1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

P4 feeling slow.. oh the irony.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Kantastic, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,181 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    For some reason I feel that my system should be a lot snappier than it is right now. I can't tell exactly what the components are but here's a general idea:

    2.4GHz P4 w/ HT
    512MB DDR 333MHz
    GeForce FX 5200
    WD 80GB IDE HDD

    Windows XP installed with all startups disabled.

    The motherboard I can't name for the life of me, it's old purple and feels like it's going to give up on me any moment now. I've used P4's before but never one that's felt this laggy. Is something severely bottlenecking the system or am I just too accustomed to i7's and Phenom II's? Hell even my old Athlon X2 felt a crapload faster.

    Now before you ask why I'm running this antique, I'll tell you! I'm in the middle of a desktop>laptop transition and this is the only available system I have in my house that is complete. I can spend $20 on a cheap Athlon X2 to get the other spare computer running... hey I think I will!
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,628 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    well it does only have 512mb of ram + a fairly slow 80gb HDD. you cant expect it to be too snappy.

    bit more ram or a newer HDD should speed things up
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    What exactly doesn't feel snappy?, if you're taking about mainly the desktop, then it's probably the HDD that's making it feel so slow. Gaming wise, you shouldn't be suprised, thats a really dated system.

    Maybe try and defrag if you haven't in a while, and if you have the cash for an upgrade, then as slyfox said, go for a faster HDD and some more RAM, that should help a bit. But if you're playing some new age games you shuld really consider a overhaul on the whole system.
     
    Kantastic says thanks.
  4. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,181 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    I defragged it last night for that very reason. I don't plan on upgrading this system, if I were to dump any money I'd buy a processor for an AM2 computer I have sitting around. The only thing missing is the processor.

    This isn't for gaming, like I said I'm just using it to hold me off until I get all my desktop stuff sold and buy a laptop. I just thought I was doing something wrong, but I guess you guys have confirmed it's a hardware issue. If that's the case then there's no point in this thread because I'm not going to upgrade.

    Thanks guys!

    Oh and as for what feels slow, I can't even play 720P YouTube videos. That's how bad it is. :(
     
  5. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,018 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    742
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    sounds like my old laptop had a intel M at 1.6ghz and 512 mb ram with a 60gb hdd and a ati 9700m pro it still runs but its so slow!
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,248 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,199
    I don't think the FX5200 is up to playing 720p anything...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Find moar ram!
     
  8. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,579 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    kantasic, do you realise that a modern Atom 330 on ION, or ION2 is actually faster than your P4 at a FRACTION of the power and noise? That's what I did on all our office (non-gaming, non-crunch) machines: OUT with P4, and IN with Atom 330.

    Atom 330 sucks by the way, and I would recommend a low end Core2Duo over an Atom any day. So consider an upgrade... even a CHEAP one, to a low end second hand Core2 off ebay. It will be cheap, it will use less power, and it will whoop your P4.

    Seriously, consider a small ITX box with Atom or Core2 as a second/backup machine. You can leave it on as a NAS or other server services. And while you are in your "migration" you will have a decent internet workhorse.
     
  9. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,181 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    I hate to quote myself but... I don't think I'll be doing much upgrading unless it can be done for under $5. It's not worth it, in 2 weeks or so I'll have a brand spankin' new laptop based on either a Core i5 or Core i7 (mobility of course). It's simply not financially wise to buy anything right now.
     
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    Aye its the p4 man its a bunch of shite* by todays standard. One running at 4ghz is still slower then a modern processor running at 1.8

    * Doesn't deserve better description
     
  11. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    of course that's snappy when you try to put VISTA or 7 on it :D

    even XP with many program can make that machine slow like snail :laugh:

    but you can make it faster, just reinstall your XP with Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 1 (yes... SP1, and don't upgrade your XP) it will be lot faster than XP SP3.

    don't forget to defrag your HDD.
     
  12. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,939 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,732
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's the hardware. It's simply too old. I would try to sell it for like $50 and use it to buy an AX2 for the backup machine that doesn't suck.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,184 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,030
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Kantastic, I suspect that's the hard drive bogging you down. I recently helped out a local church with setting up a network on some systems I built them years ago with P4s but with decent SATA drives, and for general office-type stuff as well as e-mail and web browsing, they really don't feel much if any slower than Core i7 or Phenom II X4 systems to me.
     
  14. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,717 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    its the ram, all i can guess beside saying its outdated
     
  15. gunsmoke

    gunsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    352 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    u.k.
    i still run a old p4 550 ht 3.4.Gig lga775,
    runing xp-pro sp2 good for surfing the net and playing OLD dated games on line,
    runing vista on p4s hell that is slow runing windows 7 tho is fast i fink just,
     
  16. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    LOL... I was running a P4 (socket 478) system up till just over a month ago as my main system. :rockout:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,718 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England

    Huge upgrade!

    Do you feel the difference ?
     
  18. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Big difference :toast: :pimp:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. gunsmoke

    gunsmoke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    352 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    u.k.
    my rig in my bed room is a old socket 478 now thats slow,
    just use it for old name32 roms ;)
     
  20. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,939 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,732
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hah, I just got assigned with reformatting a pc with 768mb ddr in single channel and a 2.4ghz 400mhz fsb celeron. It's my aunt's old computer, I finally got the new one off to her today.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    If I was good at slapping together a MICRO PC I would update my Moms PC

    98' Gateway
    400 MHz Celeron
    392 Mhz PC66 SDRAM
    Onboard 8MB ATI RAGE
    Onboard generic sound
    80GB IDE HDD (I updated awhile back. Only had a 6GB)
    Little tiny PSU , 1 80MM exhaust fan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,439 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,920
    Location:
    US
    Maybe making a new account and see how it runs under that, Some times it works. Other wise like already said more ram.
     
  23. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,783 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,623
    Those systems are fine if the only thing you do is check your mail and watch DVD's. I'm giving those away at a regular basis. P
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5,039 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,276
    I must have been quite lucky then with my previous P4, since it was LGA775, was rated @3.2GHz, and had DDR2 memory. I got a GeForce 6600 too (not the GT though).
     
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,128 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,656
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    That FX5200 will make anything feel sluggish - it's twice as bad when running Aero too. I know, I've got one; it's a pathetic card.

    I've got an SFF P4 system of similar spec and with a GeForce 6200 in it, will run XP snappily and even makes a decent job of 7 with Aero on.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)