• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA BIOS Signature Lock Broken, vBIOS Modding and Crossflash Enabled by Groundbreaking New Tools

Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
64 (0.01/day)
Location
Rome
I think the Super versions are using the next tier dies, 2060 super = 2070 , 2070 super = 2080 and so on.

Edit: - and not all are the same.



Thanks.
I was not aware of the die difference in between the 2070s and 2070. I knew that there were few golden variants of the 2070 but misleading I was sure the whole 2070x up to the 2080x where sharing the same die with no difference.
Unfortunately I have no 2070s here with me to make the Radeon 9500 --> 9700 trick of that old good times
 
  • Like
Reactions: izy

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
Thanks.
I was not aware of the die difference in between the 2070s and 2070. I knew that there were few golden variants of the 2070 but misleading I was sure the whole 2070x up to the 2080x where sharing the same die with no difference.
Unfortunately I have no 2070s here with me to make the Radeon 9500 --> 9700 trick of that old good times
I have an 2060 super but it has the TU106-410A die so i dont think it will work with any 2070 vbios , if it had a TU106-400/400A I would give it a try.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,179 (3.59/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. III "Lunar Tear"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1.F0
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 w/ Thermalright BCF and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700 in bench mode
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans/KZ ZSX IEMs
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Essential Mercury White
Keyboard Redragon Shiva Lunar White
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
I'm not happy w/my 4090's tendency to throw Vrel perfcaps constantly. As it is it never boosts past 2745Mhz. and rarely even runs at 2745Mhz. because it's always throwing Vrel perfcaps, even though the temps are relatively low.

With maximum power limit? Or does your card not allow adjustment?

My 4080 seems to run 2880MHz off the box even in RT loads. It doesn't mind at all, with no tweaking or offset involved, not even increased fan speed. Not bad, if I dare say so myself...
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
1,755 (1.49/day)
With maximum power limit? Or does your card not allow adjustment?

My 4080 seems to run 2880MHz off the box even in RT loads. It doesn't mind at all, with no tweaking or offset involved, not even increased fan speed. Not bad, if I dare say so myself...
With fans at maximum RPM, power and temp. limits maxed in afterburner the card still throttles and in any AAA game it throws Vrel perfcaps (and lately even power perfcaps in Metro:Exodus, which means it's hitting the 600 Watt power limit).
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,179 (3.59/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. III "Lunar Tear"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1.F0
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 w/ Thermalright BCF and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700 in bench mode
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans/KZ ZSX IEMs
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Essential Mercury White
Keyboard Redragon Shiva Lunar White
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
With fans at maximum RPM, power and temp. limits maxed in afterburner the card still throttles and in any AAA game it throws Vrel perfcaps (and lately even power perfcaps in Metro:Exodus, which means it's hitting the 600 Watt power limit).

That's insane. You must have drawn the shortest straw when it comes to chip leakage, that's for sure. Upside, it must be fun on cold...

Sounds like your 4090 is very similar to the 3090 I had. Well there's only two things to do about it anyway, either enjoy it as it is or sell and try again :oops:

Increasing power limits likely won't help you with that bad behavior.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2020
Messages
1,755 (1.49/day)
@Dr. Dro

Could the Vrel perfcaps be Gigabyte's way of differentiating their 4090 product stack (i.e. to artificially limit max core frequency)? After all, the high power limit is mostly irrelevant except in Metro Exodus Enhanced Edition.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,179 (3.59/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. III "Lunar Tear"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1.F0
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 w/ Thermalright BCF and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700 in bench mode
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans/KZ ZSX IEMs
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Essential Mercury White
Keyboard Redragon Shiva Lunar White
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
@Dr. Dro

Could the Vrel perfcaps be Gigabyte's way of differentiating their 4090 product stack (i.e. to artificially limit max core frequency)? After all, the high power limit is mostly irrelevant except in Metro Exodus Enhanced Edition.

I don't think so, but the lesser cards will receive chips with poorer ASIC quality in general, which increases the likelihood of running into a power hungry bad clocker
 

twinklerqm

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2023
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
so...can i flash geforce 1070 to geforce 1070ti/1080?
1070 = GP104-200-A1
1070ti = GP104-300-A1
1080 = GP104-400-A1 / GP104-410-A1
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
so...can i flash geforce 1070 to geforce 1070ti/1080?
1070 = GP104-200-A1
1070ti = GP104-300-A1
1080 = GP104-400-A1 / GP104-410-A1
I think only the versions with a red arrow might work from the pic below: (it might be something similar for 10 series too dunno)
I think they have to be same die like GP104-300 to GP104-300 for example , i dont think it will work after flashing a 300 to 400 and so on.

