• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Pc seems to boot fine, but no signal to screen {help}

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#26
Hi Guys, I have tried all of the above prior to posting a reply again. I called msi support and the walked me through everything. I tried changing psu, clear cmos, swap ram, minimal specs, taking out mobo and testing everything outside chassis along with trying multiple inputs. Everything seems to be working fine, but still no display to screen.
Taken the CPU out and replaced it back in and checked for bent pins? There is something simple we're missing here. What specific cable are you using from GPU to Monitor? Remember you cant go from analogue to digital, but you can go the other way around.

Also, take a picture of the motherboard birdseye style, so we can see what is plugged in and where. upload it to www.techpowerup.org
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#28
You're using the wrong screws for the motherboard standoffs for a starter.
Also your 24pin motherboard power doesn't look plugged in properly, but that's probably just my crappy eyes.

brass standoffs to go below the motherboard, and the locking screws:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#29
No those are ok. I use those all the time
So when you tried it out of the case was it with one stick of ram? No GPU? and try different ram. Those boards are picky
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#30
24pin definitely doesn't look plugged in right. Also ensure motherboard isn't touching the case at all besides the standoffs.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#31
No those are ok. I use those all the time
So when you tried it out of the case was it with one stick of ram? No GPU? and try different ram. Those boards are picky
I tried it out the case with one stick of ram, cpu and the graphics card. I tried swtiching out the 610 for a 660 and i was still getting no output.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#32
24pin definitely doesn't look plugged in right. Also ensure motherboard isn't touching the case at all besides the standoffs.
The 24pin goes in fine and stays locked in. I was just messing around with it before i took the picture. Didn't notice it wasn't locked it in. I checked that also. I made sure to mark all the spots where the standoffs need to go for the mobo to go perfect so it wouldn't short out on the case.
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,684 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,264
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#33
What monitor are you using and are you on the right setting on the monitor? My Dell monitors allow you to switch from analog to digital and I forget which cable I'm using once in awhile....
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#34
I'm using an acer ips led HD touchscreen monitor, but i also tried my 3 other tvs..a vizio, sony, and Insignia. I tried all the cables that i had stored away. DVI, HDMI,VGA, DVI/HDMI, VGA/DVI.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#35
Could this be a motherboard that has the wrong BIOS? No processor support or w/e hence it not posting.
ALSO! Check your F_PANEL. Wrong cables in the wrong pins can cause this maybe perhaps probably not.

 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,684 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,264
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#36
This comment on NewEgg seems to describe a similar experience (user had to boot from an old PCI video card and change a setting to get the display to work)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130741
Pros: Slick BIOS interface, lots of other options...
Cons: Difficult to get the thing to boot...see other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Here's the deal: I bought this board about a month and half ago - and only now got around to setting it up. No matter what I did, all I would get was 1 long beep, 2 short beeps on POST - indicated that it couldn't init the video!

Now - I had bought an AMD X4 740X (socket FM2 - no integrated GPU); I didn't want a GPU because I was dropping in an NVidia 9800 GX2. Reading the manual, though, seemed to indicate that I would either have to buy a processor with integrated graphics - or a different mobo.

I tried everything to get this thing to show video - two different video cards, different cables, swapping ram, resetting bios, etc - no dice! Then I started pricing mobos, cpus, etc (even thinking intel stuff) - realizing I couldn't return anything, and that I might have just bit the dust.

Then I realized one option I didn't try: The PCI slot on the mobo. Out to my junkpile!

Dug up an old 4 meg S3 PCI VGA card - dropped it in, booted - and success - well, sorta. I had video. I could get into the BIOS - but things were wonky; I was getting errors and other junk. So I dug some more - and found an old 8 meg Trident PCI card. Popped that in - and all better. I could nav around the BIOS.

So I found the settings for the integrated graphics adaptor - set it to disable the internal, and "boot" from the PEG (external adaptor, I think). Once I had done that, I verified things with a reboot. Still coming up on the Trident. Popped out the Trident, hooked up the NVidia card - rebooted - AND SUCCESS!

This would have been impossible without my junk pile. I wonder how many people this has happened to, who didn't have a junk pile - and ended up sending stuff back (or worse - like in my case - perhaps eating the cost!)?

I don't know if this will help anyone, but I hope it maybe will. I don't have a better review yet. My intent is to get this puppy packaged back up into the case (took it out of case just to make sure a short wasn't happening), then run memtest for a long while on it. If all goes well, then it will be on to installing crunchbang - hopefully things will continue to go well...

Wish me luck!

Not sure if it's the same as your issue but worth a read anyway...
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#37
This comment on NewEgg seems to describe a similar experience (user had to boot from an old PCI video card and change a setting to get the display to work)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130741
Pros: Slick BIOS interface, lots of other options...
Cons: Difficult to get the thing to boot...see other thoughts.
Other Thoughts: Here's the deal: I bought this board about a month and half ago - and only now got around to setting it up. No matter what I did, all I would get was 1 long beep, 2 short beeps on POST - indicated that it couldn't init the video!

Now - I had bought an AMD X4 740X (socket FM2 - no integrated GPU); I didn't want a GPU because I was dropping in an NVidia 9800 GX2. Reading the manual, though, seemed to indicate that I would either have to buy a processor with integrated graphics - or a different mobo.

I tried everything to get this thing to show video - two different video cards, different cables, swapping ram, resetting bios, etc - no dice! Then I started pricing mobos, cpus, etc (even thinking intel stuff) - realizing I couldn't return anything, and that I might have just bit the dust.

Then I realized one option I didn't try: The PCI slot on the mobo. Out to my junkpile!

