• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Powerline connection not great

alexrp1234

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
1 (0.06/day)
I play CSGO which is a pretty demanding game response wise. For me to be able to react I need to have as low latency as possible for online.
I have a powerline since the room I'm in doesn't have a network port. While using my powerline I achieve 70 ping/ms on a server. That same server using wifi I get around 23 ping/ms, HUGE difference. But when I'm on wifi my ping spikes constantly and isn't reliable enough for me to play this game on. Is there another option for me/another product so I don't have to run cables through my wall?
Mainly can't do hardline cause I live in a household with parents who aren't fans of video games in the first place. I've asked and they don't necessarily jump up when I mention I have to "cut" holes in the walls basically.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
207 (0.32/day)
Location
Italy
System Name The Worker/ Laptop
Processor Ryzen 5 3600/ i5 1035g1
Motherboard MSI b450 Tomahawk Max / Lenovo proprietary
Cooling Arctic Freezer 33 eSport One
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3200 Mhz Corsair vengeance LPX / 8gb ddr4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx 1660 Ti OC @2030Mhz core and 7400Mhz memory / Intel G1 UGD
Storage 2x 250Gb Samsung 850 Evo, 3TB HDD / 250gb WD SN350
Display(s) Asus mx259q / 15.6 FHD TN
Case Corsair Spec Alpha
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster G750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Gamdias Hermes e2
Software W10 64bit, Some Linux distros
I also have a powerline and sometimes can be really annoying. is the powerline only ethernet or you can also use wifi?
and a stupid thing is it connected to a power strip or directly into the wall socket?
 
Joined
May 28, 2020
Messages
480 (1.95/day)
System Name Main PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS X570 Crosshair VIII Hero (Wi-Fi)
Cooling EKWB X570 VIII Hero Monoblock, 2x XD5 pump/res, Heatkiller IV SB block for chipset
Memory 4x16GB 3200-14-14-14-34 G.Skill Trident RGB (OC: 3600-14-14-14-28)
Video Card(s) ASUS RTX 3070 TUF OC
Storage Corsair Force LE SSD 500GB, Fusion IoDrive 2 1TB, Huawei HSSD 2TB, 11TB on server used for steam
Display(s) 1x Dell U2913WM 2560x1080 75Hz, 1x BENQ XL2411Z 1920x1080 100Hz, 1x Acer XB1 xb271hu 2560x1440 144Hz
Case Corsair 1000D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD599, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Corsair RM1000i
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro 2004
I play CSGO which is a pretty demanding game response wise. For me to be able to react I need to have as low latency as possible for online.
I have a powerline since the room I'm in doesn't have a network port. While using my powerline I achieve 70 ping/ms on a server. That same server using wifi I get around 23 ping/ms, HUGE difference. But when I'm on wifi my ping spikes constantly and isn't reliable enough for me to play this game on. Is there another option for me/another product so I don't have to run cables through my wall?
Mainly can't do hardline cause I live in a household with parents who aren't fans of video games in the first place. I've asked and they don't necessarily jump up when I mention I have to "cut" holes in the walls basically.
Would running a really long ethernet cable underneath a door or keeping your door open be an option?
Otherwise I'm not sure you've got any other options.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,954 (1.50/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I personally have never seen powerline adapters work with total satisfaction, except in new houses (or new wiring in older homes) and when both ends are on the same circuit.

For sure, you need to make sure your outlets are properly wired and tied to Earth ground. Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure the wall outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,503 (4.96/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I personally have never seen powerline adapters work with total satisfaction, except in new houses (or new wiring in older homes) and when both ends are on the same circuit.

I think a large part of the dissatisfaction is that people expect too much. I mean, it's using a single wire in the power system of your house(sometimes two in the really high end kits) and getting you a network connection.

