1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Need some advice on possibly using 2nd video card for Physx calcuation

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hlhbk, Aug 11, 2009.

  1. hlhbk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Before I get into all of this, here are my current specs:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Conroe 3.0GHz processor
    BFG Tech GeForce 8800 GTX OC2 768MB video card
    OCZ 4GB DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel RAM
    MSI P7N Diamond motherboard

    As most people who know me already know I am a huge gamer, and also a huge Batman fan. I am estatic about Batman Arkham Asylum coming out about a month. I downloaded the demo on pc and everything runs pretty good. I am able to run the demo at 1920x1200 with 4X AA, with everything on and standard physx.

    My main issue here is that considering this is like my most awaited game ever I really want to be able to run this game with physx turned on all the way. I have loved my video card ever since I got it 2 years ago. Normally I am able to run just about anything I want maxed out no issues (except for Crysis ).

    That being said my card is finnaky (spelling?) sometimes, and anytime I have tried to do anything with Physx my video card has hated it. I have Mirror’s edge and it has tearing and is very jerky if I have physx enabled, but is fine if I don’t. With Batman on full physx my frame rate croaks as well.

    I had considered getting a 295 GTX video card, but considering I get awesome performance from my card usually I can’t justify that cost for Physx alone, and the 300 direct x 11 series will be coming from Nvidia soon. So I started looking into having a lesser video card dedicated for Physx.

    The Batman demo says to use a dedicated 260 video card for video and a dedicated 9800 GTX card for Physx. If I get a 9800 GTX card (I am looking at this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150314 ) would I be able to max out my physx and be able to run the game at the high FPS I have now with it off? Also how would I need to set this up?

    I am also not set on a particular card, and since this idea is pretty new to me and I am not sure what is powerful enough just to run physx and take the load off my card I and am open to ideas. Thanks in advance!:respect:
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,506 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,133
    Location:
    Kansas City
    A phsyx card doesn't have to be much. If you look at the specs on an official Physx card they are actually pretty weak. So I use a 8600GT for a dedicated Physx card. A 9800 would work extremely well.

    If your considering a GTX200 series card I have to recommend the 260 or 275. The 260 being close to $130 will get killer frames and then coupled w/a 9800GTX for Phyx will be an excellent setup. The 200 series cards are amazing, but I dont suggest the ballsy 295 since it's price will start to drop when the 300 series cards are released.

    Also, what motherboard do you have? System Specs please :)
     
  4. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,819 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    626
    a 9800gtx is complete overkill, your better off getting a 9600gt or preferably a gs or a gso
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    921 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    186
    Location:
    London, UK
    wouldnt a 9400 also work as physx? you could possibly get a silent version
     
  6. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,506 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,133
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Yes, any card over the 8k series will work. The 9000 series are an excellent series for a dedicated Phyx card.
     
  7. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,482 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Why not grab a GTX260 for cheap and use your 8800GTX for physX
     
  8. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,831 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    707
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    the 8800GTX is a beast size card like an GTX260,i would buy a small card to use as physx in my opinion like 8600GT or 9400 or whatever,might aswell get another 8800GTX for cheap and go SLI maybe
     
  9. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,482 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    A 9600 would be perfect for physx or a 8800GT.
     
  10. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,455 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. hlhbk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok thanks for all of the responses. Let me anwser them in order that I got them in regards to comments and questions.

    Mlee49 MSI P7N Diamond motherboard is my mobo and was in my origional post. I am not planning on upgrading my main card unless I absolutely have to, as I am waiting the 300's to come out.

    Hat I looked at that card and love the price but have some questions. If I get that card with my setup and the fact I get perfectly smooth performance from Batman now without physx would that card you recommended be powerful enough for me to turn physx on fully for that game and have no slowdown with it? The only reason I have considered the 9800GTX was because that is what the developers of the game recommended for physx.

    Some else talked about giant cards, I would love to get a smaller card to keep down on the eat and power it uses. That being said I want to be sure that if I get a lesser card it will do what I am looking for.
     
  12. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,455 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    They probably meant that if you wanted to run Physx, you should have a 9800GTX or better video card, as in if that was your only video card, not having a 9800GTX dedicated to Physx.

