1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Q9650 vs. X3370

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by newtekie1, Jan 28, 2009.

?

Q9650 or X3370

  1. Q9650

    61.1%
  2. X3370

    38.9%
  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,552 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,585
    I'm looking to do my last socket 775 upgrade before moving to an i7 rig near the end of the year.

    I've narrowed it down to one of these two processors, which are basically identical. They are the same price, but the Q9650 has free shipping. I really don't care about the free shipping, the $5-10 extra isn't going to concern me if I get a better processor.

    Now my concern is overclocking. I would assume that the X3370 would overclock better, but I'm not sure. Has anyone played around with the X3370? Whats the overclocking like? Do the Xeon processors still overclock better than the desktop processors?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  2. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    Ive always thought the whole xeon overclocking advantage was a bit of a myth on the 775 socket. I think stepping matters a whole lot more than the model number. All q9650's are e0 are they not?
     
  3. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,367 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    989
    Intel® Xeon® Quad X3370 (Box, LGA775) SLB8Z E0
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I wouldn't risk getting a bad xion chip. The q9650 are proven chips so no reason not to get it. The xeon may be the exact same chip underneath the hood but that doesn't mean its going to give you the same results.
     
  5. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    The X3370 just runs a bit cooler and a lower stock VID. But i think the Q9650 will oc better. Don't know about X3370 oc ability.
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  6. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    I've read they are the exact same chip except the XEON has a higher max temp and are binned higher.
     
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,653 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    This is a good topic for a pro review and use of the power thingy (I bet Xeons draw less power when OC'd bc less leakage etc...) Xeon would also make your system a bit more unique, which is always a plus.
     
  8. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    As far as them taking higher temps, the fact they are marketed/designed for Server's, is cause Server rooms get awfully Toasty.
     
  9. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    that's not proven at all
    that's the most accurate estimation, however I believe it's closer to "they're literally the same cpu"
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    He's right, lol. Exact same chip.
    [​IMG]
     
    nflesher87 says thanks.
  11. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    lol not to mention, according to that, all X3370s have the highest possible VID, whereas some Q9650s have down to .85V
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,552 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,585
    Yeah, even if they are exactly identical, this reason alone might be the deciding factor. I can't imagine my luck of getting a good overclocker being any worse with an X3370 either way.

    I'm not too worried about that, I think they just put that there to make 100% sure the xeon runs stable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  13. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    but at the same time, when you go to resell typically a Q is going to sell easier than an X
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,552 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,585
    Meh, I don't tend to resell my high end processors, and by the time I do they are usually pretty close to worthless anyway.:laugh: I usually hand them down to relatives instead. Like in this case my Q6600 will likely go into my P5N-E and my E6600 will likely go into my cousin's rig.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,035 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Location:
    USA
    I'd get whichever one is cheaper
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    I'd go for the Q9650, it's a proven good Overclocker, I have had other Xeon Quads, 1 clocked very well and hte other didn't. So i bet it's a crap shoot just like getting any chip, hope you get a sweet one. But no matter what the Q9650 is a very fun chip and will rock the house for a good time to come...... I got mine over 5GHz :rockout:
     
  17. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,508 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Texas
    yeah but not all of us are bonafide uber overclokers :rolleyes:

    just messin :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    oh your so sweet :eek:
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,552 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,585
    Well, my x3370 came in the mail today:
    [​IMG]

    I was going to wait for the weekend to install it, but I just couldn't wait. I decided to go with the x3370 simply because of price, I found a super deal on this one.

    Hopefully, overclocking results will come this weekend.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  20. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,405 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Nice choice, don't see many with that proc so will make you stand out a bit too, gl with the OCage.
     
  21. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    527
    Location:
    House built when George Washington was Alive
    so open core temp and tell us the VID?
     
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,552 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,585
    [​IMG]

    Saddly I won't get to see much gaming time with this right away, as my GTX260 is being boxed up today and shipped off to eVGA to be stepped up to a GTX285.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,552 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,585
    My first overclocking results with this processor. This is after 12 hours of OCCT testing, I need to look up if 3.6GHz at 1.23v is good for the x3370/Q9650.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  24. hoss331

    hoss331 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida
    No, you should be able to go higher with that voltage. Did you buy this new? engineering sample?
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,552 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,585
    Well I haven't tried to go higher with this, and no this is not a new processor, and yes it is an engineering sample.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)