• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

NVIDIA Displayport-> HDMI adapter issues with drivers later than 457.09.

Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I've PM'd w1zzard and bta and they are willing to cover this, but only if we can prove my claims expand across the brand boundary. Let me explain.

I have a Club3d CAC-1085 adapter that I use to get 4K@120Hz out of my Turing card to my HDMI 2.1 TV (a 55" LG B9 OLED). It ceased to work at the high refresh, high resolution range of 4K@120Hz around the time NVIDIA added this to their fix log right after release 457.09:

Users may see a black screen when launching a game on a monitor using DSC (Display Stream Compression). [200661231]

My suspicion is that to "fix" this bug, NVIDIA disabled Display Stream Compression entirely. It seems to be supported by posts on their forums.

Display stream compression (DSC) is mainly used in 8k monitors and 4k 120hz monitors operating in HDR mode, and in 4k 120hz displayport-> HDMI 2.1 adapters. It is a required part of Displayport spec past version 1.2.

If anyone has an HDMI 2.1 TV and any nvidia card sporting a supposed Displayport 1.4 link, I would be happy to provide an adapter for free via the mail to verify my claims (you can even keep it! It's cool). Can't be LG though, as I already have that brand covered. I will even ship the adapter international, within reason, upon proof of capable hardware and willingness to test.

Really, what would be best is if we could find someone with a native displayport 1.4 monitor. You should find you are unable to select any DSC resolutions with a driver greater than 457.09. If that's true, NVIDIA is guilty of falsely advertising Displayport 1.4 compliance in their latest drivers, and on Ampere outright (the old drivers don't work on Ampere).

Please report in.

PS: Yes, I reported this to NVIDIA... over 90 days ago. I actually gave them 90 days to fix it like it was some kind of security issue. I've been met with complete radio silence. And for whatever it's worth, AMD has a similar issue, but they never had my adapter working... so... kind of knew what I was getting there. Sorry, but I feel AMD is (in)famous for weird things like that on oddball configs. Certainly worth shaming them too though, if anyone wants to test for that.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,072 (4.91/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Wouldn't anyone with a monitor that uses DSC also be affected if what you claim is true? I'd think we'd be hearing some complains from people if their expensive monitors suddenly stopped working at the high refresh rates they paid for.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Wouldn't anyone with a monitor that uses DSC also be affected if what you claim is true? I'd think we'd be hearing some complains from people if their expensive monitors suddenly stopped working at the high refresh rates they paid for.
DSC generally is only used on 4K@120Hz+HDR and 8K monitors.

So yes, and there are complaints of just that on Geforce forums, and they are being completely ignored which is part of why I started investigating. ASUS/Samsung high refresh 4K monitors are also affected aparently. I guess the hardware just isn't too common (especially considering even w1zzard has none to test with).
Here are some links to DSC related complaints from geforce community, all from the same timeframe:






And likely related:


You can find more with a search. Notice a pattern?

They are likely getting away with this because DSC isn't needed on the biggest audience that has 4K@120Hz+HDR: HDMI 2.1 TVs. You can do it uncompressed there just fine.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
733 (0.41/day)
Location
Riverwood, Skyrim
System Name Storm Wrought | Blackwood (HTPC)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x @stock ~4.25GHz boost speed | i7 2600k
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro WIFI m-ITX | Some POS gigabyte board
Cooling BQ Dark Rock Slim, BQ shadow wings 3 High Spd, stock 180mm |BQ Shadow rock LP + 4x120mm Noctua redux
Memory G.Skill Trident 2x8GB 3600MHz 14-15-16-30 | 2x4GB 2000MHz @1866
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080ti Aorus Xtreme Edition | MSI LP GT 1030
Storage SX8200 Pro 1TB, 850EVO 500GB, 2 & 8TB Seagate Barracuda, LG Blu-ray | 120GB Sandisk SSD, 4TB WD red
Display(s) Samsung UJ590UDE 32" UHD monitor | Sammy 1080p 55" TV
Case Silverstone TJ08B-E | Custom built wooden case (Aus native timbers)
Audio Device(s) Onboard, HD 599 cans | Logitech z163's
Power Supply Corsair RMx 550 | Corsair SF 450
Mouse GMMK w/ Zelio V2 62g (78g for spacebar) tactile switches & Glorious black keycaps| Some logitech one
Keyboard Rapoo v56 | Some logitech one
VR HMD HTC Vive
Software Win 10 Edu | Ubuntu 20.04
Benchmark Scores Look in the various benchmark threads
Subbing in to watch this, I have nothing I can add to this as I don't have any compatible hardware to test with but if this is the case then it is pretty piss poor on Nvidia's part that they're breaking a feature they were pushing hard this gen with the release of the 3090 (8k gaming)
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I'll note I'm really open to the idea my adapter is just janky, but as you can see from the posts above, there does seem to be a real trend in the complaints towards it being a lack of support for DSC.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
8,467 (1.69/day)
Location
Austin Texas
System Name Chernobyl
Processor 10850K @ 5.0
Motherboard MSI 490-A PRO
Cooling 280MM water Loop
Memory 32 GB 4133 Mhz DDR4 18-18-18-38-440 trfc - 2T
Video Card(s) MSI Ventus RTX 3080
Storage 3x1TB SSDs, 2TB SSD
Display(s) LG CX OLED 48"
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Solo
Power Supply Corsair SF750
Mouse Logitech GPro Wired
Keyboard tecware phantom w/ pudding keycaps
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Interesting... i have a samsung g7 oddesey that is displayport 1.4 and i think it has to use dsc at 240hz hdr 1440p 10 bit... would this work?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,244 (0.58/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
I'm using dsc on my G9 and rtx card without issue, nearly 8mp at 240hz.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Interesting... i have a samsung g7 oddesey that is displayport 1.4 and i think it has to use dsc at 240hz hdr 1440p 10 bit... would this work?