    An 8600GT is more than enough to handle Physx as a dedicated Physx card. Your 8800GTX is -still- a very nice card and is one of the longest-lived video cards of all time.

    However, IMO Physx is dead, and was never really alive in the first place.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. hlhbk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok Hat I have decided to take your word for it. I ordered that 8600GT, and will report back to you what I find. BTW the demo for Batman says 260 GTX + 9800GTX dedicated when you selected full physx.

    Now when I hook this up is there a guide on what I need to do to set this up as a phsyx card as far as do I just plug it in the slot and select the setting in the physx control panel or what do I need to do?
     
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,506 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,133
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Thats BS straight from Nvidia's Marketing craporate headquarters. You dont need a 260+9800 to run that game. Hell an 8800 w/8600 should work wonderful.

    When you get the second card, install it, possibly update drivers(only update if your running less than 160's), Open Nvidia Control Panel and Enable Physx on the 8600.
     
  15. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18,455 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,122
    Location:
    Ohio
    You just plug it in the empty slot, and go to the Nvidia control panel. Under the 3D settings menu there's a submenu called "Set Physx Configuration". Click on the Enabled bullet and select the 8600gt in the drop-down menu.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. hlhbk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got the card today, and what a difference! I am not running at 60 FPS in Batman, but it is very playable (not dropping below 30 FPS) at very high settings, with full Physx on, and 4x AA at 1440x900!

    Mirror's Edge again was a drastic increase. It is now running at 60 FPS at 1600x900 with everything on utra high and physx on! Before I was getting around 20 FPS in certain areas where it had physx.

    Anyone looking for a cheap solution to run physx this is the way to go!
     
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,229 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    668
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    8500gt,8600gt,9500gt
     
  18. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,576 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    871
    Well interesting and odd it is that they recommend a GTX260+ and a 9800GTX+ for dedicated phsyx, as its been demonstrated its clearly not needed.

    some of my own testing backs this up, I've played the demo (every setting maxed f'sho) with the GTX260 SLi setup and, and funnily enough, a GTX280 OC with a 9800GT OC for dedicated physx, so really I was giving this thing about equal or more than what it was asking for.

    Using EVGA precision on my second monitor and playing quite some time of the demo, the 9800GT's core had increased in temperature by about 2 Degrees C, and dropped 2 promptly after exiting the game.

    pretty evident she doesn't even need close to 100 sp's the 32 in your 8600GT seem to be plenty, I'm now curious to try a 16sp card :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I may aswell ask here, is this right? (GTX260 + 8400GS)

    [​IMG]

    I don't get the drop down for choosing the 8400 to be PhysX.
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Truly wouldn't benefit anyways Moonpig as the gtx260 has hardware physx. :)
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    887
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    hmmm... Looks like the download rig just gained it's graphics card :p
     
  22. FelipeV

    FelipeV New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil
    I´ve tried this with my X2, 8400GS was only able to handle Warmonger, and even so, it wasn´t that good.

    Impossible to play Mirror Edge, it was OK until I´ve reach those broken glass and particles effects, than the fps drop like it was running on CPU.

    Cryostasis or those Physx demos for download at NV was running slower than the CPU.

    I was going after a 8600GT o 9500GT, but NV disable the support for ATI and NV cards, and Windows 7 its locked like Vista in this departament.

    But, all the games that realy need physics as part of the gameplay use CPU and do a great job.
    Just take a look at Red Faction and Ghostbusters.

    X2+8400GS playing warmonger
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQkMEnr-a4Q

    Ghostbuster Infernal Engine physics.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H9boF-JZKcU

    Tech part 1
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hbs4_3MBnCs
    Tech part 2
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdZN4myeuDc
     
  23. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    411 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    You are here.
    PhysX with low end cards doesn't work very well. You need something with 96 - 128 SPU to have a good experience. So instead of pairing up a high-ish end card for rendering with a low end card for PhysX it is better to let the high-ish end card to do all the work.
     
  24. hlhbk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Um I pared at high card with a low card, and it worked wonders!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)