• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

PC Won't Start

Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6000+ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus M2N-E
Cooling Stock
Memory OCZ 2x2GB
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce 9800 GTX 512mb
Storage 250 GB
Display(s) Acer x223w 22" Wide
Case Raidmax Smilodon
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Raidmax 550w
Software Windows XP Professional
#1
Hey - situation for you guys.

Monday night before I went to bed, I put my computer on sleep. Tuesday morning I wake up, go to turn it on, and nothing happens. When I mean nothing, I literally mean pushing the power button, moving the mouse, hitting keys, etc does nothing. Doesn't even try to boot up and then die again, it's just dead. Now, this is the 5th build or so that I've put together, so I know my way around the inside of a tower. I've checked all the connections and whatnot, and everything is plugged in correctly. Mobo light is on and green, as usual. Does anyone have ANY ideas or tips to help? I am in the Army and live in Italy, so my resources are somewhat limited. I would like the think that the psu just died on me, which would be a quick and easy fix, but I would like some opinions from some of you more educated and experienced before I go ahead and make any moves.

Thanks in advance!
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
The same happened to me with my SIG rig. I unhooked the PSU and took out the RAM then reset the CMOS and let it set for about 30 minutes once i put it back together it finally booted. I have NEVER used sleep mode again after that.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#3
There may be more at play here but for now try out B's suggestion. I had this happen myself and not long after that I had to RMA a motherboard, along with switching out a power supply. Granted my example was from old Socket A/Athlon XP days.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,646 (2.71/day)
Likes
1,983
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard MSI B150M Bazooka D3
Cooling Stock ( Lapped )
Memory 16 Gb Team Xtreem DDR3
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX460
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 5oo Gb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) LG 19 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case HP dx6120 MT
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Be Quiet 600 Watt
Software Windows 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#4
sleep mode sometimes annoying, but i usually try to unplug the power cable first or unplug 24 pins that from psu to motherboard leave it several minutes then re plug in again. most works
i hope it helps
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2008
Messages
532 (0.16/day)
Likes
157
Location
VA/PA
System Name Freyja
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 16 GB GSkill Sniper
Video Card(s) Diamond Radeon HD 7970
Storage Kingston HyperX 240 GB SSD + Seagate 2 TB HD
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case NZXT Tempest 210
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Essence STX
Power Supply Seasonic X-Series 750W
Software Ubuntu 13.04 64 bit
#5
As others have suggested, unplug the power to the psu and then plug it back in and try to boot. My roommates computer does this every once in a while, and he does the above and it will boot.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
2,553 (0.84/day)
Likes
1,013
Location
United States
System Name Aluminum Mallard
Processor Intel i7 940
Motherboard ASUS Rampage III: Gene
Cooling Noctua C-12P
Memory 6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS HD5870
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB SSD, 2 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 in RAID0
Display(s) HP w2338h
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Software Win7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores 31 FPS in Dalaran.
#6
Please fill out your system specs in the UserCP section, don't forget to check the box that makes it visible to everyone!
 
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 6000+ 3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus M2N-E
Cooling Stock
Memory OCZ 2x2GB
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce 9800 GTX 512mb
Storage 250 GB
Display(s) Acer x223w 22" Wide
Case Raidmax Smilodon
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Raidmax 550w
Software Windows XP Professional
#7
Hey... I tried reconnecting the power cable and 24pin mobo connector and all that, still didn't work. I did get a chance this weekend to do a more in-depth check of the entire pc though. I found that the cpu had almost no heatsink compound left on it. Is it a possibility that slowly the cpu has been burning out and it finally just fried due to overheating? I've been talking to other friends about this and that seems to be the only major thing we can think of. Some thought it was a bad power button switch but I tried rewiring to other buttons and that wasn't the problem either.