• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA BIOS Signature Lock Broken, vBIOS Modding and Crossflash Enabled by Groundbreaking New Tools

Joined
Dec 22, 2011
Messages
285 (0.06/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Prime X570 Pro
Cooling Deepcool LS-720
Memory 32 GB (4x 8GB) DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon RX 6800 XT Gaming OC
Storage Samsung PM9A1 (980 Pro OEM) + 960 Evo NVMe SSD + 830 SATA SSD + Toshiba & WD HDD's
Display(s) Samsung C32HG70
Case Lian Li O11D Evo
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Zx
Power Supply Seasonic 750W Focus+ Platinum
Mouse Logitech G703 Lightspeed
Keyboard SteelSeries Apex Pro
Software Windows 11 Pro
DLSS3 uses hardware fourth generation tensor cores and Optical Flow Accelerator that do not exist on 3xxx series, it's not just software
You shouldn't read manufacturer PR like gospel or whatever.
Optical Flow Accelerator has been present since Turing (even if the latest in Ada is more powerful and/or advanced).
Only thing 4th gen Tensors add is support for even lower FP precision which definitely isn't required for any version of DLSS.
There should be nothing preventing DLSS3 from running on Turing & Ampere other than NVIDIA deciding they shouldn't, it would just be slower.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2019
Messages
9,523 (5.08/day)
Location
Midlands, UK
System Name Nebulon-B Mk. 4
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard MSi PRO B650M-A WiFi
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x 24 GB Corsair Vengeance EXPO DDR5-6000
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 7800 XT
Storage 2 TB Corsair MP600 GS, 2 TB Corsair MP600 R2, 4 + 8 TB Seagate Barracuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell S3422DWG, 7" Waveshare touchscreen
Case Kolink Citadel Mesh black
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech G413 SE
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 single-core: 1,800, multi-core: 18,000. Superposition 1080p Extreme: 9,900.
Optical Flow Accelerator has been present since Turing (even if the latest in Ada is more powerful and/or advanced).
Correct. The OFA is not a separate unit, despite drawings of Ada GPUs. It's part of a Tensor core.

Edit: Here's more on the optical flow hardware in Turing:
 
Last edited:

SyCoREAPER

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2022
Messages
22 (0.05/day)
I am utterly confused and initially brushed this off until I saw the news here.

I have a 4090 MSI Gaming Trio. Used nvflash (found on here) a while back and flashed 4090 MSI SuprimX.

Can someone ELI5 what I'm not comprehending what this does that I wasn't already doing?
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
2,070 (0.43/day)
Add custom bios files into your GPU.

Higher power limit, whatever you want.
 

SyCoREAPER

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2022
Messages
22 (0.05/day)
Add custom bios files into your GPU.

Higher power limit, whatever you want.
Isn't that what I did? The SuprimX is 600w, my Trio is 450 (officially). They are two different cards with different power limits and I gained about 2000 points in 3DMark so it definitely worked.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
2,070 (0.43/day)
Isn't that what I did? The SuprimX is 600w, my Trio is 450 (officially).

Your bios was likely a official and signed variant.

There's many cards out there with for example a 200W board power lock. With this you can uncork it.
 

SyCoREAPER

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2022
Messages
22 (0.05/day)
Your bios was likely a official and signed variant.

There's many cards out there with for example a 200W board power lock. With this you can uncork it.
Ah so more or less I/my card was the exception not the rule and I just happened to luck out?
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
2,070 (0.43/day)
Yes. AMD has a lock onto it's bios too. Upon the 6x00 series you could play around with Morepowertools to increase power limit and all that, with the 7x00 series it's completely locked out.
 

SyCoREAPER

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2022
Messages
22 (0.05/day)
Yes. AMD has a lock onto it's bios too. Upon the 6x00 series you could play around with Morepowertools to increase power limit and all that, with the 7x00 series it's completely locked out.
Well there it is. I owe my friend a "I was wrong" when I said the same news from a different site seemed like BS to me.

