• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help please, new GPU

Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,195 (0.50/day)
System Name HP Z420
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2650 v2
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 1589
Cooling Default fan System Level 3
Memory 32.0GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Radeon Pro WX 7100 GDDR5 8GB 256-Bit
Storage 8 Hard Drives (External & Internal)
Display(s) DELL P2414H 24inch Monitor
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply 600 Watts PSU
Mouse Dell Red Glow
Keyboard Dell Black
Software Windows Enterprise 10 x64
Hey guys, using a RX 570 8GB for a while now, so i decided to also buy a Radeon PRO wx 7100, got it today. I uninstall the drivers from the RX and shut down my computer. I Put in the WX 7100 same slot and i get a red light on the computer. But when i put the card in another pcie slot, it works. Any idea why the card does not work in the main slot i was using the 570 in? its slot 3.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,195 (0.50/day)
System Name HP Z420
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2650 v2
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 1589
Cooling Default fan System Level 3
Memory 32.0GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Radeon Pro WX 7100 GDDR5 8GB 256-Bit
Storage 8 Hard Drives (External & Internal)
Display(s) DELL P2414H 24inch Monitor
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply 600 Watts PSU
Mouse Dell Red Glow
Keyboard Dell Black
Software Windows Enterprise 10 x64
Nope. But are you trying to game with this pro card?
I realized the issue, the tech guy from ebay who sold me the card said slot 2 didn't work or something, i was thinking he was referring display port slot 2, but i guess he is talking about how the card didn't work in slot 2 on the motherboard. So it works now, using another slot.

As for gaming on a workstation card, i do it all the time. Feel free to read my past posts. I'm about to game on this one and see how well it performs compared to the RX 570. I have a W5000, W7000, WX 4100, i always game on workstation cards, never had an issue. Always wanted to buy a WX 7100
 
Joined
May 13, 2006
Messages
902 (0.17/day)
Processor i7 7700k @ 5ghz 1.36v / i7 930 @4ghz
Motherboard Asus Z170-e / Asus Rampage Extreme II
Cooling Noctua NH-D-15 / Megahelems rev.b
Memory HyperX Fury 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 2666MHz / ocz 6x2gb ddr3 1600mhz @1650mhz
Video Card(s) Quatro P4000 / MSi 290x Lightning
Storage 1tb Samsung 970 EVO,500gb,750gb / Crucial 128gb SSD
Display(s) Asus 23in 1920X1080
Case Fractal Design Meshify C / Coolermaster HAF 939
Audio Device(s) Onboard / X-Fi
Power Supply Corsair tx650w / Corsair tx750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero / Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell
Software 10 Home 64bit
I game on a Quadro P4000
So the motherboard main slot is dead?
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,195 (0.50/day)
System Name HP Z420
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2650 v2
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 1589
Cooling Default fan System Level 3
Memory 32.0GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Radeon Pro WX 7100 GDDR5 8GB 256-Bit
Storage 8 Hard Drives (External & Internal)
Display(s) DELL P2414H 24inch Monitor
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply 600 Watts PSU
Mouse Dell Red Glow
Keyboard Dell Black
Software Windows Enterprise 10 x64
Guys' quick question, how do you update your bios on a card, i downloaded the newest rom for my card but don't know how to flash it or whatever.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,544 (1.98/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
Guys' quick question, how do you update your bios on a card, i downloaded the newest rom for my card but don't know how to flash it or whatever.
If it works correctly it isn't needed.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
284 (1.70/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 and z490 is in x99 case
Processor 9940x with optimus sigV2 & 10900k with optimus foundation
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Titan Xp & 1080ti ftw3 need a third gpu 30 series come on
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and regular hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2
Power Supply evga 1200P2 & 1000P2 & 850P2 for mora fans
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro and win-10 pro x2
Benchmark Scores Refer to OC.Net and tenforums.com x3
Guys' quick question, how do you update your bios on a card, i downloaded the newest rom for my card but don't know how to flash it or whatever.
Hi,
NVflash for nvidia gpu's but usually just to switch to an oc vbios
I wouldn't do it on a gpu with only one vbios though usually voids warranty unless the card come with dual vbios.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,596 (1.32/day)
Location
Long Island
You can game on a workstation card ... It will cost a lot more than and not perform as well as a "hardware equivalent" gaming card....

