• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PassMark Inline PSU Tester

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
764 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
The PassMark Inline PSU tester lets you perform in-depth testing of power supplies, beyond what a simple multimeter can do. It's also compact enough to carry with you in the field. We cross-verified its readings against our professional lab equipment with surprisingly good results.

Show full review
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
171 (0.19/day)
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8 | Xeon W3670 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Gigabyte X58-UD7
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+ | Zalman Performa 10+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866 | Samsung 24GB @ 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme | Zotac GTX 980 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu | Intel SSD / Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB | Intel SSD / Samsung 1TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w | IBM 20" 4x3
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T | Thermaltake Xaser IV
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD | SB X-fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W | Thermaltake 1500W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft |Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64 |W7 x64 / XP x32
only suitable for low power/office pc, and 590 way too much, 100 would be adequate price, also i suppose in half a year we will see "equipment" with same quality and features from china for 59.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,644 (4.49/day)
Who is this product for? Other psu testers/reviewers? $600 for a device that shuts down after a minute of use? Not accurate or accurate 'enough' and cannot calibrate?

Innovative... I guess...its a psu tester though. What is actually innovative? Why this is recommended for the masses not a clue. Yikes...
 

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
764 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
It shuts down because it is not meant to work in standalone mode for a long period, which is meaningless. Still I had to mention that.

In through-line mode it can work for hours without a prob.

Calibration, I was just informed that tomorrow they will release a new firmware update that will allow it.

It is innovative because it is the first time I see such an affordable tester offering all those features and I know a thing on this subject :) Only a good multimeter can cost more than this tool.

Everything has to do with support and not only hardware. Surely a Chinese factory can make it less affordable if they produce thousands of these. But what about the software? Will be usable and above all, will be updated regularly. I see the folks at PassMark trying hard to make this work and I liked their work so far. Many of the issues that I found can be solved with firmware updates and I am expecting to see the final result.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,644 (4.49/day)
Who is this even for though? Pros...a dozen readers? Very few, even enthusiasts, would touch this thing at the $600 price point. I can buy five psus to just drop in and still come out $100 ahead (and save time from testing).

Thus looks like a product for a small business or website to inhouse test their units...not for enthusiasts.

Anyway, I guess it's cool, but... this is for the pros really at that price, not us.
 

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
764 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
it is not for the average Joe yes, it is for brands that want quick and easy testing, for technicians, for shops with a service line, for enthusiast users that want to know more on PSUs and for production lines possibly that want something to quickly check the PSUs before they pass them to Sunmoons.

For in the field failure analysis this is a neat tool also. An average user won't even bother to buy a plain PSU tester that costs 10 bucks.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
16,644 (4.49/day)
it is not for the average Joe yes, it is for brands that want quick and easy testing, for technicians, for shops with a service line, for enthusiast users that want to know more on PSUs and for production lines possibly that want something to quickly check the PSUs before they pass them to Sunmoons.

For in the field failure analysis this is a neat tool also. An average user won't even bother to buy a plain PSU tester that costs 10 bucks.
I had no idea TPU was expanding into the commercial space...

Thanks for taking the time to write this up, regardless if it isnt for 99 percent if readers, lol
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,522 (2.74/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3333 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" LG 32GK850F-B 144Hz Freesync 2 Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
only suitable for low power/office pc, and 590 way too much, 100 would be adequate price, also i suppose in half a year we will see "equipment" with same quality and features from china for 59.
600Ws on the 12V is a lot more than an office PC.