 

ZoBaX

New Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2023
Messages
1 (0.01/day)
I wonder if it would be possible to add Re-Bar support to pre-RTX 3xxx series given this excellent achievement?? It would seem that the only reason nvidia has no support for earlier architectures is that they would have to distribute a new bios and they had already moved on by the time resizable bar became available in any consumer form. Feel free to correct me if i'm wrong. Great community.
 

IDK man

New Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2023
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
Would this mean it would now be possible to flash mining cards like the p106 to their gaming counterpart?

Someone should definitely try it
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2020
Messages
30 (0.02/day)
System Name Roku
Processor Ryzen 3600
Motherboard MSI VHD PRO MAX
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill Sniper X 16 GB
Video Card(s) Galax 2060 Super 1-Click OC
Storage ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro
Display(s) Acer VG252Q
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX 650W
Mouse Logitech G102
Keyboard Phantom RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro
I wonder if it would be possible to add Re-Bar support to pre-RTX 3xxx series given this excellent achievement?? It would seem that the only reason nvidia has no support for earlier architectures is that they would have to distribute a new bios and they had already moved on by the time resizable bar became available in any consumer form. Feel free to correct me if i'm wrong. Great community.
Would be great to see this happen! Using a 2060 Super at the moment.
 

alesk76

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2022
Messages
3 (0.01/day)
I have Palit
RTX 4090 24 GB
GameRock OC
1800w PS
which bios can I use now and where to get this flashing tool and how then to flash the card... ASUS maybe ??? 600w

please for help step by step
 

zhouajin

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2023
Messages
4 (0.02/day)
  • I bought MIS 4090 in June
refreshed the VBIOS, but the reboot failed to load the graphics driver with code: 43
  • Reinstalling the driver doesn't work either
Due to a problem with the device, Windows has stopped it. (Code 43)
 

Pirep69

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2023
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Total noob here. I am wondering if this tool has the potential the enable ResizableBAR on Turing (RTX 2XXX) GPUs, specifically a 2080Ti.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
861 (0.26/day)
Laptops? Any chance this will work? The 4050, 4060, and 4070 laptop GPUs are voltage limited. Even though their TDP is set to 140W, they only run ~100W, at stay at low temperatures. An extra 40W might help a lot. Flashing a desktop bios could work.... ?
 

Mikl666

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2023
Messages
10 (0.11/day)
Hi, can someone tell me if there's a way to turn an nvidia rtx 2060 super 8Gb into an rtx 2070 also with 8Gb of ram (supposedly both cards have the same main microchip but the 2060 is downgraded by its bios). i would also like to know if i could get official driver updates after reflashing the card or if there is somekind of workaround as there is with the amd rx 460 with 4GB wich i have flashed and already know how to use. I'm awaiting for a reply (hoping a positive one) and thanking anyone in advance.
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2020
Messages
4,179 (3.59/day)
Location
São Paulo, Brazil
System Name Project Kairi Mk. III "Lunar Tear"
Processor 13th Gen Intel Core i9-13900KS Special Edition
Motherboard MSI MEG Z690 ACE (MS-7D27) BIOS 1.F0
Cooling id-cooling Frostflow X 360 w/ Thermalright BCF and Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z5 RGB 32GB DDR5-6800 F5-6800J3445G16GX2-TZ5RK @ 6400 MT/s 30-38-38-38-70-2
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX™ 4080 16GB GDDR6X White OC Edition
Storage 1x WD Black SN750 500 GB NVMe + 4x WD VelociRaptor HLFS 300 GB HDDs
Display(s) 55-inch LG G3 OLED
Case Cooler Master MasterFrame 700 in bench mode
Audio Device(s) EVGA Nu Audio (classic) + Sony MDR-V7 cans/KZ ZSX IEMs
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2 1.3kW 80+ Gold
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Essential Mercury White
Keyboard Redragon Shiva Lunar White
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 22H2
Benchmark Scores "Speed isn't life, it just makes it go faster."
Hi, can someone tell me if there's a way to turn an nvidia rtx 2060 super 8Gb into an rtx 2070 also with 8Gb of ram (supposedly both cards have the same main microchip but the 2060 is downgraded by its bios). i would also like to know if i could get official driver updates after reflashing the card or if there is somekind of workaround as there is with the amd rx 460 with 4GB wich i have flashed and already know how to use. I'm awaiting for a reply (hoping a positive one) and thanking anyone in advance.