Yes. If you can test I'd love that.

I'm using dsc on my G9 and rtx card without issue, nearly 8mp at 240hz.
What card? Displayport not HDMI (pretty sure)? Driver version, most importantly? Just trying to figure out what exactly is going on here that you can / I can't etc.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
280 (0.33/day)
System Name Hermes
Processor 9600k
Motherboard MSI Z390I Gaming EDGE AC
Cooling Scythe Mugen 5
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 3600MHz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI 3080 Ventus OC
Storage 2x Intel 660p 1TB
Display(s) Acer CG437KP
Case Streacom BC1 mini
Audio Device(s) Topping MX3
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse R.A.T. 6
Keyboard HAVIT KB487L / Logitech G19 / G710+
VR HMD HTC Vive
Benchmark Scores Shameful
There certainly is some weirdness with nVidia drivers and DisplayPort lately, but I don't think it is directly related to Display Stream Compression. I have a 3840x2160 120Hz screen which does not support DSC (Acer CG437KP), and when I used it with my old 1080ti (which also does not, AFAIK) there was horrible flickering, horizontal lines across the screen - with known good hardware. Moving back three driver versions (to 457.51, if I remember correctly) fixed it, but on any version above that the DP was horribly unstable above 90Hz. Even at 60Hz the screen sometimes didn't see the signal on any of the GPU's DP ports after a reboot or did not wake from sleep. Again, with a known good GPU, cable and screen. Moving to the 3080 fixed the issue, the signal is fully stable at 120Hz.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,244 (0.58/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
What card? Displayport not HDMI (pretty sure)? Driver version, most importantly? Just trying to figure out what exactly is going on here that you can / I can't etc.
3090 using driver 461.40 with DP 1.4, oh and with gsync.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
So some weirdness but not as headline grabbing as "DSC is broke."

Damn. That'll go nowhere fast, lol. Thanks all the same. The truth still matters, and it's good we did not jump to conclusions.

So it seems they only broke displayport -> HDMI 2.1 adapters as of now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,426 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
OK I think the OP is spot on in his assumptions. My pc will not give me any signal if I use my old cable which used to provide 120hz@4k with the TitanV.

So bought a new HDMI2.1 Cable(my other cable was HDMI2.0B) and when I'm starting up the pc I sometimes lose signal and then it might come back. Most of the time I have to restart due to this corruption that seems to occur after sleep mode.

Just caught it on camera for you. I'm using LG65" 120hz Both of my cards, Asus and EVGA have exhibited this behavior.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
It may be the DSC is only disabled for hdmi?

I suppose that would make sense. They were blaming issues on Panasonic switch chips earlier, were they not? Those same ones used in various hdmi switch boxes? I bet they used DSC.