Anyways, it is for sure a niche product. I'm not going to lie though, I'd love to play with one (if given, I'd never buy one, lol).
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
171 (0.19/day)
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8 | Xeon W3670 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Gigabyte X58-UD7
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+ | Zalman Performa 10+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866 | Samsung 24GB @ 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme | Zotac GTX 980 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu | Intel SSD / Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB | Intel SSD / Samsung 1TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w | IBM 20" 4x3
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T | Thermaltake Xaser IV
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD | SB X-fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W | Thermaltake 1500W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft |Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64 |W7 x64 / XP x32
600Ws on the 12V is a lot more than an office PC.
only if it can handle it for a few hours for testing and troubleshooting, otherwise it is a marketing BS
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,183 (0.30/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor i5-4670k @ 4.4 / i5-4460
Motherboard ASUS z97-AR /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) 3x 24" Asus Ve248H LED (5760x1080) / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
I find it humorous when folks say the cost of a product costs too much and list some ridiculous lower price. If you feel it costs too much, then you're welcome to devote time and resources to make something similar. Then feel free to price it low. But don't forget what it takes to get a new product off the ground; overall costs to design, code, produce working prototypes, test, tweak and retest, finalize a finished form, manufacture, promote, ship and sell. A lot does go into getting a new product off the ground, especially for a company that doesn't already have past experience or their own facilities to use.

The way I look at it - it costs $600. That's out of my price range and in all honesty, if I owned one, I probably would have found less than a half dozen times I would have needed to use it for a few possible power issues I've come across building computers and helping folks troubleshoot broken computers over the past 10 or so years. So, would the $600 price justify my purchasing of one? Absolutely not. I'm just an above average computer knowledgeable person that enjoys working with them when I can.

I know a couple people that do a lot of work on computers for their normal work life - they may find it justifiable to spend $600 on a device like this.

I won't be picking up any tool like this unless I come across a lot of money I have nothing better to do with, but I did enjoy reading through the review. As @R-T-B said, I wouldn't mind playing with one because it does pique my interest, but I wouldn't buy one.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
171 (0.19/day)
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8 | Xeon W3670 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Gigabyte X58-UD7
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+ | Zalman Performa 10+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866 | Samsung 24GB @ 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme | Zotac GTX 980 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu | Intel SSD / Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB | Intel SSD / Samsung 1TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w | IBM 20" 4x3
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T | Thermaltake Xaser IV
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD | SB X-fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W | Thermaltake 1500W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft |Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64 |W7 x64 / XP x32
I find it humorous when folks say the cost of a product costs too much

The way I look at it - it costs $600.
Rigol oscilloscope + Brymen DMM cost 600$ both, not this cheap device

I know a couple people that do a lot of work on computers for their normal work life - they may find it justifiable to spend $600 on a device like this.
good try, sory for them to be so stupid
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,522 (2.74/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3333 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" LG 32GK850F-B 144Hz Freesync 2 Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
only if it can handle it for a few hours for testing and troubleshooting, otherwise it is a marketing BS
You did read the review, right?

This can hold up for about an hour like that. It's not meant to do more.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,924 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Amperage readings
At my uni I would got hit with a book by the teacher If I would have used such a term and give me instantly a bad mark. It is current and only... there is no real term as amperage, like there are no Faradage, Teslage, Pascalage, it is bush language, slang, it is widely used with English speakers, even some dictionaries reside it, but the term is inappropriate, not totally wrong though, but rarely who understands it. And if you understand don't spread it further. Aris, you should know that.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
171 (0.19/day)
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8 | Xeon W3670 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Gigabyte X58-UD7
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+ | Zalman Performa 10+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866 | Samsung 24GB @ 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme | Zotac GTX 980 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu | Intel SSD / Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB | Intel SSD / Samsung 1TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w | IBM 20" 4x3
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T | Thermaltake Xaser IV
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD | SB X-fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W | Thermaltake 1500W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft |Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64 |W7 x64 / XP x32
You did read the review, right?

This can hold up for about an hour like that. It's not meant to do more.
Partialy, teardown + conclusion, just because price is listed on last page, for 600$ it must be as good as Fluke DMM but with different purpose, but it doesn't. If they price it for 60-100 i will have no reason to comment in any way.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
12,522 (2.74/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3333 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) AMD RX 5700 XT (XFX THICC Ultra III)
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD w/ EKWB M.2 Heatsink
Display(s) 32" LG 32GK850F-B 144Hz Freesync 2 Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply SeaSonic Prime 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Partialy, teardown + conclusion, just because price is listed on last page, for 600$ it must be as good as Fluke DMM but with different purpose, but it doesn't. If they price it for 60-100 i will have no reason to comment in any way.
...Fluke DMM won't test the things this tests. Ripple in particular (even if this did poorly at it).

