• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

NVIDIA to Upgrade GeForce GTX 260 with 24 Additional Shaders

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,320 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#1
In a move that can be seen as retaliation to the HD 4870 variations that come with high-performance cores and up to 1 GB of GDDR5 memory and preparations to counter an upcoming Radeon HD 4850 X2, NVIDIA has decided to give the GeForce GTX 260 an upgrade with an additional Texture Processing Cluster (TPC) enabled in the GTX 260 G200 core. The original GTX 260 graphics processor (GPU) had 8 TPCs, (24 x 8 = 192 SPs), the updated core will have 9 TPCs, that amounts to an additional 24 shader processors, which should increase the core's shader compute power significantly over merely increasing frequencies. It is unclear at this point as to what the resulting product would be called.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#2
so where the shaders already there just not activated?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,320 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#3
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#4
People who already own 4800 series or 200 series card now can pretty much max out all settings with 4xAA/16xAF and, in most cases I believe it's over 50 FPS however, it depends on their native resolution. So IMO I don't see this as being a popular card. Besides, I couldn't imagine those who just purchased a 4800 series or 200 series buying this. And, I would be curious to know if people with 260s could actually stepup. If they can I would imagine the bulk of sales would come from that IMO.
 
Last edited:

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#5
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#6
i see that the gtx280 and gtx260 have the same transistor count.
Are you saying that the 280 and 260 are essential the same? They disabled some features on the 280 and called it a 260. Then later re-enabled some features claiming that they added 24 shaders on the other 260?
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#7
Are you saying that the 280 and 260 are essential the same? They disabled some features on the 280 and called it a 260. Then later re-enabled some features claiming that they added 24 shaders on the other 260?
thats what it looks like to me.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#9
thats what it looks like to me.
This will be very interesting if it turns out to be true. I can only guess that some 260 owners wouldn't like this (if they couldn't setup).
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,782 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,772
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#11

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#12
This will be very interesting if it turns out to be true. I can only guess that some 260 owners wouldn't like this (if they couldn't setup).
well i dont think it would be the first time something like this has happened.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,941 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,047
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#14
thats what it looks like to me.
Yeah, that's what I was wondering too...but how they've disabled the shaders/cores is what I've been curious about...there's no way to get 1GB of memory tho since the extra chip(s) are missing, but if a GTX260 could get the same ammount of shaders as a GTX280, I wouldn't complain!

Though I'd rather see the 200b's released in 260 and 280 flavors sooner than later instead of a shader increase imo..but either way some extra performance wouldn't hurt, especially if prices stay similar or decline to keep things competetive. I may have a couple step-up options from EVGA coming soon then!

:toast:
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#15
I'd be pissed if I had paid for a 260 already!
so would I. Seems like companys enjoy doing this sort of thing, and the faithful buers will always buy from them. Heads out the sand people! Brand loyalty is out the window! :D
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#16
well i dont think it would be the first time something like this has happened.
True but during the G80 era there was no real competition. So it flew under the radar as an acceptable practice.


so would I. Seems like companies enjoy doing this sort of thing, and the faithful buyers will always buy from them. Heads out the sand people! Brand loyalty is out the window! :D
Well, that's the whole point of being indoctrinated...I think...
 

candle_86

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,914 (0.98/day)
Likes
227
#17
You buy on release you get burned. How do you think 8800GTS users felt when the 8800GTS with 112 shaders instead of 96 popped up?
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#18
Yeah, that's what I was wondering too...but how they've disabled the shaders/cores is what I've been curious about...there's no way to get 1GB of memory tho since the extra chip(s) are missing, but if a GTX260 could get the same ammount of shaders as a GTX280, I wouldn't complain!

Though I'd rather see the 200b's released in 260 and 280 flavors sooner than later instead of a shader increase imo..but either way some extra performance wouldn't hurt, especially if prices stay similar or decline to keep things competetive. I may have a couple step-up options from EVGA coming soon then!

:toast:
I just wanna know what is involved in enabling those extra shaders? if someone could do it themselves?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,941 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,047
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#19
I just wanna know what is involved in enabling those extra shaders? if someone could do it themselves?
We'll find out when they show up! If it's a simple BIOS tweak or a change in GTX260 fab process, or what the deal is...too bad it's not just a driver tweak! I suppose it could be...but doubtfully.

I wonder if they'll run the GTX260's at 1.18v to maintain stability with more shaders or if they can keep them at 1.12v. My GTX runs nice and cool overall..even OC'd I hit 65C load at 1.12v, I think the hightest I hit at 1.18v was around 73C.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#20
We'll find out when they show up! If it's a simple BIOS tweak or a change in GTX260 fab process, or what the deal is...too bad it's not just a driver tweak! I suppose it could be...but doubtfully.

I wonder if they'll run the GTX260's at 1.18v to maintain stability with more shaders or if they can keep them at 1.12v. My GTX runs nice and cool overall..even OC'd I hit 65C load at 1.12v, I think the hightest I hit at 1.18v was around 73C.
hmm i guess we will just have to wait and see what all involved.
unless someone on here knows the answer please stand up. :rockout:
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
#22
Are you saying that the 280 and 260 are essential the same? They disabled some features on the 280 and called it a 260. Then later re-enabled some features claiming that they added 24 shaders on the other 260?
I'm surprised how many people dont know this. But i read somewhere that the chips that Nvidia manufactures that have defects, they get put into cards like G80 8800GTS and GTX260 . The defective shaders or something like that is "disabled" . The perfect chips go into GTX280 and 8800gtx . This saves Nvidia money.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#23
Not really surprising, and everyone needs to realize this has been a common practice in computer industry for decades. The processor manufactures do it, and so do the video card manufactures. ATi and nVidia have been cutting down cores to make lower cards for a very long time, so don't get in a big huff about it now.

Though I hope nVidia doesn't keep the GTX260 name, I would prefer GTX270 or GTX265 to keep confusion down.

I'm surprised how many people dont know this. But i read somewhere that the chips that Nvidia manufactures that have defects, they get put into cards like G80 8800GTS and GTX260 . The defective shaders or something like that is "disabled" . The perfect chips go into GTX280 and 8800gtx . This saves Nvidia money.
Yep, exactly. And the G92's that are defective get put in 8800GT's and 8800GS's(9600GSO's). Ati didn't do it with the RV670, but they did with RV600. The 2900GT was just a defective RV600 with the defective shaders turned off.

Intel and AMD use similar techniques with their processors. The original E6300 and E6400 were just defective Conroe cores that had the defective parts of the L2 cache disabled. Same thing with the Celerons and Penium E2000 series, they are just Allendale cores(from the E4000 series) with the defective parts of the L2 cache disabled. The Celeron 400 series are Allendale cores with an entire processing core disabled to give the appearence of only having a single core processor.

AMD does this too, some of their single core processors are really dual-core processor with a defective core turned off, they started doing this at the end of the Socket 939 era.

I just wanna know what is involved in enabling those extra shaders? if someone could do it themselves?
No, you can't do it yourselves, nVidia(and ATi) long stopped this by physically breaking the connection on the die itself.
 
Last edited:

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#24

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,320 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#25
not "defective", just the ones that happen to perform lower when binning compared what's required to make it to a GTX 280.