1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PentiumD 805 overclock question??

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by A.J.M, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Good day.I got a trouble to overclock my unit for more higher performance so I just post a thread here to look for your help^^

    My specs:

    Intel PentiumD 805
    ASUS P5LD2 SE
    Kingston KHX7200D2K2/1G
    Seagate 80GB SATA
    Seagate 80GB Barracuda
    GeForce 7300GT 256MBGDDR3/128Bit
    500 watts PSU

    My problem is when I overclock to 3.2GHz then the unit is not stable already.How could I make the setting in the BIOS for more better performance and stable working environment?Thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    have you lowered the divideron your ram?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    May you please tell me what to do?Thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    whats your fsb at?
    depending on what its at, you might not need to set a divider...

    EDIT:
    did some math... your fsb(correct me if i'm wrong) is roughly 160...
    i've seen 805's at 4.0 GHz on air...
    tell me, do you still have the box for it?
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,Random Murderer^^Yes,I still have the box for my processor^^
    My fsb is running at 160MHz at this moment then the memory is set AUTO in the BIOS
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    ok, since you do in fact still have your box, do me a favor:
    look at the bar code label, and give me the last 5(five) characters in the "product code"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,366 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    I would set the ram at 166MHZ, that should help your stability.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The last 5 bar code is SL8ZH
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How about if I would like to run the FSB at 166MHz then how is the setting for RAM?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    right now, your ram is at 1:1 with your fsb. dont touch the ram frequency.
    try bumping up the voltage to your proc one option.

    btw, what are you using to test stability?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually when I try to set the FSB to 166MHz in the BIOS then after loading the Windows XP screen then the blue screen will appear so I don't even have the chance to do the test for stability.I just want to make the FSB to work on 166MHz that is my mission^^
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    if i were you, i would shoot for 200 MHz.
    what cooling are you on?
    have you tried raising voltage?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    heheh...shoot for 200MHz it makes me scare...I don't like to touch the voltage so I can make sure my hardware will have the normal life period^^I am using ASUS VR GUARD cooling fan.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    if you dont raise the voltage you'll never see the full potential of that 805...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,956 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    true, when you hit 4ghz you will notice it was worth the extra voltage ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    even an oc to 4GHz would be relatively moderate on an 805, check it out.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So Random Murderer may you kindly guide me what to do please?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    well, have you tried bumping up the voltage? thats the next step.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. A.J.M New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi.So how high I should add the voltage?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    well, whats it at now?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)