At my uni I would got hit with a book by the teacher If I would have used such a term and give me instantly a bad mark. It is current and only... there is no real term as amperage, like there are no Faradage, Teslage, Pascalage, it is bush language, slang, it is widely used with English speakers, even some dictionaries reside it, but the term is inappropriate, not totally wrong though, but rarely who understands it. And if you understand don't spread it further. Aris, you should know that.
What's wrong with the term amperage? We are an english publication you realize.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,080 (3.15/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Some old Antec
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly modded Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Rigol oscilloscope + Brymen DMM cost 600$ both, not this cheap device
Doesn't fit in your pocket. :p

Also, this is simpler than an oscilloscope setup.

At my uni I would got hit with a book by the teacher If I would have used such a term and give me instantly a bad mark. It is current and only... there is no real term as amperage, like there are no Faradage, Teslage, Pascalage, it is bush language, slang, it is widely used with English speakers, even some dictionaries reside it, but the term is inappropriate, not totally wrong though, but rarely who understands it. And if you understand don't spread it further. Aris, you should know that.
Languages changes. vOv
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,924 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
Languages changes. vOv
It is a slang. It is a physics law, that's carved like in stone. It is tought in schools like that with no changes. This a electronics tech article not a car mechanic discussion about fuse ratings, where we can forgive slang usage.

"Ohm's law states that the current through a conductor between two points is directly proportional to the voltage across the two points. "
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
211 (0.14/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Berfs1
Processor i7-9750H (turbo clocked)
Motherboard Dell Precision 7540
Cooling Stock w/ ICD thermal compound
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB (2x8GB) @3200 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 @1465 MHz/2052 MHz (core/memory)
Storage XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB SSD
Display(s) 1080p @60 Hz 100% sRGB laptop screen
Power Supply Dell 240W charger
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Benchmark Scores XTU - 2218 points CB15 - 1311 CB20 - 3203
At my uni I would got hit with a book by the teacher If I would have used such a term and give me instantly a bad mark. It is current and only... there is no real term as amperage, like there are no Faradage, Teslage, Pascalage, it is bush language, slang, it is widely used with English speakers, even some dictionaries reside it, but the term is inappropriate, not totally wrong though, but rarely who understands it. And if you understand don't spread it further. Aris, you should know that.
"Current" can have two meanings in a single sentence. Such as: "The current speed of the processor is x". Current could have meant "amps" or "at this time". For that reason, I almost always refer to "current" as "amps" if talking about the power properties, but if I am talking about "in this time", I like to use "in this time" instead of "current", just to prevent potential confusion.

At my uni I would got hit with a book by the teacher If I would have used such a term and give me instantly a bad mark. It is current and only... there is no real term as amperage, like there are no Faradage, Teslage, Pascalage, it is bush language, slang, it is widely used with English speakers, even some dictionaries reside it, but the term is inappropriate, not totally wrong though, but rarely who understands it. And if you understand don't spread it further. Aris, you should know that.
There is a term called amperage, it is defined as "the strength of an electrical current in amperes". And I am posting a screenshot of this quote in text editor to show you how I know the term exists in more than one way. "Amperage" is not underlined in red, so it is a word, and not some obscure word or proper noun.
1579705782301.png

If anything, we could say the same thing about how you said "uni" because that can mean universal, unisex, or university. All three have different meanings. And no, not a lot of people say "uni" in reference to universities. Also, just to add to the toxicity, the term "Ampere"; oh yea, that's gonna be NVIDIA's next GPU architecture. Maybe because it's an actual word.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,924 (1.45/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads. 5x Nidec Servo Gentle Typhoons. AC CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
"Current" can have two meanings in a single sentence.
There is no problem with that. It is the same meaning actually. Like the speed in MHz for the PC, also the current in Amperes is used the same, but through some circuit. It is a slang, get over it.

