• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PC randomly loses power and restarts.

Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
782 (0.50/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3060 Ti Gaming Z
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It plays games.
Hey guys, I could use a little bit of help here.

Ever since I swapped my MSI B450 Carbon Pro for a Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra that my system randomly reboots. There's no BSOD (and yes, I have the option to automatically restart on system failure unchecked), it just freezes for half a second and reboots. I haven't been able to pinpoint a cause for this, as far as I can tell it's completely random. Most of the times it happens when I'm not even using the computer, sometimes when I'm browsing or doing light tasks, a few during gaming. There have been 36 restarts since mid December 2019 as the event viewer logs show. There's also nothing that indicates causes. Screenshots of the list of errors and logs of the last time it happened.
Critical Errors.pngLast Critical Error.png

This is a really pain in the ass to test because sometimes there's a really long period of time between restarts, as it shows on the log, I had no issues whatsoever in July despite longer usage than normal.

I have a few suspects but I'm not even sure if some of them would cause power loses/restarts. So I want to read some opinions before I start replacing or RMA-ing stuff.

1. RAM
I could never get this kit to work at rated speeds without loading the XMP profile on either board. On the MSI I could get it to work using slightly worse timings, on the Gigabyte it's even worse. I've read somewhere XMP profiles can cause some instability on AMD systems but I'm not sure they could cause these types of issues. Isn't it typically a BSOD?
Also, I ran a memtest for 8 or so hours one day to see it there were any problems, but it didn't catch anything.

2. 8-pin connector
When I replaced the board this bad boy was a real struggle to connect. My PSU has in-cable capacitors and the fit was tight, must have taken me a few minutes to get it on and I guess I could've damaged in the process? Again, I'm not sure if a bad 8-pin would cause random reboots (wouldn't they be more likely at CPU load, if anything?) but hey, it's power related. I could also use some input on this. I took a picture of the said cable and it's awkward angle.
8pin (Medium).jpg

3. Faulty board
If all else fails it could just be a faulty board, I guess.

So, if anyone has any ideas what the culprit could be I'd really appreciate the help.

Thanks!

EDIT: Mistakenly called my board Aorus Pro rather than Ultra.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,947 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I would start by swapping in a known good PSU - not because you had problems installing this one but simply because you need to verify your system is getting good, clean and stable power.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
21,827 (4.14/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.VI
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 32GB XPG Gammix D10 {2x16GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
sounds like PSU issue
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
782 (0.50/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3060 Ti Gaming Z
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It plays games.
You guys think it could be the 8pin cable causing it or the whole unit? It's still fairly new, it'll be 3 years old in November.

I still have my old Corsair from the previous build in storage, I'll try to replace it today and test drive for a month to see it fixes it.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,291 (2.01/day)
Location
Pune
System Name Oldie But Close to Heart | Dell OptiPlex | Hp Probook
Processor FX 8320 | intel i7 8700 | i5 10th Gen
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Some OEM stuff | zz
Cooling Antec 240mm AIO Push Pull | Turbo Jet | Inadequate
Memory 2x8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz | 16 x 2 GB DDR4 2666 | 16 GB DDR4 2666
Video Card(s) Sappghire Pulse RX 580 8GB | ------ | -------
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 + 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | Seagate 500gb | Intel m.2 512GB
Display(s) Dell 2240L | 2x Dell E1916H | ??
Case Ant Esports Tempered case | Teeny | Probook g7
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333 | ATH
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | Probably delta
Mouse Logitech G400 |
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard | Logitech k230 wireless
Software Windows 10 Professional ERRYWHUR
Benchmark Scores i dont have any marks on my bench
If the PSU one doesnt solve it,
Try to rollback any recent windows updates. I had my system freezing randomly only when browsing the internet. Sometimes it would freeze on boot as well and crash.
I reverted back the updates and it did the trick.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
782 (0.50/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3060 Ti Gaming Z
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It plays games.
Finished swaping the PSU. I'll monitor the situation, but I've gone a month a half without a reboot before so it'll take a while before I can say for certain if this was the issue.

