• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

New F@H Team Members Post Here First

Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
Tried ocing the ten year old 500watt grey psu and it spat a flame out the back and went bang!

the mobo and that looks ok tho, no raised caps, burn marks etc! fingers crossed I can get it back up for folding.
 
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
77 (0.05/day)
Likes
100
Location
Chippenham UK
Processor 2600k @ 4.4
Motherboard Asus p67 Sabertooth
Cooling custom H2O
Memory Samsung Green 2 X 4 @ 1.55v 2140,9,10,10,1T
Video Card(s) EVGA 670 FTW @ 1319 core 6608 mem 1175mv
Storage Corsair SSD
Display(s) Samsund 2443BW
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Corsair HX 1000
Software Win 7 64 bit
You must be mad, I'm suprised the 12v rail had enough amps for a recent motherboard/GPU combo :eek:
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
the 12v rail was showing 9volts in hwinfo64, I was stupid to put it under pressure.

it was working non stop for two days at full load. but its all good its together with a diff psu :D
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,711 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
Hi Guys, I have done some F@home before, and I have also done alittle bit of WCG. I am looking to get my systems setup for the chimp challenge coming up. I was following the GPU guide for Nvidia, and it seems not be using the GPU, or atleast using it very little. Specifications are on the side panel for hardware.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,203
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Hi Guys, I have done some F@home before, and I have also done alittle bit of WCG. I am looking to get my systems setup for the chimp challenge coming up. I was following the GPU guide for Nvidia, and it seems not be using the GPU, or atleast using it very little. Specifications are on the side panel for hardware.
If you used the beta setting, it won't use the GPU. A screen shot would be helpful.
 

BUCK NASTY

F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust
Staff member
Joined
Aug 8, 2007
Messages
4,968 (1.31/day)
Likes
4,624
Location
Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
System Name Main Rig
Processor AMD FX-4130 @ 4.8Ghz
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X Evo
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB GSkill DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 Strix @ 1503Mhz Core
Storage Corsair Force 90gb SSD/ WD Caviar Blue 750gb
Display(s) ASUS 24" IPS
Case Coolermaster Centurion 590
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec TP750 80+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Hi, I saw BUCK NASTY's post at TPU! WCG forum, so here I am to f@h.
Right now with a Dell XPS 1730 with 2 GPU (9800M GTX).
Welcome aboard HBalazs.hu! Please let un know if we can help you at all.

:toast::toast:
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Hi Guys,

I did some crunching a while back (not a tonne - I only use one PC and it's my gaming rig). I had 2 x 7970's and moved them on, for gaming smoothness reasons and I bought a Titan to replace them.

I've dl'ed the F@H client and started playing around (as below):



But I'd very much like to utilise the full DP power of the Titan. Is there any way to use F@H with DP? It would give the card a reason to live.

I'll be an irregular contributor as it's still my gaming rig but if i can use the DP power of what is essentially a compute card then I'd be quite happy.

Any thoughts?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
There's no FP64 client right now as far as I'm aware. If you set the Titan slot to beta you will get some 7663 work units which should get you around 120K PPD.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,592 (2.25/day)
Likes
5,826
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
There's no FP64 client right now as far as I'm aware. If you set the Titan slot to beta you will get some 7663 work units which should get you around 120K PPD.
How do i do that? :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Configure > Slots > double click the GPU slot (or highlight the slot then click edit) > Add > name should be client-type and the value should be beta
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2008
Messages
1,221 (0.34/day)
Likes
870
Location
Oakland, CA
System Name Rover
Processor Intel i5 4590S
Motherboard GigaByte Z97MX-Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i Low Profile Heatsink
Memory 8 GB G.Skill Ripjaws-X
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 mini
Storage Samsung 840 SSD, WD 1 TB Black
Display(s) ASUS VG248
Case Corsair mATX cube. (Alas they don't make it anymore)
Power Supply SilverStone SST-ST45SF-G 450 Watt
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 ibit
Hi Guys,

I did some crunching a while back (not a tonne - I only use one PC and it's my gaming rig). I had 2 x 7970's and moved them on, for gaming smoothness reasons and I bought a Titan to replace them.

I've dl'ed the F@H client and started playing around (as below):

http://img.techpowerup.org/130531/Untitled.png

But I'd very much like to utilise the full DP power of the Titan. Is there any way to use F@H with DP? It would give the card a reason to live.

I'll be an irregular contributor as it's still my gaming rig but if i can use the DP power of what is essentially a compute card then I'd be quite happy.

Any thoughts?
Go to this thread for beta instruction. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=175703
 
Joined
May 10, 2012
Messages
164 (0.08/day)
Likes
371
Location
Fairfield, California, USA
System Name TouchNDie
Processor 2.4 GHz Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard Asus P5N32E-SLI
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory 6 GB G.Skill DDR2-800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850
Storage 500 GB Western Digital Blue
Display(s) Dell SE198WFPv (Primary), Dell 1704FPT (Secondary)
Case Black Antec P180
Audio Device(s) Random VIA-based card.
Power Supply nSpire 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Making use of a spare server I've got, Poweredge 2950 III.
Specs:
Dual Xeon E5405 (2 GHz, Quad-Core, 12 meg cache), 16 gigs DDR2 FBDIMM, Server 2008 R2.

The server I use regularly has the client running on low priority, specs:
Dual Opteron 2384 (2.7 GHz, Quad-Core, 6 meg cache), 48 gigs DDR2, Server 2012 Datacenter.