My home was built in the 60s and I get good results with a 1300Mbps MIMO kit set up with one in my house and the other in a detached garage. The connection is more stable than WiFi, as OP experienced, but yes there is more latency. I mean, that only makes sense when you consider that it is converting the signal from ethernet to the powerline standard and then back to ethernet. But the latency is stable unlike WiFi that tend to give major pink spikes. It's a trade off. To me, a more steady but higher latency is actually better than a lower latency with massive spikes, because you definitely feel those spikes. And the speeds aren't bad, I get about 200Mbps in the garage.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,492 (0.71/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) LG 27GL83A-B & Dell - SE2717HR 27"
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
I play CSGO which is a pretty demanding game response wise. For me to be able to react I need to have as low latency as possible for online.
I have a powerline since the room I'm in doesn't have a network port. While using my powerline I achieve 70 ping/ms on a server. That same server using wifi I get around 23 ping/ms, HUGE difference. But when I'm on wifi my ping spikes constantly and isn't reliable enough for me to play this game on. Is there another option for me/another product so I don't have to run cables through my wall?
Mainly can't do hardline cause I live in a household with parents who aren't fans of video games in the first place. I've asked and they don't necessarily jump up when I mention I have to "cut" holes in the walls basically.
Have you tried MoCa adapters? Is the wi-fi signal weak to your PC? There are ways of improving the signal strength.
I personally have never seen powerline adapters work with total satisfaction, except in new houses (or new wiring in older homes) and when both ends are on the same circuit.

For sure, you need to make sure your outlets are properly wired and tied to Earth ground. Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure the wall outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.
I use my powerline adapters in my home (built in 86) with no issue but I don't use them for gaming or anything too demanding. I run a line into our master bedroom for a better wi-fi signal for simple web surfing (converted old router into a second AP) and for streaming on the bedroom TV via a roku.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
723 (0.54/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
For sure, you need to make sure your outlets are properly wired and tied to Earth ground. Every home and every computer user should have access to a AC Outlet Tester to ensure the wall outlet is properly wired and grounded to Earth ground.
While that's certainly a nice bonus to have, it's not strictly necessary. I've been using powerline adapters for a number of years (up until early last year for my main rig, work laptop still on it) and the wiring for the outlets in my house isn't grounded, except for the kitchen and ceiling, if I'm not mistaken. It works very well. The internet connection is as stable as running a cable directly from the router just the speed isn't anything to write home about (40-50 mbps, single digit ping, according to speedtest).

I started with a Devolo dLan AVplus 200 kit. Later naively upgraded to a TP-Link 1200 kit but it didn't improve anything (needed ground for better speeds).

But WiFi these days is much better than it used to be, I have a router and an extender and that gives me much faster speeds (~220mbps) and the same single digit ping.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,954 (1.50/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
While that's certainly a nice bonus to have, it's not strictly necessary.
It is if it is supposed to be. That is, if your house was wired with 3 conductors (hot, neutral and ground) to each outlet back to the Earth-grounded service panel, then each outlet should still be properly wired and grounded to Earth ground.

Even if the house is wired with 2-conductor wiring, as mine was (and still is in some parts), if the receptible is polarized (one long and one short slot) polarity matters.

I was careful how I worded my initial comments. I did NOT say total satisfaction was not possible with power line adapters. I simply said "I" have not seen it and I specifically said "total satisfaction" because I have seen working power line networks that worked for some tasks, but not heavy bandwidth tasks - thus not to total satisfaction.

That said, power line adapters are often a viable option. I would just make sure your retailer has a generous return policy. Many don't for opened boxed electrical items.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
723 (0.54/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
It is if it is supposed to be. That is, if your house was wired with 3 conductors (hot, neutral and ground) to each outlet back to the Earth-grounded service panel, then each outlet should still be properly wired and grounded to Earth ground.

Even if the house is wired with 2-conductor wiring, as mine was (and still is in some parts), if the receptible is polarized (one long and one short slot) polarity matters.

I was careful how I worded my initial comments. I did NOT say total satisfaction was not possible with power line adapters. I simply said "I" have not seen it and I specifically said "total satisfaction" because I have seen working power line networks that worked for some tasks, but not heavy bandwidth tasks - thus not to total satisfaction.

That said, power line adapters are often a viable option. I would just make sure your retailer has a generous return policy. Many don't for opened boxed electrical items.
My bad, I misinterpreted your post. I can get behind the total satisfaction claim as well.

As for the OP, maybe you could try to convince your parents to upgrade the Wifi (ac/5) and add some extenders/repeaters? Probably easier to sell that idea because everyone benefits.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,503 (4.96/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
That said, power line adapters are often a viable option. I would just make sure your retailer has a generous return policy. Many don't for opened boxed electrical items.