It's going to be torture though. My old PSU might as well have been a fanless model, I don't think the fan ever spun. This one is so loud. By far the loudest thing on the PC right now. :cry:
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,540 (4.97/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Read through the following thread to see you aren't the only one with issues with a Gigabyte X570.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
668 (0.47/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling D5, two Arctic F14 + three F12 for intake, two P14 (Rad) + two F14 (case) as exhaust
Memory 2x8 GB Patriot Viper Blackout @3800/18/1T (1.4v)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 Evo Pro/Inland Premium/Adata M.2s
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score 12164 , Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition FHD-X 7525, 4k opt 9985 CB20 5949/624 (stk)
Gb has issues with their boards since they introduced dual bios, so its affecting intel and amd, but still wont acknowledge that they have an issue in their forums.

if it happens again, try the F20 bios (only one i got to work without issues), but make sure to use efiflash to update, incl clearing DMI and updating backup bios,
reboot and qflash (incl backup bios) to remove any leftover data from previous bios (they seem to not clear any existing data in qflash/flashback mode corrupting settings).
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
367 (0.11/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS-RELOADED
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600 ~ 4.2ghz manual @Stock Voltages
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite Rev 1.0
Cooling Bykski B-FRD 240mm
Memory 16gb (8x2) Kingston HyperX Fury RGB @3200mhz cl16
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1070 Jetstream
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware VXC
Audio Device(s) Samson SR850
Power Supply Seasonic Core Gold GX 650W
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Akko 3084 Ocean Star SP (Cherry reds)
Try the PSU. had this issue a while back and swapping out the PSU fixed it for me
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,274 (2.21/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
have you checked your heatsink, could be from PSU or VRM but since you have changed the board we can assume it's not from the board

btw what peripherals that you connect to mainboard, vga card, soundcard or something
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
668 (0.47/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling D5, two Arctic F14 + three F12 for intake, two P14 (Rad) + two F14 (case) as exhaust
Memory 2x8 GB Patriot Viper Blackout @3800/18/1T (1.4v)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 Evo Pro/Inland Premium/Adata M.2s
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score 12164 , Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition FHD-X 7525, 4k opt 9985 CB20 5949/624 (stk)
@micropage7
(lol, assumptions are really helpful for troubleshooting)
might wanna start reading all answers posted, as you clearly missed caring1/mine.

this CAN (and unless defective psu, most likely is) be coming from the board,
as there are lots of ppl having trouble with Gb boards (that use dual bios), including myself.

when i swapped the board the problems (cold boot/sudden reboots) went away, even when using the same psu/cpu/gpu/drives/cooling,
and only (dos) flashing both bios chips fixed those issues, so i know the board is not broken (hw).
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,274 (2.21/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
@micropage7
(lol, assumptions are really helpful for troubleshooting)
might wanna start reading all answers posted, as you clearly missed caring1/mine.

this CAN (and unless defective psu, most likely is) be coming from the board,
as there are lots of ppl having trouble with Gb boards (that use dual bios), including myself.

when i swapped the board the problems (cold boot/sudden reboots) went away, even when using the same psu/cpu/gpu/drives/cooling,
and only (dos) flashing both bios chips fixed those issues, so i know the board is not broken (hw).
haha, i read that
sometimes people just miss something then take a verdict
but if everything got checked, the left one is from the board and like you said Gb with dual bios that bring the trouble
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
222 (0.12/day)
Location
Rochester, NY
System Name Intel Gaming Build
Processor i9-9900K - S-Spec SRG19
Motherboard EVGA Z370 Classified K
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 240mm
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Aegis F4-3200C16D-16GIS
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 Super
Storage WDC Blue SN550 500GB & 1TB NVMe M.2 drives + 8TB Seagate ST8000DM004
Display(s) TCL 4K HDR 43 inch 60hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Audio Device(s) Onboard SB Recon3Di + Polk Audio MagniFi Mini + HyperX Cloud Stinger
Power Supply EVGA 850 GA
Mouse Logitech G603 Lightspeed
Keyboard Logitech G613 Lightspeed
Software Windows 10 Pro
Seasonic has warned of a compatibility issue between its Focus Plus-branded power supplies and selected Nvidia and AMD graphics cards, potentially resulting in system shutdowns during periods of heavy load - and its test information suggests it has known about the issue since January. <--- Nov 22, 2018

