• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon and GeForce Share Work, PhysX Applications Win

Bytor

New Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
1,051 (0.23/day)
System Name "The Dark Spider"
Processor AMD Phenom 9850 @ 3.0
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T
Cooling Water: CPU and GPU's, 2 pumps, 2 BIX Rads, D-Tek Fuzion v1, 2 Swiftech MCW60
Memory 4 gigs Crucial Balistix Tracers (1066 @ 1256)
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870x2
Storage WD SATA 640 Gig HDD
Display(s) Acer 24" beast...
Case Modded Rocketfish
Audio Device(s) Onboard (only use head phones)
Power Supply 700 watt
Software a bunch
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06: 9859 on 2-X1950 pro's Xfire 3D Mark 06: 12794 on 1-3870 3D Mark 06: 16484 Xfire
Thanks Newtekie1. Works great now...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,453 (8.60/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
It is better just to buy a quad core CPU and to use it's additional 2 cores for physics in games. In this way you will have more balanced PC.
or not. please at least educate yourself before making blind statements.

I own two quad core systems, and my FPS went from 15-20 in UT3 with physx, to over 70 with the video cards assisting. CPU's have nothing in terms of power, compared to video cards.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,820 (6.16/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
ya and Intel thinks X86 is going to be a Good Graphics Engine (Larrabee) this just proves intel is further wrong.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.08/day)
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
What if, in vista, you install the entire nVidia driver package with the Physx app, then just uninstall the gfx drivers and leave Physx on there? Wonder if that would work?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
163 (0.04/day)
System Name lumi
Processor Intel Core i5-3570
Motherboard MSI Z68A-G43 (B3)
Cooling Stock :O
Memory 16GB DDR3-12800 1600Mhz (4*4GB)
Video Card(s) nVidia 750 Ti
Storage 256GB SP900 (Linux)/Samsung 850 EVO (Win10) - 4x4TB Storage
Display(s) dual 24" Samsungs (1080)
Case Fractal Design Core 3000
Audio Device(s) Onboard :/
Power Supply 850 watt pretty green thing
Mouse Naga Trinity
Keyboard CM Quikfire TK (Red)
Software Ubuntu 18.04/Win10
CUDA is great and all, props to nVidia getting it out there. but where the damned hell is opencl?
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
21,812 (4.32/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Thanks Newtekie, what is interesting is that with an ATI card it runs in purely software mode through the CPU as opposed to hardware thru the GPU, but I gather thats just for the bench, you cant actually run GRAW2 in software?

It will be interesting to see how the other cards do with the bench, I am just about to take over the bench's thread so am looking forward to updating your scores!
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,820 (6.16/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
CUDA is great and all, props to nVidia getting it out there. but where the damned hell is opencl?
that Macntrash language, it wont see fruitition until people start working with it in games, just like open GL of its time. btw Translate that Cyrilic or dont use it at all.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
247 (0.06/day)
Location
Antwerp, Belgium
Thanks Newtekie, what is interesting is that with an ATI card it runs in purely software mode through the CPU as opposed to hardware thru the GPU, but I gather thats just for the bench, you cant actually run GRAW2 in software?

It will be interesting to see how the other cards do with the bench, I am just about to take over the bench's thread so am looking forward to updating your scores!
I don't know why people are mixing up these stuff.
Physx is just an API. If you don't have Physx hardware, it just runs on software (ie CPU). If you have hardware (Physx card or Geforce), it will use it.
The only thing that some developers have done is create a couple of special levels with higher level of physics and locked it so only people with Physx hardware can play it. That doesn't mean it can't run in software mode, it would just be to slow. Most aren't even locked actually.
Except of Cellfactor, i don't know any other game that really requires Physx hardware.
(You can even hack Cellfactor to run without hardware!)
 

chron

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
569 (0.12/day)
Hey what kind of cooling are they using? It looks like they have the same vga cooler on both cards...
 
W

wolf2009

Guest
What if, in vista, you install the entire nVidia driver package with the Physx app, then just uninstall the gfx drivers and leave Physx on there? Wonder if that would work?
that would uninstall the nvidia control panel and cuda files, which are needed to select the physX settings .
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,535 (5.20/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 8TB with 500GB MX500 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
What if, in vista, you install the entire nVidia driver package with the Physx app, then just uninstall the gfx drivers and leave Physx on there? Wonder if that would work?
Well, in Vista, the nVidia graphics driver isn't activated when your primary card is an ATi, so uninstalliing it wouldn't really do anything really. The graphics driver has to be installed and activated for the card to be recognized by the PhysX drivers and be used as a PhysX card.

