1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need help with driver installation

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by ALBPM, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. ALBPM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I've been running 2 Sapphire 6950s in xfire for sometime first with a clean install of the 12a drivers then with the 11.1 beta. I did flash my cards bios with the "Unlocked Sapphire file" before installing the 11.1 drivers.
    I have been using TRIXX to overclock to 880/1325 which should be safe.

    The other night I tried to go back to the 12a drivers because TRIXX worked better with them than the 11a. I did the driver uninstall booted in safe mode ran Driver Sweeper rebooted and tried to install the 12a drivers. The Drivers would not install correctly. I repeated the uninstall process and in safe mode even uninstalled the video adapter.

    I have tried with both cards, a single card and have swapped my 2 cards around and no luck.

    I also tried to go back to the 11.1 drivers and have the same issue. The Drivers fail to install.

    I keep getting these errors -
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,284 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,313
    Use this guide to uninstall/reinstall your drivers: How To: Reinstall Video Drivers (Quick Guide)

    Be sure to uninstall all instances of Microsoft Visual C++ before installing new drivers. Once the new drivers are installed you can reinstall MS Visual C++ from here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...34-3e03-4391-8a4d-074b9f2bc1bf&displaylang=en
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...5E-6DE6-4D3A-A423-37BF0912DB84&displaylang=en

    This one you may not need anymore. 2005: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...d9-ae1a-4a14-984d-389c36f85647&displaylang=en
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ALBPM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I tried all of this including removing all instances of Microsoft Visual C++ and still no go...

    I tried both the 12a and 11.1 again and can only get one card (secondary) working in xFire if I install with both cards.

    Even with a single card I still get Driver not installed errors but it appears to work. If I then add the second card the drivers fail to install to the second card.

    I either get the "Other detected devices" error or now the install fails because the "HDMI Audio driver" fails to install.

    This is my first problem with ATI drivers/cards in over 10 years and it has me stumped...??..
     
  4. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Did you reset your motherboard bios after you flashed the card ? Or, I would redo windows ..
     
  5. ALBPM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    No I have not reset the motherboard bios and am really trying to avoid reformatting and installing Win7.
     
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,565 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    What mobo are you using? One with an AMD chipset? I had a problem the other week where it wouldn't recognise my GPU (when installing CCC) no matter what I did. Re-installing the mobo's chipset drivers fixed it, strangely enough.
     
  7. Magikherbs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    366 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Resetting the mobo bios will clear the DMI pool and any record of the previous GPU bios.

    Over the years, I have done countless driver installs and updates, and have yet to find a reason to use a 3rd party reg cleaner/driver program. As newb as this may sound, I use Programs and Features. :D

    Is the flashed gpu stable on its own ?
     
  8. ALBPM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have an ASUS P6T, win7.
    My Sapphire 6950s are flashed with the unlocked shaders 6950 bios. I set the bios switches back to position 2 for the default bios settings and they were very stable before I did the first driver uninstall last Friday.
     
  9. Over50 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    48 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Did you make a Backup (Image) of your Hard drive?
    Did you Create a System Restore Point?
    Do you have a original copy of your HD 6950 BIOS ?
    Does your MotherBoard provide a backup/Dual protection of CMOS.

    I would set your Cards to default position as you first recieved them.
    In Safe Mode ... delete all ATI Display Drivers using Driver Sweeper
    /Delete AMD and ATI folders in Programs Folder.
    In Device Manager / Display/ card/ uninstall-delete Driver.
    Delete contents in Prefetch folder.
    also Temp folder.
    ReBoot computer... As Normal ..Welcome Screen ..load Windows.
    Should indicate New Hardware Found ..Installing Drivers ( normally Windows Standard VGA driver).
    Re-Flash HD 6950 with orginal BIOS.
    Restart PC, Then Install DRIVERS.

    That should place you to the Steps prior to UnLocking HD 6950.

    Remember ..it was mentioned that the Proceedure may not work on All cards.
     
  10. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,565 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Please fill in your system specs here and tick the "Show System Specs" box, this can help everyone to identify the problem.


    EDIT: lol just spotted what the problem might be...
    Boot normally (not safe mode)
    Download CCleaner and install it.
    go to Control Panel>Device Manager>Display Adapters and uninstall it**
    Without rebooting, run CCleaner (remember to select the "registry" tab in CCleaner to clean registry)
    Now try to install the drivers. If it still gives you hassle, reboot into safe mode, then make sure your graphics card is uninstalled in Device Manager, run CCleaner and install drivers again.

    **I'm guessing that your graphics card hasn't got a yellow triangle/exclamation mark next to your graphics card in Device Manager. I'm guessing that windows is already using a driver, and that's stopping Catalyst from installing.

    If none of the above works, take note of the names of the files you're graphics adapter is using from Device Manager (see attachment) and delete them manually after uninstalling your card. Shouldn't come to this though, CCleaner should do it.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      44.8 KB
      Views:
      106
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  11. ALBPM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I tried all of the above and managed to load the 12a drivers without errors finally. But I'm only getting a score of 4700 in 3Dmark11 where I used to get scores around 8800 back when i first got the cards.

    I did have some problems along the way. After uninstalling the cards in device manager the top had the yellow triangle and an error code - "This device cannot start code 10".

    I swapped the cards around reset the motherboard bios and installed the complete 12a driver package and got error - it failed to install the drivers. So, I installed the separate 12a driver file as administrator and it finally loaded successfully. I then setup xfire in CCC.

    However something is still not right as my xfire 3Dmark score is equal to a single card.

    GPU Z shows both cards reaching 100% load however the secondary card seems to run 100% most of the time.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,005 (9.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,636
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    is catalyst AI disabled? that needs to be on
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ALBPM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok, this is wierd......

    Since the secondary card kept runnng at 100% load I disabled xfire in CCC as soon as I hit apply the screen image went out - just snowy noise. I re-booted and the screen went back to normal resolution etc.. Also CCC was back in xFire and the primary card was handling most of the load now and the secondary card was no longer running at 100%.

    I ran 3Dmark11 and had an 8723 score so things seem to be working as they should for now...??..??

    But i still don't understand why.....

    The only thing different was that I installed TRIXX for overclocking a few days before I installed the 11.1 driver and then things went bad when I tried to go back to the 12a driver.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)