Thanks for taking the time to respond.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
2,070 (0.43/day)
I'm sure Nvidia has artificially locked certain cards out to not become new OC heroes that would beat the higher priced premium ones. With this bios tool you can insert your own custom versions into cards and (hopefully) unlock it's potential. Happy days.
 

deezy

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
So does this mean that I could soldier 32Gb of ECC memory onto my RTX3060ti and convert it into a Quadro? I`ve been really considering modding my RTX3060ti with 16Gb of ram, but I know that RAM mods don`t always improve performance because the locked vBIOS doesn`t allow memory timings to be adjusted to the parameters/spec of the newly installed RAM chips.......so my second question is, do these tools give access to RAM timings/configuration?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
180 (0.03/day)
Location
Peterborough, UK
System Name IONE
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
Motherboard ASUS STRIX B550-A Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S SE-AM4
Memory 128GB (4x32GB) Corsair DDR4 Vengeance LPX Black, PC4-25600 (3200), CMK128GX4M4E3200C16
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce RTX 3080 12GB
Storage Samsung 980 1TB NVMe (system), WD Black 1TB NVMe (temp), 14x Seagate IronWolf 10TB (RAID6 storage)
Display(s) Dell UP3017
Case Lian-Li PC-777B
Audio Device(s) Blue Sadie headphones
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech M510
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic
Software Xubuntu 22.04
Benchmark Scores N/A
Could this be used to permanently turn off the RGB lights on my PNY 3080 12GB card?
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
2,070 (0.43/day)
So does this mean that I could soldier 32Gb of ECC memory onto my RTX3060ti and convert it into a Quadro? I`ve been really considering modding my RTX3060ti with 16Gb of ram, but I know that RAM mods don`t always improve performance because the locked vBIOS doesn`t allow memory timings to be adjusted to the parameters/spec of the newly installed RAM chips.......so my second question is, do these tools give access to RAM timings/configuration?

This is just a tool to flash unsigned bios files into any nvidia card.

You need a bios editor in order to change any of the timings your talking about.
 

deezy

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Design preview of the nvflashk UI I'm working on.. feel free to make suggestions - release later this week!
View attachment 310064
it looks great.......will it be able to adjust memory timings? ie I want to modify my RTX3060ti to 16Gb and then set the RAM timings to the manufactures specs of the upgraded chips.

This is just a tool to flash unsigned bios files into any nvidia card.

You need a bios editor in order to change any of the timings your talking about.
that sucks.......can it flash with Quadro firmware?
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
20,602 (5.96/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.6Ghz @ 1.24V
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) ASRock RX7900XT Phantom Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (3440x1440)
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon AVR137 + 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse XTRFY M42
Keyboard Lenovo Thinkpad Trackpoint II
Software W10 x64
Its gonna be interesting to see how many cool things we can do with this...

and how many topics we get of bricked cards :)
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
1,648 (0.43/day)
Could this be used to permanently turn off the RGB lights on my PNY 3080 12GB card?
This does not need firmware modification unless LED's are soldered to the PCB which i highly doubt. Unscrew your cooling solution and unplug the RGB signal cable that goes from the shroud to the PCB. Then re-attach the cooling and shroud. And no this does not void your warranty unless you manage to break something.
 

achtchaern

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2023
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
Does this mean I'll be able to increase the power limit of my 2x8 pin 3080 to over 370 W? I guess not, but what do you think?
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
1,648 (0.43/day)
Does this mean I'll be able to increase the power limit of my 2x8 pin 3080 to over 370 W? I guess not, but what do you think?
You should be able to flash compatible BIOS from some other 3080 that has power limit higher than 370W. For example MSI Suprim X does seem to have 430W limit but im not sure how compatible it will be and how much 2x8 pin will limit you since Suprim X is 3x8 pin card i believe.

3080 is weird. There is one 8GB version from Maxsun. Other 8GB versions are mobile. Then there are the standard 10GB versions. Then a dozen 12GB versions and them some weird mobile 16GB versions tho im sure it's some sort of shared memory thing as mobile variants are 8GB.
 

Endevorix

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2023
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
One of the problems that we naive people who bought a 3080 rtx {in my case zotac trinity oc} went through in hot summers were the excessive temperatures in ambient temperatures above 25º and the correlative increase in noise. They spent weeks researching how to undevolt and learning to program the ventilation curve to adapt it and thus avoid the famous "thermal throttling" and unexpected shutdowns in some cases {in the worst of it burnt the graph and use of warranty}.