There is no technical difference between workstation and gaming graphics cards using the same GPU architecture, Within that architecture, the workstation graphics card and gaming graphics card will have same GPU technology, memory type and manufacturing process. One notable difference id that to obtain certain application certifications, softwar evendors may requre ECCmemory . So workstation cards will not tho. Assumptions about the 2 different cards are often wrong. For example many folks come to us for a CAD oriented build and include a Quadro card on their build list. Now if they are doing rendering, that would be the correct choice, but for 2D and 3D AutoCAD, GTX cards rule the day.

Other then ECC vesion-ECC the big difference lies in the firmware. Like mechanical storage drives, the same physical hardware can be tuned to serve a particualr purpose. A company's server and desktop performance oriented drives may be physically the same , with one tuned to excel on high I/O and the other for sustained read / write. That's how workstaion cards and / gaming cards primarily differ. The firmware in Quadros are tuned to provide rendering capabilities. GTX Cards work in soome rendering apps, and not at all in others. Quadros on the other hand are capable of doing both ... the just don't do as well since the firmware is not tweaked for this usage.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
2,195 (0.50/day)
System Name HP Z420
Processor Intel Xeon E5 2650 v2
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 1589
Cooling Default fan System Level 3
Memory 32.0GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Radeon Pro WX 7100 GDDR5 8GB 256-Bit
Storage 8 Hard Drives (External & Internal)
Display(s) DELL P2414H 24inch Monitor
Case HP
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply 600 Watts PSU
Mouse Dell Red Glow
Keyboard Dell Black
Software Windows Enterprise 10 x64
I think it fixes some heat issues,
If it works correctly it isn't needed.
I think its for heat issues if i run into it, but i guess i don't need it. Highest it went up playing a game was 82c.

You can game on a workstation card ... It will cost a lot more than and not perform as well as a "hardware equivalent" gaming card....
Compared to my 570 8GB, the card performs about the same. I only tested 3 games, Sleeping Dogs, Gear tactics and Control, tested using 20.7 drivers and Radeon pro 20.Q2.1 drivers, all comes down to the drivers, but Control did perform a bit faster compared to the 570 8GB. So just depending on what WS card you get, but this one performs just as good "so far". Using the pro 20.q2.1 drivers, about to test more games now, but the card is nice.

As for price, i only paid 118 dollars for it, i bought one that said the card slot 2 didn't work, it was a card for parts and not working. I found out today the card does work in my main slot 2 pcie slot, but i think display 2 port does not work. Got lucky i guess haha. Because the WX 7100 cards cost well over 300-400 bucks.

There is no technical difference between workstation and gaming graphics cards using the same GPU architecture, Within that architecture, the workstation graphics card and gaming graphics card will have same GPU technology, memory type and manufacturing process. One notable difference id that to obtain certain application certifications, softwar evendors may requre ECCmemory . So workstation cards will not tho. Assumptions about the 2 different cards are often wrong. For example many folks come to us for a CAD oriented build and include a Quadro card on their build list. Now if they are doing rendering, that would be the correct choice, but for 2D and 3D AutoCAD, GTX cards rule the day.

Other then ECC vesion-ECC the big difference lies in the firmware. Like mechanical storage drives, the same physical hardware can be tuned to serve a particualr purpose. A company's server and desktop performance oriented drives may be physically the same , with one tuned to excel on high I/O and the other for sustained read / write. That's how workstaion cards and / gaming cards primarily differ. The firmware in Quadros are tuned to provide rendering capabilities. GTX Cards work in soome rendering apps, and not at all in others. Quadros on the other hand are capable of doing both ... the just don't do as well since the firmware is not tweaked for this usage.
:)
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
988 (0.19/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
It's basically a lower clocked 580 8gb equivalent, you should be able to clock it up to at least 1400/2000 and it will beat the 570
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
8,951 (4.23/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Guys' quick question, how do you update your bios on a card, i downloaded the newest rom for my card but don't know how to flash it or whatever.
You don't "update" the Bios unless there is a fault that requires a fix.
 
Top