Google...
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,248 (1.42/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.4
Processor 5900X
Motherboard B550 Unify-X (A.30)
Cooling NH-C14S
Memory 2x16GB 3800 14-15-15 1.52V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE 0.987V
Case Cerberus X
Seasonic has warned of a compatibility issue between its Focus Plus-branded power supplies and selected Nvidia and AMD graphics cards, potentially resulting in system shutdowns during periods of heavy load - and its test information suggests it has known about the issue since January. <--- Nov 22, 2018

Google...

Old issue that applies to the Strix GTX 970 and Vega cards. OP has a 480.

Reading...


@Rahnak if these errors have been this frequent, do /sfc scannow in Powershell and run a full chkdsk on the next restart. Chronic memory instability usually will manifest in Windows / disk corruption, and if you do indeed find filesystem errors in either test, you can probably eliminate all the other culprits aside from RAM. Sometimes RAM instability is subtle or situational dependent on thermal or load conditions, doesn't always result in a BSOD.

For RAM testing, run overnight or at least 8 runs of memtest86 from a USB stick to make sure there's nothing wrong with the DIMMs themselves, and follow it up with overnight or at least 400% coverage in HCI Memtest with enough instances to cover almost all of your memory capacity.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
136 (0.03/day)
System Name blackened 24/7
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asus MAXIMUS IV GENE-Z/GEN3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4 x 4Gb Corsair Vengance ddr3 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1050ti 4gb
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 120gb+4TB WD HD
Display(s) Acer S271HL 27" HD LED 1920x1080
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi 2 MB
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Win10 Pro
I've encountered almost similar problem before, pc just restarts randomly without any warnings at all. Even went and bought a new PSU, but the problem still happens. It turns out that my board has a faulty SATA controller, it turns that because the main system drive was connected the the faulty SATA port, and when a connection error occurs the pc will automatically restart because it can read the main system drive. the solution that I did was change my System drive to a different SATA port, and it works.

This is only a suggestion for u to try. Hope it works. If not, no harm done, right?
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
2,908 (3.09/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
X570 elite here, the only time mine did it was when my ram oc wasn't stable. No BSOD, nada, just hard reset. Fixed the timings, no more.
But that would come up as soon as in the first 30 min of Memtest64, sometimes later. Also while playing anything memory intensive.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
782 (0.50/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3060 Ti Gaming Z
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It plays games.
Thanks for all the input, I'll try to answer everyone in this post.

@Caring1 I'm aware there have been some issues with Gigabyte board to the point that there are new board revisions out and it's definitely on the suspects list. I just think there are some components I have to eliminate before I can point the finger at it and send it back for RMA.

@Fry178 I had forgotten all about BIOS updates.. I updated it to the last version available when I first got it and that was it, really. So I'm still on F11. There are 3 newer ones available. F12 which improves mem. compatibility, F20 which adds support for the XT line and a vulnerability fix and F21 which improves PCIe compatibility. I suppose I could try F20 out. I'm just on the fence about trying more than one thing at the same time. What do you think?

@PLSG08 I did swap the PSU last night. I'm on my older Corsair TX650 now. So far no problems, but that's not saying much.

