• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Old hardware question

Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,710 (1.69/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Quadforce
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9500 @ 3.61GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS 7700 AlCu
Memory 8GB DDR2-850
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage Sandisk 120GB, Samsung 256GB & 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400S w/ mesh front panel
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Q6600 & 8GB. When running stock, Q9400 is only 266MHz faster (2.66GHz vs 2.4GHz) but has less cache (2x3MB vs 2x4MB).
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2018
Messages
167 (0.18/day)
System Name Dreamstation2
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory 32GB DDR4 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX1080 Hybrid
Storage 1TB M.2 NVME + 480GB M2 SATA + 1TB 2.5" SSD
Display(s) 24" IPS 2560x1440
Case NZXT H500i
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar U3
Power Supply Corsair TX650M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
Keyboard Cooler Master Masterkeys Lite L
As someone who have used both CPUs: my own with Q6600 / 8GB DDR800 RAM and in the office: Q9400 / 4GB DDR800 RAM with better timings,
I can assure you the system with 8GB was much faster in everything including: word processing, Excel, image processing (GIMP), video editing (the 10-15% cpu power advantage can't make up for lack of RAM) and gaming. Only things the office Q9400 PC beat mine was in synthetic CPU benchmarks that fit into the 3GB free RAM it had.
That was back in 2006. Now the operating system alone needs approx 2GB (at the time, windows XP was fine with 300MB) and most applications including browsers are much more memory hungry, and the webpages are much, much heavier than they used to be in 2006.
At the moment, my PC has only 2 tabs in firefox with nothing else running (not even antivirus) and allocated memory is 4.7GB (operating system + browser + disk cache). On the 4GB system you will already be experiencing swappig to disk and feel your PC slow and unresponsive.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,249 (0.27/day)
System Name Firebird
Processor Intel i7 2600K @5.0'ish 24/7 stock core Voltage {5.2 w/102 bCLK}
Motherboard Intel Extreme DZ68BC SkullTrail Z68 Cougerpoint, Excellent MCH !
Cooling Scythe NINJA PLUS Rev.B[skt478] Modded to 1155 Scythe SH12 fan
Memory Samsung 32nm 16Gb 4x4 (@19xxmhz} low profile[ better than 2133 banwidth]
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980Ti Gaming / EVGA Titan SC
Storage Intel 512 SSD, Toshiba 3Tbx2,Hitachi 320,1TBx2,'Cuda 400 7200.10, WD1TBUSB,moved to SATA
Display(s) Acer K272HUL 1440 27" WQHD, Samsung 226W, Vizio M60C3 4K 60",Vizio XVT3D554SV
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Intel 10ch[9+1] HD Audio X540> Pioneer VSX39TX[copper chasis,Rosewood sides 5x6LCD remote
Power Supply Seasonic X750 @ 24/7
Mouse Logictech G300s
Keyboard Saitek Cyborg v7
Software Windows 7 ROG E3 X64 by Neuropass/tweakscene
Benchmark Scores 4642@665/1600 220/GAT F1 4544 220/667strap 2.5/3/2/6 Bliss 650/1500 6490 Q6700 Bliss 690/1500
Back in my early days here there was a LOT of testing that I helped in with<P4EE3.4> and then my Q6700 and the ole Bliss and then the HD38xx and even up to 16Gb of ram it was Really sweet. But most of it was 4x2 Gb of killer 2.2.2.5 stix which I may end up tossing together the stuff for my grandson to fool around with.
And YES it did run Crysis :toast:
Go with more RAM you wont regret it
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
241 (0.28/day)
Processor Xeon E5450 4.0GHz 1.35v / Xeon E5320 3.0GHz 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte P35 DS3P / Gigabyte P35 DS3P
Cooling Arctic Freezer 13 / Coolermaster Hyper T4
Memory Hynix 4GB DDR2 800 / Hynix 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 650 1GB / Asus R9 270X DirectCUII
Storage Crucial BX500 240GB / Crucial BX500 240GB
Case Zalman Z11 Plus / Non-Descript
Power Supply Thermaltake RX550 / Aywun Megapower 750
Software Windows XP Pro / Windows 7 Ultimate
8GB of RAM is the way to go, however I found that running four RAM sticks does affect overclocking stability. Although who cares, overclocking is more of a bonus than a requirement. I'm using a laptop right now with 8GB of RAM and even doing office work uses more than 4GB.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
558 (0.83/day)
Location
Canada
System Name HP Pavilion a6552f
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Motherboard Asus IPIBL-LB / HP Benicia-GL8E
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200
Memory 8gigs Kingston 4x2gigs DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 "Fermi" 2gb DDR3 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Western Digital Green 7200rpm 1tb
Display(s) LG Flatron EW234 Super LED
Case HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 430w
Mouse Razer Abyssus Mirror Special Edition Blue LED
Keyboard Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Commander Red LED Backlighting Mechanical Keycaps Membrane Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits
System is build and ready to go to good family.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,685 (0.60/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Hmm might go to back 4GB (2x2) as if the 8GB (2X4) Could cause issues. Thanks for the tip but my system has the ASUS P5Q-EM though has the Xeon E5450 Modded CPU but Wish me Luck
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
1,012 (0.29/day)
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Parted out my rig.
I used to run those OEM boards from HP when I had no money. Not too long ago either. If it was mine, I'd just grab the Q6600, 8GB's of memory, a cheap SSD, and an NVS 300 graphics card with one of these psu's. I never used a case.

That combo got me through some pretty tough times(not that I"m doing any better now...;)).

