• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Orange box install. memory leak. Hardware/software problem. WTF!!! Plz help!!!!!!!!

Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#1
UPDATE:

I have managed to install all but ep2. I did it by running the steam backup tool from the hdd and install each game individually. Each install cused the memory usage to slowly increase, but it finished instaling before the ram ran out. Then I logged off and installed the next game of the 5.
i decided to download ep2 rather than watching it crash again, but even now i am sitting typing this watching the memory usage go up, currently on 2.92GB. Once it hits about 3.9GB the system will crash. So I will have to pause the download before then and log on and off to clear the memory then carry on.

WTF is cuasing this, what I dont get is that in the processes window the highest memory usage is iexplore.exe at about 80mb. steam is only using 18mb, and toting up all the usages brings it out to about 1gb which is what the computer normally idles at. I cant even track where this leak is coming from! WTF!!!!!!


just played half life 2 for about 30mins or so. Come out and memory usage was on 2.2gb,then dropped to 1.7gb as it cleared itself. not like steam install but usage still seems a bit high. Is that normal when you exit a game??

okay I gave it a little while and it still sat there with 1.6gb memory usage. I then right clicked on the steam system tray icon and exited. within about 2 seconds the memory usage dropped from 1.6gb to 800MB .

Where is this coming from, the processes window only shows about 20-40mb for steam.exe and there is nothing else in their using that much, not even cumulatively.

Is it a driver bug?? Steam bug?? Can i report the problem to steam?? If so how.

Please guys, you have gona a bit quiet on this one. I'll update the OP so that people dont have to read all the way through to get the jist.

Cheers!
_____________


Okay. have tried my dads mem, tried new bios, tried different drive.. Then I decided to keep an eye on task manager.

I cannot get the organe box to install. every time while it is installing it the computer locks up/freezes.

I've got a new mobo so worried it is that. Have tried installing it like 10 times now trying something different each time. I finally got it installed by pressing reinstall from the autorunn menu after it crapped out. But it was then f**cked by AI disabled bugs.

i bought the retail copy and paid a little more so i didnt have to download 15GB worth!!!

i always uninstall it before trying again and it just cant do it. WTF!!!

(Sorry for the bad pics :( )





Check out the memory leak. Is it just a buggy installer which is crashing my comp and there is nothing wrong with hardware?? Can I use the files on the disc to "restore" rather than install??
 
Last edited:

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.50/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#2
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#3
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
884 (0.20/day)
Likes
400
Processor 2500K @ 4.5GHz 1.28V
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair A70
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance 1600 9-9-9-24 1T
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470
Storage Crucial m4 128GB + Seagate RAID 1 (1TB x 2)
Display(s) Dell 22" 1680x1050 nothing special
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W
Software Windows 7 64bit Pro
#4
Have you tried installing it on a fresh install of your OS yet? Perhaps it's an issue with just bad media (CD or DVD, whichever it is). Lastly, is that the most mem you've seen the installer take up because if so that doesn't look like a memory leak. When I had Windows ME back in the day 300MB, now that was a memory leak or malicious programs/viruses will get you into the hundreds of MB. That amount of usage looks completely normal (however I've never installed steam or any of the orange/black/uber super damn cool box on mysystem).

Edit: Memory leaks are due to software
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2007
Messages
970 (0.24/day)
Likes
150
Processor Intel e2180 2.0ghz @ 2.8ghz w/ stock volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K-e Wifi-AP
Cooling Zalman 9500 w/ AS5
Memory G.Skill Black PI's DDR2 @ 896MHz 4-4-4-12 1.9v
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800GT w/ Zalman VF-900
Storage 2x Crucial C300 64GB, Samsung F3 2TB & 1TB, F1 1TB & 750GB
Display(s) ASUS VW246H 24" 16:9
Case Ultra / Chieftec Black Tower
Audio Device(s) X-fi XtremeMusic -> Z-5300e's
Power Supply PCP&C 610 Silencer
Software Windows 7 x64
#5
Hmm... my friend had an issue like this with Steam, and it was because Steam was copying a TON of temps for each action it made that ended up being thousands of files in about 40mb. Not sure if this relates to you at all or not, but all he had to do was install and run CCleaner and it did the trick.

You can also try forgetting the install DVD and download Steam manually. Just make your account and activate the Orange Box key, and it will download everything for you. The DVD you have might be corrupt, but the key should work fine. It takes a few hours to download, but it isn't unbearable.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#6
Have you tried installing it on a fresh install of your OS yet? Perhaps it's an issue with just bad media (CD or DVD, whichever it is). Lastly, is that the most mem you've seen the installer take up because if so that doesn't look like a memory leak. When I had Windows ME back in the day 300MB, now that was a memory leak or malicious programs/viruses will get you into the hundreds of MB. That amount of usage looks completely normal (however I've never installed steam or any of the orange/black/uber super damn cool box on mysystem).

Edit: Memory leaks are due to software
But 99% memory usage!!!! :eek:
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#7
Hmm... my friend had an issue like this with Steam, and it was because Steam was copying a TON of temps for each action it made that ended up being thousands of files in about 40mb. Not sure if this relates to you at all or not, but all he had to do was install and run CCleaner and it did the trick.

You can also try forgetting the install DVD and download Steam manually. Just make your account and activate the Orange Box key, and it will download everything for you. The DVD you have might be corrupt, but the key should work fine. It takes a few hours to download, but it isn't unbearable.
Last thing Im trying is copy files onto HDD then run steam backup. Then last resort is to try downloading it then I will back that up instead.

So glad memory leaks are software. Thought my mobo was buggered!!

On that topic. I was looking at upgrading my memory anyway. is corsair dominator stuff any good??

Cheers.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#8
Here ya go. What happened when I ran the steam backup exe with the files on the disc copied onto my HDD.

looks like its 15GB over the net then.

 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#9
What the hell is cuasing this?? I have managed to install all but ep2. I did it by running the steam backup tool from the hdd and install each game individually. Each install cused the memory usage to slowly increase, but it finished instaling before the ram ran out. Then I logged off and installed the next game of the 5.
i decided to download ep2 rather than watching it crash again, but even now i am sitting typing this watching the memory usage go up, currently on 2.92GB. Once it hits about 3.9GB the system will crash. So I will have to pause the download before then and log on and off to clear the memory then carry on.

WTF is cuasing this, what I dont get is that in the processes window the highest memory usage is iexplore.exe at about 80mb. steam is only using 18mb, and toting up all the usages brings it out to about 1gb which is what the computer normally idles at. I cant even track where this leak is coming from! WTF!!!!!!

PLZ HELP!!!!:banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#10
just played half life 2 for about 30mins or so. Come out and memory usage was on 2.2gb,then dropped to 1.7gb as it cleared itself. not like steam install but usage still seems a bit high. Is that normal when you exit a game??
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#11
okay I gave it a little while and it still sat there with 1.6gb memory usage. I then right clicked on the steam system tray icon and exited. within about 2 seconds the memory usage dropped from 1.6gb to 800MB :eek::eek::eek: .

Where is this coming from, the processes window only shows about 20-40mb for steam.exe and there is nothing else in their using that much, not even cumulatively.

Is it a driver bug?? Steam bug?? Can i report the problem to steam?? If so how.

Please guys, you have gona a bit quiet on this one. I'll update the OP so that people dont have to read all the way through to get the jist.

Cheers!