1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Router/Adapter Issues

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Noiziv, Aug 11, 2014.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,641 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,214
    Seems you dont listen to reasoning. Ive fixed many customers wifi problems just by relocating their residental gateway (modem/wifi router combo) whether it was by a metallic item, in a closet, in an entertainment stand, or even on the floor... Last thing was either the inside wiring or the cabling going from the node to the home...

    Best of luck trying to find the problem joik.
     
  2. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I seem to have eliminated both problems by adjusting the QoS settings to 90/23. No lag so far.
     
  3. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,547 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    Ill tell you right now the router you have which I assume is the RT-87U will continue to have issues while Asus gets it buttoned up and stable. It is that very reason I havent touched the one I have and it remains in the box.
     
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    This kinda crap is what makes me never want to give a consumer grade router company another dime. It's enterprise grade from here on out for me!!!
     
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,377 (5.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yes, but I like running my own gateway. :p

    Code:
    $ uname -a
    Linux Sophia 3.2.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.2.57-3+deb7u2 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "name"
    model name      : AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 960T Processor
    model name      : AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 960T Processor
    model name      : AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 960T Processor
    model name      : AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 960T Processor
    $ free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:          3962        499       3463          0        116        219
    -/+ buffers/cache:        164       3798
    Swap:         3839          0       3839
    $ sudo ifconfig
    br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:17:e4:02:82
              inet addr:10.10.10.254  Bcast:10.10.10.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::215:17ff:fee4:282/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:3974902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:4716085 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:1252298448 (1.1 GiB)  TX bytes:4637981831 (4.3 GiB)
    
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:0b:e2:9f
              inet addr:xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.252.0
              inet6 addr: xxxx:xxx:xxxx:xx:9923:1bbf:bdd0:a3c6/64 Scope:Global
              inet6 addr: fe80::4261:86ff:fe0b:e29f/64 Scope:Link
              inet6 addr: xxxx:xxx:xxxx:xx:42e:7344:6ff1:a2f6/64 Scope:Global
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:8385049 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:4026395 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:4920614892 (4.5 GiB)  TX bytes:1310501244 (1.2 GiB)
              Interrupt:46 Base address:0x6000
    
    eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:0b:e2:9e
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:47 Base address:0xa000
    
    eth2      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:e4:02:82
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:22717 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:3265876 (3.1 MiB)
              Interrupt:19 Memory:fe8e0000-fe900000
    
    eth3      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr xx:xx:xx:e4:02:83
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:3991998 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:4716086 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:1338897757 (1.2 GiB)  TX bytes:4662465164 (4.3 GiB)
              Interrupt:16 Memory:fe880000-fe8a0000
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:709 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:709 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:46731 (45.6 KiB)  TX bytes:46731 (45.6 KiB)
    $ lspci | grep "Ethernet"
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82571EB Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
    02:00.1 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82571EB Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 06)
    03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
    04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 03)
    All I need to do is get two half decent wi-fi adapters for broadcasting an SSID for 2.4 and 5Ghz off of it and I can completely ditch my old Linksys E4200 all together.
     
  6. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    Yeah well stuff like Pfsense/Untange is good too because you get to control the hardware ;)
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,377 (5.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    How does Pfsense or Untange give you more control over the hardware? If you know how to use Linux, you should be able to do all the same things but without a GUI. I write my iptables rules by hand thank you very much. :p
     
  8. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    The version I have is a Best Buy exclusive I believe.

    Yep, it's beginning to lag with/without QoS settings. At least the other new one only lagged during downloads. Not sure where to go from here...
     
  9. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    and everything is fine on both computers??
     
  10. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    as in picking the components.... :p
     
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,377 (5.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I still don't understand how that is any different than using a server running Linux. Pfsense is Linux with a GUI to make it easy for people who don't know how to fully administer a Linux gateway server from the command line.
     
  12. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    My brother is getting the same random lag I'm getting now. This router claimed to have one of the farthest ranges of any router available, and it is also the most expensive one in store ($280). Not sure why it would perform this way, when the Linksys WRT1900 worked fine besides downloads.
     
  13. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,547 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    O-H-I-O
    I highly doubt yours is any different from the one I have, and if yours is best buy exclusive, maybe mine is an Asus exclusive as thats who sent me mine
     
  14. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    As far as I've read on Google, there's no difference between the RT-AC87R and RT-AC87U, other than one is only sold by Best Buy. I have no idea why, but that's all I've seen.
     
    95Viper says thanks.
  15. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Just upgraded to new firmware released three days ago. I'll report back when I have an accurate test result.
     
  16. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,024 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    The R is a unique SKU to make sure that nobody can do price matching since it's a "different model"... asus and bestbuy were in it with eachother then decided that.
     
    95Viper and Noiziv say thanks.
  17. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yeah that's kind of what I figured. My brother's girlfriend works for Best Buy though so we got it for $157 when it's for sale for $280.
     
  18. Noiziv

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    So far so good since updating the firmware. Have yet to lag at all, and my speeds seem to have increased. Both my dad and I had our laptops double in speed out of nowhere.
     
  19. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,370 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,377
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    You are correct...

    Quote from the ASUS PCDIY web site's article "August 2014 The Best 802.11AC Router – RT-AC87U & RT-AC87R":
     
    Noiziv says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)