@altcapwn There's no relevant information on the KernelPower entries, but here's a screen.
2020-08-17 (1).png

@micropage7 This board was an upgrade from a B450 board. I had no issues with the B450, I have reboots with this one. Every other component is the same.
As for peripherals, I'm running pretty barebones right now. On the back panel I have keyboard and mouse on the two top USB ports, wifi/bt antenna connected, single jack for the speakers, ethernet cable and display port on the GPU. Inside I have the typical front audio and usb3 (type A) connected as well as two SATA SSDs.

@Paganstomp I know about that, but like tabascosauz said, it doesn't relate to my GPU and I've had GPU/PSU together for nearly 3 years and the 9 months I've had the X570 board aside, my system was 100% stable.

@tabascosauz So I ran both of those. Sfc said it found some problems as per image below. I looked at the log file and it seems it's mostly folders being owned twice. I'll attach a txt file with the results if you want to have a look. I also ran chkdsk on boot by setting the drive dirty and it did it's thing but I've no idea if it found any problems or not. If it did, it didn't say.
2020-08-17.png

I did run memtest86 once before, but I think it only did 4-5 runs and that took about 8ish hours I believe. Every subsequent run took longer than the previous, is that normal? During that test it didn't find any problems nor did it restart. How long does it typically take to do 8 runs?

@rougal Thanks for the tip, I'll definitely add that to the list of things to try.

@Chomiq I see. So that's confirmation that memory issues can cause hard resets. I wasn't sure they could. Mine are totally random though, not load related as far as I can tell. Maybe 6-8 at most have been during gaming, majority happen when I'm away from the computer.
The fact that I can't boot after manually setting the XMP timings on either board doesn't really speak well for this particular kit of mine, imo. It's surprising that it does work with the XMP profile.


Guys should I try more than one solution at a time, or stick to one thing until it fails before trying something else?
 

Attachments

  • sfc log.txt
    60.5 KB · Views: 80
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
2,908 (3.09/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x16 GB Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 Rev E
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) Acer XB273GP
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
One at a time is the best. You've switched out the PSU, now verify if you still get reboots. If that's the case try next option.

Also do kernel 41 errors match the time when the actual hard reset occurred? In my case windows would log 41 even after normal power off with fast startup enabled. Had to disable fast startup to get rid of it.
 
Last edited:

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,291 (2.01/day)
Location
Pune
System Name Oldie But Close to Heart | Dell OptiPlex | Hp Probook
Processor FX 8320 | intel i7 8700 | i5 10th Gen
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Some OEM stuff | zz
Cooling Antec 240mm AIO Push Pull | Turbo Jet | Inadequate
Memory 2x8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz | 16 x 2 GB DDR4 2666 | 16 GB DDR4 2666
Video Card(s) Sappghire Pulse RX 580 8GB | ------ | -------
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 + 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | Seagate 500gb | Intel m.2 512GB
Display(s) Dell 2240L | 2x Dell E1916H | ??
Case Ant Esports Tempered case | Teeny | Probook g7
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333 | ATH
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | Probably delta
Mouse Logitech G400 |
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard | Logitech k230 wireless
Software Windows 10 Professional ERRYWHUR
Benchmark Scores i dont have any marks on my bench
Keep trying one by one. do a stress test with the corsair psu and the other one to see if the original one fails with stress.

my cousin also had some weird issues with gigabyte boards. His LAN was conflicting with something. Sadly this is a common thing with gigabyte, which is the only thing keeping them back from becoming a top notch mobo maker. i would keep an eye on the board as well.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,947 (1.62/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
You guys think it could be the 8pin cable causing it or the whole unit?
No way to tell from here. But my guess would the unit. Cables and connectors typically don't cause "intermittent" problems - unless loose.