Currently there are no "real" GPUs in either of these, just the ATI ES1000 framebuffers (hey, I can do software DX11 rendering!), however I'm working at getting my GT440 back from a friend. Despite the fact that it seriously sucks, I don't need to use a power cable on it and I already own it.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
Edit:
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,219 (1.18/day)
Likes
3,569
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
Going to try folding at work while I'm out on calls.
Win7 64
i7 3.4
8Gb
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
3,490 (1.68/day)
Likes
7,387
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay/Opticon As of 6/21/17
Processor i5 1.7GHz/ i3 2120's/i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP mini/Dell
Cooling Air/air/air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB samsung
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD2000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ couple of spinners/500GB WD
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP SFF/ Dell Mini
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ onboard
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell 265W
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless
Keyboard eMachines serial and a Dynex usb
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sarah/Mint 18
Benchmark Scores 6.9 processes per second!/ cruncher's!!
Hey everybody!

Just got 7.3.6 running on my i5 3317u Asus laptop. Along with Crunching for WCG.

I set BOINC to 50% Processors and 75% CPU useage. My task Manager no says the CPU is 100% but, after running for over a half an hour, still no progress.



Unsure if I am ACTUALLY folding, or not. ?

:toast:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,203
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
yes you are - on 4 threads. You can change the number of threads in configure-slots
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
3,490 (1.68/day)
Likes
7,387
Location
St. Paul, MN
System Name LappyTop/ Bay2- Lowerbay/Opticon As of 6/21/17
Processor i5 1.7GHz/ i3 2120's/i5 2400
Motherboard ASUStek/ HP mini/Dell
Cooling Air/air/air
Memory 8GB Kingston HyperX 1600/ 2GB/ 4GB samsung
Video Card(s) intel HD4000/ HD2000's/ HD2000
Storage 256GB Crucial Mx100 SSD/ couple of spinners/500GB WD
Display(s) 1366x768/ one acer x223w between the rest
Case ALU, beauty!/ HP SFF/ Dell Mini
Audio Device(s) Sonic Master/ onboard's/ onboard
Power Supply ASUS brick, 17W i5/ 19.5 volt bricks/ Dell 265W
Mouse cheap GigaWire930, CMStorm Havoc and a Logitech M510 wireless
Keyboard eMachines serial and a Dynex usb
Software WIN8.1-64bit/ Mint 18 Sarah/Mint 18
Benchmark Scores 6.9 processes per second!/ cruncher's!!
yes you are - on 4 threads. You can change the number of threads in configure-slots
Yea, it is still not worth it. I have determined to continue with WCG until I can get my Farm back, 3 desktops in storage. Then, I will configure one, or more, for Folding. All I am really doing is slowing down BOINC and therefore not helping either Team much.

Until then, take care!!

Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
12
System Name MyLove
Processor AMD Phenom II X 6 T1100
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD80
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI N560GTX Twin Frozer
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB - O/S Wd Black 1TB/ Wd Black 2TB
Display(s) LG IPS236
Case CoolMaster HAF 922
Audio Device(s) On board realtec HD audio w/THX Studio Pro
Power Supply Kingwin Laser Gold 700w
Software Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7
Hi, shortymagordy here, been reading these forums for a couple of years now, not sure if this is right place for post. I kept reading about folding and was extremely intrigued. It's been said one man can make a difference, wasn't sure if one more PC can. (I hope so :) ) So I have become a member to Techpowerup, and downloaded program from folding@home, joined your folding team, and currently working on my first folding project. The PC I am using is under System specs. I have lost friends and family to some of these diseases and I hope my contribution can help this world to get one step closer to finding the answers we are desperately seeking. I really do hope that this helps.

Happy to be here !!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,203
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Welcome @shortymagordy ! Make sure that you get and use a passkey. You will also want to make sure that you give the GPU one core from your CPU. AMD CPU's are not that great at F@H, so you may want to consider running WCG on it and F@H on the GPU. If you have any questions about WCG, just post over at http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/tpus-wcg-boinc-team.85784/ . We have 2 great Distributed Computing teams here at TPU and we work together from time to time.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
12
System Name MyLove
Processor AMD Phenom II X 6 T1100
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD80
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI N560GTX Twin Frozer
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB - O/S Wd Black 1TB/ Wd Black 2TB
Display(s) LG IPS236
Case CoolMaster HAF 922
Audio Device(s) On board realtec HD audio w/THX Studio Pro
Power Supply Kingwin Laser Gold 700w
Software Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7
Welcome @shortymagordy ! Make sure that you get and use a passkey. You will also want to make sure that you give the GPU one core from your CPU. AMD CPU's are not that great at F@H, so you may want to consider running WCG on it and F@H on the GPU. If you have any questions about WCG, just post over at http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/tpus-wcg-boinc-team.85784/ . We have 2 great Distributed Computing teams here at TPU and we work together from time to time.
using passkey, not sure how to give GPU one core from CPU, using default settings. I set up WCG, thank you for the easy tutorial, Do I let both WCG and F@H work simultaneously. Thank you for your help. :toast:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,203
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
no, you do not want to run both F@H and WCG on the CPU at the same time. Just stop the slot for the CPU in the F@H client.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2014
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
12
System Name MyLove
Processor AMD Phenom II X 6 T1100
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD80
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X
Memory Corsair Dominator 8GB
Video Card(s) MSI N560GTX Twin Frozer
Storage Crucial RealSSD C300 64GB - O/S Wd Black 1TB/ Wd Black 2TB
Display(s) LG IPS236
Case CoolMaster HAF 922
Audio Device(s) On board realtec HD audio w/THX Studio Pro
Power Supply Kingwin Laser Gold 700w
Software Windows 7 64bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7
no, you do not want to run both F@H and WCG on the CPU at the same time. Just stop the slot for the CPU in the F@H client.
The CPU has been being used by F@H and is @89% complete, if I stop it now will the GPU take over and finish that task ? so on the default of WCG it primarily uses the CPU ? and again thank you for your assistance ?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,285 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,203
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Set the CPU slot to finish.