe AP-15
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (8GB x 4)@ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB + Corsair Force 3 120GB + WD Black 1TB + SG 7200.14 3TB
Display(s) DELL U3415W
Case Cosmos SE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS
Mouse Corsair K70 MX Brown
Keyboard Razer Mamba
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#6
what does it happen if it throttles?

if thats the case then i easily reach above 70c with stock speeds while playing sleeping dogs maxed out then.

Are you sure that ALL 670 cards should throttle at 70c and not just SOME??
According to that guide and Google, it seems so for the temperature throttling.

When it TDP throttles or temperature throttles, the boost will decrease in 13MHz increments until the card itself determines that it's safe. In other words, you're not getting your maximum performance that you could be getting. That's why you have to monitor everything about your card.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#7
umm. i have my doubts. my card stayed at 75c many times and it never reduced to go under 70c as the result of throttling.... but i will check into this.

but why Nvidia put such a limit?

so that people cant overclock higher than gtx 680 or something?

a gtx 670 is almost in the same range of speed as a gtx 680 in the first place anyway.

to me buying a gtx 680 is pointless....

the only better option after a gtx 670 is a gtx 690 but its too expensive. thats it.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
50
Processor i7-6800K @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99 Strix
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Scythe AP-15
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (8GB x 4)@ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB + Corsair Force 3 120GB + WD Black 1TB + SG 7200.14 3TB
Display(s) DELL U3415W
Case Cosmos SE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS
Mouse Corsair K70 MX Brown
Keyboard Razer Mamba
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#8
umm. i have my doubts. my card stayed at 75c many times and it never reduced to go under 70c as the result of throttling.... but i will check into this.
It won't downclock to get under 70C; it downclocks itself so it won't get any hotter (to stay within a certain operating temperature). For example, if your max boost was 1320MHz at 60-69C and you're over 70C, you'd be getting 1307MHz. Every 10C results in an additional 13MHz drop to your maximum boost starting at 70C I believe.

Anywho, all of your GTX 670 overclocking basics, tips, and methods were mentioned in the thread I linked. Happy overclocking!
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#9
oh. u got MSI 670 as well.

can u please tell me what power limit and voltage u set ur card to?

i can try your settings.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#10
so far I can increase the memory clock up to +600 as offset. which translates from 192.256 GB/sec to 230.00 GB/sec on memory speed. running Sleeping Dogs maxed out. its stable so far.

pretty good ey?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
50
Processor i7-6800K @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99 Strix
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Scythe AP-15
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (8GB x 4)@ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB + Corsair Force 3 120GB + WD Black 1TB + SG 7200.14 3TB
Display(s) DELL U3415W
Case Cosmos SE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS
Mouse Corsair K70 MX Brown
Keyboard Razer Mamba
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#11
oh. u got MSI 670 as well.

can u please tell me what power limit and voltage u set ur card to?

i can try your settings.
I have the MSI GTX 670 Power Edition - it's different from the reference GTX 670. Which card do you have?

These are my current settings:




I haven't bothered overclocking my memory since it yields minute gains.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#12
My one is the normal MSI GTX 670 1GB OC edition.

I have overclocked mine to +600 for Memory and +143 for Core, +100 for Voltage and +100 for power.

so far its stable. but if i increase the power by even a little bit i get black screen and the video card resets itself. otherwise i still have my full speed. even though the temp goes above 75c. i checked.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#13
and so far maxing out Sleeping Dogs and DarkSiders.

So the card doesnt decrease the clocks when the temp goes above 70c. When i exit to the desktop while i game and check the GPUz, it still shows that i have my overclocked clocks.

but if i increase the powerlimit the video card resets itself and i get blackscreen.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#14
why is that when i play Darksiders with the same Clock settings i get an instant reset and black screen but it doesnt happen with Sleeping Dogs on maxed out settings???

its weird. it looks like when i decrease the memory clock settings i dont get any resets and black screen when playing Darksiders. that game isnt even demanding.

why is that? can anyone tell?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,379 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,510
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#15
Easy, Your overclock isn't stable ;)
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#16
actually i find out hard to overclock the GTX 670. its weird. its unlike the older cards.

u have voltage and powerlimit settings.

and in some games your overclocks are stable and some other games its not!!!!

I mean come on, you dont even have any customizeable graphical settings for Darksiders and i get an instant reset!!!

all i want to do is to find the absolute limit of the card and overclock it to its absolute limit.

