• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor HD 6950 unlock

Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hey guys, brand new here, but I tried unlocking my PowerColor HD 6950 to the 6970 as listed through the tutorial. I used ATIFlash, and the Bios rewrote just fine, but when I rebooted my computer, the card and drivers were still listed as the exact same. I don't know if there is something I am doing wrong if you guys can let me know, but I'll post all of the info about the card I have, as I'm not quite sure what is needed from it to identify if it is unlockable or not.

Serial Number: PG1104010195
(Random Number) G063000-0389P0015309AA-28 K3
Model: AX6950 2GBD5-2DH

I'll also post a screen shot from GPU-Z when I power my desktop back on, but if anyone has info right now that can help, that would be fantastic =)

EDIT: Here's SS http://imgur.com/ybDaD

And just so you know how I did it, I made sure the switch was set to position 1, I then opened ATIWinFlash, saved a backup of my BIOS, and then used the stock Sapphire 6970 BIOS to upgrade. ATIWinflash told me everything was succesful, so to reboot. I did, then when it logged back on, it had the same info on GPU-Z. From there, I tried using the batch file that was included with the ZIP I downloaded from the unlocking article. Same issue
 
Last edited:

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
If it flashes successfully and still shows the old shaders then I am afraid its not unlockable.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
5,875 (2.82/day)
Likes
5,249
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name Monster Panzer Max [MPM]/Nostalg33k/Shield/Neo U1/Nokia 5
Processor i5-6600K @4.4/C2D E8500/Tegra K1/Amlogic S905 4X1.535ghz Cortex A53/Snapdragon 430 8x Cortex A53
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7/XFX 650i Ultra/nvidia/AMlogic P200-2G/uh?
Cooling Corsair H115i /Alphacool Eisberg /magnesium/Aluminum heatsink/uh? bis
Memory 4x4gb HyperX Predator 2800 CL14/2gb DDR2 800/2gb/2gb LPDDR3/2gb LPDDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR 8gb OC/XFX 8800 GTX/GK20A/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 505
Storage 120gb OCZ VertexIII,60gb Patriot Blaze,1tb/8gb SSHD,2xToshiba 1tb/none/16gb+64gb/32gb/16gb+128gb
Display(s) Medion Erazer 32" 5ms 2560x1440/Toshiba 32L1343DG 1920x1080/8"1920x1200/5.2" 1280x720
Case Cougar Panzer Max/none/well... /Minix Neo U1/mono-bloc aluminum
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3Di/SB Audigy 2 Platinum/HDMI output
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 750 /Enermax Coolergiant 480/5v 3A/5V 2A
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Keyboard Logitech G410 Atlas Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Software Win10 64/none/Android 5.1.1 Zombiepop/Android 5.1.1 + Kodi/Android 7.1.1 Nougat (08.01.17 SPatch)
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
#4
well you still have the core/mem value of a 6970 and thats: is not so bad

(not to self: i should try to flash my club3d or mod the original bios with RBE)
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,527 (6.39/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
Yea as some would say, it only gains at most 5% in the end. just OC and get the same performance.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Overclocking the card actually causes my drivers to crash for some reason. Only when I go to actually run a game, so I'm thinking it might be my power supply but I'm not 100% sure
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.71/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#7
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
I saw a post somewhere about a person unlocking that specific card with this:
http://www.techpowerup.com/rbe/
Hm, seems interesting, but also seems like it might take a bit of time to get to know this program before I'm comfortable modifying my cards BIOS, unless someone has a quick guide on how to easily unlock this card using RBE (if it is possible)

I appreciate all of the help by the way guys =)

EDIT: Started looking into my BIOS, apparently they're already set to have the 6970 shaders unlocked. Any possibility that all I have to do is install 6970 drivers and it would use all of the shaders, or am I just being stupid?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 8, 2012
Messages
1,364 (0.71/day)
Likes
411
Location
Israel
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X UD5H
Cooling Antec H20 920
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 4x4GB 2000mhz 9-11-10-24 CR-1
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC
Storage Crucial M500 240Gb/Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) LG 29UM67 2560x1080 75hz IPS
Case Coolermaster 690
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Titanium + Sennheiser PC360
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Logitech G710+
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
Hm, seems interesting, but also seems like it might take a bit of time to get to know this program before I'm comfortable modifying my cards BIOS, unless someone has a quick guide on how to easily unlock this card using RBE (if it is possible)

I appreciate all of the help by the way guys =)

EDIT: Started looking into my BIOS, apparently they're already set to have the 6970 shaders unlocked. Any possibility that all I have to do is install 6970 drivers and it would use all of the shaders, or am I just being stupid?
I believe the 6970/50 share drivers.
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
5,875 (2.82/day)
Likes
5,249
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name Monster Panzer Max [MPM]/Nostalg33k/Shield/Neo U1/Nokia 5
Processor i5-6600K @4.4/C2D E8500/Tegra K1/Amlogic S905 4X1.535ghz Cortex A53/Snapdragon 430 8x Cortex A53
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7/XFX 650i Ultra/nvidia/AMlogic P200-2G/uh?
Cooling Corsair H115i /Alphacool Eisberg /magnesium/Aluminum heatsink/uh? bis
Memory 4x4gb HyperX Predator 2800 CL14/2gb DDR2 800/2gb/2gb LPDDR3/2gb LPDDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR 8gb OC/XFX 8800 GTX/GK20A/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 505
Storage 120gb OCZ VertexIII,60gb Patriot Blaze,1tb/8gb SSHD,2xToshiba 1tb/none/16gb+64gb/32gb/16gb+128gb
Display(s) Medion Erazer 32" 5ms 2560x1440/Toshiba 32L1343DG 1920x1080/8"1920x1200/5.2" 1280x720
Case Cougar Panzer Max/none/well... /Minix Neo U1/mono-bloc aluminum
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3Di/SB Audigy 2 Platinum/HDMI output
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 750 /Enermax Coolergiant 480/5v 3A/5V 2A
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Keyboard Logitech G410 Atlas Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Software Win10 64/none/Android 5.1.1 Zombiepop/Android 5.1.1 + Kodi/Android 7.1.1 Nougat (08.01.17 SPatch)
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
#10
well driver are the same for all AMD cards i dont recall specificall drivers for them.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.37/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#11
When I unlocked my card I needed to remove the Catalysts in order for the card to be correctly detected. I suggest uninstalling the drivers completely and then reinstalling the latest beta set.