1. I ask: Is it possible to do a complete undervolting via bios?

2. I ask: now it will be possible to make this definitive undervolt, will it be possible to make different profiles via Bios that are automatically activated depending on the noise or temperature reached?

Thanks for this thread and your responses.
 

sjacas

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2023
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I think the best potential is with the CMP HX cards that have some features locked out, and require modded drivers, but are cheaper than their full blown counterparts.. It may now be possible to mod the bios and use standard unmodded drivers, and maybe even turn DLSS, or adpative sync options, PCIE 3.0/4.0 that don't seem to be usable with these cards. Who knows, maybe the ones that have ports can be re-enabled too. They still will require some soldering, to enable all the PCIE lanes, but otherwise the difficulty and feature set may improve.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,052 (0.17/day)
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i9 12900KF
Motherboard Asus ROG STRIX Z690-E GAMING WIFI
Cooling ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 360
Memory G.Skill Trident Z5 RGB Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR5 6400 F5-6400J3239G16GA2-TZ5RS
Video Card(s) RTX 3090 FE
Storage SAMSUNG 980 PRO SSD 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2716DGR 27" TN 1440p
Case Fractal Design Torrent White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost2
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Keychron Q6 (brown)
Software Win 11 Pro
I dumped my 3090 FE bios, which says it's version 94.02.32.00.02, but the hash doesn't match the one in the vBios collection. Memory integrity security is disabled.

The vBios collection says the SHA1 hash is: e98ee36d1fa119e4755d4a9b85af1d6931533959


But I get: 4B013FC8DCFA6D6C8FC6F2FB6187D62BFE3A7327
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
335 (0.07/day)
System Name Matar Extreme PC.
Processor Intel Core i9-10900KF @5.2GHZ AVX-1 & Uncore @4.6GHZ @1.285v
Motherboard Gigabyte Z590 UD , With PCIe X1 Card intel killer 1650x card
Cooling CoolerMaster ML240L V2 AIO with MX6
Memory 4x8 32GB DDR4 3600MHZ CL16 G.SKILL @3700MHZ
Video Card(s) Nvidia ZOTAC RTX 3080 Ti Trinity overclocked +100 core +1000 mem
Storage WD black 512GB Nvme OS + 1TB 970 Nvme Samsung & 4TB WD Blk 256MB cache 7200RPM
Display(s) Lenovo 34" Ultra Wide 3440x1440 144hz 1ms G-Snyc
Case NZXT H510 Black with Cooler Master RGB Fans
Audio Device(s) Internal , EIFER speakers & EasySMX Wireless Gaming Headset
Power Supply Aurora R9 850Watts 80+ Gold, I Modded cables for it.
Mouse Onn RGB Gaming Mouse & Logitech G923 & shifter & E-Break Sim setup.
Keyboard GOFREETECH RGB Gaming Keyboard, & Xbox 1 X Controller
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 10 Home 22H2
Benchmark Scores https://www.youtube.com/user/matttttar/videos
Joined
Oct 4, 2017
Messages
691 (0.29/day)
Location
France
Processor RYZEN 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Aorus B-550I Pro AX
Cooling HEATKILLER IV PRO , EKWB Vector FTW3 3080/3090 , Barrow res + Xylem DDC 4.2, SE 240 + Dabel 20b 240
Memory Viper Steel 4000 PVS416G400C6K
Video Card(s) EVGA 3080Ti FTW3
Storage XPG SX8200 Pro 512 GB NVMe + Samsung 980 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2721DGF
Case NR 200
Power Supply CORSAIR SF750
Mouse Logitech G PRO
Keyboard Meletrix Zoom 75 GT Silver
Software Windows 11 22H2
man...I honestly did not know Nvidia even (tried to) locked this out....what a crappy move.
has AMD locked this out as well?
Both have and understandably so . Outside of the edge case that is XOC many people have and will ruin their GPUs ( for the same reason voltage is locked in public OC software ) . Add to this that unlocked bios mod will enable many scammers . So yeah not as a ''crappy'' move as you might have thought .

Anything I could do to a 3060Ti using this?
send it to the graveyard

Talk is cheap, get flashing. I want to see results.

I for one don't give a shit about your bricked cards.

Go!
Mmm my 4090 just stopped working while i was watching Youtube , i just went to the toilet for two min and when i got back it was dead ... stock settings i swear:roll:
 
Last edited:
Top