• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

NVIDIA to Upgrade GeForce GTX 260 with 24 Additional Shaders

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,951 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,061
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#76
I've considered flashing my 260 with a 280 bios, but with the missing memory chips and most likely hardware disabled GPU sections...even if it did work you'd have an overvolted and overclocked GTX260. But maybe someone out there will try it and find out something more positive? Won't be me! I'll flash my 260, but only with a 260 bios! :D
 
Joined
May 5, 2008
Messages
664 (0.19/day)
Likes
50
#77
Not really surprising, and everyone needs to realize this has been a common practice in computer industry for decades. The processor manufactures do it, and so do the video card manufactures. ATi and nVidia have been cutting down cores to make lower cards for a very long time, so don't get in a big huff about it now.

Though I hope nVidia doesn't keep the GTX260 name, I would prefer GTX270 or GTX265 to keep confusion down.



Yep, exactly. And the G92's that are defective get put in 8800GT's and 8800GS's(9600GSO's). Ati didn't do it with the RV670, but they did with RV600. The 2900GT was just a defective RV600 with the defective shaders turned off.

Intel and AMD use similar techniques with their processors. The original E6300 and E6400 were just defective Conroe cores that had the defective parts of the L2 cache disabled. Same thing with the Celerons and Penium E2000 series, they are just Allendale cores(from the E4000 series) with the defective parts of the L2 cache disabled. The Celeron 400 series are Allendale cores with an entire processing core disabled to give the appearence of only having a single core processor.

AMD does this too, some of their single core processors are really dual-core processor with a defective core turned off, they started doing this at the end of the Socket 939 era.



No, you can't do it yourselves, nVidia(and ATi) long stopped this by physically breaking the connection on the die itself.

i thought all that was "common" knowledge? people didn't know that? i always just assumed that all the celerons/semprons where f'ed up allandale/athlon's with cache/cores disabled
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
1,062 (0.31/day)
Likes
68
System Name REBEL R1
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard ASUS P6T
Cooling Stock
Memory 6GB OCZ GOLD TC LV Kit 1866MHz@1.65V 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Two Sapphire HD 5770 Vapor-X Xfire'd and OC'd (920/1330)
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB 32MB
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar D1 PCI Sound Card
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 16585 Performance Score on 3DMark Vantage
#78
By the time GTX 280 Rev. 2 comes out, it will be too late. the HD 4870 X2 will already be lower than the newest revision of the GTX 200 series.
 

TooFast

New Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2005
Messages
391 (0.09/day)
Likes
6
Location
montreal quebec
System Name OVERKILL
Processor INTEL I7 965@ 3.6
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE 2
Cooling STOCK
Memory 6GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) ATI HD 5970
Storage 4X 60GB SSD RAID 0
Display(s) 30 INCH DELL
Case ANTEC 1200
Audio Device(s) XFI-PCI-E
Power Supply CORSAIR 1000WATT
Software WIN 7
Benchmark Scores netcore.24 COD4 server 76.65.250.134:28960
#79
what a joke! is this all nvidia has??? once the 4850x2 hits the street it will really be over this round.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,218 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,809
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#80
gotta love competition, you Green Team Members should be very Happy that Red Team is giving them competition.
 

jbunch07

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2008
Messages
5,260 (1.47/day)
Likes
598
Location
Chattanooga,TN
Processor i5-2500k
Motherboard ASRock z68 pro3-m
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory Kingston HyperX 8GB 2 x 4GB 1600mhz
Storage OCZ Agility3 60GB(boot) 2x320GB Raid0(storage)
Display(s) Samsung 24" 1920x1200
Case Custom
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#81
gotta love competition, you Green Team Members should be very Happy that Red Team is giving them competition.
exactly! with out competition the 8800gtx would still be their flagship card.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,142 (1.67/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#82
Question: Would I be able to SLI a plain GTX 260 with this one (GTX 265?)
probably not without some sort of modding... and why would you want to?? - the slowest card determines the speed in SLI, so you would be basically SLI'ing two normal 260's but paying more for the fancier version.

I was gonna buy another 260 this week to sli, but i figure ill wait till their price goes through the floor with this announcement. If you OC 260 to about 725 Core and 1450 shaders, it can play on the same level as a stock 280, if you sli 2 OC'd 260's youre probably looking at the performance of a stock GT300 (384 shaders etc)... that's plenty enough juice, even for Crysis at very high.

Im actually kind of happy this is coming out... means i get to buy a cheapo 260. :D
 

chron

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
569 (0.13/day)
Likes
33
#83
Does anyone here remember when ATI's X1800GTO could be unlocked to an X1800XL? X1800GTO had 12 pipes, while the XL had 16. All that was needed was a bio update. Some cards had an extra VRM allowing you to do this, while some didn't and were laser locked. Same situation I think...
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2008
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#84
Decreasing the shader count on a lower-end card is nothing new. They never actually produce different chips for the two highest ends cards. If a 200 is produced and one or two of the clusters are dysfunctional then they can just disable them and use the chip as a GTX 260, the same goes for chips that can't stay stable at 280 speeds, even if all the shaders work.

However, as more 260s sell than 280s (this always happens with cheaper cards) nVidia must use some perfectly functional cores in the 260. This has been going on for generations with both card makers. Before they were laser locked these chips could be unlocked and run at full speed. Sometimes people got cores that actually did have dysfunctional parts and the bios change never worked for them, it was chance.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,280 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,372
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#85
probably not without some sort of modding... and why would you want to?? - the slowest card determines the speed in SLI, so you would be basically SLI'ing two normal 260's but paying more for the fancier version.

I was gonna buy another 260 this week to sli, but i figure ill wait till their price goes through the floor with this announcement. If you OC 260 to about 725 Core and 1450 shaders, it can play on the same level as a stock 280, if you sli 2 OC'd 260's youre probably looking at the performance of a stock GT300 (384 shaders etc)... that's plenty enough juice, even for Crysis at very high.

Im actually kind of happy this is coming out... means i get to buy a cheapo 260. :D
When nVidia released the 8800GTS 640mb with 112 SP's instead of the 96, you could still SLI both together. I don't know if the one with more SP's made use of the extra shaders when in SLI though, I think you are right in saying they wouldn't.

Also, when they did this with the 8800GTS, they released the new card at the same price point as the old 8800GTS, and discontinued the previous card, so the prices didn't actually go down for the old cards.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#87
still far from 4870 , and by the way guys anyone have link for 4870 with 1g i need to know what price of it too