Dug up an old 4 meg S3 PCI VGA card - dropped it in, booted - and success - well, sorta. I had video. I could get into the BIOS - but things were wonky; I was getting errors and other junk. So I dug some more - and found an old 8 meg Trident PCI card. Popped that in - and all better. I could nav around the BIOS.

So I found the settings for the integrated graphics adaptor - set it to disable the internal, and "boot" from the PEG (external adaptor, I think). Once I had done that, I verified things with a reboot. Still coming up on the Trident. Popped out the Trident, hooked up the NVidia card - rebooted - AND SUCCESS!

This would have been impossible without my junk pile. I wonder how many people this has happened to, who didn't have a junk pile - and ended up sending stuff back (or worse - like in my case - perhaps eating the cost!)?

I don't know if this will help anyone, but I hope it maybe will. I don't have a better review yet. My intent is to get this puppy packaged back up into the case (took it out of case just to make sure a short wasn't happening), then run memtest for a long while on it. If all goes well, then it will be on to installing crunchbang - hopefully things will continue to go well...

Wish me luck!

Not sure if it's the same as your issue but worth a read anyway...
Looks like it is. Anyone got an old PCI GPU for OP to try? xD maybe he has a friend with one. PEG/PCI is a pain.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#38
Looks like it is. Anyone got an old PCI GPU for OP to try? xD maybe he has a friend with one. PEG/PCI is a pain.
Or an A8 apu
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#39
So, do you think it would be a good idea to send back the cpu and order an apu? I don't know if there is any problem with any of the parts, but i tried everything. At this point i'm just frustrated with the build lol. I took out parts from my other pc build which went just fine and putting parts in this rig and still no results. So, do you think an apu is my best best at a time like this when i've probably tried mostly everything?
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#40
So, do you think it would be a good idea to send back the cpu and order an apu? I don't know if there is any problem with any of the parts, but i tried everything. At this point i'm just frustrated with the build lol. I took out parts from my other pc build which went just fine and putting parts in this rig and still no results. So, do you think an apu is my best best at a time like this when i've probably tried mostly everything?
Either you buy an APU and send back both the CPU and GPU you bought, OR you find someone to lend you an APU/ dedicated GPU that is PCI not PCI-E so you can set your BIOS correctly.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#41
Also,
Either you buy an APU and send back both the CPU and GPU you bought, OR you find someone to lend you an APU/ dedicated GPU that is PCI not PCI-E so you can set your BIOS correctly.
For this mobo, what budget apu would you suggest? Would a AMD A6-5400K or AMD A4-5300 suffice?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#42
Have to ask sorry You do have the monitor plugged into the video card right?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,041 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,646
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#44
If it were me I would return the board. As far as what APU to get if you wan to go that route it depends what you want to do
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,370 (5.50/day)
Likes
9,511
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#45
Also,

For this mobo, what budget apu would you suggest? Would a AMD A6-5400K or AMD A4-5300 suffice?
5400K is a legitimate choice in fairness. Depends what you want to do with the system, gaming-wise and what not. I genuinely thing @Norton was right, so an APU would solve the problem, however there is an absolute minimal chance your board is faulty. It is worth mentioning however, you could return the motherboard instead and get a different FM2 board. They won't all have the same BIOS problem as the one you have, so a different MoBo would also solve your issues, and arguably be cheaper and easier to do in the longrun.

I'm of the mind to agree with @Jetster, return the board and buy one that isn't retarded.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,239 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#46
Hi Guys, I have tried all of the above prior to posting a reply again. I called msi support and the walked me through everything. I tried changing psu, clear cmos, swap ram, minimal specs, taking out mobo and testing everything outside chassis along with trying multiple inputs. Everything seems to be working fine, but still no display to screen.
check the cpu to ensure it pins are not bent.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#47
sorry if i ask again, does it beep?
and what kind of color your monitor button, some monitors will show orange glow if it has no connection

i may turn it on without ram too just to check does it beep or not
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 17, 2014
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#48
Hi guys!
Thanks for all your help.
It turns out that I was shipped a defective mobo from msi. I replaced it with an asus a55bm-a/usb3 and an amd a4 6300 apu.
The other cpu i had was fine, but i decided to go with an apu.
Again, thanks for all your help. I really appreciate the support.
I will be sure to post pictures in the near future.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#49
Hi guys!
Thanks for all your help.
It turns out that I was shipped a defective mobo from msi. I replaced it with an asus a55bm-a/usb3 and an amd a4 6300 apu.
The other cpu i had was fine, but i decided to go with an apu.
Again, thanks for all your help. I really appreciate the support.
I will be sure to post pictures in the near future.
and good luck for your new build
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#50
Hi I just built a new pc with these specs:
  1. AMD Athlon X2 340 3.2G FM2
  2. 1 TB caviar blue 7200rpm hdd
  3. MSI A78M-E35 Mobo
  4. 2 4Gb G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3
  5. ASUS 24X DVD Burner
  6. NZXT source 210 case
  7. 2 extra cool master sickle flow case fans
  8. corsair cx 430watt psu

For some reason the pc boots fine, all the fans are working including the cpu and and the dvd drive but nothing shows on my monitor. I have checked all my wiring countless times to make sure everything is put correctly. I have tried swapping out the memory, with and without the hdd plugged in. I have tried using the dvi, vga, and hdmi ports but still no dsiplay on monitor. The monitor works completely fine with my other pc. I really don't know what else t0 try.
Any suggestions?


Was that computer worth $1000+. Was it a good investment? It should work flawlessly!

Sorry I wanted to give you real help Batou1986 says this is an appropriate question to ask you.

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...sfire-r9-290-setup.203902/page-3#post-3147497