No. This is not possible by flashing a VBIOS. I've heard of the 2070 Super being turned into a 2080 (but not a 2080 Super) by means of modifying the resistors on the card, but even that is not guaranteed to work.

In any case, author of the modified flash tool has deleted their account on TPU and disappeared. He hasn't been answering questions from anyone who reached out, so it's more than likely someone from Nvidia stepped in to prevent the situation from developing further.
 

Mikl666

New Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2023
Messages
10 (0.11/day)
No. This is not possible by flashing a VBIOS. I've heard of the 2070 Super being turned into a 2080 (but not a 2080 Super) by means of modifying the resistors on the card, but even that is not guaranteed to work.

In any case, author of the modified flash tool has deleted their account on TPU and disappeared. He hasn't been answering questions from anyone who reached out, so it's more than likely someone from Nvidia stepped in to prevent the situation from developing further.
Thanks for the reply dr... I was trying to "put nvidia in its place" to stop those shitty practices of downgrading products just to justify making the not downgraded boards more expensive (i was going to buy an rtx 2060 super 8gb just to modify it and to try out an nvidia card's performance bv ecause i've only had amd/ati ones 'til now) as i "did" with my amd radeon rx 460 4gb and but clearly i can't.. damn this shitty corporations and their shitty business models.
Also, i see Kefi (kefinator) is still around here, has he gotten back from limbo or were you talking about another guy/girl and another flashing tool?
In case someone has had a different experience, has already made the modification and it worked, please tell me what you has to do and what exactly did you do after diverswise.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
7,053 (3.84/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
thanks for the reply dr... i was trying to "put nvidia in its place" to stop those shitty practices of downgrading its products just to justify making the not downgraded boards more expensive (i was going to buy an rtx 2060 super 8gb just to modify it) as i "did" with my amd radeon rx 460 4gb and but clearly i can't.. damn this shitty corporations and their shitty business models. Also, i see kefi (kefinator) is still around here, has he gotten back from limbo or were you talking about another guy/girl?
In case someone has has a different expeience and has already made the modification and it worked please tell me how and what exactly doid you do after the bios switch diverswise.
The 2060S is a 2070 in die name only. Just because both cards use TU106 silicon doesn't mean that all of the units on 2060S silicon are free of defects.

A long time ago, when quad-core CPUs were bleeding-edge, AMD released a 3-core CPU to bridge the gap between dual-core and quad-cores for those on a less-than-infinite budget. The Phenom X3 was, in theory, unlockable to re-enable the disabled core. I personally purchased around 50 of these CPUs and attempted to unlock every single one of them. I was buying 6 a month for most of a year and in hindsight, although about half of them "worked" as quad cores, time proved that many of those quad core Phenom X3s were unstable or ultimately a false economy.

Yes, it's true that sometimes manufacturers will label a fully-functioning part as a lesser part simply to meet market demand. Don't count on "sometimes" being very often. For the overwhelming majority of cases, things are branded as the best possible variant of what they are. AMD, Intel, Nvidia don't leave money on the table unnecessarily. If that 2060S could possibly have sold as a more profitable 2070, you know it would have been. Only marginal GPUs get cut and the 2070 was on sale almost all the way through the 2060S's sales life so I'll let you decide the reason your 2060S didn't make the cut to be a 2070.

I honestly miss the old days...
  • 486's and Pentiums that would run at 50% overclocks simply by changing the FSB
  • Celeron 300A @564MHz outperforming Pentium II 450 flagships by a wide margin.
  • Adding 50% more clockspeed to an Athlon or Duron using a pencil to draw lines between dots on the CPU package
  • Geforce2 and Geforce3 unlocks of disabled cores
  • Radeon 9500 > 9700Pro mod using a single $0.04 resistor
  • Low-end Core2 overclocks of over 50%
I'm trying to think about what the last decent overclockable or moddable hardware was, and it was probably at least a decade ago. These days you get what you pay for and all of the manfacturers make sure that nothing is left on the table because that's wasted profit.
 
Top