Best of Luck E-Bear...:),

Liquid Cool
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,053 (3.88/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,685 (0.60/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,710 (1.69/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Quadforce
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9500 @ 3.61GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS 7700 AlCu
Memory 8GB DDR2-850
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage Sandisk 120GB, Samsung 256GB & 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400S w/ mesh front panel
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Also 4GB DDR2 DIMMs weren't really a thing for us consumers.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,053 (3.88/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
I know that I was just referring to the overclock. If the 2x8 was the issue but guess not I'd assume
Oh, I see what you're saying.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
558 (0.83/day)
Location
Canada
System Name HP Pavilion a6552f
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Motherboard Asus IPIBL-LB / HP Benicia-GL8E
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200
Memory 8gigs Kingston 4x2gigs DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 "Fermi" 2gb DDR3 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Western Digital Green 7200rpm 1tb
Display(s) LG Flatron EW234 Super LED
Case HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 430w
Mouse Razer Abyssus Mirror Special Edition Blue LED
Keyboard Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Commander Red LED Backlighting Mechanical Keycaps Membrane Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,685 (0.60/day)
System Name BoX-Server | 775PC
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150) | Modded Xeon E5450 (OC @3.60)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX | ASUS P5Q-EM
Cooling stock | 92MM Heatsink RGB
Memory 8GB DDR3 | 8GB DDR2
Video Card(s) AMD 5450 | XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 120GB SSD 1TB WD | 120GB SSD 1TB Seagate 500GB HDD <<
Display(s) DELL 17" LCD 1280x1024 | ASUS 24" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster 110 | RoseWill ZIRCON
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT | Rosewill 550WATT
Mouse Input-Director| RoseWill FUSION C40
Keyboard Input-Director | RoseWill FUSION
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
I can almost say Windows 7 even after the January 21st isn't going anywhere anytime soon. So many customization and modifications for the OS. Even after the date it'll probably still get updates regardless what MS says. mean I have my 775 Build with Windows 7 with modified themes and a boot logo (fish cycle :D) just All this makes W7 great

I will edit this post with the theme, program to allow themes to Apply (you'll have to copy the theme to Windows / Resource Folder) and the program to allow wallpaper to the login screen

SOON... LINK
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
4,710 (1.69/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name Quadforce
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9500 @ 3.61GHz
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro
Cooling Zalman CNPS 7700 AlCu
Memory 8GB DDR2-850
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Storage Sandisk 120GB, Samsung 256GB & 3x Kingston A400 480GB SSD + WD 2TB HDD
Display(s) Viewsonic 24" 1080p & HP 23" 1080p w/ Arctic Z2 gen3
Case Phanteks Eclipse P400S w/ mesh front panel
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell Multimedia Pro keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro English
Win2000 2003-2005
WinXP 2005-2009
Win7 2009-2015
Win8.1 2015
Win10 2015 ->

Not using 7 anymore (at least in systems connected to the interwebz), just because of its age.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
10,053 (3.88/day)
System Name GPD-Q9
Processor Rockchip RK-3288 1.8ghz quad core
Motherboard GPD Q9_V6_150528
Cooling Passive
Memory 2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Mali T764
Storage 16GB Samsung NAND
Display(s) IPS 1024x600
Q6600 8 gigs ddr2 800 Thermaltake 430w, wd green sata2 16m 1 terrabyte
Intel IGP or did you give them a video card?

i put them windows 7
As far as Windows 7 goes, I'm a big fan. However, I'm also an expert/power user and know how to protect myself from threats on the net when support expires next month. These folks you're giving that PC to aren't going to have the same knowledge and skill. It might be best to get them Windows 10. Win10 Keys are dead cheap these days and are fully legit;
 
Last edited:

johnspack

Here For Good!
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,539 (1.18/day)
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1680v2 Xeon
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB, 2x EVO 860 500GB, LG 14x Blu-Ray Rewriter
Display(s) 24" LG 24GL600F 144HZ, 23" Asus VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Ducky One 2 RGB
Software Kubuntu 20.04
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
Back in the day, I replaced my trusty e8400 with a q9450 at one point. Couldn't oc it as much, but the 4 cores made up for it. And also instead of win7, have you considered kubuntu?
It looks much like older windows with a start menu. Also lubuntu, which will run in 500mbs ram and also looks like windows. With wine it will run most older win apps and games.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
558 (0.83/day)
Location
Canada
System Name HP Pavilion a6552f
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Motherboard Asus IPIBL-LB / HP Benicia-GL8E
Cooling DeepCool Gammaxx 200
Memory 8gigs Kingston 4x2gigs DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Zotac GT630 "Fermi" 2gb DDR3 128bits Synergy Edition
Storage Western Digital Green 7200rpm 1tb
Display(s) LG Flatron EW234 Super LED
Case HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 430w
Mouse Razer Abyssus Mirror Special Edition Blue LED
Keyboard Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Commander Red LED Backlighting Mechanical Keycaps Membrane Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits
Intel IGP or did you give them a video card?


As far as Windows 7 goes, I'm a big fan. However, I'm also an expert/power user and know how to protect myself from threats on the net when support expires next month. These folks you're giving that PC to aren't going to have the same knowledge and skill. It might be best to get them Windows 10. Win10 Keys are dead cheap these days and are fully legit;
So buy me one key and send to me in PM. I will gladly install it for them. :)

Back in the day, I replaced my trusty e8400 with a q9450 at one point. Couldn't oc it as much, but the 4 cores made up for it. And also instead of win7, have you considered kubuntu?
It looks much like older windows with a start menu. Also lubuntu, which will run in 500mbs ram and also looks like windows. With wine it will run most older win apps and games.
If I need replace the OS I will go with Zorin 15 which is a copy of Windows 7 but with baseof Linux.
 
Top