And I agree - one step at a time. Run with the spare Corsair for a week or two and see what happens before swapping anything else out.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
274 (0.11/day)
Old issue that applies to the Strix GTX 970 and Vega cards. OP has a 480.
Those are two different problems with the Seasonic Focus serie. With the GTX 970 Strix it where black screens and/or freezes because of extremely high ripple from the 12V. The other problem was shutdown because of a low OCP trip point on the 12V. It causes the PSU to shutdown quite fast with high transient spikes, much more early then similar power supplies. But that wasn't with Vega only, it happens with all graphics cards with high transient spikes, which is every graphics card with a high power consumption.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
3,248 (1.42/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.4
Processor 5900X
Motherboard B550 Unify-X (A.30)
Cooling NH-C14S
Memory 2x16GB 3800 14-15-15 1.52V
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE 0.987V
Case Cerberus X
@Rahnak run some HCI memtest overnight. The free version limits you to 2-3GB per instance depending on the day, just run more instances of the program until you fill up your RAM leaving 1-2GB for Windows. Leave it on overnight, or at least run it to 400% completion. 200% is okay for memory instability, but might not catch IMC errors (probably not relevant to you).

Memtest86 is a good place to start if the kit is new to you to make sure there's nothing obviously wrong with the DIMMs, but it's time consuming and doesn't offer much as a useful tool for memory overclockers.

On Gigabyte you don't ever need to disable XMP if it works. You can do all your manual timings and voltage adjustments all while leaving XMP "On".

The multiple sfc errors suggest memory issue, but it's not a certainty. A lot of the ones that showed up for me on a long-term unstable RAM OC were file ownership-related. Let HCI find out whether it's really a memory issue, in which case there are a number of different things you can try.

How is the power grid in your area? Any potential for power quality issues? Do you use a UPS?
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
782 (0.50/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 3060 Ti Gaming Z
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G305
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores It plays games.
@tabascosauz I've downloaded HCI memtest and I'll run it tomorrow during the day. The computer is in my room and this old PSU is obnoxiously loud. :laugh:

I didn't know you could do that. I thought as soon as you changed any parameter it would default to manual settings. Not that I think it would help, I couldn't even get the DRAM Calculator's safe settings to stick.

The power grid is good, I think. Hardly any power outages, probably once a year on average. As for the quality itself, I'm not sure how I could measure that. I don't have a UPS, just a power strip with surge protection.

Thanks for all the help. Still no issues to report.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Messages
668 (0.47/day)
Location
Ft. Washington, MD
System Name Main
Processor R7 5800x
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus Ultra
Cooling D5, two Arctic F14 + three F12 for intake, two P14 (Rad) + two F14 (case) as exhaust
Memory 2x8 GB Patriot Viper Blackout @3800/18/1T (1.4v)
Video Card(s) GB 2080S WaterForce WB
Storage 970 Evo Pro/Inland Premium/Adata M.2s
Display(s) Vizio 43 UHD
Case Tt Level 20 HT
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar AE, modded Sennheiser HD 558, Klipsch 2.1 THX
Power Supply Corsair RMx 750w
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard GSKILL Ripjaws
Software win 10 x64
Benchmark Scores TimeSpy score 12164 , Fire Strike Ultra SuperPosition FHD-X 7525, 4k opt 9985 CB20 5949/624 (stk)
@Rahnak
keep it running for now to exclude other things.
maybe get the memtest for usb stick (not running under win), usually takes less time as not much of ram is occupied by OS etc.
use rufus to make a bootable stick
memtest86
https://rufus.ie/

if reboots happen again, start with the F20 bios, but make sure to use efiflash with /C /DB (to clear existing DMI data/ update backup chip as well),
load defaults, reboot and qflash the bios update (incl backup chip), reboot and load defaults, reboot and change settings.
this was the only way i could fix the intermittent cold boot issue (completely dead unless unplugged for +30 min and cmos cleared),\
as well as the random reboots (sometimes within a few days, then nothing for weeks).
the F21 bios re-introduced the cold boot and some timing issues, so i went back to F20..
 
Top