I want to do this to prepare myself for demanding games like Far Cry 3, Crysis 3, etc.. :(
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,379 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,510
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#17
I will quote myself just to remind you ;)

Not much help to you there. I am on the "Red Team" Where I just set my clocks(1100/1500) and I'm done I don't envy you at all to have to deal with that "kettle of fish" that is NV's new "Boost" method.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#18
lol yeah. ATI user.

if anyone is experienced in overclocking a GTX 670 2GB, especially the MSI OC version, please advise me. :)
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2011
Messages
90 (0.04/day)
Likes
50
Processor i7-6800K @ 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS X99 Strix
Cooling Corsair H100i + 2x Scythe AP-15
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (8GB x 4)@ 3200MHz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 480GB + Corsair Force 3 120GB + WD Black 1TB + SG 7200.14 3TB
Display(s) DELL U3415W
Case Cosmos SE
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS
Mouse Corsair K70 MX Brown
Keyboard Razer Mamba
Software Windows 10 64-bit
#19
why is that? can anyone tell?
Easy, Your overclock isn't stable ;)
:laugh:

It's trial and error. I've already told and advised you as much as possible. If it crashes or throttles, bump your clocks down and test again. If it doesn't, bump your clocks up and test again. Rinse and repeat until you're at the point at which you're not throttling or crashing.

It's the same concept as overclocking any other card, except you have to monitor a few more things. It's just tedious and time consuming.
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#20
what i did was to reduce the Core clock speed and maximize the memory clock speed and start from there.

I found out if i increase the core clock to beyond 1060mhz or something, i get resets and black screen in some games regardless of powerlimit, voltage and memory clock speed.

why is that though?

The Core clock seems to be very sensitive than Memory clocks regardless.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#21
What power supply are you using?
 
Joined
Jul 21, 2008
Messages
4,434 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,050
Location
Clifton Park, NY
System Name [Uber Noober Setup]
Processor [i7 3770K]
Motherboard [MSI P67A-G45(B3)]
Memory [32GB Corsair Vengeance (8GBx4)]
Video Card(s) [EVGA GTX 1080]
Storage [128GB OCZ VTX4 SSD, 2TB Internal HDD]
Display(s) [2x 27" ASUS at 1920x1080p - 1x 34" Samsung at 1440p]
Case [Coolermaster CM 690]
Audio Device(s) [X-Fi XtremeGamer]
Power Supply [CORSAIR 850W]
Software [Windows 10 64-Bit]
#22
lol yeah. ATI user.

if anyone is experienced in overclocking a GTX 670 2GB, especially the MSI OC version, please advise me. :)
Ur card might be maxed out. Just cause someone else can reach certain numbers doesnt mean u will
 

john.sa

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
84 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#23
erocker: its Antec 650w. its max Amp is 38A.

anything wrong?

u think it might be the power issue?

but i never get restarts or shutdowns.

I like to increase the Core as much as i can because that what affects the performance the most. increasing the memory doesnt help much. i dont know why.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2012
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#24
I OCed both my MSI GTX 670 power edition OC, one is able to hit 1270, and the other one is at 1215, on memory I use +200 on both, hope that info helps.

EDIT:I would first not adding anything on memory, power limit to max, and play with core, use heaven unigen max setting and see if its stable for 2 hours, and play BF3 in those big maps through out the week, I used that route to find my stable clock.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2012
Messages
135 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
Location
Canada
Processor Phenom II x4 B55 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Msi 870 G45
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Corsair 4gb single stick 1333
Video Card(s) GTX560SE
Storage WD,Samsung,Segate 7200rpm Raid0
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 226BW
Case Antec One Hundred
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply Cooler Master RS460
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit / Linux 64bit
Benchmark Scores Pwns them all to hot for them pff !
#25
Follow this comprehensive guide:

http://www.overclock.net/t/1265110/the-gtx-670-overclocking-master-guide

It really does take 3 hours of adjustments to get it right. The main goal is to find the right balance between TDP, voltage, temperature, and core clock (or boost clock) to allow for the best results.

A little friendly reminder that setting your core clock to its maximum stable clock isn't going to cut it anymore, because it'll likely TDP throttle and give you worse results than setting the core right where it won't throttle at all.

As a guideline, I've gotten my reference EVGA GTX 670 up to a core clock of 1085MHz, with a maximum boost of 1320MHz. No throttling occurred, fan speed at 60%, and ambient at ~21C.
Three hrs to OC a GPU somethings busted LOL.