Aris does use word current correctly in the first page of Technical Specification. The ending remark came out of nowhere.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
Messages
211 (0.14/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Berfs1
Processor i7-9750H (turbo clocked)
Motherboard Dell Precision 7540
Cooling Stock w/ ICD thermal compound
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 16GB (2x8GB) @3200 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 @1465 MHz/2052 MHz (core/memory)
Storage XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB SSD
Display(s) 1080p @60 Hz 100% sRGB laptop screen
Power Supply Dell 240W charger
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Benchmark Scores XTU - 2218 points CB15 - 1311 CB20 - 3203
There is no problem with that. It is the same meaning actually. Like the speed in MHz for the PC, also the current in Amperes is used the same, but through some circuit. It is a slang, get over it.

Aris does use word current correctly in the first page of Technical Specification. The ending remark came out of nowhere.
I don't mind when someone else uses the word "current", I was referring to why I use the term amperage instead of current, depending on the context of the sentence. Current is correct, but amperage and amps just makes more sense to me, since I deal with a lot of overclocking, so I always read the 12V as 12 volts, and the 120A as 120 amps. But yes, both (current and amps) mean the same thing in this context, however I was not the one with a huge problem with the term, and I was just explaining how it can get confusing sometimes depending on the context of the sentence..
 

crmaris

Reviewer
Staff member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
764 (0.23/day)
Location
Greece
Guys no need to stick on details and only see the trees but not the forest. Amps, Amperes, whatever it is the same for me from the moment you understand it. This is not an IEEE publication, after all, but TPU, which has users that prefer some slang over the precise terms.

In any case, thank you though for the comment(s), I always take all criticism seriously. This is the only way to get improved.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2019
Messages
205 (1.02/day)
Amps are Amperage ohhh it passes the automatic spelling correct test!

Anyway back on topic...

How much and it can only run for a minute before it thermally overloads? The connector options are pathetic... Missing tests from vital rails, wildly inaccurate at times...

Are you sure it's not a $100 ThermalTake PSU tester?
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Messages
415 (0.38/day)
It shuts down because it is not meant to work in standalone mode for a long period, which is meaningless. Still I had to mention that.

In through-line mode it can work for hours without a prob.

Calibration, I was just informed that tomorrow they will release a new firmware update that will allow it.

It is innovative because it is the first time I see such an affordable tester offering all those features and I know a thing on this subject :) Only a good multimeter can cost more than this tool.

Everything has to do with support and not only hardware. Surely a Chinese factory can make it less affordable if they produce thousands of these. But what about the software? Will be usable and above all, will be updated regularly. I see the folks at PassMark trying hard to make this work and I liked their work so far. Many of the issues that I found can be solved with firmware updates and I am expecting to see the final result.
Thanks for the review; I might not buy one but it's always interesting to see how lower cost alternatives stack up against high end and ToTL test equipment.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
357 (0.09/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard MSI Z370 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + NF-A12x25 PWM + 4xNF-A14 PWM
Memory 16 GB Adata XPG Dazzle DDR4 3000 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Gaming 8G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus, Samsung 850 Evo
Display(s) Samsung C24FG73 144Hz 1080p
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis 3
Power Supply Superflower Leadex II Gold 650W
Mouse Steelseries Rival 600
Keyboard Steelseries Apex M750
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I can buy 2 new premium PSUs from 590$, instead of just seeing if one is functional enough.
No thank you for sure, unless you make a living out of repairing PCs which often come with blown PSUs.
And even then, it's still cheaper to replace with a working PSU see if the PC starts working.
Nice review, weird product at this price though.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
it is not for the average Joe yes, it is for brands that want quick and easy testing, for technicians, for shops with a service line, for enthusiast users that want to know more on PSUs and for production lines possibly that want something to quickly check the PSUs before they pass them to Sunmoons.

For in the field failure analysis this is a neat tool also. An average user won't even bother to buy a plain PSU tester that costs 10 bucks.
agree. i was a technicians and wish had something like this.. a few times, good psu getting replaced because sometimes hard to check in the field.
 
Top