To be fair, I don't think that's a real standard so who knows what your cable is... but I still feel more is at play here than meets the eye, and I think nvidia IS playing fast and lose with the specs somewhere here.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
3,032 (1.86/day)
Processor R5 5600X
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B550-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-2666 VLP @3800
Video Card(s) Geforce RTX 3070 FE
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair K60
VR HMD HTC Vive
OK I think the OP is spot on in his assumptions. My pc will not give me any signal if I use my old cable which used to provide 120@4k with the TitanV.
So bought a new HDMI2.2 Cable and when I'm starting up the pc I sometimes lose signal and then it might come back. Most of the time I have to restart due to this corruption that seems to occur after sleep mode.
Didn't Nvidia do fixes around video decoder and (idle) power management in the last few drivers as well?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
Joined
Dec 5, 2013
Messages
190 (0.07/day)
Location
UK
You sure it is HDMI 2.2 ?
^ This. There's so much junk out there with cables / conversion adaptors not meeting specs or being deliberately mislabelled from certain markets (not just video cables but everything including "Cat 7" on obvious Cat 5e, "Fast Charge" on USB cables that aren't, etc) that you really need to try at least 3-4 high-grade cables and certainly more than one DP to HDMI adaptor on a problem system to properly diagnose it.
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,426 (0.26/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
It may be the DSC is only disabled for hdmi?

I suppose that would make sense. They were blaming issues on Panasonic switch chips earlier, were they not? Those same ones used in various hdmi switch boxes? I bet they used DSC.


To be fair, I don't think that's a real standard so who knows what your cable is... but I still feel more is at play here than meets the eye, and I think nvidia IS playing fast and lose with the specs somewhere here.
Its early here buddy I had just woken up... Its a 2.1 cable, the older cable which provided 120hz/4k was 2.0B. The latter cable gives no signal at all.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
more than one DP to HDMI adaptor
There is literally only one Displayport->HDMI 2.1 adapter on the market that does hdmi 2.1, so no can do. I own a few of them. The adapter is not the culprit here.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
16,647 (3.34/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I think you're on to something here. Unfortunately, I only have a 4K60 TV, so can't test it for you, although I do have an MSI 2080 SUPER.

I think this will eventually be fixed rather than bodged like this, but these displays will have to become more popular first.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I feel it's not going to be fixed until 8K comes around, because with hdmi 2.1 you don't need dsc for 4K high refresh Only these weird adapters need it. And aparently displayport dsc is working.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2017
Messages
3,032 (1.86/day)
Processor R5 5600X
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX B550-I GAMING
Cooling Alpenföhn Black Ridge
Memory 2*16GB DDR4-2666 VLP @3800
Video Card(s) Geforce RTX 3070 FE
Storage 1TB Samsung 970 Pro, 2TB Intel 660p
Display(s) ASUS PG279Q, Eizo EV2736W
Case Dan Cases A4-SFX
Power Supply Corsair SF600
Mouse Corsair Ironclaw Wireless RGB
Keyboard Corsair K60
VR HMD HTC Vive
I wonder if there is a difference between RTX2000 and RTX3000 series cards when it comes to this.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I wonder if there is a difference between RTX2000 and RTX3000 series cards when it comes to this.
From what I have linked above in forum reports from the geforce board, it would not appear so. But RTX 3000 has hdmi 2.1, so why bother with an adapter requiring dsc really?
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2014
Messages
1,279 (0.51/day)
Location
Modesto, California
System Name The Captain (2.0)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard ASRock B550 PG Velocita
Cooling ARCTIC LF II 240mm AIO; 2x 140mm and 2x 120mm case fans
Memory 16 GB (3200Mhz) G.Skill Trident Z Royal (Silver)
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X GTX 1660 Super
Storage 1x Crucial MX500 500GB SSD; 1x Crucial MX500 500GB M.2 SSD; 1x WD Blue 7200 RPM HDD
Display(s) Aorus CV27F 27" 1080p 165Hz
Case Phanteks Eclipse P500A (non RGB)
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS+ Platinum 750W
Mouse HyperX Pulsefire Surge
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins Core
I'm not sure I'd be able to help, but I just wanted to say that I'm running a GTX 1660 Super with a Club3D display port cable (would have to check the packaging to see what version it is) attached to an Aorus CV27F 165Hz monitor. Ya know, just in case it helps you :)
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
15,598 (3.07/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL Trident-Z Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3600 @ 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3070 FTW3
Storage 2x Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (Product of work, yes it's legit)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/25631365 www.3dmark.com/spy/20539287 www.3dmark.com/pr/1054199
I'm not sure I'd be able to help, but I just wanted to say that I'm running a GTX 1660 Super with a Club3D display port cable (would have to check the packaging to see what version it is) attached to an Aorus CV27F 165Hz monitor. Ya know, just in case it helps you :)
Afraid I've narrowed it down to the HDMI side of my adapter now, but I appreciate the offer.
 
Top