That is what leads me to believe that there are really only 2 work arounds for nVidia at this point.

1.) Develope a driver for their graphics cards, that isn't a graphics driver. So the card appears to the OS as just a PhysX card and not a Graphics Adapter.
2.) Get PhsyX working on ATi hardware, so that people running all ATi setups can use PhysX.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Location
EU
So why so late and why only hardspell and why relatively little info on drivers and motherboard/chipset used and such?
Why doesn't techpowerup do this test and confirm it?
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,632 (8.52/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
So why so late and why only hardspell and why relatively little info on drivers and motherboard/chipset used and such?
Why doesn't techpowerup do this test and confirm it?
It's irrelevant which motherboard you use. 2 PCI-E slots is all you'd need.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Location
EU
It's irrelevant which motherboard you use. 2 PCI-E slots is all you'd need.
That's what we think, but is it? It would be what you expect but personally I'd also expect to not need any SLI or crossfire board for that sli/crossfire to work but just 2 16x PCIe slots, and yet..
 

chron

New Member
Joined
May 21, 2006
Messages
569 (0.12/day)
That's what we think, but is it? It would be what you expect but personally I'd also expect to not need any SLI or crossfire board for that sli/crossfire to work but just 2 16x PCIe slots, and yet..
Well you're talking about two video cards working together. Currently what they're talking about here is the equivalent of throwing in a PCI physx card. You're simply adding a processor that takes care of the physx code. You could run it at 16x/4x on older boards also. The PCI-e x16 slots dont always need to be used for video.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Location
EU
Well you're talking about two video cards working together. Currently what they're talking about here is the equivalent of throwing in a PCI physx card. You're simply adding a processor that takes care of the physx code. You could run it at 16x/4x on older boards also. The PCI-e x16 slots dont always need to be used for video.
I see the logic of course, there's no flaw in it except that it IS a graphics card that reports to the OS/BIOS as a graphics card, and for now even requires graphics card drivers, so although it makes sense and should make sense in practise it might have issues on certain motherboards or chipsets I fear, only testing can tell if it works on any chipset/mobo as you'd expect.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,453 (8.60/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
wshlist: we already know its the same as using the ageia PCI PPU card. SLI and crossfire boards are not required.

The only problems are getting both drivers to work at the same time.
 

Jambul_Er

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
I put HD4850 (catalyst 8.8) and 9600gso (force ware 177.92 +08.08.18 physX). PhysX does not see 9600GSO.
What to do?
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Location
EU
If 'we already know' then why is this news and all so vague and only one site tried? If it's the driver I'm sure others can experiment too, in fact I have run a physx demo on my radeon (no nvidia to back it up) which required the cuda.dll. so if it works then the trick is installing some more dll's (if needed) that access the nvidia card, which I imagine is done by separate dll's and you could trace which ones are used by physx surely? In fact don't they have a separate installer for CUDA physx? in that case it must be even less searching for the stuff needed, or perhaps a phone call to nvidia might do it, they like to support cuda on radeon so they'd certainly not mind the idea of people adding nvidia cards to radeon-powered systems I imagine :)

Well either way I think techpowerup should try and write a more detailed report, I'm sure they can lay their hands on a radeon and nvidia card for a moment.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
236 (0.06/day)
Location
EU
I put HD4850 (catalyst 8.8) and 9600gso (force ware 177.92 +08.08.18 physX). PhysX does not see 9600GSO.
What to do?
Thanks for trying jambul, did you install cuda? or the cuda.dll? in other words did you do some experimentation? If so keep us informed please :)
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
37,632 (8.52/day)
Location
Hyderabad, India
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2x 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Storage Western Digital Black NVMe 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590 28-inch 4K UHD
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Antec EarthWatts Pro Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Abyssus
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro
I put HD4850 (catalyst 8.8) and 9600gso (force ware 177.92 +08.08.18 physX). PhysX does not see 9600GSO.
What to do?
Not yet possible on Windows Vista.
 

Jambul_Er

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2008
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Thanks for your reply. Only from Russia and I do not know English. Translation through GOOGLE.
 
Top