The other thing that people need to do is not buy the cheapest ones out there. I still see the 85Mbps adapters sold at the big box stores and even Amazon and the like. Those just outright suck. They'll get you a connection, but it will be slow, likely in the 1-2Mbps range even with good wiring. Then there are the 200Mbps and 500Mbps ones, which also aren't much better. The 1000Mbps and 1200Mbps ones are decent, but the ones you really want are the 1300Mbps ones. Those ones are the ones that use MIMO. All the others just use the neutral wire, they achieve faster speeds by just raising the signal clock speed. The 1300Mbps adapters not only use the higher clock speed, but they also use the ground and neutral wire. These are the only ones that necessary need to have a ground wire properly connected to get good speeds. All the others only care about the neutral wire. But of course nothing is going to really help with the latency, other than maybe if there are faster processors in them to do the conversions.

IMO, the speed ratings(much like WiFi) are deceiving to customers. The rating is the raw data throughput, not UDP/TCP data. And they are taking the speed of both directions and adding it together. It's like the old days when NIC manufacturers used to market their 2000Mbps network cards. But they were really just standard Gigabit NICs, but it was 1Gbps in each direction so they would claim 2Gbps.

At the end of the day, nothing is as good an actual hardwired cable, every other solution is a trade-off.

As for the OP, maybe you could try to convince your parents to upgrade the Wifi (ac/5) and add some extenders/repeaters? Probably easier to sell that idea because everyone benefits.

WiFi extenders are probably going to add more latency than the powerline adapters.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
511 (1.32/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
As for the OP, maybe you could try to convince your parents to upgrade the Wifi (ac/5) and add some extenders/repeaters? Probably easier to sell that idea because everyone benefits.
I'm currently using a mesh wifi network, and have my PC connected via ethernet to the node on my desk. Obviously not a true hardwired connection since the node still has to wirelessly communicate with the master node that's connected to the modem, but I've found it significantly improved the stability of my connection.
 
Joined
May 31, 2017
Messages
723 (0.54/day)
System Name Blackbox
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill FlareX 3200Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 NITRO+ 4GB
Storage 250 GB Samsung 850 EVO + 1TB Samsung 860 QVO
Display(s) Asus MG248Q
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400
Keyboard MasterKeys Pro S White (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10
WiFi extenders are probably going to add more latency than the powerline adapters.
I just have my own experience to go by, which is not much, but I have less latency on my desktop using wifi and connected to an extender than my work laptop on wired powerline. Wifi is more fickle though. I've also had a much better time with wifi 5 (ac) than previous versions.

I'm currently using a mesh wifi network, and have my PC connected via ethernet to the node on my desk. Obviously not a true hardwired connection since the node still has to wirelessly communicate with the master node that's connected to the modem, but I've found it significantly improved the stability of my connection.
That's strange. But yeah, mesh is possibly a good option for the OP as well. How is it in regards to latency?
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
3,377 (2.53/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 2920X
Motherboard ASUS X399 STrix
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua XPX Pro TR4 block
Memory ADATA D60 3600MHZ 32 GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) GIGABYTE 32QC
Case PHANTEKS ENTHOO PRO
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
You got get yourself a WIFI 6 adapter. When I got one it maxed out my ISP's wireless. There are 6E components coming later that also promise Speed increases.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,492 (0.71/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) LG 27GL83A-B & Dell - SE2717HR 27"
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
You got get yourself a WIFI 6 adapter. When I got one it maxed out my ISP's wireless. There are 6E components coming later that also promise Speed increases.
You will need a Wifi 6 router as well as client to see wifi 6 benefits. Your increased throughput may have more to do with the better chip in the new adapter (or one that plays better with router). Also better throughput does not always correlate to better latency. My guess from the op's description is his parents have the 1200ac router special from their ISP with rather poor range. Perhaps he can use an old router in bridge mode which also falls into your "new adapter" answer or an extender as other''s have mentioned. As long as the issue isn't an upstream issue with the ISP, there are several ways to go about trying to solve the issue.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
511 (1.32/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
That's strange. But yeah, mesh is possibly a good option for the OP as well. How is it in regards to latency?
Decent. Usually average 25ms in Valorant. Definitely not the most conventional solution - more of a bandaid fix since a true hardwired connection to the router downstairs isn't an option, but it's more stable than just straight wifi.
 

95Viper

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
8,598 (1.91/day)
Just a possible idea.
I used it to setup the wife's work at home office: and, one is connected to my TV for streaming and stuff..
You might want to check into using a Moca setup, if there is any coax in the room.

MoCA Home™ 2.5
 
Top