• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking Phenom II 1055T @3.5ghz???

fortpilar

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom IIx6 1055T
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29 BP
Memory 4x 2gb Corsair DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Palit Geforce GTX 570
Case Thermaltake Armor A60
Power Supply Thermaltake XT 775w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#1
i managed to overclock my phenom ii 1055t to 3.5 ghz with this parameters in the bios (asus M4A87TD/USB3);

bus speed: 250
HT Link: 2000
NB Freq: 2000
ram: ddr3 1333 (cas all auto)

i didnt want to touch voltages since my vrm doesnt have heatsink and im only on 4+1 phase.
using Thermaltake Contac 29 BP, i was able to maintain temp to only 54 C max with tuniq tx2 compound.

so far i did some prime 95 and passed 1 test after 20 mins. and didnt continue.
played some games and did some benchmarks and didnt run into any hangs, bsod, crash, etc.

my question is, what was i did safe and correct???
will this not cause my mobo or any part of my system to get bad soon???
any suggestions are welcome.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#2
i managed to overclock my phenom ii 1055t to 3.5 ghz with this parameters in the bios (asus M4A87TD/USB3);

bus speed: 250
HT Link: 2000
NB Freq: 2000
ram: ddr3 1333 (cas all auto)

i didnt want to touch voltages since my vrm doesnt have heatsink and im only on 4+1 phase.
using Thermaltake Contac 29 BP, i was able to maintain temp to only 54 C max with tuniq tx2 compound.

so far i did some prime 95 and passed 1 test after 20 mins. and didnt continue.
played some games and did some benchmarks and didnt run into any hangs, bsod, crash, etc.

my question is, what was i did safe and correct???
will this not cause my mobo or any part of my system to get bad soon???
any suggestions are welcome.

Should be fine, just be sure to manualy set the voltages to stock settings ( you didn't mention if you did or not) other wise your mosfets will fry XD

Also you should be able to ( it does depend on the chip) pull an extra 150mhz out or so on stock volts.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#3
when set on auto, voltages will increase
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#4
when set on auto, voltages will increase
That's all good an all, but who are you talking too?

Or are you just stating it for reference :laugh:
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#5
just for reference man :)
I know that you know hence why i didn't quote you :p
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#6
just for reference man :)
I know that you know hence why i didn't quote you :p
I'm just teasing ya : ]


Good info none the less.
 

Bo$$

Lab Extraordinaire
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
5,626 (1.79/day)
Likes
971
Location
London, UK
System Name Desktop | Server
Processor Intel i7 2700k @ 4.4GHZ | AMD 5350 @ 2500MHZ
Motherboard Asus P7Z77-V Pro | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling GeLID Tranquilo | Stock Air
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x8GB CL8 1600MHZ | Corsair Vengence 2x4GB CL9 1600MHZ
Video Card(s) Gainward GTX 780 Phantom GLH | PNY GTX 750Ti
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 250GB + 4TB WD Red | 2x Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) Samsung S27D390H + Asus VE276Q | Headless
Case Fractal Design R5 | CM Elite 110
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1 w/Otone Stilo 5.1 and Creative Fatal1ty headset
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850 G2| Corsair CX430M
Mouse Razer Imperator 2012
Keyboard Corsair K90
Software Windows 7 SP1 X64 | Ubuntu 16.04LTS
#7

fortpilar

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2011
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom IIx6 1055T
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29 BP
Memory 4x 2gb Corsair DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) Palit Geforce GTX 570
Case Thermaltake Armor A60
Power Supply Thermaltake XT 775w
Software Windows 7 64 Ultimate
#8
ow, the voltage for the processor was set on auto. so i noticed i went from 1.28v stock to 1.3+ v.

is it safe to put it on auto? i stopped oc it worrying it might fry.
 
Joined
Jun 26, 2008
Messages
2,302 (0.67/day)
Likes
959
Location
EDM, AB, CAN
Processor AMD FX-4350
Motherboard Gigabye GA-970A-D3P
Cooling Enermax ETD-T60-VD - 7 x 120mm case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x4GB@1600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus R9 380
Storage Kingston V300 240GB SSD + WD Green 2TB
Display(s) ACER K212HL 27" + Haier 55"
Case Enermax Ostrog (Red)
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA B2 750W
Software Win10 64bit
#9
Here's my 1055. My temps don't go over 50c.


 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.99/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#10
ow, the voltage for the processor was set on auto. so i noticed i went from 1.28v stock to 1.3+ v.

is it safe to put it on auto? i stopped oc it worrying it might fry.

No auto is awful, for example with my chip if I stick it on auto and put it at 3.64ghz it will run the full 1.475v through it :laugh: