• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC shuts off right as its about to boot

Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#1
I did some diagnostics, RAM is good, HDD's are good, PSU is good but whenever it boots up to windows 7 it just shuts off before it can even get away from the welcome screen.

I have a miniXP that I tried to load from a USB and right as its about to begin loading XP, all you see is the windows xp logo and it too then shuts off.

But when I use Hiren's boot cd or spend any amount of time in BIOS everything is fine. Settings are saving in BIOS so the battery is still good on the MB.

Anyway to narrow it down between the CPU and the MB? Aside from switching systems? Anyone have personal thoughts or input regarding this situation?

ITs an old AM2 system running an AMD Athlon 6400+ everything on stock. Some GB MB, don't recall the model.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#3
Nope, but I found an old AM2 board in my closest. I'm going to try it out and assuming its not dead see what results from it.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
784 (0.25/day)
Likes
968
Location
Romania
System Name Asus ROG G752VY
Processor i7-6700HQ
Memory 24GB DDR4 2133mhz
Video Card(s) nvidia 980m
Storage Samsung SSD 850 pro 2TB+1tb hdd 7200rpm
Software Mageia 6 + Windows 10
#5
Check your ram with memtest and hdd with the tool from producer...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,249 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,824
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
I did some diagnostics, RAM is good, HDD's are good, PSU is good but whenever it boots up to windows 7 it just shuts off before it can even get away from the welcome screen.

I have a miniXP that I tried to load from a USB and right as its about to begin loading XP, all you see is the windows xp logo and it too then shuts off.

But when I use Hiren's boot cd or spend any amount of time in BIOS everything is fine. Settings are saving in BIOS so the battery is still good on the MB.

Anyway to narrow it down between the CPU and the MB? Aside from switching systems? Anyone have personal thoughts or input regarding this situation?

ITs an old AM2 system running an AMD Athlon 6400+ everything on stock. Some GB MB, don't recall the model.

Check the motherboard caps, reset the CMOS, remove the CPU cooler, clean it thoroughly, clean the CPU- reseat CPU in Socket- apply fresh thermal compound. reseat the ram, power connectors, PCI/PCIE devices, other chords. use the reset switch as the power switch on mobo
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#7
Ok so I switched MB and cleaned the heat sink and CPU and redid everything basically and it worked. Was in windows great, also despite the heat sink not covering about a quarter of an inch of the CPU BIOS temps show it to be idle at 37C (have yet to manage to check this in windows).

So after windows got done rediscovering the hardware changes I began to try and install some Drivers for the old MB. Turns out is has no Win 7 Drivers (This is for the M3A32-MVP). I tried to force install vista 64 bit drivers for the wireless card and it BSOD half way through instillation (regarding ndis.sys). Upon restart PC spat out BSOD regarding ndis.sys again (apparently network related) so I did some research and someone recommend updating their BIOS to 1902 but I went ahead and updated to 2202 (latest) and even though that was successful it is now even freezing in startup repair and the Windows 7 loading boot screen whereby in both places the video feed glitches gradually before freezing making this nice pattern of red streaking lines around the boarder of the screen.

I have a few more trick up my sleeve though.

I'll either downgrade the BIOS (last resort though), disable the integrated wireless card through BIOS (see if it helps it boot), try re installing drivers in safe mode (assuming safe mode will work) and if need be I found a spare heat sink around I'll try using that one if its fits. I'm not entirely convinced yet that the oddly mounted CPU heatsink is the culprit since that's the same heatsink the Computer used for about a year now.

All that is on the list for tomorrow, well technically later today.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#8
Replaced heatsink loaded into windows, crashed with lines vertically going through the screen.

Downclocked 6400+ from 3200 to 2800 and lowered the volts it finally booted into windows and has remained solid so far.

I suppose its a heatsink/CPU issue afterall.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#9
Downclocked 6400 from 3200 to 2800 and lowered the volts it finally booted into windows and has remained solid so far.
Was 3200 the stock speed or overclocked?

If stock, then it wouldn't surprise me if the chipset on that mobo isn't properly supported by Windows 7.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,609 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,285
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#10
Will it boot into safe mode? Did you try yet?
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#11
Yes but interestingly enough I set the MP to 14 and the FSB at its default 200 and CPUZ and windows is reporting it as 3200Mhz not 2800mhz. The voltage decrease is recognized though.

I might just tell her how to change these in BIOS. Kinda of scared to run a benchmark but I'm going to have to else she will just bring it right back.

EDIT: So for those who are tuned in. Its booting into windows after I lowered the volts and replaced heatsink (should have just tried lowering volts first but I didn't). I'm currently running a scheduled disk check which is almost done. I have yet to try safe mode or startup repair again but I have no need now that I am in windows.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2012
Messages
409 (0.20/day)
Likes
84
Location
brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
System Name windows 10 pro 64bit
Processor i5 6600k 4.6ghz 1.37v
Motherboard asus maximus viii gene
Cooling Fractal Design Kelvin S24
Memory 2x8(16)GB 2860mhz
Video Card(s) gtx 970 4gb MSI
Storage ssd crusial 128gb 6gb/s
Display(s) dell E248WFP 24" 1200p
Case Aerocool DS Cube
Audio Device(s) asus motherboard intergrated
Power Supply be Quiet pure power L8 600w
Software my favorite World of Tanks :) is that a software?? :)
#12
u should make ur self some live linux distro on usb..,so u can chek if it is OS problem!?i had that issue once but that was when i install windows in ahci mode and sometimes i get error for oc failure then bios set it back to ide mode,then i get to windows logo and restart every time..,and after a while i remember i had to change hdd to ahci mode again!!
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#13
u should make ur self some live linux distro on usb..,so u can chek if it is OS problem!?i had that issue once but that was when i install windows in ahci mode and sometimes i get error for oc failure then bios set it back to ide mode,then i get to windows logo and restart every time..,and after a while i remember i had to change hdd to ahci mode again!!
Thanks but I did do something similar. I disconnected the drives and tried to boot from a USB miniXP to verify that it wasn't any HDD problem. It wouldn't boot even to that so I knew that the HDD's were most likely ok. Now I'm in windows and scheduled a disk check which is on stage 5 at 30 percent, after that I'm going to run a few minutes of OCCT and see what happens.

EDIT: Well I ran an hour of OCCT and it passed and successfully completed the windows hardware assessment.

I went back and loaded BIOS defaults and it froze at the windows logo again (no bsod). I turned on Cool and quite to see if that was the culprit and it BSODed with the same ndis.sys error. So I went back and lowered the volts and changed CPU clock and it booted up fine again.

In conclusion, for some reason (maybe the CPU is seeing the end of its days or MB hates win 7) it will only boot under these settings, maybe lower settings as well but at its default it will not boot.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,249 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,824
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#14
Thanks but I did do something similar. I disconnected the drives and tried to boot from a USB miniXP to verify that it wasn't any HDD problem. It wouldn't boot even to that so I knew that the HDD's were most likely ok. Now I'm in windows and scheduled a disk check which is on stage 5 at 30 percent, after that I'm going to run a few minutes of OCCT and see what happens.

EDIT: Well I ran an hour of OCCT and it passed and successfully completed the windows hardware assessment.

I went back and loaded BIOS defaults and it froze at the windows logo again (no bsod). I turned on Cool and quite to see if that was the culprit and it BSODed with the same ndis.sys error. So I went back and lowered the volts and changed CPU clock and it booted up fine again.

In conclusion, for some reason (maybe the CPU is seeing the end of its days or MB hates win 7) it will only boot under these settings, maybe lower settings as well but at its default it will not boot.
if it comes down to it a fresh format might be needed.

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...d8?msgId=e5d99ac1-1abf-4ce7-8d61-7bac3de67561

http://www.file.net/process/ndis.sys.html
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
#15
I'll try deleting or copying over a clean file.

Maybe run a scan too.